Young Buxton ‘scholar’ wants to be President of Guyana

September 17, 2012 | By | Filed Under News -- Source

Twelve year old Jedidiah Adams of Brusche Dam, Friendship, East Coast Demerara is the winner of this year’s Annie Daniels Memorial Award for academic excellence.

The award is given for outstanding performance at the National Grade Six Assessment Examinations by students attending schools in the Buxton friendship community.

Jedidiah Adams receives the Annie Daniels Memorial Award from his Primary School teacher Miss Yolanda Stoby in the presence of his father Elroy Adams.

The award of US$1000 is provided by Guyana-born Kerwin Charles, Distinguished Professor at the University of Chicago, Illinois, USA, in memory of his grandmother, the late Miss Annie Daniels, one of the true mothers of the village of Buxton.

This is the fifth year that the award is being presented and according to the Professor’s mother, Mrs. Paulette Charles, who was on hand during a simple presentation ceremony yesterday, the donor is especially pleased that the recipient is a boy, since over the years, girls had been the top achievers.

Adams, a former student of the Friendship Primary School, was the best performing student among all those who sat this year’s examination from the various primary schools in the Buxton/Friendship area. He was awarded a place at the St. Rose’s High School.

His teacher, Yolanda Stoby who handed over the cash award described him as a dedicated student who is destined for great things if he remains focused.
“He was always diligent, always hardworking,”

For the young recipient, the formative years of his life would have been spent during the brutal crime spree that had its roots in his community.

“He is just so composed for his age, even if he was traumatized, you would have never seen the effects of it because he was always into his books,” the teacher said.

The young man boldly proclaimed that he wants to read for a degree in law and then later vie for the Presidency of Guyana, since he believes that he could make this land the most beautiful country on earth.

He told Kaieteur News that he is relishing his early days of secondary school.
As the eldest of nine children, he has vowed to be an example for his siblings to follow and even surpass.

The young man boldly proclaimed that he wants to read for a degree in law and then later vie for the Presidency of Guyana, since he believes that he could make this land the most beautiful country on earth.

APNU/AFC should take note from this young man how NOT to be neemakarams.

We are looking a future president who can finally unite Guyana. There is hope in the young generation. 

True, as long as the PNC does not reclaim power and and revert Guyana to PNC medievalism.

We are looking a future president who can finally unite Guyana. There is hope in the young generation. 

True, as long as the PNC does not reclaim power and and revert Guyana to PNC medievalism.

But then again he may never aspire thru the PPP/C.

Correct.

True . . .

heh heh heh heh heh

2 proud soldiers of the Guyana Indo-Nazi society grin and wave . . . barely able to hide their contempt for blackman

We are looking at a future PPP president.

The PPP have a secret code that a black man will never head up the PPP. If it does happen then the PPP will have to change it's mantra to read: "A vote for the AFC PPP is a vote for the black man."

What if this boy was Fat Boy in his previous life?

The PPP have a secret code that a black man will never head up the PPP. If it does happen then the PPP will have to change it's mantra to read: "A vote for the AFC PPP is a vote for the black man."

Maybe this dude has already been indoctrinated by his violent mentors in Buxton. You think they have their own madrasas in Buxton?

an."

by Cobra

The young man boldly proclaimed that he wants to read for a degree in law and then later vie for the Presidency of Guyana

Pointblank

Maybe this dude has already been indoctrinated by his violent mentors in Buxton. You think they have their own madrasas in Buxton?

This dude is from a family of nine. His parents must be doing well to be able to feed and clothe them.

About the madrasas, Rev would know, he is from near there and he knows everything.

PPP doesnt want him.  Wrong hair type.

Quit fooling yourself.  The PPP had an opportunity to have a black president but dumped him to select Jagdeo.  Wrong hair texture.  I mean how can the PPP scream "vote for ahbe or else black man gun tek over" and have a black head.

No babble about Civic because you know Civic died around the same time that Cheddi did. The PPP just uses it as an excuse to keep blacks out of leadereship positions, unless their name is Roger Luncheon.

True . . .

heh heh heh heh heh

2 proud soldiers of the Guyana Indo-Nazi society grin and wave . . . barely able to hide their contempt for blackman

I hope this little kid don't fall victim to racists like Redux, Caribj, Storm, etc.

True . . .

heh heh heh heh heh

I hope this little kid don't fall victim to racists like Redux, Caribj, Storm, etc.

So we are racist because we remind you that there is no chance that he will ever be a PPP president.

Prove that the PPP will select an AfroGuyanese to be its presidential candidate.

NOT ONE credible candidate to replace Jagdeo was non Indian.

You cant so instead you make false accusations.

This lad could be a reincarnation of LFSB coming out of Buxton. If he is a replica of Burnham, in 20 years time things would be a lot different to reintroduce quake-quake and voodoo. On a serious note, we have to give the young man two thumbs up and wishes him well in his endeavors.

I doubt that Jedidiah Adams would ever be president of Guyana, he is already growing up in a segregated community, Buxton, where he is taught hatred for Indians and other races. A future president of Guyana must embrace all races and be tolerant. It is impossible to be tolerant when you grow up being spoon fed hatred with little interaction with people of other races. 

Speaking from your own personal frame of reference. Your perversive nature is a reflection your innate hate and racism.

For instance Mit Romney, coming from a background of privilege can not identify or empathize with the common man as evidenced by his recent debacle of a speech. 

Don't expect a person from Buxton to hold any love for anyone other than Blacks as they see others as their oppressors, which you snake oil salesmen take advantage of as we saw with Linden.

For instance Mit Romney, coming from a background of privilege can not identify or empathize with the common man as evidenced by his recent debacle of a speech. 

