Agreement with ExxonMobil…“Matters not if Guyana secured a good or bad deal, we got a deal…time to move on” – Minister Jordan

By Abena Rockcliffe-Campbell

Finance Winston Jordan wants Guyana to start looking ahead. He said that it makes no sense

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan

continuing to waste time lamenting on whether or not Guyana may have received a good or bad deal. The Minister said that what is now important is for Guyanese to look to the future with hope for development.

Jordan hosted a press conference yesterday at his Main Street Office. At that forum, he was asked if he was happy with the deal Guyana has secured with oil giant ExxonMobil.

Jordan refused to answer the question in the simple negative or affirmative. He took a different route. The Minister told reporters, “It is not for me to be happy or unhappy.”

Jordan said that once Cabinet approves a document, all members have a collective responsibility. “If you do not like something (a Cabinet decision) and you are passionate about it, you have the option to resign. It (the agreement) has been discussed, received and approved by Cabinet. We have gone beyond that.”

The Finance Minister took the opportunity to note that there have been tremendous attempts at oil exploration in Guyana. He even referred to a time in Guyana’s history when oil was reportedly found in Takutu. The Minister said that the announcement back then about an oil find sparked much celebration. However, a few days later there was another announcement that the oil found was not commercially viable.

Further, Jordan sought to point out that ExxonMobil had no easy task in accessing Guyana’s oil.

The Minister noted that “the depth of water that ExxonMobil is currently drilling in is unheard of.  So they had to have specific types of technology not known to too many”.

Jordan also made note of the level of financing that has to be available to ExxonMobil for it to carry out drilling of that magnitude. “And, I believe the further out they go will be more depth which will require even more technology.”

Jordan said that the deepest ExxonMobil ever drilled before is said to be in the Gulf of Mexico and that is nothing in comparison to the depth at which it has gone offshore Guyana.

Jordan went on to state that APNU+AFC did not have full control over what kind of deal Guyana secured. He said that the current government did not renegotiate the contract.

“With all this issue about good deal and so on, you are making an assumption that we renegotiated the contract. That contract was already in place, we inherited that contract,” said Jordan.

The Minister summed up his discussion on the matter by saying it is time Guyanese look to the future and hope for the best. He said, “We can talk till cow come home but in going forward, we can say that discoveries not covered by this contract we have a basis to drive a harder bargain and negotiate for more. But when people are going to go (that length) it’s a risk and private people look for reward.”

Minister Jordan gave an analogy of the situation at hand.  He said that someone can choose to stand up in a gambling den and look on all night. However, Jordan said that at the end of the night that person will be no richer or poorer. “But if I go with the big boys or girls and put my millions, at the end of the night I can be x millions poorer or y millions richer, it is about the risk.”

The Minister continued, “When you put all together it is not whether we got a good deal or bad deal or whatever… we got a deal.” Using another gambling metaphor, Jordan said that “hindsight will always be 20/20, but at the time you are making a deal it depends on what cards you hold and what the other person holds. If you think you have the best hand, then you can drive the bargain. At the time when this deal was put together by the last government you have to ask what cards did we hold? Did we know anything was under there?

Jordan said that while the deal has already been made, Guyana still has a chance to experience real growth.

He said, “We can discuss this over and over, but I believe the positive that you can take away is that we now have resources coming to Guyana that can finally put Guyana on the path to sustained high end development where two percent and three can become things of the past.”

The Minister noted, “It depends on how well we use these resources.”

This man Jordan is emitting slop, not for the first time. Sometimes I wonder if he cares for the long-suffering people of Guyana. By his own words he doesn't care if Guyana gets a bad deal from ExxonMobil. Thanks to Kaieteur News research team, Guyanese know about ExxonMobil's rotten deals with other developing countries. Who says it will operate with a social conscience in Guyana? Why is the government locking up the agreement from the people?  

The gov't said making the agreement public will cause problems with the settlement of Venezuela's Claim,ok let us swallow that pill.

What they need to do is declare how much revenues Guyana will earn from Exxon Mobil,what's the problem with declaring ?? what is there to hide ?? one thing comes to mind "thief"

Well, when you give IDIOTS to run a country, you must expect acute INCOMPETENCE!!!

Just to be clear, what exactly are you saying? That the deal made by the previous government was a good one or that Jordan is incompetent, which I totally agree with, to suggest that Guyana go ahead with the Exxon Contract in its current form?

If the deal was made with the previous government why is it a secret? The opposition suppose to know about it unless the new government made changes to it. In any case the people of Guyana have a right to know about the dealings with Exxon and its business partners because that oil wealth is Guyana's greatest asset.  Let's have some transparency.

