Who is father Darke? take a break bwoy. You getting senile.

one of those who is no less a symbol for freedom than Rodney! It is on his back the PPP is in office!

Your opinion and you have a right to it. PPP is in office because Guyanese wanted to have a say as to what party they wanted to represent them.
If, in the next election the PPP is voted out, then the people would have had their say as they did in 1992 and succeeding elections.

one of those who is no less a symbol for freedom than Rodney! It is on his back the PPP is in office!

Your opinion and you have a right to it. PPP is in office because Guyanese wanted to have a say as to what party they wanted to represent them.
If, in the next election the PPP is voted out, then the people would have had their say as they did in 1992 and succeeding elections.

The majority of indians including the PPP en toto were sitting on their hands. It was black people in the street combating PNC thugs led by one of those now in the full embrace of the PPP. Father darke's death shone a spotlight on the PNC and mobilized many at the grass roots to come out and fight. Even the PPP decided to make hay of his death.

concur with your view....the question is why the

PPP embrace house of israel

Fr. Darke. as many others with Scouts Guyana,  created an atmosphere to heal the racial tension and if he was not killed, I believe he would have continue  in this path.

But the likes of the PPP would use the racial conditions in Guyana to their corrupt and vindictive advantage.

As long as racial tensions exist in Guyana between the PPP and PNC[APNU],

there will never be harmony with the people.

The only other option that needs to be tried, is the AFC, where they show an atmosphere for including all races.    

FatherDarke_d-a_r1

HM_R, the top picture brings back personal memories.

On that fateful Saturday morning, July 14, 1979, I was holding one end of the lead banner and Gail Teixeira was holding the other end with the poet Mahadai Das holding up the middle. We were marching with the WPA activists from the Magistrates' Court to CID in Brickdam.

The whole thing started when a House of Israel thug rushed up suddenly and snatched the wood that my side of the banner was attached to. I turned around and saw other thugs in action. Blood from the wrist of a WPA guy named Jomo spurted on my pants. I sprinted away and ended up in Breda Street. When things cooled down I went to Freedom House and that was where I heard about the attack on Father Darke. At first they thought it was Father Morrisson but the error was soon cleared up.

I would never forget that day.

A little known fact: When Rabbi Washington first arrived in Guyana from the United States, he visited Freedom House and Janet Jagan gave him a bed upstairs for the night, near Rohee's bed.

Mrs Jagan couldn't give Rabbi what he wanted so he sought and got Burnham's help. The rest is history.

Rabbi is active in Freedom House today in the form of his henchmen.

Yes but the PPP eventually worshipped Rabbi when they got into office in 1992.

Washington was known for raping indian women in particular in Guyana, his thugs were very nasty people Odinga, Joe Hamilton were all part of that establishment now the PPP are putting mala's around their necks.

Gale herself is whoring herself out to these people......yes?

They are now taking these chaps to mandirs to make speeches.....yes?

Gilly what the PPP is doing in Guyana today is reprehensible, it is repugnant and unacceptable to anyone with any shred of self respect. 

There is no way anyone with an iota of decency can endorse what the PPP is doing today and be a participant to that.

This is why I have condemned folks like Komal Chand and many others they are shameless. 

