February 7, 2016  Source

By Abena Rockcliffe
“Wild” accusations of incestuous behaviour on the part of the Government as contended by Opposition

GWFI’s Lloyd Singh

Leader Bharrat Jagdeo have been dismissed by the businessman caught in the middle of this particular episode. He has detailed the facts of the matter.At a recent press conference he held to criticize the 2016 Budget, Jagdeo said that Government is neglecting the poor while developing projects to put money in the way of its friends.The project he referred to was one that will see Guyanese accessing wind generated electricity at a much cheaper price than electricity generated by fossil fuel.

When he presented his Budget speech to the National Assembly, Finance Minister, Winston Jordan, said that Government is negotiating a power purchase agreement with a “private developer” for a US$50 million Wind Farm at Hope Beach.  Jordan said that the facility is expected to provide an additional 25 megawatts of power to the national grid.He said that Guyana Power and Light (GPL) currently generates power at an average weighted cost of US$0.28 per kilowatt hour.

“The new project will likely offer GPL energy at less than half that cost, which will translate to lower electricity tariffs to consumers,” said Jordan.
It was later revealed that the “private developer” was Guyana Wind Farm Incorporated (GWFI), headed by Lloyd Singh, owner of International Pharmaceutical Agency.

At the press conference, Jagdeo said that Government’s decision to begin talks with the owners of GWFI on the possibility of buying power is “incestuous” and should be reviewed,Jagdeo criticized the government for not going to a public tender process before engaging the company. “I have heard that Mr Lloyd Singh is the developer of the project,” said Jagdeo.He pointed out that Lloyd Singh; the company’s CEO is a “personal friend” of Vice President Khemraj Ramjattan.“In fact the principal of this company has been embraced as a good friend of the AFC and personal friend of Khemraj Ramjattan,” said Jagdeo.He said that Singh is the contractor responsible for the construction of the new Alliance For Change (AFC) Head Office.

But yesterday Singh dismissed all claims by Jagdeo to the effect that Government had chosen to engage him because of his affiliation. Singh said that the foundation for this project was laid under the rule of Jagdeo.Singh said that his company—IPA has 80 percent shares in the GWFI.  The businessman said that the shares were acquired in recent years.However, he indicated that the Wind Farm project is about 12 years old “because studies, permits and much ground work were done in the past.  We have taken over this project for more than four years now.”Arrangements with previous Government

This newspaper is now in possession of a copy of an environmental permit that was granted in 2007. Jagdeo was President at that time.
Kaieteur News also has a copy of a 50-year lease agreement for 38 acres of land on the Hope Beach. The lease agreement had Jagdeo himself as the Lessor on behalf of Guyana.Singh said, “Jagdeo himself gave the lease to the company to develop a Wind Farm project in Guyana. I do not understand now why is the ex-President making mention of bidding and all these things.”

The businessman continued, “If you give us 38 acres of land and say look go ahead and develop a Wind Farm to deliver wind energy to Guyana, why is the question of bidding now coming into play?” The lease was given in 2007.Then in 2014, during the rule of former President Donald Ramotar, the project gained approval from the then People’s Progressive Party/ Civic cabinet.  That would have been after the years of study would have gone into the viability of the project.Cabinet’s approval was given on June 9, 2014. It was quoted in the cabinet approval that electricity would have then been sold to GPL at US18 cents per kilowatt hour.

Singh said that he is now renegotiating the price with the new government. “We are in discussion about linesagreement,interconnection agreement, power purchase agreement and an MOU. We are also renewing our environmental permit. So I do not know where the ex-President is getting his news from that this government has already signed off on this project. It is not so.Singh said that a tower, 100 meters high has already been erected at Hope Beach.He said that his company has also expended large sums on studies and other related arrangementsThe businessman added, “My contention here is that we are delivering a good thing to Guyana. I want the people to understand that there are three alternative sources of energy in Guyana: hydro, solar and wind. Hydro depends on rain, solar on sun but wind is 24 hours. Wind energy is the cheapest renewable energy in the world today.”

Singh told Kaieteur News that it is clear to him thatJagdeo never had and never will have any real concern about what is in the best interest of the country. He said that Jagdeo will always want to push his own agenda.“If he give the company a lease to go out and prepare to deliver Wind Farm and all this process went through why now call for tender? I am sure there was no tender for many things while he was President.”
According to Singh, the real problem is that none of Jagdeo’s friends will be able to benefit from the project.

