‘We don’t need more barrels, we need brains’ – President charges diaspora

Sep 24, 2017 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...nt-charges-diaspora/

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2017/09/new-york2.jpgPresident Granger interacting with the Guyanese diaspora

[[Quote from article]]

“We need your intellectual capital. We need to tap into the expertise and experience which you have gained here in the Diaspora”, the President said in his address to Guyanese in New York during a meet and greet reception on Friday, September 22.

[[Unquote from article]]

==============================

Perhaps indeed, as Granger stated as it appears that he and others lack the expertise to manage the country. 

‘We don’t need more barrels, we need brains’ – President charges diaspora

Sep 24, 2017 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...nt-charges-diaspora/

President David Granger has encouraged Guyanese in the Diaspora to contribute their intellect to help in the country’s development.

Guyana’s latest industry – the oil and gas, is expected to transform the country’s economy, however, the President noted there is a need for more new industries.

The Head of State made the clarion call for members of the Diaspora to join their skills with the country’s resources to aid its development.

“We need your intellectual capital. We need to tap into the expertise and experience which you have gained here in the Diaspora”, the President said in his address to Guyanese in New York during a meet and greet reception on Friday, September 22.

President Granger is currently attending the 72nd United Nations General Assembly meeting.

The President pointed out that the government has recognised the need to diversify the country’s economy from the “curse of the six sisters”: sugar, rice, bauxite, gold, diamonds and timber.

“We are going to ensure that new industries are fitting for the development of our country and that is where I turn to you the members of our diaspora. We don’t need more barrels, we need brains. That’s why I am here,” the President said.

He added, “We need to diversify, we need to get away from the spell of these six sisters and ensure that our children have a future other than being cane cutters, our children have a future other than felling timber.”

President Granger gave assurances that Guyana has the resources and will welcome investments in the country.

“The doors are open to business, to investment. We cannot do it alone. We need factories, we need manufacturers…we need investment to move our raw materials into the realm of well-manufactured products,” he emphasised.

The President expressed his confidence in achieving the development of new industries to make Guyana “an important manufacturing country and not just an exporter.”

“It is time for Guyanese people to contribute to making this a reality but there is need for innovation and diversification,” President Granger added.

The President also drew attention to the need for more engineers to aid in the development of the country’s infrastructure and improved access to communities no matter the distance.

“One day we must be able to drive from Georgetown to Lethem, to Boa Vista to Brasilia. We cannot give our indigenous farmers access to the markets unless we develop roads and bridges.

“We cannot allow our children to move freely and understand the country that we’ve inherited unless we develop our infrastructure,” President Granger noted.

Good luck, Granger. How do you expect to attract brains in Guyana when you can't keep your own citizens same? All Guyanese businessmen and women are targeted, beaten, robbed and killed. What message is that sending to the diaspora brains that you wanted so bad? 

Totally agreed,the security of Citizens have to be protected,can that be done ??,sure it can,get rid of all the corrupted officers,increase their salary to a livable wage,give the security department the tools to combat crime,revamp the judicial system,increase the penalty for crimes.

Come 2020 black gold money will be flowing,expending some for infrastructure development will create employment,that should help in reducing crimes.

Sometimes my thoughts are too much " Political Hacks" in the homeland,which is creating the difficulty to manage a nation of approx,750,000 with an abundant of resources.

....and one of his principal advisors is a dedicated life-long racist piece of dog shyte  called Eric Philips !

Exactly. Dumbo Granger needs to have his brain examined.

Keffer posted:

....and one of his principal advisors is a dedicated life-long racist piece of dog shyte  called Eric Philips !

Georgetown, Guyana – (September 18, 2017) The Ministry of the Presidency wishes to state that Mr. Eric Phillips is not an Adviser to President David Granger. Mr. Phillips is employed by the Ministry of the Presidency as a Special Assistant to Dr. Clive Thomas.

The Ministry therefore calls for a retraction of this misinformation which was published in a letter to the editor in the Guyana Chronicle, September 18, 2017 (“Can the Indian –Guyanese speak?”) by Mr. Ravi Dev.

Sometimes you don't buy everything from the Guyana Times.

The racist Crab Dawg:

"Mr. Phillips is employed by the Ministry of the Presidency"

Lots of racists are being hired by the Granger administration. They are a like a magnet to AFC/PNC.

Thousands of Guyanese are hungry and being laid off by Guysuco and dog shyte Granger is telling starving Guyanese that they do not need barrels ? 

He needs to have his brain checked.

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...ndian-guyanese-speak

September 17,2017

Dear Editor
IN a recent letter to the press, Eric Philips, Executive of ACDA but now Advisor to the President of Guyana and SARA and Chairman of the Guyana Reparations Commission, accused me and four other “feature writers” of the Guyana Times of using “weekly and daily use propaganda, lies and racial incitement to brainwash Indians that Africans have never accomplished.”

