Venezuela says oil operations in Guyana violates agreement

Thursday, March 16, 2017 | 11:53 AM, http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...a-violates-agreement

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (CMC) — The Energy and Petroleum Commission in Venezuela has rejected the oil operations in Guyana’s Essequibo region.

According to a report in El Nacional — a Venezuelan newspaper, the Energy and Petroleum Commission of its National Assembly said that it is convinced that the ongoing oil exploration violates the Geneva agreement of 1966 and Article 10 of The Bolivarian Constitution of Venezuela, “which clearly establishes the Venezuelan territory”.

Venezuela has been claiming Guyana’s territory for several decades although the issue was settled since 1899.

According to the report, vice-president of the parliamentary body, deputy for Zulia, Elías Matta, tabled the draft agreement, explaining that, “As stipulated in Article 5 of the Geneva Agreement, no resource can be exploited if there is no agreement between both nations”.

“Deputy Matta said the Guyana government carried out the expansion of oil prospecting operations in May 2015, in which Exxon-Mobil reported a discovery at the Liza-1 well on the Stabroek and Block.

Likewise, on November 17, 2016, the commercialisation of the same was announced, estimating its recoverable resources between 800 million and 1.4 billion barrels of high quality crude oil belonging to the coastal waters of the Essequibo”, the report noted.

The Commission wants the Venezuelan government to send this “agreement” to the new UN Good Officer for the Guyana/Venezuela conflict.

The Venezuelan Parliamentary Commission also wants the UN official “to immediately suspend all operations carried out within the maritime area corresponding to the territory in claim until the dispute is resolved.”

The UN Good Officer has no such powers, according to local officials familiar with the process.

Venezuela has consistently been raising its voice about the border controversy since the announcement of the oil discovery in Guyana’s territorial waters.

Two years ago, the Venezuelan President had issued a decree claiming Guyana’s territorial waters, where the oil exploration was taking place but that decree was eventually recalled.

President David Granger has said that the Guyana/ Venezuela border row was settled way back in 1899 and a judicial settlement might now be needed to settle it once and for all.

Rass bai,Granger must be shytting he skin now. If the Venezuela send out the navy to disrupt the operation like little Suriname did during PPP time, no oil money for the pnc/afc boys to sport out.

I hope Venezuela does send their navy. Exxon is under the protection of the United States Southern Command.

Guyana will be invaded and Essequibo will be occupied. Kark duck fuh Grainjaw.

The Southern Command has warned Venezuela that an attack on Exxon interests will be viewed as an attack on the United States.

They are not going to attack Exxon, they will just invade parts of Guyana. Which GDF will stop them?

look how some of you are in such glee that Venezuela will take over parts of Guyana...SAD!

Always felt a segment of Guyana would sell out the country

RiffRaff posted:

look how some of you are in such glee that Venezuela will take over parts of Guyana...SAD!

Always been that way. I used to hear the "bettah dem Spanish man tek ovah" when GDF used to have anti-aircraft drills on the East Coast. Used to make my blood boil. Then I was a smallie. Not anymore so I can say just how repulsive I find those comments.

RiffRaff posted:

I suppose they hate the PNC crooks more than the Venezuelans. 

Maybe you don't remember PNC days when Indians were treated like second class citizens. The same is happening today. I don't blame those who wish for an invasion, it is a reflection of disenchantment with the PNC administration bullying Indians around. Also many IndoG who went to Venezuela were treated with open arms and lived there for decades, maybe this has something to do with wanting them as invaders. 

I have a question for you how many years you live under PNC.

Like I said, some of you are just plain sell outs....no justification for selling out your country...it aint matter who in power, PPP or PNC

RiffRaff posted:

Like I said, some of you are just plain sell outs....no justification for selling out your country...it aint matter who in power, PPP or PNC

Riffraff al brown Guyani, the anti-koolie squad don't see you as Guyanese they see you as koolie. So get over it.

Your ignorance is on display. What a crock of shit. Guyanese who went to Venezuela were treated as 3rd class citizens.  They lived in the ghettos and were severely discriminated against. Stop spewing nonsense. 

18 years of lost opportunity and dreams which I only realized once migrating to the US.  

RiffRaff posted:

How am I a sell out, I don't agree with Venezuela invading Guyana but I understand why others would.  During PNC time, I remember Indians were so suppressed and bullied by the regime that they would root for India and Pakistan in cricket when they were playing the West Indies.  If you alienate a people with racist policies, invariably they will defect.   I don't see you rushing back to Guyana to invest under the PNC now that these jackasses are back in power and ruining the nation.

