Hindus seem to be the only ones that embraces India as the ancestral land of their fore-parents. Muslims like Chief and others speak of India and Indians as their enemies. They will speak highly of neighboring Pakistan and embraced Pakistanis culture rather than India or Indian culture. Why?

Years ago when I was secretary of theIndo-Caribbean Federation (ICF), the idea came about to include a Pakistani flag along side the flag of India, and I objected with valid reasons that our fore-parents came from India and not Pakistan. 

Another time the ICF wanted Afros to compete in the singing competition where I objected again based on the constitution of the organization which clearly stated that we're preserving and celebrating Indian heritage as it outlined on the organization name, Indo- Caribbean Federation. 

Thankfully, both ideas were put the rest....now back to the question of my thread.

My family is at 5th generation starting from my Great Grandparents [Indentured Immigrants from India to British Guyana],we are not Indians we are Indo-Guyanese we embrace Guyana the land of our birth[our navel string juk there],the notion of embracing the land of my great grand parents are nonsense,well at least in my family.

So your family dont have Ancestors. You are telling us your family started in Guyana and that where they came from is of no importance, am I understanding you correctly???

Like you took lesson from Moses who said he is Guyanese by not Indian? Granger took DNA test to found out his roots. Should Granger denied his African roots?

Also the British Dogs engineered a Plan to Divide Hindus and Muslims. The brutal Violence at Partition could have been avoided but it was part of the British inhuman Plan. Bloody Limey Dogs!!!!!!!!

It is funny how the British who abused Indians and stole so much of their treasures during their brutal rule of India suddenly being worried about the Indian Muslim population in 1947. Looking back now, Pakistanis probably would have been better off if they were still part of India. India probably would have been better off also.

Wah kine ah rass you ah cum up wid dis early Sunday manin? Like you rass fall fram wan tree nah?

Hindus seem to be the only ones that embraces India as the ancestral land of their fore-parents. Muslims like Chief and others speak of India and Indians as their enemies. They will speak highly of neighboring Pakistan and embraced Pakistanis culture rather than India or Indian culture. Why?

Years ago when I was secretary of theIndo-Caribbean Federation (ICF), the idea came about to include a Pakistani flag along side the flag of India, and I objected with valid reasons that our fore-parents came from India and not Pakistan. 

Another time the ICF wanted Afros to compete in the singing competition where I objected again based on the constitution of the organization which clearly stated that we're preserving and celebrating Indian heritage as it outlined on the organization name, Indo- Caribbean Federation. 

Thankfully, both ideas were put the rest....now back to the question of my thread.

Any organization that seeks to represent "Indo-Caribbean" peoples (note the plural "peoples") owe it to themselves to define "Indo-Caribbean".

If it is an "India-Caribbean" organization then no other country matters and India it is.

If it is "Indo-" then the definition has to involve a race and a place. The people of Pakistan are racially "Indian", and that country was part of India.

If the definition were to involve all the peoples of the Caribbean who came as Indentureds from mostly from Kolkata AND  other people from the sub-continent who were not ethnically Indo - like Parsis and Afghans, then one would have to include the countries thatg made up that area. It is both India and Pakistan.

So it would not be incorrect to take a stand against having the Pakistani flag (not matter the politics, as you will note half of India never like the Ghandi Congress for stifling India with its socialism and another set that don't like the Janata party for its hubristic, superior far-right Hindu Nationalists). However one should clearly state that this is an organization that wants no one of the Pakistani heritage or Bangladeshi heritage at all. Further, by referencing the Pakistani flag, it is not clear that the religion of Islam plays a part, because then the organization would then have to narrow its definition as a purely Hindu one. Sorry Madrasis, and Christians and Jains, Sikhs, etc.

The title of this is grosssly misleading as the poster failed to make the linkage between someone supposedly wanting the Pakistani flag in the organization and a dernial of coming from India.

This is a case of an amateurish failure to masks one's prejudices.

Kari posted:

Any organization that seeks to represent "Indo-Caribbean" peoples (note the plural "peoples") owe it to themselves to define "Indo-Caribbean".

If it is an "India-Caribbean" organization then no other country matters and India it is.

If it is "Indo-" then the definition has to involve a race and a place. The people of Pakistan are racially "Indian", and that country was part of India.