Singh said that Guyanese can begin getting wind generated electricity as soon as nine months but if another company is to now embark upon the project it will be pushed back a great lot as that company will now have to start from scratch.He said too, “Even though the price of oil is now very low, I encourage that we look at the long term when the price goes up. When fuel price goes back up electricity price will go up too but the Wind Farm cost will never go up.  It will only come down because the longer we have that the cheaper it will become.”

Politics as usual. However the sticking point here is why would the govt want to enter into a  long term contract with GWFI for 18 cents per kilowatt when Amelia would have produced at 10 cents.  Maybe if Guyana was a rich nation like the US this would be justified as "green energy". However the country don't have the deep pockets to ask tax payers to support green initiatives while there is so much poverty. 

The cost per kw is a few cents more than what we pay in the US,a point to note this is a private investment.

Quote: I want the people to understand that there are three alternative sources of energy in Guyana: hydro, solar and wind. Hydro depends on rain, solar on sun but wind is 24 hours. Wind energy is the cheapest renewable energy in the world today.”

The above is not a true statement although I favor development of wind energy in Guyana.

The capacity factor of wind in New York with very favorable wind locations is just about 30% (for the techy people the capacity factor is very close to the availability factor for wind).  That is, wind generates only about 30% of the time because you need high enough wind speed to generate.  Wind is certainly NOT the cheapest form of energy in New York, but it is encouraged for its environmental benefits..

The cost per kw is a few cents more than what we pay in the US,a point to note this is a private investment.

The average family income in the US is about US$50,000 (I think) and the average in Guyana is about US$4,000.  So you sure you want to use that comparison bai?  Plus one of the main reason for high electric cost in US is for reliability where redundant systems are built to avoid blackout.

High fuel cost is one thing for the high rates in Guyana, but is it also driven by thieving and corruption?

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

Quote: I want the people to understand that there are three alternative sources of energy in Guyana: hydro, solar and wind. Hydro depends on rain, solar on sun but wind is 24 hours. Wind energy is the cheapest renewable energy in the world today.”

This is a rhetorical statement.

So what they saying here, rain ah goa stop fall, sun ah goa stop shine but only wind ah goa blow.

This rass sound like ah Christmas blow blow!!!

LOL

The government is now obligated to give the contract to L. Singh, he is the one donated the New AFC office in Kitty, is pay back time. But, why get into long term contract with anyone, when soon they are preparing for the flow of Cheap OIL, Exxon Mobil has given the government assurances of the very large reserve.Isn't this government stated that they are reviewing all contracts that the PPP signed, well this should be to look at.

"At the press conference, Jagdeo said that Government’s decision to begin talks with the owners of GWFI on the possibility of buying power is “incestuous” and should be reviewed,Jagdeo criticized the government for not going to a public tender process before engaging the company. “I have heard that Mr Lloyd Singh is the developer of the project,” said Jagdeo.He pointed out that Lloyd Singh; the company’s CEO is a “personal friend” of Vice President Khemraj Ramjattan.“In fact the principal of this company has been embraced as a good friend of the AFC and personal friend of Khemraj Ramjattan,” said Jagdeo.He said that Singh is the contractor responsible for the construction of the new Alliance For Change (AFC) Head Office.

But yesterday Singh dismissed all claims by Jagdeo to the effect that Government had chosen to engage him because of his affiliation. Singh said that the foundation for this project was laid under the rule of Jagdeo.Singh said that his company—IPA has 80 percent shares in the GWFI.  The businessman said that the shares were acquired in recent years.However, he indicated that the Wind Farm project is about 12 years old “because studies, permits and much ground work were done in the past.  We have taken over this project for more than four years now.”Arrangements with previous Government"

kp,  where is the payback???

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

So what they saying here, rain ah goa stop fall, sun ah goa stop shine but only wind ah goa blow.

LOL

Bai, diss ain't no laffin' matta.  Some coolies think Black people stupid!  They trying to rope-in this incompetent Afro dominated Govt thinking coolies smarter than Black people.  Dem rass know dem cyant pull datt shyte pon BJ and the PPP!!

No laffin' matter having a perceived incompetent Govt in place!! This is why Granger need to bring in guys like Caribj.

VVP posted:

The above is not a true statement although I favor development of wind energy in Guyana.

The capacity factor of wind in New York with very favorable wind locations is just about 30% (for the techy people the capacity factor is very close to the availability factor for wind).  That is, wind generates only about 30% of the time because you need high enough wind speed to generate.  Wind is certainly NOT the cheapest form of energy in New York, but it is encouraged for its environmental benefits..

I agree with you here that wind is not cheap and the statement above is misleading.

