Presidential guard knocks two off cycle, both critical

August 31, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Two cyclists were seriously injured yesterday after a car driven by a Presidential Guard staffer struck them on Lamaha Street at about 10:30hrs yesterday.

The unconscious Lisa Kaydoo.

William Nurse, 53, and Lisa Kaydoo, 37, of Queen’s College compound were reportedly hurled from their bicycle into a canal.
Kaydoo reportedly suffered a fractured jaw and arm, and head and spinal injuries, while Nurse sustained head injuries and lacerations. Both were said to be slipping in and out of consciousness. Nurse underwent a CT scan, while Kaydoo had two X-Rays done. They are both listed as critical.
Eyewitnesses said that the driver was travelling at a fast rate. He has been detained.
There are reports that he took the vehicle without permission from State House, yesterday morning.
Several relatives of the injured flocked to the hospital after hearing about the accident and confirmed that the two were seriously injured.

An unconscious William Nurse [inset)

THEY DID THE SAME THING UNDER JAGDEO

Eight Presidential Guards, masked men invade and damage sand-loading facility

JULY 27, 2011 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Eight members of the Presidential Guard and four civilians were arrested early yesterday morning as police probe the deliberate destruction of facilities at an East Bank Demerara sand-loading facility.
The damage amounted to about $5M. According to reports, the Presidential Guards were acting as enforcers for a Brazilian national who is presently engaged in a bitter dispute with the owner of the now damaged facility.
The Brazilian national, who had reportedly led yesterday’s operation, is also in custody, while police have impounded four vehicles that were used.
Several other persons managed to flee the scene and police are looking for a route 43 minibus, BJJ 6572 that had transported the perpetrators.
Last evening, Police Commissioner Henry Greene said that the Presidential Guards have been released into the custody of the guards.
He said that the men were not sent officially and that they were allegedly recruited by the Brazilian.

Damaged conveyor belt

The Commissioner said that his ranks got a frantic call from guards at the facility and responded to find the Brazilian, some civilians and the Presidential Guards dismantling the facility.
Kaieteur News understands that the gang of men damaged a conveyor belt that facilitates the loading of sand onto barges in the Demerara River, and they were in the process of dismantling several other components of machinery with the aid of cutting torches when the police intervened.
The perpetrators also cut the facility’s power supply and fled, leaving behind a truck, registered to a W. Gonsalves of Citrus Grove, Port Kaituma.
Joseph Bhaskarran, owner of the facility, Guyana Sand Port, estimates the damage to be in excess of $5M.
From all appearances, the incident stems from bad blood between Bhaskarran and his former Brazilian partner. This newspaper was reliably informed that the two had a falling out earlier this year and the Brazilian reportedly made moves to the court to shut down and create a monopoly with a rival sand exporter, who is a well known East Coast Demerara businessman.
However, the move to the court failed, and it appears that the Brazilian resorted to taking the law into his own hands, using the Presidential Guards as enforcers.
An employee of the Guyana Sand Port told this newspaper that he and another security staff were on duty at the facility when he observed a car approach the gate. `This was at around 01:30 hours.
The employee said that he observed that the guard at the gate became afraid and moved away when four men emerged from the car. There were three other cars, a minibus and a truck behind the car.
The men, he said, proceeded to break the padlocks on the gate with sledge hammers and forcibly enter the compound.
Thinking that the place was being attacked by bandits, since one of the men was wearing a mask, the employee hurriedly hid himself.
The masked man was later identified as the Brazilian business partner.
The employee said that he heard one of the men identify himself as a policeman and he emerged from his hiding place only to be harassed by the men.
β€œThey tell we we got to come out the compound, we trespassing and they put gun to we head. They hit me partner,” the employee stated. He explained that by now several men had emerged from the other vehicles and entered the compound, and the man wearing the mask began frantically issuing instructions.
β€œHe tell them β€˜go ahead, cut out de belt’, and he went with them and I move off,” the employee told Kaieteur News.

Even the facility’s power supply was targeted.

