“We were the best stewards of the forest” – Jagdeo says natural resources sector in “shambles”

Posted by: Jomo Paul in News February 12, 2016 2 Comments

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has fired back at Natural Resources Minister Raphael Trotman over allegations that “productive forests” were “shared out” under the former PPP administration.

This is after Trotman told the House on Thursday that on his ascension to office, an alarming discovery was made relative to forestry in Guyana.

“We discovered that 100% or all of our productive forest was allocated by the past Government. This is what a former head of state would have referred to as confounded nonsense,” Trotman told the House.

He questioned “how could a responsible government preside over the allocation of all – not some, but all of its productive forest?” What about future generations?”

But Jagdeo in parliament on Friday stated that just over 55% of state forests was given to investors.

“The fact is about 55% of the state forests has been given out so far in our history…It is not true that all of our state forests have been given away,” said the Opposition Leader.

He did not make the differentiation between state forests and productive forests but went on to say that the PPP in Government were the best managers of Guyana’s forestry.

“We were the best stewards of the forests we kept the forests intact…we negotiated the best forest deal in the world,” the former President declared.

He also accused the government of mismanaging the sector again pointing to the lack of a climate change policy.

“Our natural resources sector is in shambles – we have no climate change policy…the greening of Bartica is not a climate change policy,” said Jagdeo.

He said that a climate change policy it is about low carbon development strategy – “it is how we create new industries to export.”

asj posted:
“We were the best stewards of the forests we kept the forests intact…we negotiated the best forest deal in the world,” the former President declared.

With the help of Bai Shan Lin?

“The fact is about 55% of the state forests has been given out so far in our history…It is not true that all of our state forests have been given away,” said the Opposition Leader.

This was like a schooling to the miserable PNC/AFC.

“We discovered that 100% or all of our productive forest was allocated by the past Government. This is what a former head of state would have referred to as confounded nonsense,” Trotman told the House.

Goes to show how stupid Trotman was made to look.

asj posted:

Goes to show how stupid Trotman was made to look.

Why is Trotman's statement stupid and BJ's "schooling?" Why would anyone believe anything out of the mouth of that lying thief BJ or give him more credibility over someone else?

When Dr. Jagdeo speak in the National Assembly, he speaks with authority, knowledge and experience. He ruled Guyana as head of state for more than a decade. His wealth of knowledge is unparalleled for anyone to challenge, such as those incompetents on the government side. 

Cobra posted:

When Dr. Jagdeo speak in the National Assembly, he speaks with authority, knowledge and experience. He ruled Guyana as head of state for more than a decade. His wealth of knowledge is unparalleled for anyone to challenge, such as those incompetents on the government side. 

They should never dare challenge his corruption. He's the best teefman in Guyana, very knowledgeable on how to get his "piece."

Cobra posted:

so, you don't dispute that he said that 55% of the forests were given out?

VVP posted:

The Jagdeo magic:  Give away your resources for next to nothing + introduce a drug economy.

Sir, I heard you rumble on this drug economy topic many times as though you were dealing and wheeling in Jagdeo's drug enterprise. If you denied being involved, then you should provide substantial evidence before you come here and slander the gentleman's name. In this world many things actually happens in a void, and if you don't have evidence, it never happened. I believe you came from a family with legal background and you should be more cautious of what you're saying and what you want people to believe.  

RiffRaff posted:

Riff, When you say give out, yuh mean give fuh channa????

give out to them raping CHinese...dem people just rape de place and leave

So why Uncle Tom and Devany willing to eat shit from them???? 

Why the Dummies in the PNC honoring the Chinese???  Man wake up and smell the coffee and throw out the dam Snakeoil dem Bhias sold you.

Cobra posted:
VVP posted:

The Jagdeo magic:  Give away your resources for next to nothing + introduce a drug economy.

Sir, I heard you rumble on this drug economy topic many times as though you were dealing and wheeling in Jagdeo's drug enterprise. If you denied being involved, then you should provide substantial evidence before you come here and slander the gentleman's name. In this world many things actually happens in a void, and if you don't have evidence, it never happened. I believe you came from a family with legal background and you should be more cautious of what you're saying and what you want people to believe.  

AFC and their supporters are like Christmas Blow Blow.

They can only talk and talk is cheap.

Cobra posted:
VVP posted:

So you want to hear all the evidence of them shipping company moving drugs in shipping containers when RK was not yet on the scene?  