Did you see the story about the new solar plant opened today in Morocco? We need to try things like these plus biomass. England has a plant driven by chicken poop.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

LOL

Bai, diss ain't no laffin' matta.  Some coolies think Black people stupid!  They trying to rope-in this incompetent Afro dominated Govt thinking coolies smarter than Black people.  Dem rass know dem cyant pull datt shyte pon BJ and the PPP!!

No laffin' matter having a perceived incompetent Govt in place!! This is why Granger need to bring in guys like Caribj.

Jagdeo is straight up a duplicitous ass who spent more time thieving than being creative. I do not know of one success he has had.  This plant, if deemed viable should have been entertained by this administration solely on account of its utility.

This government will do just fine.  The only thing incompetent about them is  per the crowing by PPPites given they lost access to the soup spigot. These fellows in office will indeed steal his asses off. I do not doubt that these fellows will also steal. It is guyanese living up to expectations.  They will however steal way less.

I agree with you here that wind is not cheap and the statement above is misleading.

Did you see the story about the new solar plant opened today in Morocco? We need to try things like these plus biomass. England has a plant driven by chicken poop.

And on this note, I see some relevance.  Guyana does have it's dose of chicken shit politicians in the current Govt!!  Supply in abundance!!

baseman posted:

Jagdeo is straight up a duplicitous ass who spent more time thieving than being creative..

You better watch out that he don't take his pointed steel tip shoe and give you a "straight up duplicitous ass" treatment!!

I dare that girlie man....!!! I do not wear pointy shoes but do have a pair of sturdy stub nosed original s.w.a.t chase 9 boots to stomp on his behind if he wants to fite.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

LOL

Jagdeo is straight up a duplicitous ass who spent more time thieving than being creative. I do not know of one success he has had.  This plant, if deemed viable should have been entertained by this administration solely on account of its utility.

This government will do just fine.  The only thing incompetent about them is  per the crowing by PPPites given they lost access to the soup spigot. These fellows in office will indeed steal his asses off. I do not doubt that these fellows will also steal. It is guyanese living up to expectations.  They will however steal way less.

Weren't you supposed to be on self imposed banishment until Caribj returned? Will I guess you can't resist posting on GNI. 

With respect to the Wind Farm, you need to address the issue of Govt entering into a long term contract with Singh when oil prices are at a 10 year low and the numbers being peddled by Harmon are fictitious. 

baseman posted:

And on this note, I see some relevance.  Guyana does have it's dose of chicken shit politicians in the current Govt!!  Supply in abundance!!

The laugh is they will be there for ever, do better than the PPP and make sure we have a rich black elite class to match. I have no grudges if they steal half of much as the PPP.

Glad to see the APNU-AFC govt slowly implementing the portfolio energy mix of renewable energy sources. We had this in the AFC 2011 Action Plan. The portfolio approach is better than the Amaila silverbullet approach. It is less risky and it will be cheaper. However they have to be careful that AFC's oligarchs are more socially responsible...I will write on this soon.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

LOL

Weren't you supposed to be on self imposed banishment until Caribj returned? Will I guess you can't resist posting on GNI. 

With respect to the Wind Farm, you need to address the issue of Govt entering into a long term contract with Singh when oil prices are at a 10 year low and the numbers being peddled by Harmon are fictitious. 

Because of idiotic postings as above that I intrude now and then.

When the prices of fossil fuel are low and they will be low for the next few years ( the market is projecting $50 per barrel not expected to be reached until 2018) you have the time to build the alternative energy infrastructure.

We need to have that as the larger component on our energy needs and we will be needing some 100 megawatts in the next few years. We need to focus on Solar and biomass tech as well as wind and mini hydro as producing at least 60% of our energy needs in the next 10 years.

England has a plant driven by chicken poop.

This board is driven low down by Bullshit....been so for years.

And lots of WIND POWER on this board too, cain. 24/7 FREE.

If only we can harness this FREE WIND POWER, it could move mountains in Guyana.

Where does these people have the time to post here 24/7, unless they post while working. This must be evidence of the board being quieter on weekends.

Maan they must have a loose life. I wish my days were a few hours longer, because I might not get all my projects done in my lifetime.    

No...no...Cain, its driven by Chicken shit, like Strom's power plant in England.  What a waste of good time.  

It appears to me that this gov't. is tightly affiliated with a number of corrupted East Indian businessmen. Isn't such an affiliation with the previous gov't. that drew heavy fire from the AFC and PNC?  TK is now arguing that they will "thief less" than their predecessors and therefore we must accept it. Is this what change is all about??

baseman posted:

Caribj should be released.  He is a good addition to the discussions!!

I second that!!

baseman posted:

I second that!!