If the definition were to involve all the peoples of the Caribbean who came as Indentureds from mostly from Kolkata AND  other people from the sub-continent who were not ethnically Indo - like Parsis and Afghans, then one would have to include the countries thatg made up that area. It is both India and Pakistan.

So it would not be incorrect to take a stand against having the Pakistani flag (not matter the politics, as you will note half of India never like the Ghandi Congress for stifling India with its socialism and another set that don't like the Janata party for its hubristic, superior far-right Hindu Nationalists). However one should clearly state that this is an organization that wants no one of the Pakistani heritage or Bangladeshi heritage at all. Further, by referencing the Pakistani flag, it is not clear that the religion of Islam plays a part, because then the organization would then have to narrow its definition as a purely Hindu one. Sorry Madrasis, and Christians and Jains, Sikhs, etc.

The title of this is grosssly misleading as the poster failed to make the linkage between someone supposedly wanting the Pakistani flag in the organization and a dernial of coming from India.

This is a case of an amateurish failure to masks one's prejudices.

Pakistan flag should have been included because we are excluding our own genetic race.

Also the British Dogs engineered a Plan to Divide Hindus and Muslims. The brutal Violence at Partition could have been avoided but it was part of the British inhuman Plan. Bloody Limey Dogs!!!!!!!!

It is funny how the British who abused Indians and stole so much of their treasures during their brutal rule of India suddenly being worried about the Indian Muslim population in 1947. Looking back now, Pakistanis probably would have been better off if they were still part of India. India probably would have been better off also.

Absolutely, Guyana in my opinion proves that. The British Dogs saw Indian lives(Hindu and Muslim) as INFERIOR!!!!!!!!

With their "No dogs or Indians in the park" nonsense. Then they sought to create mischief between Muslims and Hindus causing Jinnah to develop mistrust in his mind. Alas, Sagga bai thinks only white folks are civilized.

Everywhere the Brits left after they were done pillaging, they left a lifetime of corruption and violence. They even caused the Palestinians to be kicked out of their own lands. Look how ungrateful these bastards are!

Yet Tony Blair was bragging about how civilized the British are when he was colluding with Bush to invade Iraq.

So your family dont have Ancestors. You are telling us your family started in Guyana and that where they came from is of no importance, am I understanding you correctly???

That's blackman mentality.  

Be careful in attacking the Royal family. Because when these people start to attack us like in Fiji or South Africa. They are the only ones you can turn to.

No doubt the west has progressed much more than other places but it does not mean that one should not point out where they erred. The US is by far the best place to live on planet earth but even the US has had their moments of discredit as in the case when Dick Chaney said that the US is not in the business of counting (dead) bodies.

Pakistan = Pookistan = Failed state

Military dictatorship, murder of political leaders, Taliban, Radicalism, sponsorship of dictatorship and terrorism, Lack of human rights and freedom of expression, women are treated like trash and the list goes on and on.

Pakistan/Poo kistan = A complete mess. They have gone the way of the middle east. 

That is what i am aware of,I am 3rd generation born in Guyana,at that time my great grand parents gone beyond,i was told they were Indentured Immigrants from India,do i have any rights in their country of birth the ... answer is no,hence why should it be of importance.

Django Bhai

You are entitled to your opinion and I am advising you that you are way off.

Blacks celebrate Black Heritage month and rightfully so.

Nothing wrong in Indos being proud of their heritage and ancestry. It is amazing how some people have been brainwashed into acceptation a distorted and confused interpretation of their history, culture and origin to a point of denying their origin.

Like Moses, I am sure that you may soon deny that you are NOT Indo while Carib pushes his racist black agenda and brainwashing individuals like yourself.

Jai Hind !!!!

Carry on.

Perceive it how you want,my grandfather was born in Guyana and I have no longing for ties to the country of his parents who came from India.

Django has already denied his Indo heritage. Like Moses, he is black and I am quite fine with that. I respect his choice to become black like Carib.

We have Moses leading the flock of Indos turning Black and jumping into the Atlantic Ocean and denying their Indo origin. It is their choice. Freedom of choice.

And BTW, according to Moses and yourself, we should not talk about Indo Indentured Immigrants.

Who knows, Mentioning India under this racist administration may soon become a crime.

