The world’s largest selling English newspaper says another Guyana university is defrauding students

aism

Georgetown, Guyana – The largest selling English daily newspaper in the world, the Times of India had recently reported that another Indian-own offshore university that is located in Guyana has been defrauding international students, seemingly with the blessings of Guyana’s National Accreditation Council.

See the Times of India article HERE.

The American International School of Medicine (AISM), which is operating out of Guyana with a makeshift branch in Coimbatore, India, had claim that its degrees are recognized because it is registered with Guyana’s National Accreditation Council and the World Health Organization (sic).

However, the World Health Organization has stated in an email response that such a claim is fraudulent and untrue, while the Times of India had found that the degrees that are issued by the institution are useless.

Authorities in India and South Africa has since suggested that the mere issuance of the degrees to their citizens by the Guyana based university is an act of international money laundering and fraud.

They vehemently questioned the wisdom behind the Guyanese authorities who are supposedly allowing these sort of universities to operate without due diligence in their country.

An Editorial staff at the Times of India who had also investigated the story, told the Guyana Guardian today that many of the affected students in India and their parents are blaming the lax policies of Guyana’s National Accreditation Council (NAC) since many of these questionable universities were able to defraud the students easily based upon the NAC’s supposed accreditation or alleged endorsement (via their website) of AISM’s degrees.

The investigative article on the AISM was realized after the Times of India had agreed to lend its journalism support to an ongoing investigation by the Guyana Guardian into several Indian operated degree mills (bogus universities) that have been operating in Guyana and the Caribbean.

As a matter of fact, at least five senior reporters and contributors from the Guyana Guardian, the Huffington Post, Al Jazeera, and the Times of India had agreed to aid each other in their collective investigation of many of these offshore universities.

The investigations which are still ongoing have since yielded a dossier of embarrassing undercover information which the consortium of journalists intends to hand over to the US Federal Bureau of Investigations, after airing a related documentary on their findings in the second quarter of 2017.

The Guyana Guardian have been at the forefront of the investigations in Guyana and have so far published a number of articles on the subject matter, which had initially focused on the Texila American University, and Guyana’s National Accreditation Council.

See some of those articles HERE and HERE

That institution had threatened to file a lawsuit against the Guyana Guardian, while at least one local education official, Mr. Vincent Alexander, had sought to defend its operations in Guyana via a letter in the Stabroek News (a local private newspaper), in which he claimed that the Guardian’s articles were defamatory.

To date, no such lawsuit has been filed, even though this publication had challenged Texila to do so.

Apart from Texila American University, and the American International School of Medicine (AISM), the international media is currently investigating the operations of several others, including the Georgetown American University, Greenheart Medical University, Rajiv Gandhi University of Science and Technology, and Alexander University, which are all offshore universities that were established by various Indian citizens, who are doing business in Guyana.

Alexander University operates out of the Buddy’s Night Club on Sheriff Street, while the others functions out of rented properties.

This is what you get when hustlers in govt allow for profits to take over and believe they are a viable alternative to UG. All over the US the Feds are clamping down on for profits. In Guyana they are allowed to thrive.

Donkey Cart Economy. TK, you were an adviser to the PNC just before May 15.  Seems like they took you seriously.

These "colleges" started under PPP, but seems like the new govt believes same as PPP. It could also be the kick-back tax has persuaded the new govt to allow them to defraud Guyanese students.

TK posted:

Donkey Cart Economy. TK, you were an adviser to the PNC just before May 15.  Seems like they took you seriously.

These "colleges" started under PPP, but seems like the new govt believes same as PPP. It could also be the kick-back tax has persuaded the new govt to allow them to defraud Guyanese students.

Very good observation!

RiffRaff posted:

I remember when this started under PPP, Nehru was his usual "Bharat Mata Ke Jai"

Yeah...the only reason he would not scream "Bharat Mata Ke Jai" now is because the takers of the kick-back tax are black. I guess no henny and poke cuttahs for him these days. Nothing is wrong with cacabelly cuttahs. He is not concerned with making world-class colleges in Guyana, but that his buddies have access to the off-the-book tax. By the way, Linden Forbes Samson Burnham must be turning in his grave. Forbes would NEVER accept these fraudsters pretending to be offering university education.  

TK posted:
RiffRaff posted:

I remember when this started under PPP, Nehru was his usual "Bharat Mata Ke Jai"

Yeah...the only reason he would not scream "Bharat Mata Ke Jai" now is because the takers of the kick-back tax are black. I guess no henny and poke cuttahs for him these days. Nothing is wrong with cacabelly cuttahs. He is not concerned with making world-class colleges in Guyana, but that his buddies have access to the off-the-book tax. By the way, Linden Forbes Samson Burnham must be turning in his grave. Forbes would NEVER accept these fraudsters pretending to be offering university education.  