The PPP first harboured US fugitive Rabbi Washington

MAY 20, 2011 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
I thank Mr. Harry Gill for his letter, “The PNC were the architects that suppressed Guyanese freedom of expression,” (Kaieteur News 05-17-11) as it affords me the opportunity to set the record straight on US fugitive Rabbi Washington, and to compare the Burnham’s PNC of the late 70’s and 80’s with the current PPP regime that has been in continuous power for 19 years.
Before I do so I must applaud Mr. Gill on his political acrobatic abilities that have enabled him to flip backwards from being a staunch supporter of the Murray/Greenidge faction of the PNCR to being a strong Jagdeo/Ramotar PPP advocate. Be advised Mr. Gill that any attempt to  discredit the current 2011 PNCR by highlighting the dictatorship days of the PNC of the late 1970’s would also muddy the face of the current 2011 PPP dictatorship as you will see below.
Mr. Gill wrote about Rabbi Washington being a PNC thug in the late 1970’s but what is not publicly known is that it was the PPP that first gave Washington shelter in Guyana. After he had fled from US jurisdiction in the mid 1970’s Washington and two of his accomplices were given refuge for over one year at Freedom House, whilst Dr Jagan tried unsuccessfully to persuade Forbes Burnham to grant him safe haven. Burnham was very reluctant, saying that the man was a fugitive. Dr Jagan argued that Washington was an “American Freedom Fighter.”  Burnham finally gave in to Dr Jagan’s request.
Mr. Gill stated that Washington was charged for the murder of Father Bernard Darke. Washington was not the one who killed Father Darke and he was not charged for that crime. It was shortly after Mr. Desmond Hoyte became President in August 1985 that Washington and one of his Lieutenants were charged for the murder of a female House of Israel member. Washington was jailed for five years. He appealed, but the Appellate Court found that his sentence was too short and added another 15 years to his sentence.
However, when the PPP regained power in October 1992, Ms Janet Jagan caused Washington to be freed. She said that he was an “American Freedom Fighter” who had been “mis-used” by Burnham. Mrs Jagan also caused Errol Butcher a/k Taps to be freed. Taps had been prosecuted and jailed by the Hoyte Presidency for drug trafficking. He held a huge party in Albouystown to thank ‘Granny’. I checked out the celebrations and heard Taps praise Ms Jagan. She told her “party children” that he would help the “party mobilise South Georgetown.”
As regards Father Darke, I was part of that protest so I know what went down that day, but I refer Mr. Gill to Father Andrew Morrison’s , “Justice-The struggle For Democracy in Guyana 1952 -1992,” p 141,142. There it was reported that when the thugs attacked Father Darke a plain clothes policeman fired two shots in the air, the assailants ran, but the bayonet armed attacker was arrested.
Now Mr. Gill this incident happened on a Saturday and just two days later on the Monday, eight of the thugs were arraigned in court. Five of them were found guilty of carrying weapons, two of them were found guilty of wounding Jomo Yearwood, and a Bilal Ato was charged with the murder of Father Darke. Three years later he plead guilty to manslaughter on 8th June 1982 and he was sentenced to eight years imprisonment.
Now Mr. Gill in case you have not got it. The PNC regime of the latter 1970’s and early 1980’s was indeed a dictatorship that rigged elections to gain political office, and although party paramountcy was the official policy of Burnham, at least the state discharged its duty as required by law.
There was governance. The police did arrest pro government thugs, prosecuted them, and jailed them. The police and the judiciary functioned.
Let us contrast the ruling PPP which “wins” elections by exploiting Indian fears. It is the equivalent of Burnham’s rigging. Kaieteur News columnist Freddie Kissoon was attacked by a goon who was allegedly sent by operatives out of the Office of the President. No one has been arrested. Freddie Kissoon was assaulted by a businessman with close connection to OP. No one has been charged. Social activist Mark Benschop was allegedly attacked and his vehicle thrashed by a staff of OP. No one has been arrested. Oh I am sorry, Benschop the victim was arrested. African activist Ronald Waddel was assassinated. No one was arrested. Government Minister Sash Sawh was assassinated. No one was arrested. An OP staff was caught on tape soliciting homosexual favours of a school boy. No arrest. It just goes on and on Mr. Gill.
I think you will agree with me Mr. Gill that as bad as the PNC regime was in the latter 1970’s, the current PPP dictatorship is by far the worse.
There is a complete breakdown of government morality and ethics. Good governance is non-existent. Government corruption and crime are the order of the day. The police command is completely subservient to the PPP cabal. Burnham’s police charged thugs and prosecuted them. Burnham’s Courts jailed them. Hoyte’s Presidency prosecuted and jailed prominent criminals. The PPP leadership freed them in 1992. No wonder criminals rule the dayâ€Ķand night.
Finally, since Mr. Gill is now an ardent supporter of the PPP, I must ask him to justify the PPP’s publicly declared critical support for the PNC in 1975, its call for a National Front Government with the PNC in 1977, and its holding of secret power sharing talks with the PNC in the early 1980’s.
Malcolm Harripaul

That is some wicked stuff in that article. Will we see the PPP guys in here? mmmmm

OI DG you know anything about all thiese goings ons. Hey man, you been in the PNC dem guys still had a proper legal system, what happen to yo PPP guys dem, how come they drop the ball and the place like a flippin third world coke smuggling country?