Django has already denied his Indo heritage. Like Moses, he is black and I am quite fine with that. I respect his choice to become black like Carib.

We have Moses leading the flock of Indos turning Black and jumping into the Atlantic Ocean and denying their Indo origin. It is their choice. Freedom of choice.

Did you miss where i said i am Indo-Guyanese,who the r@ss give you authority to say i am black,i am brown and proud of it.

Bhai,

Crocodile Moses already did.

Perceive it how you want,my grandfather was born in Guyana and I have no longing for ties to the country of his parents who came from India.

Blacks have reverence for Africa and are more respectable than a traitor like you. You're just like your buddy Moses. Your language in this post differs from the ones where you try to write like a dummy to hide who you are, Mr. Fish Journalist.

LOL..you can't identify a poster here,how can you be identified as an Indian[ born in India]

Your comment on my post "That's blackman mentality" then your recent post "Blacks have reverence for Africa",you are really confused.

Django, you have me confused. You said that you are not Indian, that you are guyanese, seeming to say that these are mutually exclusive. Then you say that you are Indo-guyanese. Then you say you are brown, not black. Now you live in the US. Are you a brown Indo-guyanese-American now?

please define for me what guyanese culture is, what Indo-guyanese is. Are you confusing nationality with cultural heritage?or culture?

heck, I lived abroad fir over forty years and I say among other things, that I am Indian, I am Guyanese. I am black., each of those labels I feel proud of and can strongly defend my definition of them as they apply to me. 

It is too bad that some seem to say the Indo part of the Indo-Guyanese label under their breath like if they are ashamed of that part of themselves, that they should not be proud of that part of who they are and of their cultural heritage. Too often many subscribe to the definitions that others impose on them and forget the shoulders on which they stand, not only on the ancestors basic origin, but also their the culture they grew up in, preserved, and passed on so that it continues to exist in Guyana.

Z

Many who claim to be Muslims and Pakistanis were Hindus if you trace their lineage.

Regarding those Indians from the Caribbean, it is acceptable to use the term Indian Guyanese or  Indo-Guyanese. The reference to the Indian part distinguish Indians from others and defines their cultural linkage with India. Itis not that people have to cut off their linkage with India...as Guyanese we have established the fact that we are not citizens of India.

Many confused people believe that they should cut off their linkage with India. Thats not the case, and Guyanese Africans should not cut off their links with Africa either.

The problem is that Indians feel that they are being disloyal to Guyana when they express their Indianness, and Africans continue to label them that way...even though Africans understand that African is part of their legacy...ask Kwayana and Rodney about this.

My understanding is that this was what Moses failed to comprehend when he declared that he was not an Indian....he was confused like some of you guys here.      

Many who claim to be Muslims and Pakistanis were Hindus if you trace their lineage.

Regarding those Indians from the Caribbean, it is acceptable to use the term Indian Guyanese or  Indo-Guyanese. The reference to the Indian part distinguish Indians from others and defines their cultural linkage with India. Itis not that people have to cut off their linkage with India...as Guyanese we have established the fact that we are not citizens of India.

Many confused people believe that they should cut off their linkage with India. Thats not the case, and Guyanese Africans should not cut off their links with Africa either.

The problem is that Indians feel that they are being disloyal to Guyana when they express their Indianness, and Africans continue to label them that way...even though Africans understand that African is part of their legacy...ask Kwayana and Rodney about this.

My understanding is that this was what Moses failed to comprehend when he declared that he was not an Indian....he was confused like some of you guys here.      

VMahabir, your post confirms that you are the one who's confused about identity. You know why? Because you bring in to the topic how Afro-Guyanese feel about Africa. You also fail to understand Django's declaration that as someone from a 5-generation Indian immigrant to Guyana he feels no connection to India like the regular Afro-Guyanese feel about Africa. So here to clear up your confusion let me say this.

The Afro-Guyanese does not know which part of Africa his generation came from, which tribe and what language they speak. He only knows his physical appearance is African and some aspects of cuisine and dance culture (even though mixed heavily with African-America, which is another degree removed from say, the Acan tribe).

Likewise the regular Indo-Guyanese does not know much about India other than his or her received vestiges of cuisine, culture, dance  and religion - all of which were changed somewhat over the years in the separation of an ocean.