I agree! I wonder if he still has interest. Even Kari and tk are hardly ever on these days. Gilbakka's fine and gentlemanly debating style is cramped in the absence of other smart posters. The board has lost the life of debate from these posters, so much so that one poster is now emboldened to make posts on political as if it is his Facebook page. Hey, just my opinion.

I do wish the forum could become vibrant with real debate again. I believe that members of the Guyana government and opposition read to get a feel for sentiments of the people as represented in the board, though most are in the diaspora. (btw I enjoy reading  zed's posts direct from Guyana.)

I think the smart posters who can add real value to the debate on this forum tend to stay away because they are constantly being demerited and bullied by the people with no real knowledge and biased minds.  Personally, I pay more attention to the people who have opposing viewpoints to my own - the ones who are not PPP supporters.  I have a curiosity as to how their minds work and what makes them tick.

It looks to me that Jagdeo is busy stabbing up everyone around him who is in his way of making the government look corrupt and incompetent. To that end he is shoving Singh under the bus after he has taken his fare share for those permits etc. But not so long ago he even said that anyone in the PPP is caught for having been corrupt under the PPP spell, should face jail. He himself hired many of them, and run their ministries and offices as if he was the only acting minister in the government, instead of being the president. Now he is willing to see them locked up, knowing that he enjoys presidential immunity. But none of this should come as a surprise to anyone. He let the Americans catch Khan so that he could take over the guy's business interest. He is becoming a danger to the PPP, a man obsessed with power who is willing to sell out even his best friends. Singh is lucky he has evidence that Jagdeo himself gave the go ahead. If it had been anyon else in the PPP, Jagdeo would have been the first to demand that they are jailed.

baseman posted:

I second that!!

Have u really examined the contents of his comments? If u looking for him to balance out the racists comments of others, then I support to effort to bring him back, immediately. 

My feeling is, he can't help being anti-Indian. And such sentiments runs very deep. Eventually those who manage this BB will be forced to sanction him. Caribj recognizes his deep seated resentment of Indians, and he will choose to stay away. Just another beef to add to his list of bad bad cooolie people.

baseman posted:

I second that!!

Have u really examined the contents of his comments? If u looking for him to balance out the racists comments of others, then I support to effort to bring him back, immediately. 

My feeling is, he can't help being anti-Indian. And such sentiments runs very deep. Eventually those who manage this BB will be forced to sanction him. Caribj recognizes his deep seated resentment of Indians, and he will choose to stay away. Just another beef to add to his list of bad bad cooolie people.

can't handle the truth

RiffRaff posted:
baseman posted:

I second that!!

can't handle the truth

Jack's line.

U against cooolie people too?

Last edited by seignet
RiffRaff posted:

the man is not here to defend himself....so feel free to take pot shots

Reality is a Bytch.  Pot Shot for those who cant handle situations. Uncle Nehru has a record of being capable.

RiffRaff posted:
baseman posted:

I second that!!

le.

can't handle the truth

Jack's line.

U against cooolie people too?

since you seem to be the expert on who for or who against coolie people, what do you think?

Bhai that is what TK teaching American Kids.  What a bloody shame

The man has brought shame and ignominy on the teaching profession. God, pleas help those unfortunate souls.

Personally, I pay more attention to the people who have opposing viewpoints to my own - the ones who are not PPP supporters.  I have a curiosity as to how their minds work and what makes them tick.

Really? You wanna know how Gilbakka's mind works? Here's a tip: I'm a voracious reader and a skimpy eater and dresser. Here's another tip: I miss Jagan's socialist PPP and stay far from Jagdeo's crony-capitalist PPP. One more: Big bank account and gold jewelry and even a car mean nothing to me. Finally, I still give a thought or two to my 1970s pet dog and turtle, my 1980s pet cat and my pet parakeet who died on February 5 two years ago. Last Friday I lit a candle in her memory. Her pic is myPC  screen saver. Oh, one more: For me, life is more than Guyana's party politics; I don't regard as personal enemies my opponents in this Forum. Walk in the corner, beti. 

baseman posted:

I say, step out of the shadow, become a crony capitalist and put your kids in a better place for tomorrow.  Ain't nothing wrong with it!! [Hansum bai, I have one son whom I gave the freedom to think for himself. So, you won't be surprised to know that while I consistently support the left-wing NDP here in Canada, my son is a member of the right-wing PC party.]

Oh, before I forget, and get yourself a new birdie!! [My wife volunteered to buy me another birdie but I declined. That will dilute my affection and great memories of the departed birdie. After all, I can't see myself getting a new wife if my wife dies, God forbid.]