Don't expect a person from Buxton to hold any love for anyone other than Blacks as they see others as their oppressors, which you snake oil salesmen take advantage of as we saw with Linden.

If this is of comfort to you, I want you to know that I don't hate you. I can understand that it is not easy for you to forget the past; it's your frame of reference. But, at the same time you have allowed your heart to be taken over by hate and now it has built a home there.

The demographics of Guyana is changing. Our Indian population is declining, probably  due to migration and inter-marriages; there are other cultures and races other than the Indos and Afros. The non-Indos population will outnumber the Indos.

I understood racism as bigotry and prejudice, but as you can see on GNI it goes beyond that, it's individual actions and and attitudes like yours.

Can there ever be a healing of the great race divide in Guyana?

If this is of comfort to you, I want you to know that I don't hate you. I can understand that it is not easy for you to forget the past; it's your frame of reference. But, at the same time you have allowed your heart to be taken over by hate and now it has built a home there.

The demographics of Guyana is changing. Our Indian population is declining, probably  due to migration and inter-marriages; there are other cultures and races other than the Indos and Afros. The non-Indos population will outnumber the Indos.

I understood racism as bigotry and prejudice, but as you can see on GNI it goes beyond that, it's individual actions and and attitudes like yours.

You completely missed the point, a person brought up in an environment of hate and racial seclusion such as Buxton will never identify with the rest of society.  The young boy is at a distinct disadvantage as he is not exposed to interaction with other races on a regular basis. The only reality that he knows is that "Blacks are suppressed and Indians are the suppressors".  

Buxton is filled with Anti-Indian hatred but don't lose hope with the little guy.

Buxton and Wimar are cesspools of Indian hatred. Check the history from February 1962. Remember "BLACK FRIDAY"? That was February 16, 1962 for those of you this board who are too young to remember.
Hope this kid has not been already indoctrinated.

Buxton and Wimar are cesspools of Indian hatred. Check the history from February 1962. Remember "BLACK FRIDAY"? That was February 16, 1962 for those of you this board who are too young to remember.

look how alyuh turn this congratulatory thread into [another] opportunity fuh chant down blackman.

lessse now . . . baseman, skeldonman, yujii, nehru all online now. . . the GT Indo-Nazi society has a quorum.

enjoy the rituals . . .

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Pundit Mitwah,

When do you plan to make your pilgrimage to Buxton?

There are Indians living in Buxton in the north west corner of the village by the sea wall.  Clearly a dangerous place if Buxton is this death trap for every Indian.  Clearly it isnt, at least for those known to the other villagers. 

So not unlike the majority Indian villages where the blacks who live there are treated reasonably but such favor doesnt necessarily extend to those who they dont know.

Those who babble about Buxton should cease until they learn about it.

Just as most Indian villages are fill;ed with anti black hatred, so much so thgat the PPP is afraid to nominate any black man to be its presidential candidate, in an attempt to attract non Indian voters.

So whats your point?  Is it your usual rant that the only issues and perspectives which matter in Guyana are those of the Indian?  At maybe 40% of the population today clearly such attitudes are dangerous and unproductive, to all....including for Indians.

And so many Indo villagers are filled with irrational hatred of blacks, even extending to non Guyana blacks who did nothing to them.. Rev Al being a case in point.

So whats your point?  Maybe he is living in an environment of hostility toiwards Indians, but then his Indian equivalent might also living in one of hatred towards blacks.

For every reason that one race can find to hate the other, so can that other race.

look how alyuh turn this congratulatory thread into [another] opportunity fuh chant down blackman.

lessse now . . . baseman, skeldonman, yujii, nehru all online now. . . the GT Indo-Nazi society has a quorum.

enjoy the rituals . . .

Baseman is reservedly positive for the lil boy.  My reservation are the anti-Indo hatemongers who could poison the little mind.  I hope his parents protect him and, if he proves himself, he is given every opportunity to do his thing and hopefully join the GoG where his interests will be best served.

enjoy the rituals . . .

How come you forgot druggie, or what ever he calls himself now?

No wonder that when ever Trinidad is mentioned it is always compared with Guyana which is projected as a den of racial animosity.  Indeed even IndoTrinis are amazed at how racist so many Indo Guyanese are, carrying their attitudes even when they migrate to majority black places like Barbados, Nevis and Tortola, where they extend this hatred even to those people who did nothing to them.

Baseman is reservedly positive for the lil boy.  My reservation are the anti-Indo hatemongers who could poison the little mind.  I hope his parents protect him and, if he proves himself, he is given every opportunity to do his thing and hopefully join the GoG where his interests will be best served.

And yet you have none for those Indians who will project hatred towards him, maybe poisoning his mind against other Indians, even those who dont?

I wonder why you think that the only purveyors of race hate in Guyana are AfroGuyanese?

I wonder when the Indo Nazis will understand that Guyana is a nation of minorities and so none of these groups ought to have the notion that they can ignore the feelings of others towards them.  And that they ought to ensure that cross ethnic alliances mitigate the attempts of the bigots of all groups to stir turmoil.

So when baseman comments about an African boy being contaminated by Afro racists and not understanding that Indo racist can and will also have the same impact on his attitude towards Indians he just doesnt understand this.

Also the fact that an Indo boy is as likely to be growing up in an environment of hatred, developing attitudes based on encounters from people of both major groups.

And yet you have none for those Indians who will project hatred towards him, maybe poisoning his mind against other Indians, even those who dont?

I wonder why you think that the only purveyors of race hate in Guyana are AfroGuyanese?

I admire bright and ambitious kids regardless of race.  I don't get involved with race when it comes to education and brilliance.

When do you get involved?