Reply to "19-year-old councillor plans to return Georgetown to its golden days"

Guyana's Golden Age was during the colonial era. I've read numerous books, articles, world reports, etc. about your first paragraph. I was a little gal in Primary School when Sir David Rose visited my village. We were asked to write an essay about his visit, mine was selected for the school magazine.

An American told me the British kept Guyana together. After the British departed, the Blacks and Indos have been fighting as to who should rule who.

I will limit my comments to Georgetown, I cannot speak for the rural areas. Yes, there was a "golden" age there complete with elitists of both races - the Kissoons and other wealthy Indian businessmen and black/red people filling the upper ranks of the civil service and other professional positions.

But ordinary folks moved up too, into a middle class, for example, many bought cars for the first time. This growth in the middle class which began under colonialsims lasted through independence and into the 70's, even though the political and other systems all around were gradually being eroded. Eventually this erosion affected the growth of the middle class.

Growing up as a child I remember the events my parents would attend at Tower Hotel etc. In those days Tower, Pegasus, Palm Court, Park Hotel were places of sophistication. Company and other events. Saturday night the "elite" would gather. For the  upper middle class, Saturday night poolside at the Pegasus with a group like Tradewinds playing late into the night. Similar at other venues.

No wine and guh down and Rum 'til I die culture. Georgetown was clean. The parapets were cut every Friday. "Gutter man" came and cleaned gutters after the grass was cut. Garbage pickup by a truck with men who had a big basket and pitchforks, came into your yard and pulled out the contents of your garbage can. Georgetown was beautiful, greenery abounded, the Botanical and Promenade gardens filled with flowers. The Avenue on Main Street, quiet for walking.

Then you had areas like Prashad Nagar, Bel Air, Subryanville, etc. that looked like the American suburbs. Big homes, hardly saw anyone while driving thru.

Stores like Bookers, Fogartys, Bettencourts were a joy to walk thru. Evenings people would go "window shopping". Regent street had its own set of stores run by middle class Indians. They sold everything. Also had places like JP Santos. Buy your car at Sandbach Parker.

Much more, too much to write. Of course there was the occasional "choke and rob". DV cases. etc. But a golden era gone. If the young lady wants to bring something "back" then she should know what used to be there.

Abie kuntry folks use to tek abie cast nets and go ketch hassa, patwa and houri. And when bandin open, we use to go get up early mannin and get deh before sun come up. No big city stores, no dress up. Go watch wan movie and ride you bicycle go look fuh gyals. Nobady bin baddah you.

From the info provided by Gianna man, he departs the shores before the 80s.