Gilly yuh thanking mars? what am I chopped liver?

Fuss you told me gold Teeth was a masterbator now this?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

You ah beg fuh attention? Nah, you nah chopped liver; you are a slimebag. You are harse shit. You are filth in a latrine. You are lower than worm.

Keepin you and fookeetutu honest every day........Life for you 2 will be miserable.

Your deeds of defending murderers that kill a lot of people in GY and raped and pillaged will eventually come back to haunt many of you.

Karma is a bitch......mek sure you call god name then.

FatherDarke_d-a_r1

A very similar narrative......

Witness for US says he harboured Rondell Rawlins
By Stabroek staff | July 30, 2009 in Local News 

Selwyn Vaughn, a professed former member of confessed drug trafficker Roger Khan’s “Phantom gang” yesterday said that he had provided a safe house in Agricola for the infamous Rondell ‘Fineman’ Rawlins.

Rondell Rawlins 

He made the statement in a Brooklyn, New York court yesterday, as he continued his testimony in the trial of Robert Simels, Khan’s former lawyer, who is being tried for witness tampering. Capitol News reported that the prosecution witness was on the stand for the second day.

According to the report, the jury heard a tape recording in which Vaughn contradicted an assertion that Simels made that a relative of former Army major David Clarke nursed Rawlins back to health. The witness who knew that Simels was in constant contact with Khan stated that Khan would be able to confirm that he (Vaughn) kept Rawlins in a safe house in Agricola during the period when local police were on the hunt for him and when Rawlins was injured. Rawlins was shot dead in a Joint Services operation last year.

Rawlins was in a house provided by me, Vaughn told the court, according to Capitol News.  He was not in Buxton and he (Vaughn) was the only one who had access to him in that house, “something that Roger (Khan) himself would be able to confirm“, the witness stated in sworn testimony, according to the report.  In telephone conversations played through his testimony, the former ‘Phantom Squad’ member continued to link government officials in Guyana with the Roger Khan case, in particular Health Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, the report stated.

Vaughn was the confidential source who helped the US government to implicate Simels and his associate Arienne Irving, who are jointly charged with plotting with Khan to threaten and bribe witnesses to prevent them from testifying in the case against Khan. In a transcript of recorded conversations with Simels, he had also previously named Ramsammy repeatedly. The Minister’s name was also on a list which included drug accused individuals, dead notorious criminals and present and past members of the Guyana Police Force (GPF) that was to be included in a questionnaire for prospective jurors for Khan’s trial.

In March, Khan agreed to a guilty plea on charges of cocaine trafficking and witness tampering.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The PPP first harboured US fugitive Rabbi Washington

