Review all Surendra contracts, APNU says

Posted By Staff Writer On September 15, 2014 @ 5:08 am In Local News | No Comments

Amid charges by the government that the Indian firm Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL) has engaged in fraud in relation to the $3.6 billion Specialty Hospital project, the main opposition APNU is calling for the immediate review of all ongoing and pending contracts with the company.

APNU executive member Dr Rupert Roopnaraine told Stabroek News that after government revealed that it would terminate the contract for the construction of the Speciality Hospital β€œit would be unthinkable that they (the government) will be continuing with any arrangement with this company. That is an enormous mistake.”

Only last December the PNC give the PPP all the money for this hospital.

APNU has gotten β€˜explanation’ from Volda Lawrence on parliament voting

Posted By Staff Writer On December 18, 2013 @ 5:21 am In Local News | No Comments

Opposition Leader David Granger yesterday said that APNU has gotten an β€œexplanation” from its front bencher Volda Lawrence over her hurried exit from parliament on Thursday which enabled the approval of funds for the controversial Specialty Hospital.

YES $25 million reasons why the APNU voted all the funds for the Speciality Hospital

And yes Tyrone friend Minette.

Ms Backer’s replacement will be a litmus test for Granger’s leadership

Posted By Staff Writer On February 8, 2014 @ 5:08 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

The replacement for Ms Deborah Backer, arguably one of APNU’s best members of parliament, will be another litmus test of Mr David Granger’s management style and quality of leadership.

These are Ms Backer’s stats:  PNCR representative in APNU; former shadow Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs minister (at the time of her resignation she held the latter) distinguishing herself in both; female; Deputy Speaker; and more than a decade of parliamentary experience and knowledge of its Standing Orders, and cut and thrust techniques.

Looking at these stats the names which come readily to mind are a) Ms Clarissa Riehl, who has the identical stats with the exception of shadowing Home Affairs;  b) Mr Aubrey Norton, who was a senior Foreign Service Officer during the PNC administration, PNC representative on the APNU List, and has years of parliamentary experience, knowledge of its Standing Orders and cut and thrust techniques; and  c) Mr Cammie Ramsaroop, PNC representative on the APNU list,  Leader of the List, decades of parliamentary experience, knowledge of its Standing Orders and cut and thrust techniques, and  who has held senior cabinet portfolios.

With two years before constitutionally due national elections and in order to hold the PPP administration accountable for ensuring good governance in the legislature and executive, APNU is expected to find a suitable replacement. Among the first things Mr Granger is expected to factor in in determining Ms Backer’s replacement is the ability to deliver from day one or, as they say, hit the ground running. There is no time to await a learning curve when key issues such as the anti-money laundering Bill and the National Budget are coming up shortly for debate and passage.

With a slim opposition majority there is no room for ignorance of the parliamentary rudiments, a lack of debating skills and a repeat of the inexcusable Volda Lawrence fiasco in relation to the non-vote on the Specialty Hospital.

Some may say that Ms Backer’s shadow ministerial portfolio could be re-assigned to another. This would be making a serious mistake. This portfolio requires commitment, understanding of diplomatic and global nuances; Guyana’s geopolitical position; the border controversy and dispute; and acquaintance with international conventions, laws, covenants and agreements, etc. It requires a singular focus and dedication. It is a tall order to fulfil and even though there is much to be desired in the current Foreign Affairs Minister she is likely to dwarf any unsuitable  opposition shadow appointee. Guyanese cannot afford to have such level of naivety on both sides of the parliamentary benches.

The APNU needs to replace Ms Backer with someone of similar ability, and Guyana needs someone of similar ability to halt the political excesses and bring about the much desired accountable government.

Here’s wishing Ms Backer a speedy recovery.

Yours faithfully,

Minette Bacchus

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...grangers-leadership/

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Work has restarted following a controversial vote in Parliament last month which allowed funding for the project to be passed. APNU MP Volda Lawrence did not vote as intended as she was unwell.

she is unwell is bullshit,the APNU have to show they will not tolerate  nonsense.this was a kick in the teeth for the APNU 

Grainja met with Ramu last night.

OH skites, another deal , now hear this old fool.  

NO FIREWORKS TODAY, after Ramu slapped him a few times in OP last night.

tired of these old men wasting our time.

β€˜No fireworks’ over president’s failure to set local gov’t poll date – Granger

Posted By Staff Writer On September 16, 2014 @ 5:29 am In Local News | No Comments

With no response from the President to his request for the naming of a date for local government polls, Leader of the Opposition David Granger was yesterday unprepared to give specifics on his next course of action.

β€œThere will be no fireworks in the sky tomorrow… my aim is not to astonish the public. It is to get President Donald Ramotar to fulfil his constitutional obligation in holding local government elections,” Granger said.

Mr Sing get chase out the PNC facebook page now he vex

Worry about this Tarron.

Work has restarted following a controversial vote in Parliament last month which allowed funding for the project to be passed. APNU MP Volda Lawrence did not vote as intended as she was unwell.

Ask seh weh deh $25 million that the PPP give she deh.

Mr Sing get chase out the PNC facebook page now he vex

Worry about this Tarron.

Ask seh weh deh $25 million that the PPP give she deh.

You speak to a jumbie? 

Worry about yourself both Clarissa and Minette callin you a grasshopper what is your response to dat?

Mr Horsie which jumbie man you speak for? 

ask Minette and Clarissa they will be more than happy to tell you. Keep hoppin......the PPP your next stop? 

Who is Mr Minette and Miss Clarissa? 

Worry about yourself both Clarissa and Minette callin you a grasshopper what is your response to dat?

Mr Horsie which jumbie man you speak for? 

ask Minette and Clarissa they will be more than happy to tell you. Keep hoppin......the PPP your next stop? 

Who is Mr Minette and Miss Clarissa? 

Hop some more you will soon find out.....

HM Redux, that grasshopper can really hop.

We must reject Tarron unprincipledness now posting as JB.

He was in a cuss down with Minnette only 4 weeks ago and he nah know the lady today.

Clarissa called him personally a opportuntist grasshopper.

Look gwan from the place JB.

Me see people still believe me is Mr TK. LOL

He was in a cuss down with Minnette only 4 weeks ago and he nah know the lady today.

You  IS KishanB and Brian Teekah. Stop parading as 3 separate posters.

Admin, can you please provide any shred of evidence that I am anybody but Brian.  This anti-man "skeldon" cannot get it out of his head that people can have similar ideas.  I am not JB and I am not Kishan.

HA HA HA. When you cannot handle it, you start name calling. Is this how you aspire to be a politician? You are a FRAUD!!!!

Mr Skeldon you need expensive US$ 2000 cognac to make you see level. white rum not good for you and Mr Nehru

Bai Kish,

Skeldon is not an alcoholic. I had Cognac before(not the US $2000 bush rum). I drink socially and don't need alcohol to function.

A FRAUD like you Skelly.

You are an anti-man who think you smart.  You think if you call me JB and Kishan, you can distract my message.