Reply to "British Guiana"

Now if these limitations represent better quality of life power to those who think so.  I do not think that modern Guyanese would tolerate this. But in colonial Guyana black folks were content with these limited options.

And that is the point I'm making Carib. It was a whole different time back then, people were more concerned about lifestyle over politics, independence, and available options. Yes, everyone knew the Brits were discriminatory and even the "red people" etc.,  but did they care enough? No. As long as their standard of life was better than their parents and they were seen to be "moving up" by getting a house, car or better job they were fine.

Mind you, not disagreeing with you there was discrimination. Let me ask you this - has the quality of life gotten any better for black people in Guyana over the last 50 years of independence? Same question for Indians!

Don't look for a handout. Ask for a hand up. You make a living the hard way...you earn it. Put your shoulders to the wheel and you will have some pride. This is common throughout the world. Take it from me, you always sleep in peace with both eyes closed. No stress, no high blood pressure etc.

Has NOTHING to do with what I'm saying. As usual, you are blinded by your own racist myopic views with hand up, hand out and hand in yuh scaley ass!

Fact is both blacks and Indians, with the exception of a few elitists, have a WORSE quality of life than they did back then. And this after 50 years of independence and absence of the white man.

Don't you think those Indians in the country areas living in shacks with barely any clothing work hard? And they are NO BETTER OFF after 23 years of PPP rule as part of the 50 years of independence. Banna, STFU with your racist shit. Guyana is a dismal failure after 50 years of independence, insomuch we have to ask the white man that we kicked out to come back and "monitor" we elections!

My response has nothing to do with race. It has to do with pride. I have seen a lot of lazy coolies and labeled them so(even Guyanese coolies). In every race, even whites, Chinese, etc. I have seen people who look for a handout or trying to screw the system. Please, get off your coolie and negro trip. Life is a lot more than worrying about who is to be blamed. Worry about yourself before you worry about others.