Representatives of major Canadian Muslim groups gathered Thursday to reiterate their denunciation of terrorism in the name of Islam at a news conference in Ottawa, even as fear of harassment and violence grows in the Muslim-Canadian community.

“Our message to anyone who believes in violent extremist ideologies is that you have nothing to do with Islam,” said Ihsaan Gardee, the executive director of the National Council of Canadian Muslims and one of several speakers at Thursday’s event. “You have nothing to do with the noble principles of our faith, which categorically condemn the taking of innocent life.”

Muslim associations across Canada were quick to issue statements of solidarity with their fellow citizens as events unfolded in Ottawa on Wednesday and the killer of Cpl. Nathan Cirillo was identified as Michael Zehaf-Bibeau, a recent convert to Islam.

Speakers at the news conference expressed grief and extended condolences to the families affected by the attack, but they also hinted at the strains the event will likely put on Muslim-Canadian communities. A representative for the Canadian Council of Muslim Women spoke of living “under a microscope” of suspicion since Sept. 11, 2001.

Canadians, Muslims and non-Muslims alike, have to work “to heal the toxic wounds of recent history,” Farhat Rehman said.

Muslim community leaders, who placed a wreath at the National War Memorial where the fatal shooting took place, spoke with numerous media outlets as well as other Ottawans about what had taken place in the city, with Imam Sikander Hashmi of the Kanata Muslim Association telling Postmedia News that it was “a very emotional day.”

“Obviously there’s a lot of sadness and perhaps some anger as well,” Hashmi said in a phone interview. “This is my country. I haven’t lived anywhere else and I call this home, so for someone to spread bloodshed and violence in my homeland, I don’t take that very kindly. I take great offence to that.”

“We’re feeling exactly the way a lot our fellow Canadians are feeling,” he added.

Hashmi, who also works with the Canadian Council of Imams, said mosques and Muslim associations across Canada started responding to the tragedy even before the identity of the shooter was revealed, although learning that he was a Muslim was troubling.

Law enforcement is already preparing for any ugliness that might arise in the days and weeks to come. Amid the emergency response in the capital on Wednesday, police in Ottawa and Toronto sent letters to local Muslim community centres assuring them of their security.

“The Ottawa Police Service has a long standing collaboration with our various faith and communities leaders that have allowed us to build strong and positive relationships,” Ottawa Police Chief Charles Bordeleau wrote. “With this in mind, I want to take this opportunity to reiterate my commitment to ensure the safety of all of our communities.”

Hashmi said the letter was a positive sign of trust and cooperation, although some community members have already experienced harassment since the shooting.

“We did hear reports of children being bullied at school, having a tough time yesterday because of the events. We had reports of a woman wearing a hijab being verbally assaulted. But you know what? We’re all in this together [despite] the anger that people feel,” Hashmi said.

“I also know that an overwhelming majority of Canadians believe and understand that taking out anger and frustrations against innocent people in response to the loss of innocent life is wrong, and that two wrongs don’t make a right.”

- -

idaro@postmedia.com

I applaud the Canadian Muslim community for the principled stand they have taken in denouncing that dastardly attack in Ottawa.

I agree with you here Gilly this is principled stand that must be taken unreservedly by the muslim community.

We have to send a strong message to these thugs, their criminal actions are criminal and represent no religion.

I applaud the Canadian Muslim community for the principled stand they have taken in denouncing that dastardly attack in Ottawa.

I agree with you here Gilly this is principled stand that must be taken unreservedly by the muslim community.

We have to send a strong message to these thugs, their criminal actions are criminal and represent no religion.

You want to send a meesage? Go ahead and use your real name and address.

I did that already when I voted against the rotten stinkin PPP in 2011 and I will do that again in the next election. You hear me Baigan seed?

Moron, the PPP is not in Cananda or overseas. Stick to the topic, you consumated fool. 

Shelly gyal nah get yuh panty in a knot. Tek it easy before you end up like Mr. Butt plug and we gat to rush yuh to de haspital fuh heart worries.

Yuh wind up too tight........you could be constipated.

This is a welcome statement but it may a little bit too late. The damage is already done.

Granted; that fanatic caused damage.

How or why is it late for the Canadian Muslims to condemn his heinous actions? They were not his accomplices, nor were they aware of his dark plan.

By issuing statements of condemnation, the various Muslim groups are signalling that they would not support or shelter any terrorist who claims to act in the name of Islam.

It is never too late and I believe from the reports I have seen in the press the rebuke by the Canadian Muslim community was swift.

That is not going to stop the muslim communities from prostilizing western youths. The aim is to have a World Religion-branded to show allegance. The question needs to be aked, why is so many western muslim youth returning to ME to fight to establish the muslim glory days. Have you not read the West is the Great Satan-those are not idle words of the islamist. They take the commandments of Allah very serious. They deny the Lordship of Christ. They deny the existence of the Jews. And, they kill people who have Images for gods.

Words doan stop reality.

It is never too late and I believe from the reports I have seen in the press the rebuke by the Canadian Muslim community was swift.

That is not going to stop the muslim communities from prostilizing western youths. The aim is to have a World Religion-branded to show allegance. The question needs to be aked, why is so many western muslim youth returning to ME to fight to establish the muslim glory days. Have you not read the West is the Great Satan-those are not idle words of the islamist. They take the commandments of Allah very serious. They deny the Lordship of Christ. They deny the existence of the Jews. And, they kill people who have Images for gods.

Words doan stop reality.

You writing your own Quran, great job you fing Moron!

HAHAHA He is delusional perhaps.

Words doan stop reality.

You writing your own Quran, great job you fing Moron!

Y the fing?

U c that is how ppl become fanatical.

It is expected that a muslim will kill again-somewhere in the west. Y deny the probability. They have been killing since the creation of the religion. But now, they bringing it to the west. Before Europe went there.

All religions kill in the name of it. The Hindus do it everyday-but in India.

This is a welcome statement but it may a little bit too late. The damage is already done.

Granted; that fanatic caused damage.

How or why is it late for the Canadian Muslims to condemn his heinous actions? They were not his accomplices, nor were they aware of his dark plan.

By issuing statements of condemnation, the various Muslim groups are signalling that they would not support or shelter any terrorist who claims to act in the name of Islam.

Gil

The radicals are being brainwashed somewhere. The answer is to eradicate it at the root.

The problem lies with radical followers of Islam and this has been happening for centuries.

Regarding that the damage has already be done, just turn on your radio and listen to what mainstream Canadians are talking about Islam and violence. It is not positive.

The damage has already been done in Canada and mainstream Canadians have a very negative view of Islam and violence.

Yuji is never afraid to speak the truth.

Guyanese muslims are an example of true followers of Islam. They should be an example for the whole world of Islam to follow.

It is the mixing of the Middle East and their radical interpretation of Islam that has caused mistrust in Canada and USA. It is growing and will continue to grow as radical Islam attempts to destroy the image of real Islam. 

The hanging of the woman in Iran in your post is an example of what I am talking about.

We cannot bury out heads in the sand and live in denial.

Words doan stop reality.

Dude...you have no clue what you're talking about...Muslims do not deny Christ or the Jews

why is too late to condemn terrorism?

Riff

You lack basic comprehension. Please read my last post.