He managed to flee the compound and went to his boss’s home where he informed him about what was happening.
Bhaskarran in turn contacted the police and went to the scene with three ranks, where they found all the perpetrators in the compound. But when they tried to enter they were prevented by two men who produced identifications cards, claiming they were members of the Presidential Guard.
β€œThey had an argument and the Brazilian chucked one of the policemen down,” the employee related.
Eventually, back up was sent for and some of the perpetrators managed to flee the scene leaving the truck and welding equipment behind.
β€œThe bus driver drive away with the rest ah men, and de police order the four vehicle to drive along with them to the station. They had about twenty-five people who come hey because dey got about fifteen ah dem in de lock-up,” he stated.
β€œSome had gas bottle, cutting torch, cutlass, gun and all deh at de station, wha de police pick up,” the employee added.
This newspaper understands that one of the presidential guards told police that they were recruited by a well-known Pandit, who told them that he needed them to assist a friend.
The Pandit was also questioned by the police, but this newspaper was unable to ascertain if he was detained.
Joseph Bhaskarran, the owner of the damaged facility told Kaieteur News that he is convinced that the incident is part of a conspiracy to close down the Guyana Sand Port at lot nine Coverden. He named his previous partner and another business as part of the conspiracy.
He said that he thought that the dispute between him and his former partner was settled to an extent in the court, and he did not expect the kind of action that was taken early yesterday morning.
β€œHe told Kaieteur News that thankfully one of his employees managed to get away and hide in the bushes and subsequently managed to inform about what was taking place.
He was also grateful for the response of the police, since this was instrumental in preventing further damage.
Bhaskarran expressed fear for his life, since he claimed that if Presidential Guards are involved, then he cannot be assured of his safety.
β€œFor the past three days I have been receiving calls from 11 in the night to three in the morning on my three telephone lines…they planned this thing.”
Bhaskarran said that when he arrived at the premises, there was a lot of confusion.
β€œI see this Brazilian guy come with a ski-mask and the police hold it, and when they pull it off, it is him. He tried to escape but the police catch him. About ten of them get away, some of them run through the bush,” Bhaskarran stated.

The intruders fled leaving this truck in the compound of the Guyana Sand Port.

It is understood that apart from the Presidential Guards, the persons who were recruited were from the city, Berbice and Linden.
β€œThe way I see it and how desperate they are to shut down the business, I fear for the lives of all my family and also my workers. So I am asking the authorities to do something about it and put an immediate stop,” Bhaskarran told this newspaper.
Last night, Commissioner Greene said that the Presidential Guards are being questioned within the confines of the guards. There have been allegations of assault and these guards are also implicated, he said.

Presidential guard knocks two off cycle, both critical

August 31, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Two cyclists were seriously injured yesterday after a car driven by a Presidential Guard staffer struck them on Lamaha Street at about 10:30hrs yesterday.

William Nurse, 53, and Lisa Kaydoo, 37, of Queen’s College compound were reportedly hurled from their bicycle into a canal.
Kaydoo reportedly suffered a fractured jaw and arm, and head and spinal injuries, while Nurse sustained head injuries and lacerations. Both were said to be slipping in and out of consciousness. Nurse underwent a CT scan, while Kaydoo had two X-Rays done. They are both listed as critical.
Eyewitnesses said that the driver was travelling at a fast rate. He has been detained.
There are reports that he took the vehicle without permission from State House, yesterday morning.
Several relatives of the injured flocked to the hospital after hearing about the accident and confirmed that the two were seriously injured.

An unconscious William Nurse [inset)

Business as usual from a brutal dictatorship.

2011, is back to the future the Movie

funny how you did not have a problem in 2011

Riff, Go back and check dont just sit and blow hot air.  I challenge you to go back and check where I ever condone CRIMINAL Acts.

You have been in support of the PPP for years. So how can you suddenly deny it?

2011, is back to the future the Movie

funny how you did not have a problem in 2011

Riff, Go back and check dont just sit and blow hot air.  I challenge you to go back and check where I ever condone CRIMINAL Acts.

You never started a thread like you start some nowadays...before you just use to make comments within topics to say the Govt not doing good...Nowadays your threads are full of vitrol and hatred..lang lang time, it was just...yes, this not right and the Govt should be held accountable

Yall so full ah kaka

The presidential guard should knock Ramjattan over like that and don't complain. This is so shameful to make comparison of people's injury from an age old story.

You are more prone to be run over due to carrying around high levels of shit in your brain...there is a possibility you tilt and fall off your feet, or trip over Nehru.