Reply to "19-year-old councillor plans to return Georgetown to its golden days"

Those were good memories, swimming in Luckoo Pool and the Police band at the Bandstand. With all the oil money, can't buy back those days.

Yes, that whole seawall area was the place for a lot of families and people in the evening, especially Saturday afternoon / evening. It was the police band I think that played at the bandstand, impeccably decked out in their uniforms. I think it was white shirts, black pants, and some red sashes or on the hats etc.

Luckhoo pool for an afternoon swim. Don't even know if it is still there. Of course at Easter the sky would be dotted with kites. I remember flying kite with my father by Luckhoo pool. 

Today, no more Luckhoo pool. 

Today is much different, people go to the creek up the highway and make a mess of the environment with plastic bottles and food boxes, no sense of environmental awareness. This is why I don't believe that you will see the golden age of an environmentally clean GT anytime in the future. A person would buy food and drink and discard the containers on the road corner without even feeling guilty. The public just don't see it as a priority to keep the nation's recreational areas clean. Hopefully the youths will rise up and change this if there is an agenda in the schools to bring awareness like it is in the US and CA. 

The Luckhoo pool people and the creek people were two different types. Nuff people got their own pools, so Luckhoo ain't the big pull. 

And true, the environment is bad, nuff nuff nuff raw shit dumped in the Demerara.  Man cannot even take a dip these day without hitting shit! 

Guyanese lawliss and dutty!

They don't need government to tell them to clean their place up. In the old days people swept their yard and cleaned their surroundings. No one was throwing shit in the canals and trenches. Personal responsibility. This is what happens when you have a country full of Nehrus running around. Shit and filth dominates.