Region 5 children get big buses –every child must go to school, says President

PRESIDENT David Granger yesterday commissioned two 24-seater buses which will be used to transport children in Region 5 (Mahaica/Berbice) to and from school free of charge.
One of the two big buses commissioned on Friday

The President said he saw the vehicles as essential links between qualifications for employment, economic advancement, and a good life for beneficiaries.

At a well-attended commissioning ceremony at the Headquarters of the Regional Development Council (RDC) at Fort Wellington, President Granger said he was disappointed that the Chairman of the Regional Democratic Council (RDC) of Region 5, which is controlled by the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), had been instructed to boycott the ceremony.

“I heard that the Regional Chairman was not permitted to come. He is not here. Some people in this country don’t seem to realize that the traffic lights have changed from red to green. I am not President of Region 4 or President of Region 5, I am President of Guyana.”

He said the Minister of Communities should chide the Regional Chairman who did not have the common courtesy to be present when the President of the country is officiating at a function within his Region.

The two 24-seater buses, David G1 and David G2, were handed over to the Regional Education Department of the RDC. This Department will work out the modalities of the use of the buses, which are expected to start picking up school children and taking them to and from school free of charge from early next week.

Initial information suggests that the buses will play a major role in getting school children who attend school on the other side of the Berbice River to the water boats in the mornings and back home in the evenings.

The buses were gifted to the Regional Administration via the President, who also was gifted the buses from businesses and from prominent members of the corporate community.

Minister of Social Cohesion, Ms Amna Ally, said that those who contributed included Mr. Brian Tiwari of BK International, who coordinated the monetary supply group; Mr. Nasrudeen Mohamed, known as ‘Jumbo Jet’; Mr. Eddie Boyer, National Hardware Limited; and individuals: Mr. Eton Chester of Georgetown and Mr Gordon Winter and Mr R.B. Ricknauth of Canada.

SCHOOL DROPOUT
In a half-hour-long address before the commissioning, President Granger said statistics showed that 400 students dropped out of school every month, mainly due to the inability of their parents to find money to meet their transportation costs to and from school.

He stressed: “Education is the key to development of a community and of a country, and no child should be deprived of an education because he or she lives far away from school and parents cannot afford travelling expenses. Every child must go to school.”

He noted that the Government had, between July last and the present time, provided school children in riverine areas with six boats, which were now taking them to school and back without any charge.

He said that Government appreciated that Region 5 had the potential to become an economic powerhouse.

NO EXCURSION
He said: “These buses are not here for excursion. We want these children who will be using these buses to become scientists, to become engineers who can help us to generate cheap energy and help us to deal with the challenges of climate change. We are looking for education; for employment; we are looking for enterprise and cheap energy.”

He said it was his view that the buses were the first event in a chain reaction leading to improved access to education, leading to qualifications for employment, and ending with enterprise, economic independence and a good life for all.

The President also urged residents of the villages in Region 5 to stop using their villages as dormitories – as places where they just come home and sleep after a hard day’s work elsewhere.”

“Do something; plant something; process something, so that your villages can become economic powerhouses in their own right,” he admonished his audience.

He pledged that his administration would support micro loans for productive activities.

The programme, chaired by Region 5 Councillor Ms. Carol Joseph, included presentations by school children and cultural artistes, and a stirring presentation by Ms. Amna Ally, Minister of Social Cohesion.

Minister Ally, who hails from Region 5, reminded the gathering that President Granger had promised support for school children to get to and from school, and by this means benefit from a level playing field in pursuit of their dreams.

She said: “Therefore, today is a red letter day for Region 5, since this is the first Region to receive buses for free transportation for school children. You are the first Region to receive this very tangible and meaningful support for education.”

She promised that the two buses were just the beginning of gifts for Region 5, and disclosed that the Government would, in keeping with its commitment, provide free riverine transportation for the children of Moraikobai in the upper reaches of the Mahaicony River before the end of this month.

