Reply to "19-year-old councillor plans to return Georgetown to its golden days"

Golden days are generally associated with long period of enhanced economic activity, peace, era of good feeling, good life, etc...

...some might refer to such times as Pax Mongolica, Pax Romana, the Golden Age of Islam, etc...

..so when exactly would you folks consider as the "Golden days" in Guyana?  before independence, the 1970s, 1992, .....?  

And, what exactly was "golden" about that specific age....everything I have been reading about Guyana so far seems to me like God Grew Tired of this Place...it has been rocky since the white man left....am I wrong?

jes asking.

Best time in Guyana was colonial days. GT was known as the Garden City. Guyana as the breadbasket of the Caribbean. Exchange rate was 2 Gy dollars gets you 1 USD. Better quality of people (brain drain means only Nehrus are left there now). Modern society in GT, cricketers and other foreigners raved about the place. And this is with the racial disturbance of the 60's.

Carib will disagree. He says he didn't like to be told what to do. No one is telling him what to do now, but now there is nothing to do. He says he didn't have freedom of choice and opportunity back then. Today he has freedom of choice but there is nothing to choose and no opportunity for anyone. Suh tek yuh pick.

Most of the enjoyable stuff these old timers write about here were during colonial days and up to mid 70's when they whole place went down the toilet. Burnham in charge, Cheddi smiling and nodding wid he "critical support" in the late 70's early 80's I think. We were "gifted" with this commie idiot Cheddi and the "smart" megalomaniac Forbes. Doomed to failure!

Then came death squads. Black men executed. Drug cartels. Drug Lords. Ordinary people strung out on drugs and an explosion of crime to support they habit. Indian "elite" class. That was under Rat Man.

Just watch how they gon respond. When Gilbakka read dis he gon put on he shut jack and camouflage cap fuh talk like Fidel about how great post colonial days was in de emerging "socialist" guyana. And Carib gon deh next to he. One black, one Indian cussing meh. Dat's how yuh gon kno ah right.

Thanks!