I am wondering why Mohan Nandu a household name and well known former canecutter and Indian singer from the West Demerara has not been given a National Award by the PPP. Pt. Reepu Daman Persaud had used and abused this man for years - taking him to sing for him everywhere in Guyana.  Reep was in a position to recommend Mohan for a National Award while the PPP/C was in power in Guyana. I am puzzled why he was named. Anybody else on this thread knows why? Was he or was he not deserving of a National Award? If a murderer like Hamilton Green can get the highest National Award, I do not see why Mohan couldn't get one.

Don, you may not like what I am saying here, but Freedom House has some mean and petty-minded people. Some, not all. If my memory is okay, during the pre-1992 PNC regime Mohan Nandu had been given a Best Sugar Worker of the Year Award by Guysuco. Also, he might have sung at some government events. That would have certainly put him in the BlackBook.

As you may know, the PPP had blacklisted the Merrytones Orchestra after the Persaud brothers and sister Saywattie performed at a Guyana Independence event at the National Park in 1974. Before that, the PPP used to hire Merrytones to play at its fund-raising events.

After Freedom House kicked out Merrytones, they started hiring De Originals band, your band. As a PYO CC member, I was once delegated to accompany Birdy and his Originals crew to Little Biaboo, Mahaica River, for a concert but we arrived too late and most of the people had left the school building. 

Back to Mohan Nandu, it was not nice that the PPP regime didn't recognize his contribution to Guyana's cultural development.

Don, you may not like what I am saying here, but Freedom House has some mean and petty-minded people. Some, not all. If my memory is okay, during the pre-1992 PNC regime Mohan Nandu had been given a Best Sugar Worker of the Year Award by Guysuco. Also, he might have sung at some government events. That would have certainly put him in the BlackBook.

As you may know, the PPP had blacklisted the Merrytones Orchestra after the Persaud brothers and sister Saywattie performed at a Guyana Independence event at the National Park in 1974. Before that, the PPP used to hire Merrytones to play at its fund-raising events.

After Freedom House kicked out Merrytones, they started hiring De Originals band, your band. As a PYO CC member, I was once delegated to accompany Birdy and his Originals crew to Little Biaboo, Mahaica River, for a concert but we arrived too late and most of the people had left the school building. 

Back to Mohan Nandu, it was not nice that the PPP regime didn't recognize his contribution to Guyana's cultural development.

Gilly, why would you say that I would not agree with you? Listen, I am an honest person and have nothing to hide. I will dish it out to the PPP/C, PNC/APNU/AFC whenever I see injustice. Let me tell you that I agree with you 100%. I know the history of the PPP. They only use and abuse their supporters. all the time. And you know what most of those that they abuse are poor people.

Don..uncle Mohan is a humble fella,i don't think that will matter to him.

I saw him in concert with Gobin Ram in the late 60s at Maya cinema. Both men were very impressive. Both men should have been considered for an award. The PPP screwed up big time. The PNC paid their debt to their terrorist in chief HG.

Dondadda posted:
Gilly, why would you say that I would not agree with you? Listen, I am an honest person and have nothing to hide. I will dish it out to the PPP/C, PNC/APNU/AFC whenever I see injustice. Let me tell you that I agree with you 100%. I know the history of the PPP. They only use and abuse their supporters. all the time. And you know what most of those that they abuse are poor people.

Sshhhh!! Some ah dem bai might pelt yuh house.

I saw him in concert with Gobin Ram in the late 60s at Maya cinema. Both men were very impressive. Both men should have been considered for an award. The PPP screwed up big time. The PNC paid their debt to their terrorist in chief HG.

Gobin Ram (my ex mamoo) passed away,was good friend of Uncle Mohan.

Yes, I remember Gobin, Mohan, Sew Samaroo (GROWLA)  all singing with Ramdhani playing the drum on Geet Nirala and Marmite Quarter Hour with Sonny Mohammed.

I enjoyed the Saturday afternoon program. I think it was about 6 o' clock every Saturday.

Yes, Geet Nirala was aired 6PM Saturdays. Two other performers I remember: Nizam Kalamadeen Harper and Pita Peyari. Some ah dem old bai used to start dem sang wid: "Aahh...Aaaahhh...Aaaaaahhhhhh .... laga etc etc etc"

baseman posted:

The PPP bent over backwards to award and help their non East Indian supporters and other users.

I cautioned them about this.  But hey said they intend to break race-based politics and their traditional constituency became the sacrificial lambs.  Now, look wah happen!!

the absence of even elementary logic in the grunting of these 2 on this thread is actually quite 'fearsome' in a lout antiman kind of way

lol

Dondadda posted:

I am wondering why Mohan Nandu a household name and well known former canecutter and Indian singer from the West Demerara has not been given a National Award by the PPP. Pt. Reepu Daman Persaud had used and abused this man for years - taking him to sing for him everywhere in Guyana.  Reep was in a position to recommend Mohan for a National Award while the PPP/C was in power in Guyana. I am puzzled why he was named. Anybody else on this thread knows why? Was he or was he not deserving of a National Award? If a murderer like Hamilton Green can get the highest National Award, I do not see why Mohan couldn't get one.

Don,

Thanks for bringing this up. The PPP was busy pleasing "other" outsider friends.

I used to attend many, many seven days and seven nights Yagyas in Berbice officiated by the late Pandit Reepu Daman Persaud. I am quite surprised that Mohan Nandu was not given a National Award.

As Django pointed, Mohan is a humble and an award would have made no difference to him.

Once again, thanks for bringing this up.

PPP's morale compass got messed up somewhere along the way.