By Clifford Stanley, GUYANA CHRONICLE

• blobid0

Sorry Gill..i just post this,bhai why you change the headline.

To save some people from figuring out where Region 5 is. We must not assume that all Guyanese in the diaspora and their offspring know the name-equivalence of regional numbers.

I am one of those people who don't know the regions of Guyana. Thanks Gil. Left Guyana too long. Regions were only referred to during elections. I know where region 4,6 and 10 are.

Skelly, write this down and keep it in your wallet:

Region 1 = Barima-Waini

Region 2= Pomeroon-Supenaam

Region 3 = Essequibo Islands-West Demerara

Region 4 = Demerara-Mahaica

Region 5 = Mahaica-West Berbice

Region 6 = East Berbice-Corentyne

Region 7 = Cuyuni-Mazaruni

Region 8 = Potaro-Siparuni

Region 9 = Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

Region 10 = Upper Demerara-Berbice

Region 11 = Skelly Dam-Minnesota 

Thanks man. Don't blame me bhai. At least I profess my ignorance to the fact. Many ignars here hide their ignorance and try to baffle us with BS.
Don't know of region 11. I thought it should be in Skeldon..School Dam renamed Skelly dam.

Thanks man. Don't blame bhai. At least I profess my ignorance to the fact. Many ignars here hide their ignorance and try to baffle us with BS.
Don't know of region 11. I thought it should be in Skeldon..School Dam renamed Skelly dam.

I gave you a whole region fo yuhself. Couldn't decide whether it's Skelly Dam or Backdam in your territory.

Thanks man. Don't blame bhai. At least I profess my ignorance to the fact. Many ignars here hide their ignorance and try to baffle us with BS.

I gave you a whole region fo yuhself. Couldn't decide whether it's Skelly Dam or Backdam in your territory.

We nah talkin' Amrika hey bai. We talkin' Guyana hey. Maybe I should ask you to rename Pahal Dam to Skelly Dam.

Why is Django on GNI at this moment?   I thought he had front row seat at the bake and saltfish extravaganza.  Naga must be looking for him.

Django is admiring the Toyota bus. The man is booking his passage to go to Guyana. He wants to be the driver of one of those. Look later, you will see Granger training him how to drive in Guyana..times have changed.

Why is Django on GNI at this moment?   I thought he had front row seat at the bake and saltfish extravaganza.  Naga must be looking for him.

I don't live in your neck of the woods,it's a two hour drive on top of that,i have to open the business door.I was thinking about being there tomorrow i have some questions for him,unfortunately i can't be there.

Django, I hope your first question will be, House Slave Moses, it is better to be in the House or being in the Fields with other slaves would be better??

Django is admiring the Toyota bus. The man is booking his passage to go to Guyana. He wants to be the driver of one of those. Look later, you will see Granger training him how to drive in Guyana..times have changed.

I am taking a trip later this year,talking about driving there i find it scary being accustomed with our driving here,the roads looks narrow without markings.

Bai nah gyaff abie. You gat the man cell phone #. You can give de man a kall. Keep abie in touch nah.

Django, I hope your first question will be, House Slave Moses, it is better to be in the House or being in the Fields with other slaves would be better??

LOL

What are the questions?  I can deliver the message for you.  Me hope is not the $250 admission fee hold you back though.

Bai nah gyaff abie. You gat the man cell phone #. You can give de man a kall. Keep abie in touch nah.

Nah bhai i am not that close to the PM,i visit his house with a friend to meet Kallicharan in the late 80's.

What are the questions?  I can deliver the message for you.  Me hope is not the $250 admission fee hold you back though.

Nah that fee is not the problem,i want to ask him about the spying.

You rass go get thrown in jail just for asking.

Dont waste time, he gun seh wait I have to call my MASTER Granger, I will get back to you.

Well..he deserves the name you branded him with.