I don't think Jagan or Hoyte would have accepted that too.

Guyana is in a push to raise revenue by any means.  Of course, fraudulent businesses always provide the opportunity for kickbacks.

TK, I was not the JACKASS who drank Snakeoil and told people the CHANGE is coming.  Guess who was???   Clue: He is an expert on Donkey Cart Economy.

Meh Neighbe seh when yuh stupid, yuh done stupid

Tk, unlike me, you are a cERTIFIED ASS KISSER, SOUP DRINKER and SNAKEOIL Consumer, so have some shame when you open your mouth.

Anyway, you looked great in that Photo at Bklyn screaming Jagdeo is a racist!!!!!

Tk, unlike me, you are a cERTIFIED ASS KISSER, SOUP DRINKER and SNAKEOIL Consumer, so have some shame when you open your mouth.

Anyway, you looked great in that Photo at Bklyn screaming Jagdeo is a racist!!!!!

You must be mistaking me for someone else. I never met Burke in Brooklyn or any other place, period!  You are either lying or was inebriated with cheap white rum, as is normal in your world. What I did write publicly in SN was Jagdeo was guilty of race baiting at Baboo Jaan...I don't need to go to Brooklyn to say this. It is the same kind of race baiting used effectively by Donald Trump. Except the 39% East Indian population in Guyana makes the harmful strategy ineffectiveness. Reform or die!

TK posted:

TK starting a school or education institution  under any government doesn't lay the blame, which you seems to imply. 

Why did you choose to ignore Vincent Alexander was a member of the opposition then who started this. 

Imran posted:
TK posted:

TK starting a school or education institution  under any government doesn't lay the blame, which you seems to imply. 

Why did you choose to ignore Vincent Alexander was a member of the opposition then who started this. 

Let me be clear. The American govt is closing down for-profit colleges and cutting off federal aid. In Guyana you have a proliferation of for-profit colleges. It seems like modern Guyanese leaders don't have the vision like Cheddi and Forbes back in the 60s.

TK posted:
Let me be clear. The American govt is closing down for-profit colleges and cutting off federal aid. In Guyana you have a proliferation of for-profit colleges.It seems like modern Guyanese leaders don't have the vision like Cheddi and Forbes back in the 60s.

VISION: [1] Set up University of Guyana; [2] Reduce Guyana's contribution to University of the West Indies; [3] Send excess students to Patrice Lumumba University in Russia and also universities in Cuba. Looks like 20/20 vision alright. Especially when Burnham transformed "Jagan's night school" to Turkeyen day school.

TK posted:
Let me be clear. The American govt is closing down for-profit colleges and cutting off federal aid. In Guyana you have a proliferation of for-profit colleges.It seems like modern Guyanese leaders don't have the vision like Cheddi and Forbes back in the 60s.

VISION: [1] Set up University of Guyana; [2] Reduce Guyana's contribution to University of the West Indies; [3] Send excess students to Patrice Lumumba University in Russia and also universities in Cuba. Looks like 20/20 vision alright. Especially when Burnham transformed "Jagan's night school" to Turkeyen day school.

Good one Gilly...seems like I need to retract my statement which you highlighted . BTW...I do believe UG should be the fourth campus of UWI.

TK posted:
TK posted:

Good one Gilly...seems like I need to retract my statement which you highlighted . BTW...I do believe UG should be the fourth campus of UWI.

If you haven't done so, please read THE INDELIBLE RED STAIN by Dr Mohan Ragbeer. He details how Jagan had ignored well-meaning professional advice to help upgrade UWI for the benefit of Guyanese and other Caribbean students. He says that while Jagan's nationalism was admirable in setting up UG, a cost-benefit analysis showed that Guyana suffered a net loss, overall. So, it's not too late to incorporate UG into UWI.

TK posted:
TK posted:

If you haven't done so, please read THE INDELIBLE RED STAIN by Dr Mohan Ragbeer. He details how Jagan had ignored well-meaning professional advice to help upgrade UWI for the benefit of Guyanese and other Caribbean students. He says that while Jagan's nationalism was admirable in setting up UG, a cost-benefit analysis showed that Guyana suffered a net loss, overall. So, it's not too late to incorporate UG into UWI.

I have both volumes. I have read parts but not yet cover to cover, yet. Yes, it is a valuable book and contribution. Ditto UWI. If UG were UWI, I would be packing to work in Guyana. UG is a political football. It would be hard to work for politicians who think they know how a university should operate.