So Mr. Gilbakka, Would you care to tell us your Muslim name when you got married to the Muslim wife? Hey, and don't give me no backdam answer. I grew up there.

No problem, bro. My nikka name is FEROZE MOHAMED.

Feroze Mohamed was a PPP guy who used to live near us in Prashad Nagar.

He swam like a fish...gilbakka perhaps?

So Mr. Gilbakka, Would you care to tell us your Muslim name when you got married to the Muslim wife? Hey, and don't give me no backdam answer. I grew up there.

Feroze Mohamed was a PPP guy who used to live near us in Prashad Nagar.

He swam like a fish...gilbakka perhaps?

THAT Feroze Mohamed, of Amla Avenue Prashad Nagar, was a guest at Gilbakka's wedding. He knew I adopted his name for the occasion.

Kari posted:

For all my years on planet earth, I have claimed to be an Indian. I have never heard any Indian Guyanese state that they are Pakistani. Y'all have lost y'all freeking minds.

That's the point. Anyone who raises the specter of Pakistan (like that fool Prince) only seek division and perpetuate bigotry.

All this time I thought Chief was Pakistani!!!

I will take you there if you agree for us to get nikha.

Let us please stop this Hindu VS Muslim talk. It will divide us.

Out forefathers, parents and grandparents always loved and respected each other as Bhai, Bhai.

Please friends, let us not start a Hindu vs Muslim fight, it will do a disservice to our community. It will also be an insult to our parents and foreparents.

Yugi

Did you ever paid attention to who starts this shit?

I know that Guyanese Hindu and Muslims live very close even though they may at times resort to some negative comments about each other's religion.  But that's how far it goes.  The case is the same with catholics and Jews in New York. People would say stereotypical things about the other group behind their backs when there is some conflict.  

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

I know another converted Hindu Guyanese who still goes by the name Jamaludin Mohammed.

Guyana East Indian Hindus and Muslims must always have unity and live as brothers and sisters. They must never allow other people problems and issues to divide them.

That should apply to every race as well.

Please remember that Muslims are not only East Indians.

They are terrorist by choice.  

ksazma posted: Looks like Gilly changed his name only for the wedding.

Yes I did. How else could I have married the young lady? Gilly does not elope. Nikka was a condition, so I accepted. My in-laws knew I was a PPP Marxist-Leninist, ie, an agnostic, at that time. 

Once the name is changed or accepted, there is a facial transformation takes place.

Dis madras fella accepted Islam. It is like 60 years ago. And he has a distinct madras looks, as usual handsome.

Anyway, the mans children and his grands all have this muslim features. One look and one could tell they are muslims.

Suh Gilly examine yuh befo and aft picah.

This is not prejudicial. 

Once the name is changed or accepted, there is a facial transformation takes place.

Dis madras fella accepted Islam. It is like 60 years ago. And he has a distinct madras looks, as usual handsome.

Anyway, the mans children and his grands all have this muslim features. One look and one could tell they are muslims.

Suh Gilly examine yuh befo and aft picah.

This is not prejudicial. 

Whadeerass yuh telling me deh, padna? Gilly suppose to look SCAMPISH?!!!!!! 

He may be a real convert. Looks like Gilly changed his name only for the wedding.

Yeah bai. Jamaludin is forced to  attend Masjid every Friday too.

Why a big man allowing others to force him to attend masjid? Can't he stand up for himself? He must make his kids really proud of him.

He may be a real convert. Looks like Gilly changed his name only for the wedding.

Why a big man allowing others to force him to attend masjid? Can't he stand up for himself? He must make his kids really proud of him.

Ksaa bhai, it's a domestic thing. The man is a cat in the corner watching the pitbull.

In my opinion, that is his problem for being weak. And not being weak does mean being forceful. It means that each person is respected and no one should be forced to do anything. I have known my wife since 1984 and we have been married since 1988 and we have never hit each other nor has anyone been forced to do anything. We love and respect each other and our two children benefited because we have never hit them either. One is 21 and the other is 13. This Jamaludin Mohamed dude seems to have no self esteem. 

I got a feelin it's skeldon man talkin bout himself deh.

Then I better be gentle with the brother.

Skeldon man thinks that every marriage should be 50- 50 and he practices that. You rass think me ah waan ah dem nata rass coolie who tek eye pass? No boy, I demand respect in my house and I give respect to all(except you).

That should be 100% each person brings to the table not 50%, that percentage makes people go find outside piece.

Why should marriage prevent one from getting outside piece?

You get caught and you sleep outside permanently too.

Guyana East Indian Hindus and Muslims have a unique relationship. Every Guyanese East Indian Hindu or muslim can find relatives of the each other fate in their family. For Example A Guyanese East Indian Hindu can marry a muslim. That would be impossible in other countries. The Guyanese East Indian people are their own nation. Let's keep it that way.

Guyana East Indian Hindus and Muslims have a unique relationship. Every Guyanese East Indian Hindu or muslim can find relatives of the each other fate in their family. For Example A Guyanese East Indian Hindu can marry a muslim. That would be impossible in other countries. 

A few times here in Toronto, in the subway or shopping mall, smiling and friendly looking Indians asked Gilbakka: "You are from India?"

"No." 

"Where are you coming from?"

"Guyana."

Eh, eh. The Indian walk away as if Gilbakka got kokobeh. Seems like dem know Indo-Guyanese freely marry outside their religion and race. Dem nah like dat. We far gone.

Eh, eh. The Indian walk away as if Gilbakka got kokobeh.

Prashad is an example of this. I need to know why a man, who is the only Indian in his household, screams for an East Indian homeland.  His wife already told him that she "doesn't intend to live in no coolie nation, and neither will her kids".    Poor man!

Same thing happened to me a few months ago A young Sikh sales clerk told me that I am not Indian. I said yes. I am an East Indian Guyanese. My people are our own race and nation. 

And here was Kari screaming that Caribbean and Asian Indians are all one nation, even as he went to an Indian show, and felt out of place.