Reply to "Breaking News : PPP SHIT HIT THE FAN"

Shocking revelations…Sean Hinds admits role in death squad

July 22, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

– says he got instructions, weapons from CID headquarters

Any mention of the name Sean Hinds would bring up images of mystery killings during the unforgettable days of the early to mid-2000s. Fast forward to 2015 and Hinds is now admitting that he was a part of a death squad that took instructions from senior police officials at the headquarters of the Criminal Investigations Department (CID).

In an explosive video interview on HGPTV Nightly News, Hinds bared his soul, saying that he could only take responsibility for what he did and not for what many people are linking him to.

For one, he owned up to being part of a “death squad” – of mainly civilians – that was responsible for the hunting down and killing of many youths with criminal connections.

Former cop Sean Hinds [taken from HGPTV video)

Former cop Sean Hinds (taken from HGPTV video)

That death squad, he said, was headed by the late Axel Williams who was well known for his close links to former Home Affairs Minister Ronald Gajraj.

Hinds however made it clear that the death squad was in no way connected to the phantom squad which was headed by now imprisoned self-confessed drug kingpin Roger Khan.

During the interview with a popular television reporter, Hinds said that he would not deny being part of the killing squad. “I was in a death squad. De boss was a man named Axel Williams, who I work under.  If I wasn’t a part of this killing squad, this country wouldn’t ah gat law and order…because there was Shawn Brown and Dale Moore…and Chip Teeth and all these guys,”

Hinds said, referring to some of the notorious criminals who created a reign of terror between 2002 and 2006.

His statements connect with those of former Minister Gajraj, who had told a Commission of Inquiry that unorthodox methods had to be applied to address the crime wave at the time since many police ranks had become afraid.

“Late in the nights you used to see fire…people burning up people in cars on de seawalls, and we used to go after these people,” he added.

He revealed, however, that the death squad was not operating in isolation, explaining that some members of the regular police force were also a part of their operations.

“We used to get guns from the police. I used to go and uplift a gun from CID headquarters, a machine gun.

So this thing was not no one-sided affair… like if I was operating pon me own, or me and Axel Williams operating pon we own,” Hinds declared. “We were guided and been in communication with senior people from CID headquarters,” he added.

During the time he was speaking about, (the late) Henry Greene was the crime chief and Floyd McDonald was the Commissioner of Police.

Hinds did not directly implicate anyone from the past People’s Progressive Party/Civic administration, sticking to the fact that he received his instructions from the Criminal Investigations Department of the Guyana Police Force.

“I have communication with me and people communicating, saying what they needed to be done and how it need to be done, the kind of guns that need to be used, and what mustn’t be done and how you must do it. ‘Don’t do this one like this, don’t lef he in de streets’ and them kinda thing,” Hinds explained.

He said “when de s…t hit de fan, I alone get charge.” Hinds was charged along with Ashton King and Mark ‘Kerzorkee’ Thomas, with the murder of Shafeek Bacchus in January 2004.  The matter was eventually dismissed.

According to Hinds, he was never a squealer or whistleblower. “I bear me chafe, I go in jail and I come out. Nobody never offer me a five thousand dollar or a ten thousand dollar…I pay me lawyer and everything,” Hinds stated.

He was however rewarded with employment by officials closely linked to the previous government.

He was recently hired as a bodyguard for the controversial former Town Clerk Carol Sooba.

Hinds’ name was also linked to several execution-style killings, including a recent high-profile one.