Missouri teen shot by police was two days away from starting college

By Catherine E. Shoichet, CNN
updated 7:56 AM EDT, Wed August 13, 2014
Watch this video

Father: 'I just want justice for my son'

STORY HIGHLIGHTS
  • NEW: On Facebook, Michael Brown said he liked the St. Louis Rams and Kanye West
  • The 18-year-old was to start technical college classes Monday
  • A police officer shot him over the weekend; authorities are investigating the case
  • Father tells CNN: "He was a leader. He knew what he wanted out of life"

(CNN) -- Monday was supposed to be Michael Brown's first day at technical college. Instead, his parents were planning his funeral.

The 18-year-old was shot by a police officer in a St. Louis suburb on Saturday, sparking a federal civil rights inquiry, local protests and national debate.

One side says the African-American teenager was surrendering, his hands in the air to show he was unarmed, when the officer opened fire. Authorities counter that Brown had attacked the officer in his car and tried to take his gun.

His parents and their lawyer say they don't believe the police account of what happened. They describe Brown as someone who steered clear of violence.

<cite class="expCaption">Michael Brown's friend describes shooting</cite>

<cite class="expCaption">Police Chief: Michael Brown was 'unarmed'</cite>

<cite class="expCaption">Mom: 'You took my son away from me'</cite>

<cite class="expCaption">Teen shooting in Missouri sparks riots </cite>

<cite class="expCaption">Ferguson mayor: Remain calm </cite>

<cite class="expCaption">Police chief: 'We can get to the truth' </cite>

"He was funny, silly. He would make you laugh. Any problems that were going on or any situation, there wasn't nothing he couldn't solve. He'd bring people back together," his father, Michael Brown Sr., told reporters.

Family members nicknamed him the "gentle giant."

For teachers, he was "a student who loomed large and didn't cause trouble," the St. Louis Post-Dispatch reported.

Friends and family said the teenager was ecstatic about starting classes at Vatterott College.

"He looked forward to it so much. You didn't have to tell him, 'Make sure you get to school.' He was ready," mother Lesley McSpadden told CNN.

And he was proud to be setting an example for his younger siblings.

"He was a leader. He knew what he wanted out of life," his father said. "He was a good kid."

He hoped to become a heating and cooling engineer, working on air conditioning, attorney Benjamin Crump, who's representing the teen's family, told reporters.

"Everyone else wanted to be a football player, a basketball player," friend Gerard Fuller told the Post-Dispatch. "He wanted to own his own business. He'd say, 'Let's make something out of nothing.'"

Just a credit shy of graduating high school in May, he earned his diploma on August 1.

On graduation day, he told friends he was relieved, according to the newspaper.

"He said he wasn't going to end up like some people on the streets. He was going to get an education," Hershel Johnson, a friend of Brown's, told the Post-Dispatch. "He was going to make his life a whole lot better."

On Facebook, Brown said he liked the St. Louis Rams, Kanye West's music and comedies including "House Party" and "Scary Movie II."

Now a message from a friend posted on Facebook describes Brown as a someone who "was always there for anybody he knew."

In a Facebook message to a friend last week, Brown wrote: "If I leave this earth today, at least you'll know I care about others more than I cared about my damn self."

Brown had been spending the summer with his grandmother, Desuirea Harris.

"He was a good kid. He didn't live around here," she told CNN affiliate KMOV. "He came to visit me and they did that to him for no reason."

Crump said Brown was doing the right things, finishing high school and planning for his career ahead. His parents were planning to drop him off at college on Monday.

"And instead of celebrating his future, they are having to plan his funeral and talk to attorney (Anthony) Gray and I about second autopsies," Crump said.

At a press conference on Monday, the teenager's parents tearfully described their son to reporters, holding up a photograph showing him as a toddler.

"He was a good boy," his father said. "He didn't deserve none of this."

They asked for supporters to remain peaceful -- something they said their son would have wanted.

"No violence," McSpadden said. "Just justice."

What we know about the shooting

CNN's Eliott C. McLaughlin, Wolf Blitzer and Susan Candiotti contributed to this report.

Racial profiling and stereotyping of blacks particularly and non-whites generally must be combated and condemned strenuously. Michael Brown was a young black man with plans to make himself a useful member of society.

he was also a bully...not that he deserved to die

Hold yuh harses, budday! GNI has some notable bullies. Shall I put a slug in them?

Racial profiling and stereotyping of blacks particularly and non-whites generally must be combated and condemned strenuously. Michael Brown was a young black man with plans to make himself a useful member of society.

Hold yuh harses, budday! GNI has some notable bullies. Shall I put a slug in them?

like i said...he did not deserve to die...yuh blind or yuh cyant read

Gil

It is our responsibility as elder members of society to assist and guide the youngsters. They will make mistakes along the way.

like i said...he did not deserve to die...yuh blind or yuh cyant read

I read you, man. And me na go shoot to kill too.

Gil

It is our responsibility as elder members of society to assist and guide the youngsters. They will make mistakes along the way.

didn't realize you and Gil were elderly...like yall read fuh retirement

Gil

Not yet ready for retirement. Still a few more years left before I head back to Guyana and enjoy my retirement. Zero Politics when I retire.

But Gil is ready for retirement.

Gil

Most teenage boys will get into trouble sometime in their lives. That doesn't mean that they deserve to be gunned down.

