“Water is life, but this water is killing us!”

…Hubu residents drowning with concerns

By Devina Samaroo

Water is life; but for the residents of Hubu Backdam, East Bank Essequibo (EBE), say the supply they are receiving from the country’s main utility company is causing much health risk for them.

Lakeram Dankumar demonstrating that the water looks clear when it flows from the tap but changes colour when the particles are settled

Gone are the days when the people of Hubu enjoyed potable water. Instead of progressing, their community seems to be inundating in issue after issue. When Guyana Times visited the area on Monday, residents came out in large numbers to voice their concerns, and many were already in the depths of despair while others were on the brink of ‘losing their minds’ over the water woes. Residents found it highly unacceptable that they were paying for foul and discoloured water, which they cannot use for cooking, washing, bathing, drinking or cleaning purposes. In fact, many calls have been made to the Guyana Water Incorporated (GWI) by residents of Region Three (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara) who, was for a considerable period of time, were forced to use water of poor quality.

In February, the water company announced that it would be installing a total of eight mobile generators with an electrical ring system at three well sites, which would see the residents, including Hubu dwellers, benefiting from an improved water supply.

Elder residents told this publication that they were once connected to the Vergenoegen Pump Station and were receiving potable water, but everything changed with the coming of a new government. Their grid was taken off the Vergenoegen Pump System and they were then connected to a small station right in Hubu. But according to the residents, the shallowness of the well linked to the station in Hubu is the likely reason for the contaminated supply they are getting.

Challenge

Komal Narine, who is considered one of the village leaders, challenged the ministers and those in authority at GWI to use the quality of water they are receiving, daring them to endure the struggles. “I dare challenge the minister or any relevant personnel to come and see for themselves. I want them to drink or use this kind of water that we are getting. Let’s see if they can survive from this that they are giving people to use,” he expressed as he turned on the tap in his neighbour’s backyard, displaying the unclean water. Narine believes his community is grappling with a water crisis, and is imploring the relevant authorities to intervene with urgency before the situation surpasses its current unbearable stage.

Expense

For some residents, they are burdened with additional expenses, in some cases $12,000 to $20,000 per month, in order to treat the unfiltered tap water, or purchase supplementary water in order to survive. “If you have to store this water in the black vat, you have to get like 1-2 gallon bleach every other day. All your dishes and utensils, everything does get red with this water. Since this new government take over, this is the water we getting. Before, we used to get water from Vegae (Vergenoegen) and we cudda cook and clean and do all kinds of things with this water,” said one of the residents, known as Aunty Marcy.

She said she normally purchases approximately six bottles of water per week in order to cook. “In addition to that, I have to pay the water bill. Every month the water bill gonna come, and if you don’t pay, they gonna cut you off,” she stated.

Aunty Marcy also vented about how badly the water stains anything it touches, and the extra time, money and energy it takes to remedy the problems. “Look, the other day I used the water to pressure wash my shop, and now I have to go paint back…the water stained it up,” she explained.

Trench water

According to another resident, Lakeram Dankumar, he prefers to use the trench water rather than the water being supplied by GWI. “You can’t bathe with this thing. This thing stink bad, bad, bad. You can’t bathe them lil pickney with this thing. They skin does break out. The water stain up your concrete and the tile, it staining up your wares. You so shame fuh give people something to eat or drink, cause of how it leaving your wares,” Dankumar explained exasperatedly.

His family normally relies on the rain water stored in the black tanks; however, he said, it is always worrying, as there is no other comfortable alternative when the tank runs dry. “Sometimes, to tell you the honest truth, I does prefer to use the trench water,” he declared.

Residents have been battling with the poor quality of water for the longest while, hoping that it was a temporary problem; but months have gone by and no solution is forthcoming, despite GWI’s recent commitment. GWI’s Regional Divisional Manager, Martin Garrick, in an article published in February, conceded that the quality of water is of interest to the water company and needs to be improved urgently.

Residents are calling on GWI and the relevant authorities to expedite the improvements to the water system, so they can once again enjoy a normal quality of life, one in which potable water does not seem like a luxurious amenity only to be afforded by the rich.

It must be noted Hubu is a large farming community which supplies large amounts of cash crop to the rest of Region Three.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/water...water-is-killing-us/

I now see why Jagdeo prefers blue shirts to green shirts. He is sending a subliminal message to anyone with a receiving set. 