Last night I was in Trenton, NJ at an Atif Aslam/Sonu Nigam concert. Juxtaposed among many first generation Indian-Americans and mostly immigrant Indians and Pakistanis and Bangladeshis, while I was at one with the music I obviously felt somewhat different from the rest. And I was in India early this year and understood that gap even more.

We seem to be litigating the Moses Nagamootoo quite accurate statement when looked at in context and this is only adding to the confusion. I see that we have digressed from the original topic of the conversation that betrays a clear bias with no insights to knowledge about who we are. In a sense this thread in this forum is being used as a propaganda machine for bias and ignorance. This thread is the devil's work.

There 

Kari posted:

VMahabir, your post confirms that you are the one who's confused about identity. You know why? Because you bring in to the topic how Afro-Guyanese feel about Africa. You also fail to understand Django's declaration that as someone from a 5-generation Indian immigrant to Guyana he feels no connection to India like the regular Afro-Guyanese feel about Africa. So here to clear up your confusion let me say this.

The Afro-Guyanese does not know which part of Africa his generation came from, which tribe and what language they speak. He only knows his physical appearance is African and some aspects of cuisine and dance culture (even though mixed heavily with African-America, which is another degree removed from say, the Acan tribe).

Likewise the regular Indo-Guyanese does not know much about India other than his or her received vestiges of cuisine, culture, dance  and religion - all of which were changed somewhat over the years in the separation of an ocean.

Last night I was in Trenton, NJ at an Atif Aslam/Sonu Nigam concert. Juxtaposed among many first generation Indian-Americans and mostly immigrant Indians and Pakistanis and Bangladeshis, while I was at one with the music I obviously felt somewhat different from the rest. And I was in India early this year and understood that gap even more.

We seem to be litigating the Moses Nagamootoo quite accurate statement when looked at in context and this is only adding to the confusion. I see that we have digressed from the original topic of the conversation that betrays a clear bias with no insights to knowledge about who we are. In a sense this thread in this forum is being used as a propaganda machine for bias and ignorance. This thread is the devil's work.

Kari,

There is no confusion here. India has a significant meaning for Indians (those who see India as a place of origin). I will admit it probably has more to do with Hindus than Muslims or Christians. 

When Django makes a statement about him being a 5th generation Guyanese and India has nothing to offer him, he does not understand his history, nor does he want to accept the fact that India has something to do with his legacy.

You yourself identify a number of cultural traits that Indians share with India. Notice your words  " Likewise the regular Indo-Guyanese does not know much about India other than his or her received vestiges of cuisine, culture, dance  and religion - all of which were changed somewhat over the years in the separation of an ocean." Whatever little exists in Indian culture today is still a link with India...though a weak one.

You are correct about Africans that they have lost much of their cultural connection with Africa. However, unlike Indians, Africans are conscious about the fact that Africa played a major role in their development and are not as willing to condemn India as Moses or Django. There is a difference here, granted not all Africans might be like Kwayana or Rodney. You are smart enough to understand that India plays a role in your history as a Guyanese.

With reference to your point about the event you attended, it is obvious that many of the younger generation you observe will not share that understanding or emotional bond as you. They are growing up in a different environment.

However, in Guyana a lot of the misunderstanding about this historical background is being corrected in different ways. There is a growing consciousness that India plays a special role in Indian history, just as how there is a revival of Islam and a stronger connection between Guyanese Muslims and the Islamic world. 

My point here is that this transformation, which admittedly has been weak, is time space specific, meaning that those who are conscious to the fact that India is part of the their history will accept it, and those who want to deny it will reject this notion. Ironically, you want to clear up my confusion, but yet you do not see the confusion in Django's position...why should others reject this lineage simply because he says that he has no connection with India?     

Yet Tony Blair was bragging about how civilized the British are when he was colluding with Bush to invade Iraq.

Siggy people dem.

For the record our family have no connection what so ever with Portugal. I do not know one portugese song. Garlic poke not even real putagee food, that was brought over by those moving into Guyana.

All I know, I am Guyanese of Portuguese decent....or should I say British Guianese, being born under the British flag.

Where you get this nonsense" British Guianese" from? You WERE a British citizen of Portuguese ancestry then. Now, who knows what you are.