RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

She speak like she just came from Guyana, shucks and all!  That banna getting send right back to Grangerabad!

you will be surprised at how many people still speak like they just came from Guyana...even though they here a very long time

I have a few West Indian work colleagues, and when we don't want the white folks to know what we're saying, we speak Creolese. They think we're multilingual.   

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

She speak like she just came from Guyana, shucks and all!  That banna getting send right back to Grangerabad!

you will be surprised at how many people still speak like they just came from Guyana...even though they here a very long time

You don't lose that. Whenever I am with my brothers and Guyanese friends, I still do. Once in a while I bruk 'broken down' at home.

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

Ray, yuh baxside Don K Dam, gwan daahside yuh Rass. Yuh really tek yuh kakahola and pass ah ladee.

Bhai, this is the only language I know.

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

I have a few West Indian work colleagues, and when we don't want the white folks to know what we're saying, we speak Creolese. They think we're multilingual.   

True story. Quite a few years ago I was working for Marriott at LGA and had a Guyanese colleague. One day a Jewish Supervisor told me I sounded unintelligent when I spoke "Guyanan". I told her to go F**k herself. She asked if that was how I spoke to an Assistant Manager. I replied ,"Absolutely when you insult my heritage and country". She just walked away.