MAY 20, 2011 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
I thank Mr. Harry Gill for his letter, “The PNC were the architects that suppressed Guyanese freedom of expression,” (Kaieteur News 05-17-11) as it affords me the opportunity to set the record straight on US fugitive Rabbi Washington, and to compare the Burnham’s PNC of the late 70’s and 80’s with the current PPP regime that has been in continuous power for 19 years.
Before I do so I must applaud Mr. Gill on his political acrobatic abilities that have enabled him to flip backwards from being a staunch supporter of the Murray/Greenidge faction of the PNCR to being a strong Jagdeo/Ramotar PPP advocate. Be advised Mr. Gill that any attempt to  discredit the current 2011 PNCR by highlighting the dictatorship days of the PNC of the late 1970’s would also muddy the face of the current 2011 PPP dictatorship as you will see below.
Mr. Gill wrote about Rabbi Washington being a PNC thug in the late 1970’s but what is not publicly known is that it was the PPP that first gave Washington shelter in Guyana. After he had fled from US jurisdiction in the mid 1970’s Washington and two of his accomplices were given refuge for over one year at Freedom House, whilst Dr Jagan tried unsuccessfully to persuade Forbes Burnham to grant him safe haven. Burnham was very reluctant, saying that the man was a fugitive. Dr Jagan argued that Washington was an “American Freedom Fighter.”  Burnham finally gave in to Dr Jagan’s request.
Mr. Gill stated that Washington was charged for the murder of Father Bernard Darke. Washington was not the one who killed Father Darke and he was not charged for that crime. It was shortly after Mr. Desmond Hoyte became President in August 1985 that Washington and one of his Lieutenants were charged for the murder of a female House of Israel member. Washington was jailed for five years. He appealed, but the Appellate Court found that his sentence was too short and added another 15 years to his sentence.
However, when the PPP regained power in October 1992, Ms Janet Jagan caused Washington to be freed. She said that he was an “American Freedom Fighter” who had been “mis-used” by Burnham. Mrs Jagan also caused Errol Butcher a/k Taps to be freed. Taps had been prosecuted and jailed by the Hoyte Presidency for drug trafficking. He held a huge party in Albouystown to thank ‘Granny’. I checked out the celebrations and heard Taps praise Ms Jagan. She told her “party children” that he would help the “party mobilise South Georgetown.”
As regards Father Darke, I was part of that protest so I know what went down that day, but I refer Mr. Gill to Father Andrew Morrison’s , “Justice-The struggle For Democracy in Guyana 1952 -1992,” p 141,142. There it was reported that when the thugs attacked Father Darke a plain clothes policeman fired two shots in the air, the assailants ran, but the bayonet armed attacker was arrested.
Now Mr. Gill this incident happened on a Saturday and just two days later on the Monday, eight of the thugs were arraigned in court. Five of them were found guilty of carrying weapons, two of them were found guilty of wounding Jomo Yearwood, and a Bilal Ato was charged with the murder of Father Darke. Three years later he plead guilty to manslaughter on 8th June 1982 and he was sentenced to eight years imprisonment.
Now Mr. Gill in case you have not got it. The PNC regime of the latter 1970’s and early 1980’s was indeed a dictatorship that rigged elections to gain political office, and although party paramountcy was the official policy of Burnham, at least the state discharged its duty as required by law.
There was governance. The police did arrest pro government thugs, prosecuted them, and jailed them. The police and the judiciary functioned.
Let us contrast the ruling PPP which “wins” elections by exploiting Indian fears. It is the equivalent of Burnham’s rigging. Kaieteur News columnist Freddie Kissoon was attacked by a goon who was allegedly sent by operatives out of the Office of the President. No one has been arrested. Freddie Kissoon was assaulted by a businessman with close connection to OP. No one has been charged. Social activist Mark Benschop was allegedly attacked and his vehicle thrashed by a staff of OP. No one has been arrested. Oh I am sorry, Benschop the victim was arrested. African activist Ronald Waddel was assassinated. No one was arrested. Government Minister Sash Sawh was assassinated. No one was arrested. An OP staff was caught on tape soliciting homosexual favours of a school boy. No arrest. It just goes on and on Mr. Gill.
I think you will agree with me Mr. Gill that as bad as the PNC regime was in the latter 1970’s, the current PPP dictatorship is by far the worse.
There is a complete breakdown of government morality and ethics. Good governance is non-existent. Government corruption and crime are the order of the day. The police command is completely subservient to the PPP cabal. Burnham’s police charged thugs and prosecuted them. Burnham’s Courts jailed them. Hoyte’s Presidency prosecuted and jailed prominent criminals. The PPP leadership freed them in 1992. No wonder criminals rule the dayâ€Ķand night.
Finally, since Mr. Gill is now an ardent supporter of the PPP, I must ask him to justify the PPP’s publicly declared critical support for the PNC in 1975, its call for a National Front Government with the PNC in 1977, and its holding of secret power sharing talks with the PNC in the early 1980’s.
Malcolm Harripaul

My boy Malcolm know foh put it on pun dem.