Combined opposition synchronize position on no-confidence vote

Posted By Stabroek editor On October 1, 2014 @ 5:03 pm In Local News | No Comments

Executive members of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) met today at the Office of the Opposition Leader.

A release this afternoon from the Office of the Leader of the Opposition said that AFC and APNU leaders used this meeting to synchronize their position on support for the planned β€˜No Confidence Motion’ against the government and the demand for Local Government Elections.

β€œThe AFC and APNU reiterated their support for the No Confidence Motion and the call for President Ramotar to announce a date for Local Government Elections”, the release said.

Successful passage of the no-confidence motion will trigger general elections.

The Combined Opposition is looking forward to returning to the National Assembly, the release added.

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-no-confidence-vote/

Up to last night I expressed confidence the no-confidence motion is still on the table. As the joint release implies, APNU is supporting the AFC motion while the AFC is supporting APNU's demand of local government elections.

Whichever way it goes, the AFC will emerge with flying colors.

If the PPP regime decides now on LGE after hemming and hawing for 17 years, it's because of the AFC's no-confidence motion which will surely finish off the Ramotar administration.

And if the PPP ignores APNU's demand for LGE, the AFC no-confidence motion will be debated and voted upon 33-32.

The ball is in the PPP court now.

AFC confirms October 16 date for No Confidence showdown

October 1, 2014 3:42 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

AFC General Secretary, David Patterson and Member, Dominic Gaskin. [iNews' Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] β€“ General Secretary of the Alliance for Change (AFC), David Patterson has confirmed October 16 as the date for the much anticipated debate on the No Confidence Motion against the government.

During a telephone interview with iNews today, Wednesday October 1, Patterson confirmed that the AFC met with the main Opposition – A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) where APNU’s Leader, David Granger reiterated the Party’s support for the AFC sponsored No Confidence Motion.

Patterson explained that the National Assembly will resume on October 10 and the AFC will be moving to have October 16 as the date that its Executive Member, Moses Nagamootoo move the motion.

In his Facebook post today, Patterson said, β€œThe end is near!! Just came out of a meeting with APNU – and they have GUARANTEED support for the AFC No Confidence Motion when Parliament reconvenes next week!! Mark this date October 16, 2014 – History shall be made!”

According to Patterson, the AFC is hoping that the motion will be debated on that date and that the meeting with the APNU today dealt with β€œoptions and hurdles” the Motion may face.

Meanwhile, when contacted by iNews, General Secretary of the APNU, Joseph Harmon said that the Party is clear in its support of the Motion. Although Harmon was not part of the meeting, he rubbished criticisms that the APNU is not committed to the motion.

APNU's General Secretary, Joseph Harmon. [iNews' Photo]

APNU’s General Secretary, Joseph Harmon. [iNews' Photo]

He said the Party is equally committed to the motion as it is for the holding of Local Government Elections.

β€œWe will support the motion once it comes on the floor,” Harmon told iNews.

Yesterday, Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman said the outcome of the pending No Confidence Motion cannot be anticipated, taking into consideration the many possibilities that surround it.

He alluded that one of those possibilities is that it could remain on the Order Paper for several months; awaiting a debate.

However, Harmon did not agree with this notion. He said that the Motion is a priority and will be treated as such.

What did I tell you all last night? The no-confidence motion is 2-3 weeks away. Now we have a date. The ball is in the PPP court now.

The President can:

-- name a date for local government elections before October 16;

-- dissolve parliament and name a date for general elections

-- wait until October and take defeat

Other variables:

BJ-Rohee-Nandalall axis can

-- spring another scandal on an AFC or APNU parliamentarian

-- order the police to charge Trotman even if the police find no legitimate grounds to do so

-- get BJ's best friend Bobby Ramroop's Guyana Times to reveal Nagamootoo-Ramjattan "skeletons" and stir up other rascality

Whatever they do, they will only demean themselves further in the eyes of the people, the voters particularly.

The stakes are high, the PPP crooks and cronies have a mighty lot to lose, and they will try to bite back like cornered rats.

Look out.

Third Force is united with Second Force. The First Force is excited about this. It is possible for a third force to replace either the second or first force but not both. The AFC is now morphed with APNU instead of struggling to replace of the greater forces. They are now part of the second force in the eyes of their supporters and sympathizers. Watch for more desertion.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Third Force is united with Second Force. The First Force is excited about this. It is possible for a third force to replace either the second or first force but not both. The AFC is now morphed with APNU instead of struggling to replace of the greater forces. They are now part of the second force in the eyes of their supporters and sympathizers. Watch for more desertion.

Dude, quit trolling. The AFC is not joining the APNU into the elections. APNU has a good chance of beating the PPP on its own. If the PPP wins a minority vote again then they will be further crippled and learn to compromise of face another no confidence vote in a year so we kick Donald Duck to the curb and bring on whomever is their third string.

PPP/C will win the next election with more than 51% of the votes.

You are batting zero here!

Your usual opinions which are way off the mark.

The facts speak for themselves. On more than one accusations before the previous election you said anything from 51 to 60 percent. You were not even close.

I said they will be a minority government and in three years a no confidence vote will kick them from office. I have until November 7th to be proven wrong on the latter.

The facts speak for themselves. On more than one accusations before the previous election you said anything from 51 to 60 percent. You were not even close.

I said they will be a minority government and in three years a no confidence vote will kick them from office. I have until November 7th to be proven wrong on the latter.

Passage of a no-confidence motion is quite possible.

However, at the next election the PPP/C will win with more than 51% of the votes.

your credibility...zero....; your batting average...0

Trying to paint your hard own results on others, Stormborn?

What other? All you PPPites are shooters of blanks!

Non PPP/C supporters are .... ???

So! What happened to the No confidence vote?. It looks like the combined opposition is all talk and no balls.

Look like dem get belly wuk. Dem frikken.

Gail seh is up to she and sam hinds to recall parliament. Trotman agree, he want the PPP to keep plying him wid money.

So! What happened to the No confidence vote?. It looks like the combined opposition is all talk and no balls.

Gail seh is up to she and sam hinds to recall parliament. Trotman agree, he want the PPP to keep plying him wid money.

Jesus was sold for 17 pieces of silver. You think Trotty sold out for 16?

I THINK YOU MIGHT ME RIGHT