Bulldozing of tombs in Number 56 Village cemetery result in standoff between some residents and NDC officials

July 30, 2016 10:02 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Some residents of Number 56 Village in  Corentyne, Berbice are accusing authorities of bulldozing an ancestral village cemetery, but officials say the land has been earmarked for a cricket ground, resulting in a standoff between some villagers and the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC).
The ancestral village cemetery at Number 56 Village, Corentyne

The land, situated on the seaside of the village, was cleared a few days ago and villagers say tombs have been destroyed. Fifty years ago it was known as the village burial ground.

Back then, β€˜Old Poonai’ as he was known, had owned most of Number 56 Village. A section of it was given for the burial of family but other villagers also utilised the area.
According to Dhaneshwar Poonai, about 200 persons were buried there. He said although the cemetery had not been used for half a century it was still viewed as the resting place of their ancestors.
He said last year cousins from the United Kingdom came and assisted with cleaning the overgrowth and painting the tombs.
Meanwhile, Reerakraj Poonai said he tried to intervene when the land was being bulldozed, but was unsuccessful.
Acting Regional Chairman Dennis DeRoop, in an invited comment, said the area belongs to the 52/74 NDC and is part of their reserve land. According to DeRoop, it is not a cemetery. He said some residents had gone to the NDC seeking permission to utilise the land.

Is Dennis DeRoop deranged? There are tombs and graves on that plot of land, and yet it is not a cemetery? It seems that some humans are so greedy for land that they will even desecrate cemeteries to get land. 

Common occurrence in the homeland,an old cemetery in Cornelia Ida was desecrated to create house lots,I recalled my uncle was buried there.

In the United States and Canada  we preserve in Guyana they desecrate,a bunch of loonies are in leadership of the country.

Is Dennis DeRoop deranged? There are tombs and graves on that plot of land, and yet it is not a cemetery? It seems that some humans are so greedy for land that they will even desecrate cemeteries to get land. 

Common occurrence in the homeland,an old cemetery in Cornelia Ida was desecrated to create house lots,I recalled my uncle was buried there.

In the United States and Canada  we preserve in Guyana they desecrate,a bunch of loonies are in leadership of the country.

Just imagine if the PPP was in power and this happened in an Afro community.

Pointblank posted:

Bulldozing of tombs in Number 56 Village cemetery result in standoff between some residents and NDC officials

Some residents of Number 56 Village in  Corentyne, Berbice are accusing authorities of bulldozing an ancestral village cemetery, but officials say the land has been earmarked for a cricket ground, resulting in a standoff between some villagers and the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC).

The land, situated on the seaside of the village, was cleared a few days ago and villagers say tombs have been destroyed. Fifty years ago it was known as the village burial ground.

Back then, β€˜Old Poonai’ as he was known, had owned most of Number 56 Village. A section of it was given for the burial of family but other villagers also utilised the area.
According to Dhaneshwar Poonai, about 200 persons were buried there. He said although the cemetery had not been used for half a century it was still viewed as the resting place of their ancestors.
He said last year cousins from the United Kingdom came and assisted with cleaning the overgrowth and painting the tombs.
Meanwhile, Reerakraj Poonai said he tried to intervene when the land was being bulldozed, but was unsuccessful.
Acting Regional Chairman Dennis DeRoop, in an invited comment, said the area belongs to the 52/74 NDC and is part of their reserve land. According to DeRoop, it is not a cemetery. He said some residents had gone to the NDC seeking permission to utilise the land.

The family has at least three lawyers presently practicing in the area. why have they not stopped this? 

Pointblank posted:

The family has at least three lawyers presently practicing in the area. why have they not stopped this? 

Are you daft man? A dictatorship is in power, no amount of lawyer can overcome directives from the new kakabah Granger. Don't feign stupidity to cover up your support of these criminals in office.

"Some residents of Number 56 Village in  Corentyne, Berbice are accusing authorities of bulldozing an ancestral village cemetery, but officials say the land has been earmarked for a cricket ground, resulting in a standoff between some villagers and the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC)"

Are you not tired of embarrassing your self on this BB,read and comprehend.

Where is President Granger involved in this ?

You seem to forget Local Government is in control.

"Some residents of Number 56 Village in  Corentyne, Berbice are accusing authorities of bulldozing an ancestral village cemetery, but officials say the land has been earmarked for a cricket ground, resulting in a standoff between some villagers and the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC)"

The PNC are in charge, they allow this to happen and also the  NDC is controlled by PNC/AFC agents.  PNC/AFC agents are doing the bidding of their master Jackass Granger.  Don't forget, when the PPP were in power, you folks blame them even if a pipe sprung a leak in a blackman's house. 

There you go again with nonsense,are you aware who is in control of the NDC here is the list,can you pinpoint the PNC/AFC agents.

" Number 56 Village in  Corentyne, Berbice"

The full Council comprises of Davanand Chaitram, chairman; Ahmad Rajab, vice chairman, Lakhram Singh, Biji Latchmunarine, Gamchan, Jason Gravsandy, Uranie, Deonauth Rajkumar, David Thompson, Estella Simpson, Latchminarine, Seewnarine Balgobin, Roopnarine Kowlassar, Praymwatti Taijram, Ramesh Chandr, Jailall Tahal, Messiah, and Shakuntalla Bhoj.

http://www.guyana-times.com/?p=248

Druggie go rest yo dumb rass nuh, every fkin thing is pnc dis pnc dat, you and yo family made such a killing with your underground runnings when PNC where in power now yo rass biting the hands that fed ya.

When PPP was in power you were singing the same tune. Now take your dhall like a man and stop complaining. 

Pointblank posted:

dude...shut up. This is coolie pun coolie greed. I have no sympathy for the family but it is their ancestral property.

In the US, grave sites have a deed and title and managed by funds paid into by each deceased.  I don't know all the facts about these Guyana graves, but are they official burial grounds?  Are they located on private lands which were then sold off in totality?  If so, unless the Govt takes humanitarian action to protect these sites and compensate the land owners, then they do have the legal right to clear the land for their use!

This is not vindictive, it's a land title issue!

ba$eman posted:

In the US, grave sites have a deed and title and managed by funds paid into by each deceased.  I don't know all the facts about these Guyana graves, but are they official burial grounds?  Are they located on private lands which were then sold off in totality?  If so, unless the Govt takes humanitarian action to protect these sites and compensate the land owners, then they do have the legal right to clear the land for their use!

This is not vindictive, it's a land title issue!

Guyanese laws are weak. The Power company asked that I allow them to place power poles across my land. I thought it was a good service. Now they say they have a right to build a road there. I told them not! I am also going to seek payment for such use or tell them to move it or it will become theirs over time.

That is how land becomes some body elses. There are easement of  3 to 4 rods between some estates that are right of  way. Some people use them and if  no one object their later generations will insist it is theirs. The same with this grave site. As a grave yard the villagers used it. Now they want it but they forget they do not own it. 

Also, many cases where what was alled crown land by the sea is land ceded by the owners  to the crown for general administration of sea defense. It states clearly that on such occasion that the crown relinquishes its control such reverts to to the owners. In Guyana, the government claims such land and only in research in the old documents ( if you are lucky) you can repudiate any such claim.

Just imagine if the PPP was in power and this happened in an Afro community.

De Roop ah wan INDIAN PPP

Pointblank