Agreement with ExxonMobil…“Matters not if Guyana secured a good or bad deal, we got a deal…time to move on” – Minister Jordan

Finance Winston Jordan wants Guyana to start looking ahead. He said that it makes no sense continuing to waste time lamenting on whether or not Guyana may have received a good or bad deal. The Minister said that what is now important is for Guyanese to look to the future with hope for development.

Jordan hosted a press conference yesterday at his Main Street Office. At that forum, he was asked if he was happy with the deal Guyana has secured with oil giant ExxonMobil.

The issue is the benefits to Guyana; something the Granger-government is not declaring.

Finance Winston Jordan wants Guyana to start looking ahead. He said that it makes no sense continuing to waste time lamenting on whether or not Guyana may have received a good or bad deal. The Minister said that what is now important is for Guyanese to look to the future with hope for development.

The issue is the benefits to Guyana; something the Granger-government is not declaring.

Thank you DG. I am all for transparency.

I read the article and concluded Jordon bounce he head,to make such statement.

Case and point where you fall short intellectually. 

The donkey on which Jesus was riding into Jerusalem had thought all the cheering from the crowd was for him;  he also believed that the hosannas and the branches were in his honour. The difference between you and that donkey is that you are not the bearer of Christ. Keep on braying.

The PNC has succumbed, Back to Back, Belly to Belly, who give damn, we done dead aaready!!  Jordon knows what he is saying!

Alyuh jumping and prancing and Exxon have not yet drilled single well!  The likelihood of Oil is fairly low!

The donkey on which Jesus was riding into Jerusalem had thought all the cheering from the crowd was for him;  he also believed that the hosannas and the branches were in his honour. The difference between you and that donkey is that you are not the bearer of Christ. Keep on braying.

Wow!! Mitwah's comment is deep, strong, piercing and nasty!! Unfortunately, it will have no sobering effect on Drugb. The man will bounce back like an enraged goat. Wanna bet?! 

I read the article and concluded Jordon bounce he head,to make such statement.

Case and point where you fall short intellectually. 

oh crap this is deep

they learn from the ppp this is bull shit the people deserves better too bad the opposition can not make noise they start the shit 

Wow!! Mitwah's comment is deep, strong, piercing and nasty!! Unfortunately, it will have no sobering effect on Drugb. The man will bounce back like an enraged goat. Wanna bet?! 

I block lilmohan so I don't see his posts. He has nothing intelligent to contribute, I don't see how you can stand to have a boss like this man. 

You mean he does bounce around bleating,smellin' bad with a big weight dangling between the legs?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lCxQH8lmStU

Well, when you give IDIOTS to run a country, you must expect acute INCOMPETENCE!!!

The PPP made the deal. These fools did not seek to renegotiate the deal.  I was cussed out by Kary and you for insisting the oil deals were to our disadvantage. Here you are on the right side because of the accident of a broken clock being correct at least two times daily

You mean he does bounce around bleating,smellin' bad with a big weight dangling between the legs?

Deryck, please accept my compliments on your long ears. But that ram goat smell is terrible.

warrior posted:

Nehru doesn't know what he means. Mouth open...shit falls out.

you guys on fire

Looks like fire is chasing the PNC. They are in a hurry to get oil money just in case they are forced to contest a free and fair election in 2020. How much they promise you Bhai?

There was no mention of the sex of the goat........

I block lilmohan so I don't see his posts. He has nothing intelligent to contribute, I don't see how you can stand to have a boss like this man. 

Bai, lilmohan nah me bass. we is all teammates in de slop can crew. I cannot divulge the name of our boss. I can only say we have strict division of labour. lilmohan's job is to knockout KP. Django's job is to blister Bibi. Tola's job is to bash Baseman. Warrior's job is to skin Skelly. Gilbakka's job is to derail Drugb. Carib's job is to nullify Nehru. Cain's job is to backup all awee. 

Ditto !!

We know the system wuk good, when others run and hide.

Baseman can be read like a book, even though he is unpredictable like he warped hero, Trump.

Druggie, too bad you can't see Lilmohan's post, de man tearing you tail, with some really good stuff. He must know your family personally.

Who is funding the payroll?

Laughter is the best medicine. hahahahahahahahahaha.

Lilmohan is a proud member of the Slop Can Crew.

Deryck, I have an APT that tells me you are reading my posts. You behaving like de great pretenduh. 

Billy Ram, you best watch out. Drugb posting about sex with a goat. 

PNC.