Sorry, I can't tell you anything about RK because he was my brother's client and attorney/client privileged was upheld 

International Narcotics Control Strategy Report, 1999
Released by the Bureau for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs, U.S. Department of State
Washington, DC, March 2000

Blue Bar

The Caribbean Continued

GUYANA

I. Summary

Guyana is increasingly being used for transshipment of South American cocaine en route to the U.S. and Europe, although there is not evidence that the cocaine entering the U.S. from Guyana is in an amount sufficient to have a significant effect on the U.S. Cocaine enters Guyana by sea, river, land or airdrop. Traffickers then take advantage of dense jungles, low population and weak law enforcement and judicial infrastructure to avoid more efficiently policed routes. While Guyana is not a major producer of illicit narcotics, drug traffickers have reportedly begun producing small quantities of cocaine in a very remote area and growing small amounts of marijuana. Despite limited resources, the Government of Guyana (GOG) had some success in interdicting drugs in 1999. Both the Guyana Police Force (GPF) and the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) cooperated with DEA, which resumed regular coverage in 1998. At President Jagdeo's direction, the GOG created a joint GPF/CANU task force to apprehend drug dealers, which conducted several successful operations in late 1999. Guyana is a party to the 1971 UN Convention on Psychotropic Substances and the 1988 UN Drug Convention. However, the GOG needs to pass and implement a wide range of additional legislation before it will be in compliance with the 1988 UN Drug Convention's goals and objectives.

II. Status of Country

With neighboring countries strengthening their interdiction efforts, traffickers are turning to Guyana as a safer transshipment route for South American cocaine. Guyana's borders are porous and largely unpatrolled, allowing narcotics to enter the country by road or river. Airdrops also occur at several remote and unmonitored airstrips. The narcotics are then transported to Georgetown, where they are illegally exported by commercial ship or air via intermediate stops in the Caribbean or, increasingly, directly to the United States and Europe. The growing presence of narcotics in Guyana has led to increased domestic use of illegal narcotics. Small amounts of marijuana are grown locally. In 1999, processing of Peruvian coca base reportedly began in the extremely remote New River triangle area near the Brazilian and Suriname tri-border. The lack of resources severely limits the GOG's ability to interdict and prosecute drug traffickers.

III. Country Actions Against Drugs in 1999

Policy Initiatives. The GOG continued to support regional and local counternarcotics initiatives. In order to improve CANU's authority, the GOG in 1999 passed legislation granting CANU status as a bona fide law enforcement agency with full arrest, seizure, and prosecutorial powers. Additionally, the legislation provides magistrates with greater flexibility in sentencing drug users. In November 1999, President Jagdeo created a special anti-narcotics task force comprising CANU and GPF personnel. The task force coordinated raids on drug dealers in several coastal villages to reduce the availability of narcotics for local consumption.

In early February 2000, Parliament passed the Money Laundering (Prevention) Bill which criminalizes drug-related money laundering and allows for the expansion to other predicate offenses, and requires suspicious transaction reporting. The USG has not yet determined whether it meets international standards. The GOG has not enacted legislation specifically covering asset seizure, asset forfeiture or asset and intelligence sharing. However, the new money laundering law contains limited clauses addressing asset forfeiture. While senior government officials consistently express commitment to fighting narcotics and cooperating with the U.S. and other Caribbean countries, the lack of resources severely inhibits the GOG's capacity to carry out successful interdiction operations.

Accomplishments. Due to a lack of resources, coast guard operations in 1999 were limited, and the Guyanese were unable to replicate the 1998 high-profile seizure of the motor vessel Danielsen carrying over three metric tons of cocaine. While the GOG said that some of the proceeds from the sale of the Danielsen would go toward supporting counternarcotics efforts, the GOG has not yet found a buyer for the vessel. Nevertheless, the CANU and GPF continued to seize drugs and arrest persons involved in the narcotics trade. Resource limitations caused an actual decline in the amount of narcotics seized in 1999 as compared to 1998, while narcotics trafficking through Guyana has increased substantially.

Law Enforcement Efforts. The GOG remains committed to combating narcotics trafficking with interdiction efforts, and CANU has had some success arresting drug smugglers at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport. As discussed above, several successful operations were conducted by the newly created CANU/GPF task force. In August 1999, a delegation from the CANU, the Guyanese Defense Force (GDF) and the GPF visited the El Paso Intelligence Center (EPIC) as part of an effort to prepare for the implementation of the Joint Information Coordination Center (JICC).

