from this:

"Indians are NOT 40% of the population. NO ONE and I repeat NO ONE working on either two campaigns think this."

to this (in the same post!):

"The answer is that the Indians are 40% of the population"

Shaitaan, can u dial back the confused/confusing shyte a click or two . . . yuh huttin meh head dis early marnin

My apologies Nemesis. That particular sentence should read "INDIANS ARE NOT 40% OF THE VOTING ELECTORATE..........."

Its late chap. I'm overworked and I'm exhausted. Memos doan write demselves. And I keeps an odd schedule.

But my point is that Indians are indeed 40% of the general population but that are significantly a much a higher percentage of the voting electorate.

The Indian people who show up to vote have to be in the viscinity of 47% to 51% of the total amount of people who vote. There is no other way to explain the PPP plus AFC grabbing 60% of the national vote.

from this:

"Indians are NOT 40% of the population. NO ONE and I repeat NO ONE working on either two campaigns think this."

Shaitaan, can u dial back the confused/confusing shyte a click or two . . . yuh huttin meh head dis early marnin

My apologies Nemesis. That particular sentence should read "INDIANS ARE NOT 40% OF THE VOTING ELECTORATE..........."

Its late chap. I'm overworked and I'm exhausted. Memos doan write demselves. And I keeps an odd schedule.

But my point is that Indians are indeed 40% of the general population but that are significantly a much a higher percentage of the voting electorate.

The Indian people who show up to vote have to be in the viscinity of 47% to 51% of the total amount of people who vote. There is no other way to explain the PPP plus AFC grabbing 60% of the national vote.

i figured u meant that; but this kind of thing has the potential to spiral out of control and generate much waste of time to-and-froing . . . and we could do with less of that

now, how come u doan consider the rig factor to explain a significant chunk of the "show up to vote" PPP support at election time?

it's a lot more logical/real than the 'go to' explanation (y'all offer up with no statistical backup) that Indo-Guyanese are massively overrepresented in the voting age cohort

from this:

i figured u meant that; but this kind of thing has the potential to spiral out of control and generate much waste of time to-and-froing . . . and we could do with less of that

now, how come u doan consider the rig factor to explain a significant chunk of the "show up to vote" PPP support at election time?

it's a lot more logical/real than the 'go to' explanation (y'all offer up with no statistical backup) that Indo-Guyanese are massively overrepresented in the voting age cohort

That's a very good point.

My contacts on the ground in 2011 sent me contemporaneous narrations of suspect PYO behavior at various poll sites in Indian areas.

I know that the PPP rigged the 2001 election from personal knowledge so I don't put it past them to frig/rig the 2011 result.

I doan know why you seem to think I'm your nemesis chap. On the contrary, I think you're one of the brightest sparks in lighting the way forward when it comes to Guyana. That people like Caribj and I should become irrelevant to the national conversation is not a bad idea. I'm ok with a 100% Black police force that does its job. And I'm even ok with a 100% Black Cabinet that will value Indian life equal to Black life and will rule Guyana for all Guyanese.

I sincerely do not want Indian superiority or privilege but a society where I don't have to care about race.

You may not even believe me but I'm generally more at home in the company of Afro-Guyanese than I am with Indo-Guyanese. I have more in common with Afro-Guyanese than I do with Indo-Guyanese. Especially the Afro-Saxon crowd.

from this:

My contacts on the ground in 2011 sent me contemporaneous narrations of suspect PYO behavior at various poll sites in Indian areas.

I know that the PPP rigged the 2001 election from personal knowledge so I don't put it past them to frig/rig the 2011 result.

I doan know why you seem to think I'm your nemesis chap. On the contrary, I think you're one of the brightest sparks in lighting the way forward when it comes to Guyana. That people like Caribj and I should become irrelevant to the national conversation is not a bad idea. I'm ok with a 100% Black police force that does its job. And I'm even ok with a 100% Black Cabinet that will value Indian life equal to Black life and will rule Guyana for all Guyanese.

I sincerely do not want Indian superiority or privilege but a society where I don't have to care about race.

You may not even believe me but I'm generally more at home in the company of Afro-Guyanese than I am with Indo-Guyanese. I have more in common with Afro-Guyanese than I do with Indo-Guyanese. Especially the Afro-Saxon crowd.

a couple of things:

i don't know where you get this absurd idea that i consider u my "nemesis" . . . this is a message board bai; we need to keep stuff in perspective

now, i'd be horrified and certainly would NOT be ok with 100% Black dis or 100% Black dat for anything like the 'extreme' hypotheticals (even with your conditions attached) contemplated above; such scenarios are by definition coercive, sinister and ultimately destructive to the multi-ethnic democracy i envisage for Guyana . . . not to mention insincere, soundbiteish and unworthy of someone like you with legitimate concerns about the condition of Indo-Guyanese; concerns that i would never be so ignorant as to dismiss out of hand

some advice . . . you really should stop this pointing to your comfort level with Black friends and associates; it is sorta cringe-inducing, unnecessary and irrelevant for so many good reasons, not the least of which being that i have never accused you of hating Black people

btw, the lil bit of flattery is a nice tactical touch - wasted though . . . i too experienced and jaded for that kind of thing to have even minimal effect

no worries though "chap"

Since the election will be decided almost exclusively on the AFC's ability to hold down the PPP's Indian support by keeping its 2011 Indians from returning to the PPP.