Gil

Most teenage boys will get into trouble sometime in their lives. That doesn't mean that they deserve to be gunned down.

Right on Skelly.

This young man did not deserve to die. I commend you for taking a principled stand on this incident.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Darryl Wilson is 6' 4" tall and weighs 210 lbs. Michael Brown is the same height and weighs 290 lbs. Is Darryl Wilson relatively small to the Michael Brown based on this data?

BRB

Racism is at play here. They can slice, spin it and dice it however they want but the world is witnessing injustice.

Darryl Wilson is 6' 4" tall and weighs 210 lbs. Michael Brown is the same height and weighs 290 lbs. Is Darryl Wilson relatively small to the Michael Brown based on this data?

Billy Ram, time for arithmetic and intelligence exercises.

Darryl Wilson is 6' 4" tall. Michael Brown was [not is. He dead] same height, i.e., 6' 4" tall.

Darryl Wilson weighs 210 lbs and Michael Brown weighed [not weighs] 290 lbs.

Therefore Darryl Wilson was 80 lbs lighter and slimmer than Michael Brown.

But, but, but...

Darryl Wilson carried a gun and bullets and badge and those things carry big weight, you know what I mean? And that kinda weight offset his physical weight deficiency.

Besides, Darryl Wilson was 10 years older than Michael Brown and should have more brains.

BOTTOM LINE: Wilson murdered Brown.

Darryl Wilson is 6' 4" tall. Michael Brown was [not is. He dead] same height, i.e., 6' 4" tall.

But, but, but...

Darryl Wilson carried a gun and bullets and badge and those things carry big weight, you know what I mean? And that kinda weight offset his physical weight deficiency.

Besides, Darryl Wilson was 10 years older than Michael Brown and should have more brains.

Professional murdered a teenager without any consequences.

where is anyone saying that he deserved to be gunned down?

Ray, no one said he deserved to be gunned down. Yes, he bullied the store keeper and stole. This does not mean he deserve to be dead. He was just a teenager; regardless of his size.

WHy you keep repeating that he did not deserve to die when no one is saying he deserved to die?

But, but, but...

Were you ever a cop? They are trained to shoot to kill if faced with a threatening situation...if someone charging you, and you have a gun....what yuh think will happen?

Gilbakka,

I am not taking sides here. I am just trying to ascertain some relevant facts that can allow me to make a good judgment whether this was a case of murder or self-defense. Brown weighing 80 lbs more than Darryl surely gives him a significant advantage. Take for example a boxer outweighing his opponent by 80 lbs.  A hard punch from the heavier guy would surely put the lighter guy out. Don't you think that Brown could have finished this guy off with heavy punches?  Think about a Guyanese man who was punched to death on Hempstead Turnpike in Long Island by a man who did not weigh  more than 20 lbs. than himself.  Darryl may have been danger when this guy came at him. The incident was not caught on camera but we can judge from his hostility in the store that  he may assaulted the police which provoked the shooting

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

If Michael Brown did hit the police officer then he got what was coming to him.  The video of the store where he may have stolen the cigars showed an angry young man but it also showed a man who wanted to scare the store clerk but not hurt him.  The police officer could have shot him in the foot or fire a warning shot.  But that was not done.

I once watched a Canadian police officer use a series of  f--- /SH-t curse words in a mall on a young native Canadian male while he was arresting the young man's sister for being drunk in public. It was very clear to me, a bystander, that it was all done to make the young man attack him so that he can get an excuse to use physical violence on him.  When the young man talked back the police officer then threw him to the ground and arrested him also.

The parents of children of color have to teach them when they are young how to behave when approached by police officers.  Not because there are these two silver tongue toms Obama/Holder in power now does it mean racism has ended for people of color.

Wally
Last edited by Wally

If Brown held up the store, then he is not as wonderful and non-violent as his parents are claiming. Good kids know how to be respectful and stay out of trouble. Brown apparently wasn't that good a kid. Wilson may have shot him in cold blood but he may have also shot him in response to feeling threatened. Police officers take care of multitudes of people and every once in a while we have a case like this where the facts are not very clear. All this marching and protesting seem more opportunistic and lacks true perspective. People like Sharpton are late to the dance if this point is where they get involved.

But, but, but...

Gilly,

Thank you for pointing my grammatical errors. I was in a rush when I did this. 

But, but, but...

Gilly,

Thank you for pointing my grammatical errors. I was in a rush when I did this. 

No problem, bro. We all make mistakes, typos, etc.

Originally Posted by Django:

My take on this is the cop should have waited for back up

to apprehend the kid.

Take your take to the toilet.

Expected from some one with warped logic.The cop was

over powered by unarmed kid in broad day light,what are

his options shoot him in his head,or wait for backup????

"neutralize" the threat.

My take on this is the cop should have waited for back up

to apprehend the kid.

Some day, there is going to be a militant black group that is going to even scores with white policemen. Perhaps, that will be a reason to think twice before killing a blackman. That day will come. People will only take that much before they take the law into their own hands.

In my opinion most police operation are correct. There are only a few that are under the shadow of suspicion so we shouldn't react like there is some epidemic. Back in the 80s there was a traffic cop in Guyana who used to drive fear in us bike riders. We thought that he was a sob but when I met him a few years ago, I saw a really gentle and calm person. I concluded that he had to display that attitude to get the respect of vehicle operators. After all we broke so many laws as bike riders. Stop sign meant nothing to us back then.