My first reaction was “Oh Dear! Here we go again!” The reason was back in 2009 when Mr. Philips was just an Executive of ACDA, he responded in an identical fashion to an article of mine in the Kaieteur News, “Ballots, not Bullets” where I advised that street protests and violence were counterproductive to the opposition’s cause. I had been emphasising a theme developed over the last few years: “With Guyana now a nation of minorities, no one group could depend on a single ethnic group to catapult them into office. Consequently, the political fluidity that had been missing when Indians comprised an absolute manner and could lock out Africans (just below them in size) from executive office was now a possibility. Mr. Phillips disagreed most vehemently with this assessment.
“He asserted categorically: “Neither the PNCR nor AFC or any combined opposition will defeat the PPP electorally — at least not in 2011.” This is because, “The sad reality is that the vast majority of PPP supporters will not allow themselves to vote for any other Party… If Indians did not vote for Desmond Hoyte, who was very pro-Indian and who engaged the REFORM to bring about fundamental change in the PNC….why would they vote for the PNC or AFC now?” Mr. Philips concluded that I had joined those (named Indians) “who want to destroy Africans in Guyana using the anti-human rights Westminster (West Monster) system.”
Well, I answered, “for one, time and circumstances have changed and the opposition could have changed their tactics and strategy to exploit those changes. The fact of the matter is that the opposition did not need “the vast majority of PPP supporters” to vote for them to create seismic changes in 2011. If, as is now most likely, Indians are at most 43% of the population (and the PPP are getting all their votes from that community as Mr. Phillips seems to assume), then theoretically the Opposition does not need a single Indian vote to defeat them.”

But after I was proven right and the “West monster” System stymied the PPP in 2011 and ejected them in 2015 in favour of the PNC (now named APNU) Mr. Philips has become noticeably more reticent about its shortcomings in delivering equity to minorities. But I leave that for another day.
This time my transgression, evidently, was to advise against him opposing the land claims of our Indigenous Peoples, (“unjust, unfair and pernicious “) in a recent article “Land Contretempts.”

Noting Philips had asserted, “…Our Amerindian leaders, if they’re honest, know that the Amerindian Act of 2006 was an act that gave them reparations,” I pointed out, “First of all, the Indigenous Peoples were not given lands on any “reparatory” basis. Land for the Indigenous Peoples was part and parcel of the Articles of our Independence from Britain.
“Indigenous Peoples’ MP, Stephen Campbell, attended the 1965 Independence Conference in London and ensured that the official Agreement for the Independence of Guyana, (Annex C) required the independent government to provide legal ownership or rights of occupancy for Amerindians over: “areas and reservations or parts thereof, where any tribe or community of Amerindians is now ordinarily resident or settled and other legal rights, such as the rights of passage, in respect of any other lands they now by tradition or custom de facto enjoy freedoms and permissions corresponding to rights of that nature. In this context, it is intended that legal ownership shall comprise all rights normally attaching to such ownership.”

I had also taken issue with Mr. Philips and ACDA, which persistently claimed, most recently to the sitting Land CoI, that Indians were “given” free land in Guyana. Just as the miserly wages that freed Africans refused to accept were part of their indentureship contract, so was a return passage to India. Of the 163,964 Indian immigrants that remained in Guyana, a mere 2,653 (1.6%) exchanged their return passage worth $60/each for land worth an average of $30,45 each.
But somehow, this is denying African accomplishment? Can the Indian-Guyanese speak for justice?

Sincerely
Ravi Dev

Mr. Phillips is employed by the Ministry of the Presidency as a Special Assistant to Dr. Clive Thomas.

Brain ? What brain ?  

Keffer posted:

Brain ? What brain ?  

Looks like you guys are brain surgeons.

Good call Ravi:

"But somehow, this is denying African accomplishment? Can the Indian-Guyanese speak for justice ?"

Granger has lots of racists in his closet whose jobs are to attack Indos who speak out.

Good call Ravi:

"But somehow, this is denying African accomplishment? Can the Indian-Guyanese speak for justice ?"

Are they being stopped ???

Bai, gwan suh this morning. You prappa stupidee.

Good call Ravi:

Granger has lots of racists in his closet whose jobs are to attack Indos who speak out.

Your last sentence have to taken with a grain of salt.

Good call Ravi:

Bai, gwan suh this morning. You prappa stupidee.

Me thinks you can do better than that.

Your language lacks "Intellectual Capacity"

"We don't need more barrels, we need brains."

TRANSLATION: When the oil starts flowing, we shall have MILLIONS of barrels that will end up empty. As for brains, we have thousands of brainless canecutters and woodcutters but we really need oilheads and gasbrains. 

What is Dr. Clive Thomas' role in the Ministry of the Presidency?

Professor Clive Thomas appointed presidential advisor.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...residential-advisor/

Thanks Django bai. Then by extension, Eric Phillips is Granger's advisor since his role is to advise Thomas how to advise Granger.

It is like money laundering. 

All dem big brains that they have in the PNC and he want more?  You mean he want people who know the difference between Phagwali and Phagwali?