How is ayuh great coolie god Moses doing in holding onto the Indians?

You are truly a manic person. We, including you do not know precisely what is the level of Indian support but it appears stronger than previously. Plus, Moses is there advocating for all guyanese and his message to Indian is the same as the message to others ie people get ready, change is coming. 

And you're a senile non-Indian who thinks he knows Indian people. Well lemme clue you in chap on 2 tings hey.

Indians are NOT 40% of the population. NO ONE and I repeat NO ONE working on either two campaigns think this. YOU ALONE think that Guyana's VOTING ELECTORATE is 40%. You are frankly engaging in wishful thinking that the facts available to us do not support it. Let me join with Caribj once again and ask you how come this statistic is from the SEPTEMBER 15, 2012 CENSUS and only 40% of the voters cast ballots for APNU in November 28, 2011 while the PPP got 48% of the vote at that same election. So to do your math the PPP somehow got majority Indian support in excess of 40% of the electorate plus there was a spare 10k Indians forming 2 MP seats for the AFC which means the PPP got some incredibly significant number of Amerindian support plus Black/Mixed support.

You're either pretty stupid to hold to this notion that NO ONE IN GUYANESE politics subscribes or you're into shitty infantile propaganda or you just wanna be a belieber. You pick.

Why would the PNC is they really had a 60% advantage of the electorate work so hard to bring the AFC led by Moses into Coalition at the steep price of 12 MPs plus Prime Minister plus 40% of Cabinet. Since when did the PNC become so generous? Every sensible commentator believes this was to attract Indian voters to the Coalition. If there really was only 40% of the vote that was Indian, then guess what chap.....the PPP would not be trying to win all 100% of 40% of the vote and the Coalition would not be doing their damndest to attract Indo support. YOU D2 obviously know something that no one else thinks is true.

Humor me a little. Tell me how the PPP could have gotten 48% of the vote and the AFC got 11% (with 2 MPS out of Berbice alone) of the vote and you claim that Indians are only 40% of the overall vote. (considering that a census was done 9 months later which puts Indos at 40% of the population).

The answer is that the Indians are 40% of the population but a significantly higher percentage of the people who actually show up to vote. (and we know the Indian turnout was actually depressed in 2011).

These bannas miss the forest, stuck staring and turning over leaves.  They are simply wishful thinkers who believe if they do it long and hard enough, it actually becomes fact.

from this:

At this point I am making a brief appearance to say I truly appreciate what you wrote above, sir.

And, while here, lemme push in me two bit. Crowd-wise, Indos are scarce at most APNU+AFC meetings. The photos show that.

It doesn't mean, however, that the absent Indos are anti-APNU+AFC. They fear that the vengeful and powerful PPP gon marsaray dem if their faces appear in the photos. They have jobs and businesses to protect.

So, they choose to stay home and bide their time until May 11 when many will stay home and some will dare to go out and vote APNU+AFC.

That's the feedback I'm getting from my contacts in West Dem, Wakenaam and Essequibo Coast. PPP has Leguan strong in its grip.

from this:

1.  The mixed population has grown by over 70% since 1991 census.  The overall Guyanese population has increased by a mere 3% in that period.

2.  The mixed population migrates at the same rates as the Indian and African population, so not migrating cannot be the excuse.

3.  Clearly then a significant % of this increase comes from sharply higher rates of miscegenation that has occurred within this period. Given this, an appreciable % of the mixed population is either below voting age, or in that irresponsible age group (18-24) where voting rates are lower than among more mature adults.

4. We can therefore deduce that the ethnic composition of the under 18 population is clearly different than the over 24 age group, which is likely to deliver the vast majority of the votes.

5.  I will not even get into what historical voter turnout between Indians and the African/mixed have been as this is a different election, so past patterns are likely irrelevant.

But leave it at this.  If 60% of the voting age population is non Indian and yet the combined opposition only got 51% of the votes, therefore the PPP would have made tremendous inroads into the African and mixed populations. 

Given that most people, including the PPP, suspect that the PPP is rejected by the vast majority of African and mixed identified voters, therefore it must be that the Indian vote is above 40%. 

Is it the majority as rev and yuji scream it is.  NO.  But the reality is that the PPP need attract fewer cross ethnic votes than does the coalition. 

