Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Richmond pensioner endures early morning burglary

– fifth time in four years

Police on the Essequibo Coast have launched an investigation into the burglary of the home of a 64-year-old female pensioner.
The residence of Evra Nedd, located at lot 2 Richmond Housing Scheme, was broken into by an unarmed individual. The woman is traumatized by the intrusion.
Investigations have so far revealed that the suspect gained entry to Nedd’s home, while she was out, through a window in a room at the back of the house. It is believed that the suspect concealed himself in the woman’s home and waited for her to return. The woman, who is usually accompanied home by her friend, was unfortunately alone on the night of the incident.
Hours prior, Nedd had left her home to attend a wake in the neighborhood. She returned home at around 9pm, and says she had a feeling that something was odd.
“I came in and put on the lamp because there was blackout. But it gotta be that he was in the house already. Probably he hide in the wardrobe in the back room. I sit down in the chair, but no sleep was coming to me. So I went in the front room and lay down on the bed. I was just dropping into a dose when I feel somebody jump on the bed and say ‘shush, me nak gon kill yuh, where the money?’”
Nedd said she got confused and tried to keep calm as much as possible. “I didn’t risk to fight back because I am not seeing well in one of my eyes,” the woman said.
Nedd said that the ordeal lasted approximately 15 minutes.
“I saw the person, because by then the current come on back and the light in the kitchen was on. When he jumped on the bed, I feel he hair and it soft and straight. Then in the light I saw that he had on a three-quarter black pants, but he pull the white vest he had on over he face, so I couldn’t make out his face clearly.”
Nedd said that the suspect grabbed her by the throat and took her outside while he searched the home for cash. “He tumble up the bed and find sixty thousand dollars under the mattress. That was the money for my bills and other medical expenses. He then go and tumble up all the drawers,”
Upon finding the money, the suspect made his escape through the kitchen door.
Meanwhile, the woman’s relatives are claiming that the Police took six hours to respond to the scene – just a stone’s throw away from the Anna Regina Station. Yesterday’s burglary marked the fifth experienced by the woman in her home. Though it’s the first after an extensive period, Nedd believes that “they would be back”.