Reply to "Crime fighting or terrorism?"

‘Tortured’ soldier paints dismal picture of life in the GDF
AUGUST 28, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

PULL QUOTE: “Whenever he lets his dog out to play in his yard, we have to go outside, whether it is raining or not. At one time the neighbours thought we were thieves because we had to shelter under a truck.”

No one expects a career in the military will be like the boy scouts, but then again no one expects that inhumane treatment will be a feature of any army especially if it is perpetrated by one’s own colleagues. If the experience of Private Dane Wilson is the yardstick to go by, then the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) is in an indictable situation. Wilson, who was finally given the clearance to leave the organization honourably after repeated requests were turned down, related some harrowing details of the treatment meted out to him by some of his colleagues – some who have already left and some of whom still remain in the organization that is supposed to be one of the main pillars of discipline in a nation.
The fact that, like Private Wilson, many soldiers want to leave the organization is indicative of the number of those who are listed as absent without leave or AWOL.

Private Wilson, who was recently released from the army lock-ups at Camp Ayanganna, spoke of soldiers being treated lesser than canines by top level officers. He spoke of the inhumane condition in the cells at army headquarters and the beatings and humiliation he endured for just refusing to work an extra shift.

Private Dane Wilson will now have much more time with his two sons Josiah and Jaden.

Wilson’s plight first came to light last week when this newspaper reported the concerns of his mother, Avril Hayley, over his welfare. Haley had reported that her son was beaten, stripped naked, and forced to endure the indignity of being handcuffed to a vehicle in the full view of persons in Camp Ayangana, many of whom laughed and took photographs of the scene. Wilson was then placed, with his hands still handcuffed, into a cell in which water was constantly poured to make life as miserable for him as possible.

Although the soldier has subsequently confirmed what was reported by this newspaper, the GDF in a press release last week denied the allegations. The army is claiming that it was Private Wilson who stripped himself after he was placed into the cell and he was eventually clothed in detention uniform. “Our investigations have so far revealed that his mattress was withdrawn from him and his cell was deliberately soaked by another inmate. The persons responsible will be appropriately disciplined. Further investigations are being conducted into allegations that he was manhandled while in the cell,” the GDF had stated in its release. “The GDF wishes to assure the public that all of its actions and practices are of a high standard and are above board; and it is on record of taking swift disciplinary action against deviant behaviour,” the army added.

Private Wilson, who was stationed at the G2 Branch, a military police unit, opted to leave the GDF rather than take the offer of being transferred to another unit. “The Chief-of-staff ask me if I want to stay in de force and be placed at another unit. I tell him no because I feel scared fuh know that in another two months or so they might try to victimise me,” Private Wilson stated. When he subsequently explained what he really meant, it sort of confirmed the scary modus operandi of the military in Guyana. Of course, the GDF was angry by the position taken by Private Wilson and his family for approaching the media with their problem. But according to relatives, had they not done so, things would have remained the same for many other soldiers who are suffering a similar fate.

In an exclusive interview with this newspaper last Thursday, a day after he was given permission to leave, Private Wilson indicated that since the revelations in the Kaieteur News about his situation, 14 other soldiers who were incarnated with him for being on the AWOL were released by the Guyana Defence Force. He said that following the publication of the story, he was subjected to constant surveillance, with a Military Police guarding his every move while he was in army headquarters. The Private, who was supposed to submit his SOS to enable him to be honourably discharged, dismissed the army ‘charade’ of investigating the matter thoroughly, since he pointed out that one of the officers involved in the investigation, “was present when everything took place”.

“After they strip me naked (the officer) was one of the persons who come and tek a picture of me naked, and another corporal took out a picture. After that they tek a sheet and wrap it around me and put me in a car and put me in de cell.” The abuse did not end there as Private Wilson detailed further incidents of inhumane treatment. He claimed that a captain told him that if he had the power to discipline him, it would have been worse. “Me and he had a scuffle in the cell and he beat me, look I got the marks on my skin,” Private Wilson informed, showing the faint bruises that were evident on his back.

According to Private Wilson, during the initial investigations, Chief of Staff Commodore Gary Best enquired as to who was responsible for the wetting of the cell. “One of the cell men said: ‘Sir, I throw de water but I was instructed (to do so) by the MP (name given)to throw de water on Wilson.’” To clear their side, the GDF authorized a medical check-up for Private Wilson, which was done by the Force Medical Officer, and it was recommended that he be seen by another physician at the private Woodlands Hospital. Several hours later, Private Wilson was then allowed to leave Camp Ayangana to be with his mother and later with his wife and two sons.

He said that many other soldiers are supportive of the decision he has taken, especially since they will take the same course of action if given a similar choice. “Most of the soldiers right now, say ‘Wilson, is the right thing you doing because somebody had to stand up towards this.’ After me incident, de Chief-of-Staff loose 14 soldiers wha went in de cell, dem wha been AWOL.” According to Private Wilson, some of those who were recently released were in the cell for 42 days without a court martial. “When dey get Court Martial now, de judge give dem another 42 days and they are not taking off the days that they already serve. They sending them to Camp Street and Lusignan. These soldiers ain’t commit no crime. They just want fuh leave de army,” Wilson explained.

Over the past few months, the GDF had published the photographs of many soldiers who are Absent Without Leave. But from what Wilson explained, it might be better to serve one’s sentence at Camp Street or Lusignan, where at least the conditions are better. He described the lock-ups at Camp Ayangana as filthy, and stated that inmates there are forced to eat sleep and do every other thing in there, except for a one hour for ‘fresh air’ which is sometimes denied. “It stink, is one, and dey got grills and dey does lock everybody up in one place. Dey does give you a pan that you got to pee and mess inside right in deh. One mess pan fuh everybody,” Wilson told this newspaper.

There are also reports that a senior officer prefers his canine to the soldiers who are deployed to guard his house. “Whenever he lets his dog out to play in his yard, we have to go outside, whether it is raining or not. At one time the neighbours thought we were thieves because we had to shelter under a truck,” the soldier told this newspaper. “He treats his dog better than he would treat us,” Wilson added.

After seven years, Wilson is still a private. Why? Because as he puts it, he challenges authority – something that is taboo in most military organizations. In addition, he believes that his stagnation also has to do with the incident that involves his late cousin Edwin Niles. Niles was a prisoner at the Camp Street jail who was allegedly beaten to death by both prison and army personnel after he was found with several rounds of ammunition in the prison – this was minutes after he returned from Camp Ayangana where he and others were detailed to work as part of a clean-up exercise. Wilson said that he was detained as part of that investigation.

“Is this year I get an opportunity to catch the course to become a Lance Corporal,” Wilson stated. He credited his elevation to a particular officer who he claims is well respected by most of the ordinary soldiers at Base Camp Ayangana. “Right now I feel so good to be out of there. As soon as I meet home, I kiss my two sons and I tell them that now ‘daddy get time to spend with y’all,’” Wilson stated. He feels strongly that within recent times junior ranks are being treated unfairly, and it is only the Officers who are benefitting from all the privileges.

Wilson believes that his actions will pave the way for other soldiers to at least get their due reward. “Nuff ah dem soldiers dat talk to me say ‘Boy, I writing me SOS again, seeing this story come out, fuh see if I gone get through,” Wilson pointed out. Wilson said his revelations are not because he is bitter with anyone. “It’s just that I want them to treat those who are still in there, better,” he said.