So the coalition has to break into the Indian vote in order to win, or hope that Indians stay home in legions.

So there is no contradiction in Shaitaan's comments, and it is only your blind anger at posters who don't jump to your view of the world which blinds you. I find it most ironic that you seem to direct most of your rage against anti PPP posters.

lol

banna, did u take the time to examine my post in context and read Shaitaan's response to my post? . . . i (gently) suggest u do so

u are a rale comic book

lol

banna, did u take the time to read Shaitaan's response to my post? . . . i suggest u do so

u are a rale comic book

Were you not so angry you would have noted that I deleted my post upon reading Shaitaan's response.

Having said that the facts are.

1.  There are more Indian votes than African.

2.  The mixed vote is under represented among voters.

3.  The PPP has an advantage as it must attract fewer cross ethnic votes than does the coalition.  And the same applies to the number of votes which they need to rig to win.

And I repeat that point because many sometimes make the fatal flaw of looking at the census and then assuming that the PPP is disadvantaged by the 40% Indian population.

from this:

1.  The mixed population has grown by over 70% since 1991 census.  The overall Guyanese population has increased by a mere 3% in that period.

2.  The mixed population migrates at the same rates as the Indian and African population, so not migrating cannot be the excuse.

3.  Clearly then a significant % of this increase comes from sharply higher rates of miscegenation that has occurred within this period. Given this, an appreciable % of the mixed population is either below voting age, or in that irresponsible age group (18-24) where voting rates are lower than among more mature adults.

4. We can therefore deduce that the ethnic composition of the under 18 population is clearly different than the over 24 age group, which is likely to deliver the vast majority of the votes.

5.  I will not even get into what historical voter turnout between Indians and the African/mixed have been as this is a different election, so past patterns are likely irrelevant.

But leave it at this.  If 60% of the voting age population is non Indian and yet the combined opposition only got 51% of the votes, therefore the PPP would have made tremendous inroads into the African and mixed populations. 

Given that most people, including the PPP, suspect that the PPP is rejected by the vast majority of African and mixed identified voters, therefore it must be that the Indian vote is above 40%. 

Is it the majority as rev and yuji scream it is.  NO.  But the reality is that the PPP need attract fewer cross ethnic votes than does the coalition. 

So the coalition has to break into the Indian vote in order to win, or hope that Indians stay home in legions.

So there is no contradiction in Shaitaan's comments, and it is only your blind anger at posters who don't jump to your view of the world which blinds you. I find it most ironic that you seem to direct most of your rage against anti PPP posters.

lol

banna, did u take the time to examine my post in context and read Shaitaan's response to my post? . . . i (gently) suggest u do so

u are a rale comic book

Were you not so angry you would have noted that I deleted my post upon reading Shaitaan's response . . .

so . . .  now it's my fault that u did something extraordinarily stupid?

lol

. . .

lol

My response was to your stupidity when you seem to think that Shaitaan made contradictory points within the same post.  You said he was confused.

Now why did you say this if you understand that there is a difference between the demographics of the total population and the voting population?

. . .

lol

My response was to your stupidity when you seem to think that Shaitaan made contradictory points within the same post.  You said he was confused.

Now why did you say this if you understand that there is a difference between the demographics of the total population and the voting population?

well, Shaitaan actually acknowledged the problem i pointed out in his post and cured the "confusion" . . . which is why u tucked your tail between your legs and deleted your idiot response 'defending' him, no?

what is the basis for u picking up fire rage on his behalf again?

well, Shaitaan actually acknowledged the problem i pointed out in his post and cured the "confusion" . . . which is why u tucked your tail between your legs and deleted your idiot response 'defending' him, no?

Redux you view GNI as a war where you must vanquish any anti PPP person who views the world differently than you do.

I don't.

Carry on merrily with your rage.

Shaitaan's comments were obviously a typo and not confusion.   Given his previous comments that Indians are more than 40% of the voters, even if not of the population at large, that should have been obvious.

Redux you view GNI as a war where you must vanquish any anti PPP person who views the world differently than you do.

I don't.

Carry on merrily with your rage.

Shaitaan's comments were obviously a typo and not confusion.   Given his previous comments that Indians are more than 40% of the voters, even if not of the population at large, that should have been obvious.

ahmmm . . . this is me responding to Shaitaan's clarification:

"i figured u meant that; but this kind of thing has the potential to spiral out of control and generate much waste of time to-and-froing . . . and we could do with less of that"

so dude, if you want to have the last word, u have to come way better than your most recent (pitiful) bluff, OK?!

Let's ice this argument and get back to the issue at hand.

It seems that even a PPP mouthpiece like Bisram is conceding that the Indian vote is being split in some significant fashion between the Coalition and the PPP.