Blue shirt = blue sky = blue water = champion of the Earth.

The only thing standing is coconut trees, tea, breakfast and dinner will be dry coconut with green plantain. PROGRESS PNC STYLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ok...so all is not lost then

I now see why Jagdeo prefers blue shirts to green shirts. He is sending a subliminal message to anyone with a receiving set. 

Blue shirt = blue sky = blue water = champion of the Earth.

And Champion of the People.

RiffRaff posted:

like every week Guyana destroyed...nothing must be standing with all the destruction

Brings back memories? During PPP times you folks screamed similar sentiments whenever a Black stump his toe. 

RiffRaff posted:

like every week Guyana destroyed...nothing must be standing with all the destruction

Brings back memories? During PPP times you folks screamed similar sentiments whenever a Black stump his toe. 

Maybe you should check the records...I never claimed Guyana was destroyed...I did claim corruption and thievery

RiffRaff posted:

Maybe you should check the records...I never claimed Guyana was destroyed...I did claim corruption and thievery

Your posse surely did, led by Mitwah, Jalil and the usual suspects. Yall think people will forget?

RiffRaff posted:

Your posse surely did, led by Mitwah, Jalil and the usual suspects. Yall think people will forget?

Suh this BB is for bashing PPP,PNC and AFC,how about we start giving Jack his Jacket.

RiffRaff posted:

Don't worry with Drugb, Mr Moderator. Dem boys seh Drugb is the kinda creature who would torment a dry mango leaf lying on the ground. Is his dharma to torment.

Suh this BB is for bashing PPP,PNC and AFC,how about we start giving Jack his Jacket.

That is all well and good now, but when the shoe was on the other foot you folks were rabid dogs in your hatred for the PPP. Blaming them for acts of nature like the 100 year flood. Do suh na like suh. 

Bhai... i was off this BB for awhile and was always PPP supporter,the party lost my support after the course was changed,I started posting back fully sometime around 2013.

Been here since 2001,just hit 75000 post,that tells you how active i am on this site.

Bhai... i was off this BB for awhile and was always PPP supporter,the party lost my support after the course was changed,I started posting back fully sometime around 2013.

Been here since 2001,just hit 75000 post,that tells you how active i am on this site.

PPP does not need your support. You cannot vote in Guyana's elections.

BTW, you stopped liking the PPP after you started Drinking AFC deadly cool aid. Many of you ended up looking like fools and you look like a bigger fool by now supporting the PNC clowns.

You will NEVER learn.

PPP does not need your support. You cannot vote in Guyana's elections.

BTW, you stopped liking the PPP after you started Drinking AFC deadly cool aid. Many of you ended up looking like fools and you look like a bigger fool by now supporting the PNC clowns.

You will NEVER learn.

I don't support "egoist"

Did you and Bharat Jagdeo took away my Guyanese Rights and thrown out the 43 yrs I lved there ???

No one took away your rights.

You live in America and cannot vote there unless you are part of the Goat Granger's rigging machinery preparing to take overseas votes to help the Goat Granger rig.

Do you know what my status is in ole USA or what it can be by my choice.

Do you know what my status is in ole USA ??

Are you saying that you are living illegally in the USA ?

Bhai, keep your personal stuff away from GNI and the public.

Do you know what my status is in ole USA ??

Are you saying that you are living illegally in the USA ?

Bhai, keep your personal stuff away from GNI and the public.

Do you know what my status is in ole USA or what it can be by my choice.

You replied while i was making an addition to my post.

Nothing to worry i am gud.

Glad to hear. We can argue politically but I want everything to be well for you in life.

We can argue just like Jagan and Burnham but still knack glass (no liquor).

Back in the good old PNC days we had to wait for the grumbs and worms to settle at the bottom before we can use the 'clean' part of the water. This time is back to long time.

The idea that we did these things, ( we did not, we had our own well) is plainly a consequence of our lack of technical know how and no one in the government available to help.  Water collected in a barrel could flow into a sand- pebble- charcoal-sand-pebble box for 99 percent purity in this passive system. We have all the materials available locally to do this.  We can also use a passive solar still using only sand covered with black rubberized material, ie inner tubes and the sand will heat up distilling the water into a collector. It works great.

This is not a solution for the masses, passing the responsibility of govt on to the people. Is this your pitiful excuse for PNC incompetency?