Man slits 17-year-old wife’s throat

Dead: Rosanna Lakhpal

The life of a 17-year-old of No.2 Village East Canje woman was cut short by her common law husband after a heated argument that ended in her throat being slit by the 25-year-old man.

The dead teen has been identified as Rosanna Lakhpal. The suspect who is currently on the run has been identified as Ryan Singh, 25, an unemployed man.

Reports are that the couple was arguing when the fight turned physical.

Nadira Persaud, a domestic worker who lives a street away, told this publication that the teen would babysit her ten and two-year-old when she leaves for work. She said that some time after noon, Rosanna went to her house to pick up the children.

“She come by me and me husband see a mark on she hand and he ask she wa happen deh. She seh how couple day now the mark deh down deh and then she collect dem chiren and she leff.” According to the woman not long after her 10-year-old showed up at her place of employment with the baby in arms telling her that the couple was fighting and they were told by Ryan Singh to exit the yard.

“She come and seh how Ryan and Rosanna fighting. I tell she hold on li’l bit. Me boss lady tell me go see wa happen.”

The woman recounted that upon her arrival at Rosanna’s home her ten-year-old daughter refused to enter the home since she was afraid that the couple was still fighting.

“When I reach deh it had clothes burning at the back and me daughter didn’t want go in so I go in with her and the baby because I had a bag fuh collect.

“I deh calling for Rosanna and me nah hear nothing. Then I call me (Raki) brother on the phone and when he come he ask me wa happen and I tell he I meet the door open and that I calling and nobody answering”, Persaud explained.

At that point they both decided to enter the home and called out for the teen, but again no answer. They were in the upper flat of the two storied concrete building, she said, when they decided to check in the lower flat where the teen lived with her common law husband.

It was then that they discovered young Rosanna’s body lying on the floor in the hall of the apartment covered with sheets.

“We see she foot first but then I de still calling on her thinking she sleeping. But is when I pull she head I see the throat and I start holler. The cushion from the chair did brace next to she face,” the woman said.

She immediately raised an alarm and  the teen’s mother was contacted. The police were subsequently summoned to the scene. The suspect reportedly fled the scene after committing the act and is on the run.

Kaieteur News understands that the suspect was evicted from the home two days prior to the killing. The couple was said to be involved in frequent fights and arguments over the 25-year-old’s drug habit and unemployment.

The suspect would also physically assault the teen whenever she asks for money, according to police sources. What is believed to be the murder weapon was discovered in a toilet bowl some 20feet west of where the body was found.

The body is currently at the Arokium Funeral Home awaiting post mortem.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ar-old-wifes-throat/

Alcohol, drug and married too young for ***** have all contributed to arguments that lead to this young woman's death. A 25 yrs old man don't know to catch fish or plant baigan as an alternative way to support his family? Guyana gone fuh channa.

You should volunteer your time in Guyana to teach young men how to grow up as decent, kind, courteous men, respectful of their wives. Remember how you agreed to the way  Varshnee was treated?

Too much Portuguese poison to drink, Jamaican Jah brother bull-s-it coke and bollywood pale fake Lifestyle brainwashing our Guyanese East Indian people.

This is not Bollywood style. Dem boys in Bollywood would buss out wid a song and run behind a tree.

You should volunteer your time in Guyana to teach young men how to grow up as decent, kind, courteous men, respectful of their wives. Remember how you agreed to the way  Varshnee was treated?

Mitwah, stop discussing me or what I should do. GNI is a discussion forum to discuss a topic and NOT the topic starter. If you're looking for a fight, I am the wrong fuvking person. 

Bhai all this kind of behaviour started under the PPP regime. Drugs was allowed to flow freely. 

welcome to the modern Guyana. This is the progress.

The country may be getting better from a visitor's point of view, but the society is getting worse and domestic violence is at an all time high

Amral

Bhai all this kind of behaviour started under the PPP regime. Drugs was allowed to flow freely. 

This type of behavior of "dog eat dog" started during the PNC dictatorship days. The behavior was cultivated during the PNC days, blossomed and bore fruits as time went by.

People like Mitwah and Djando get all the right answers for Guyana. Let them continue to teach us what we don't know. Only the two of them lived in Guyana.

Prince, I left Guyana in 1970. Seven years later, after getting married, I took my wife to Guyana. To my surprise, the society seems to have disintegrated. Drunks all over, food shortage, everything costs hundreds of dollars, police all over the place. After one week, a jeep load of low life GDF invaded our house looking for contraband. My wife asked me if we did anything illegal. A couple minutes later, they left.

Amral posted:

welcome to the modern Guyana. This is the progress.

The country may be getting better from a visitor's point of view, but the society is getting worse and domestic violence is at an all time high

This human waste should be given the ultimate punishment. Hang him in public to set an example.

These guys are brave enough to kill women and they run away and hide after they committed the act. Why can't he tough it out and wait till the police arrive and admit to the crime? It might take a couple of days, but he will get caught anyway. I don't understand this. 

I am happy that the drug flow ends under holy Granger government. 

This type of behavior of "dog eat dog" started during the PNC dictatorship days. The behavior was cultivated during the PNC days, blossomed and bore fruits as time went by.

Is true. 

People like Mitwah and Djando get all the right answers for Guyana. Let them continue to teach us what we don't know. Only the two of them lived in Guyana.

I have no allegiance to any party. Guyana has evolved for the worst. Too much dependency on remittances. That's how they are able to finance their drug abuse habits. Many are turning a blind eye to incest. Mother's are pimping their daughters for small change, and the list goes on. 

I didn't ask you that question, but since you mentioned it, you are a political hypocritic and a liar. I would believe you don't have a political party to support now because they all duped you. Where is your Green and yellow party that you bragged about so much?

17 years old . Their parents never teach them how to lock their legs tight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Some newspaper says the girl is 16 years old. Bhai, situation force people to get married young when they no longer in school. You can't fully blame the parents if we don't know all the facts surrounding this case. I don't believe they were married legally either. 

People like Mitwah and Djando get all the right answers for Guyana. Let them continue to teach us what we don't know. Only the two of them lived in Guyana.how they are able to finance their drug abuse habits. Many are turning a blind eye to incest. Mother's are pimping their daughters for small change, and the list goes on. 

I didn't ask you that question, but since you mentioned it, you are a political hypocritic and a liar. I would believe you don't have a political party to support now because they all duped you. Where is your Green and yellow party that you bragged about so much?

First off, you did not ask a question you made an idiotic statement. You are really out of touch. Last night at our Bhajan night we raised $10K+ for a kidney transplant patient. What are you doing to help the less fortunate in Guyana?

I supported the coalition during the election but that does not mean I have to be loyal to them. I am keeping my options open until I see what the new 3rd force has to offer. The PPP needs someone other than Jagdeo to lead. Why was Ramotar not allowed to be the leader of the opposition? Hope Frank Anthony shows some fire in his belly for the leadership. 

You called me a hypocrite and a liar when you are the one straining at a knat but swallowed a camel.

Calling us names and other disparaging labels is a sign of your weakness and points to your own inadequacies; it's like throwing water on a duck's back.