That is a HUGE concession of Coalition strength.

Essequibo Coast is a vivid example and/or test case.

Both PPP and APNU+AFC scored big attendance-wise at their Anna Regina rallies.

The usual suspects in the APNU+AFC caravan didn't make it to Essequibo; what you saw were overwhelmingly Essequibians. Indians.

That hopefully will dent the PPP on May 11.

It seems that even a PPP mouthpiece like Bisram is conceding that the Indian vote is being split in some significant fashion between the Coalition and the PPP.

The usual suspects in the APNU+AFC caravan didn't make it to Essequibo; what you saw were overwhelmingly Essequibians. Indians.

The Coalition is probably well advised to let the Berbician AFC fight to hold onto 1 or 1/2 an Indian seat in Berbice while they search for Indian votes in the Demerara and Essequibo which seem to be more fruitful hunting grounds for Coalition-friendly Indians. Assume that the AFC has hemorrhaged 50% to 75% of its Indian votes in Berbice which is 1 to 1.5 seats.

Bisram noted that the Coalition can pick up 1 (Indian) seat in Essequibo. Even if you guys miss taking a Geographic Seat there, your performance will be enough to merit 1 Seat on the national list.

Congratulations of some kind are in order for the AFC in Essequibo. Now you need to find 1 more Indian seat....perhaps 1/2 in Berbice and another 1/2 in Demerara. Perfectly possible.

The Coalition is probably well advised to let the Berbician AFC fight to hold onto 1 or 1/2 an Indian seat in Berbice while they search for Indian votes in the Demerara and Essequibo which seem to be more fruitful hunting grounds for Coalition-friendly Indians. Assume that the AFC has hemorrhaged 50% to 75% of its Indian votes in Berbice which is 1 to 1.5 seats.

Bisram noted that the Coalition can pick up 1 (Indian) seat in Essequibo. Even if you guys miss taking a Geographic Seat there, your performance will be enough to merit 1 Seat on the national list.

Congratulations of some kind are in order for the AFC in Essequibo. Now you need to find 1 more Indian seat....perhaps 1/2 in Berbice and another 1/2 in Demerara. Perfectly possible.

When it's this close I would say momentum is on the side of the coalition.

Originally Posted by TK:

That usually is the case.

If the PPP/C had a good economic record and no mention of corruption in State's assets as well as no his concern for violence that results in shooting deaths, it would have been a runaway for the PPP/C.

However some facts can't be erased, to wit, the PPP/C's share of the votes have declined in successive elections and it is currently a minority government, prorogation not withstanding.

This is a close election; the first with heavy social media; and a "change" atmosphere. TK's observation is worthy given these conditions of facts above and usually the closer the election the more the perception that one party has the momentum is true. It's like a boxing match (gotta see Pacquoiu/Mayweather this weekend) that's close until one turning point (Moses) and them the tide swings.

Moses Nagamootoo has been the death knell of the PPP. HE told them so. Thy ignored them. He made them a minority government last election and now he's about to make them see comfort in Lot 12.

Originally Posted by TK:

That usually is the case.

If the PPP/C had a good economic record and no mention of corruption in State's assets as well as no his concern for violence that results in shooting deaths, it would have been a runaway for the PPP/C.

However some facts can't be erased, to wit, the PPP/C's share of the votes have declined in successive elections and it is currently a minority government, prorogation not withstanding.

This is a close election; the first with heavy social media; and a "change" atmosphere. TK's observation is worthy given these conditions of facts above and usually the closer the election the more the perception that one party has the momentum is true. It's like a boxing match (gotta see Pacquoiu/Mayweather this weekend) that's close until one turning point (Moses) and them the tide swings.

Moses Nagamootoo has been the death knell of the PPP. HE told them so. Thy ignored them. He made them a minority government last election and now he's about to make them see comfort in Lot 12.

AS usual, cheap talk.

Moses already destroyed the alliance when he declared that he  is not an Indian.  He lost his berbice support and he is trying to make it look like he is working hard in PNC strongholds.  he is causing a stir in berbice by saying Indians are racists.  Well!  If you ask me Moses is looking like a dougla.  The Name JUDAS fits him well.

Can we have the NEE NEE NEE Mack Nee Mackaran Tape permanently on GNI.  I think we need to analyze the concepts of TRURH, HONESTY, DOUBLE TALK and SCAMPISHNESS from now until May 11.  Can you do me the favor, I cant find the Video on Youtube any longer. I think they took it off.

!  If you ask me Moses is looking like a dougla.  The Name JUDAS fits him well.

How come you don't have Elisabeth campaigning in South G/town.  Arent you lot screaming that she is the concession (THE ONLY ONE) that the PPP is making to take into account that Guyana is a multi ethnic nation?

Apparently even the PPP knows that she brings no votes with her.