The biggest cabinet in the history of Guyana and the sum total of the brain capacity equals ???????

Good call Ravi:

And wah u tink Caribj, anta and D2 doing on this BB. Or dey doan count, but their thoughts are similar to Eric Philips.

alena06 posted:

All dem big brains that they have in the PNC and he want more?  You mean he want people who know the difference between Phagwali and Phagwali?

The biggest cabinet in the history of Guyana and the sum total of the brain capacity equals ???????

Extremely lower than ZERO.  

Granger sends 14 selected people to T&T to get oil and gas training. As it stated, that was the first batch with more expected to follow later on. However, I didn't see cane cutter in the group. What is Granger intended to do with the backbone workforce of Guyana?

"He added, “We need to diversify, we need to get away from the spell of these six sisters and ensure that our children have a future other than being cane cutters, our children have a future other than felling timber.”"

Suh Prince Granger have a vision ??

The racist Crab Dawg:

Lots of racists are being hired by the Granger administration. They are a like a magnet to AFC/PNC.

Thousands of Guyanese are hungry and being laid off by Guysuco and dog shyte Granger is telling starving Guyanese that they do not need barrels ? 

Good sir Yuji, you seem a man of great religious devotion and a good Hindu.  I ask you good sir, please respect the Hon President David A Granger.  You may not like him but he is president.  You should adopt the virtues of madam secretary Bibi latest man craze, Baba Mooji and be polite even when you don't like someone.  Please sir, we want Hon Dr B Jagdeo and my niece to get the same respect  in 202, so please Good sir Yuji, please respect Hon David A Granger.

Princess Di posted:

The racist Crab Dawg:

Good sir Yuji, you seem a man of great religious devotion and a good Hindu.  I ask you good sir, please respect the Hon President David A Granger.  You may not like him but he is president.  You should adopt the virtues of madam secretary Bibi latest man craze, Baba Mooji and be polite even when you don't like someone.  Please sir, we want Hon Dr B Jagdeo and my niece to get the same respect  in 202, so please Good sir Yuji, please respect Hon David A Granger.

Repeat

Granger is no better than Dog Shyte.

Thanks Django bai. Then by extension, Eric Phillips is Granger's advisor since his role is to advise Thomas how to advise Granger.

Kaz fish up Django.

Banna,

you are clueless,think before you hit the enter button.

And daily Jagdeo screams his hatred for blacks. He doesn't even need to get others to do so for him.

I must have missed that; where did Jagdeo scream hatred for blacks ? Can you please share the quote of what he said and where he did that ? 

Last edited by Keffer
Keffer posted:

I must have missed that; where did Jagdeo scream hatred for blacks ? Can you please share the quote of what he said and where he did that ? 

Where does Granger scream daily hatred of Indians, yet these accusations are made.

Jagdeo screamed that the PPP is supported by Indians and that he will "take back Guyana for us".  The racial implications being quite clear. Even one of his former fellow PPP colleagues made mention of this.

He even admitted in the last local government elections that his focus was on the Indian vote.  Not even pretending to expand his base into other groups, that becoming more possible during these types of elections as NYC's election of Republican mayors indicates.

During the elections he ran around screaming in bottom houses in Indian and Amerindian areas that " If the PNC wins GDF and GPF are going to kill and rape you.  Now he is crying that the blacks want to steal Amerindians' land when there is no such plan being developed.  

Yes Jagdeo screams his hatreds in code, and has now turned the PPP into ROARII.  We get his message loud and clear and in fact his target audiences knows exactly what he is conveying.

Jagdeo has a sinister plot to weave a coalition of "straight hair people" against blacks to win the next elections, doing this by playing on their racial anxieties.

Good call Ravi:

And wah u tink Caribj, anta and D2 doing on this BB. Or dey doan count, but their thoughts are similar to Eric Philips.

Do you just like to hear yourself speak rather than concern yourself with facts? Have you ever addressed Mr Phillips on any of his issues?

Well I have. I have gone head to head with him on SN  across hundreds of posts.

I believe as the man is a bigot and an impoverished scholar despite his ivy league provenance. I have told him that many times.

Do you just like to hear yourself speak rather than concern yourself with facts? Have you ever addressed Mr Phillips on any of his issues?

He will be too terrified to confront Phillips in a face to face encounter.  Eric will holler on him and he will run back to GNI trying that "blackman just beat he up".

What he will be able to do is to confront Eric and raise arguments as to why he thinks that Eric is wrong.

. What is Granger intended to do with the backbone workforce of Guyana?

He is no more obligated to help sugar workers than was Jagdeo interested in helping former bauxite workers.

What sort of employment did Jagdeo help bauxite workers find when he callously left them out to dry when 80% of them lost their jobs?

When you deal with Jagdeo's racist treatment of blacks then you can opine on what Granger might be doing to Indians.  But as you deny any anti black racism existed under the PPP though any objective analysis would suggest that it did then you aren't entitled to say a thing.