Corruption. There were reports that individual GPF and Customs officials were assisting narcotics traffickers; however, few cases have been fully investigated or prosecuted. One GPF officer faces charges for assisting a cocaine smuggler in 1999 at Cheddi Jagan International Airport. In December 1999, counternarcotics efforts were set back when the Director of Public Prosecutions failed to bring charges against five drug traffickers arrested in 1995 and 1996, leading a judge to dismiss the charges. Guyana signed the Inter-American Convention Against Corruption in March 1996, but has yet to ratify the Convention.

Agreements and Treaties. Guyana is a party to the 1988 UN Drug Convention and the 1971 UN Convention on Psychotropic Substances. The 1931 U.S.-UK extradition treaty is still in force between Guyana and the U.S. Guyana has an agreement to share narcotics intelligence with the UK. Guyana has not yet signed a maritime counternarcotics cooperation agreement with the U.S., which would enhance GOG effectiveness in combating narcotics trafficking.

Cultivation/Production. A small amount of cannabis cultivation takes place in Guyana's interior, and the police carried out several small eradication campaigns. There are reports of small cocaine processing operations in a remote area near the Suriname/Brazil tri-border.

Drug Flow/Transit. The flow of drugs, primarily cocaine or coca paste of Colombian or Peruvian origin, through Guyana is believed to have increased substantially in 1999.

Because of Guyanese authorities' limited resources, a very large percentage of narcotics transiting Guyana probably is undetected.

Domestic Programs/Demand Reduction. There is some domestic consumption of marijuana. Domestic consumption of cocaine, crack cocaine and heroin is increasing. There are reports that international traffickers have given narcotics as payments to their Guyanese associates, which has increased the amount of narcotics available for local use. The GPF and the Ministry of Health conduct youth outreach through several local and international programs including D.A.R.E.

IV. U.S. Policy Initiatives and Programs

Policy Initiatives. In 1999, the U.S. continued to broaden its counternarcotics efforts in Guyana through discussions by senior Embassy and State Department officials with Guyanese counterparts and regular visits by DEA personnel. In addition, the USG continues to provide training and equipment to enhance the GOG's counternarcotics efforts.

Bilateral Cooperation. Guyanese leaders continue to be receptive to U.S. counternarcotics efforts and assistance as the narcotics problem grows in Guyana. In September 1999, the GOG signed a Letter of Agreement with the USG accepting $50,000 for use in counternarcotics training and equipment. In December 1999, the GOG agreed to provide crew for the Caribbean Support Tender, a U.S. Coast Guard vessel with a multinational crew that will provide training, ship maintenance and repairs, and logistics support to Caribbean nation coast guards. During 1999, the USG provided DEA training in basic narcotics investigations for the CANU and GPF and, through military training programs, counternarcotics training for the GDF. One Guyanese Customs official participated in the INL-funded U.S. Customs Integrity Reinforcement/Anti-Corruption Seminar for member states of the Caribbean Customs Law Enforcement Council (CCLEC) conducted in San Juan, Puerto Rico, in May 1999. The USG provided funding for a visit by senior CANU, GPF and GDF personnel to the El Paso Intelligence Center (EPIC) in an effort to improve coordination among Guyanese government entities involved in counternarcotics activities.

The Road Ahead. With narcotics trafficking through Guyana continuing to increase, the USG will redouble its efforts to assist the GOG in combating narcotics trafficking and abuse. We will continue to provide training, technical assistance and equipment to improve the counternarcotics capacity of the GPF, CANU, and GDF. We also plan to assist the GOG to update and modernize its criminal and legal statutes. The USG will encourage the GOG to take advantage of regional initiatives and fulfill its commitments under the 1996 UNDCP Barbados plan of action and the 1997 Bridgetown Summit action plan.

Don't highlight pieces where they said that the GOG was cooperating - that is just politics and they had to write it that way.  The true message was sent to the PPP in May 2015.  However, I am not sure if the present "Association" will do better because they look like a bunch of crooks also.  

Poor Guyana 

Cobra posted:

It would be useless to discuss corruption against a man who has never been charged or indicted for anything. Don't you think?

Really now? That right is reserved solely for you and your cronies?