FC posted:

Your ignorance is on display. What a crock of shit. Guyanese who went to Venezuela were treated as 3rd class citizens.  They lived in the ghettos and were severely discriminated against. Stop spewing nonsense. 

Nonsense, 3rd class citizens in Venezuela was better than 2nd class citizens in Guyana, that is why many stayed on there and integrated into that society. 

RiffRaff posted:

How am I a sell out, I don't agree with Venezuela invading Guyana but I understand why others would.  During PNC time, I remember Indians were so suppressed and bullied by the regime that they would root for India and Pakistan in cricket when they were playing the West Indies.  If you alienate a people with racist policies, invariably they will defect.   I don't see you rushing back to Guyana to invest under the PNC now that these jackasses are back in power and ruining the nation.

Rooting for India or Pakistan in cricket had nothing to do with the party in power...stop being so deliberately stupid

18 years of lost opportunity and dreams which I only realized once migrating to the US.  

Thanks for responding,with that said most if what you are writing is like water in a basket.

I want to mention in 1979,an Indian National was getting Visa for me to migrate to US in Miami,he wanted to open an Electronic Repair Shop,for me to work,VCR came out a few years and i was good at fixing them,my eldest son was 1 yr old,I told him the whole family,he replied he can't,I said to him deal is off.

I stayed in Guyana,although i could have gotten Visa with the help of a friend,had no plan to stay in any country illegally,i could not leave my family behind.Finally migrated legally in1996,my younger son was 7yrs.It was time to make the sacrifice for their future.I could not complain i did well while living in Guyana.

When i landed in Queens N.Y. well that's a different story to tell,moved a few months after to Connecticut with the help of one of my friend.

Every one have a story to tell,what matters the truth must be told.

FC posted:

Nonsense, 3rd class citizens in Venezuela was better than 2nd class citizens in Guyana, that is why many stayed on there and integrated into that society. 

Wow. I am speechless.

RiffRaff posted:

I suppose they hate the PNC crooks more than the Venezuelans. 

Their misplaced emotion doesn't make them right. Nothing, not even God, can justify their support of Venezuela's aggression against Guyana.

The 52 year old grew up in the vicinity of the Stabroek Market, and as a child, he would often venture to the back of the market and look across the Demerara River and ask himself: Can I swim over that?
He attended the Mon Repos Primary, where he wrote the National Grade Six Assessment and was awarded a place at the St. Stanislaus College.

While attending that institution, he was involved in track and athletics activities.In 1984, Rugbeer and his family migrated to the United States of America.

The resident investigator found a difference.

By the way me thinks one of my Nephew was at Saints the same period you were there,few family members and villagers attended Saints.

RiffRaff posted:

Rooting for India or Pakistan in cricket had nothing to do with the party in power...stop being so deliberately stupid

This guy has no pride.  He is a "collie" on top mentality.  Blackman in charge so his shorts is in a knot.  He is having nightmares. Guyana belongs only to "collies".   Last time i looked Guyana operating as it did 2yrs ago. Business as usual.

You administered a beating on another thread.  Good on you. These guys are consumed by their racism. They see the world as collie Vs black. You on the other hand see beyond race. You call a spade a spade.  That is the place where we have to get to in order to make a paradigm shift in our politics.   

If indos are corrupt it is ok. If they are drug traffickers it is ok. Once abie is on top and we keep the Blackman out. That is mentality of many on GNI. 

RiffRaff posted:

I agree that Guyanese Indians were rooting for India and Pakistan. WI never get support at Bourda , majority of the spectators were Indians.

Riff on the other hand although born Indian had connections with blacks from Melanie, hence his support for both races... 

I hope Venezuela does send their navy. Exxon is under the protection of the United States Southern Command.

During PPP time Venezuela didnt even need to invade..dem dam PPP wimps try fo give it away...even some GNI sellouts called for it.

Stupid-ass comment!

Imran posted:
RiffRaff posted:

I agree that Guyanese Indians were rooting for India and Pakistan. WI never get support at Bourda , majority of the spectators were Indians.

Riff on the other hand although born Indian had connections with blacks from Melanie, hence his support for both races... 

It's funny how things go.  When I lived there, the Indians said the always watched India vs WI matches and enjoyed the gamesmanship of the likes of Roy Fredricks, Viv Richards, Clive Lloyd, Kanhai etc.  The Indians had/have great admiration for the WI players, regardless of race.  Of recent, the most popular player was Chris Gayle.

In Guyana, the support by Indians for India vs WI was partly a reaction to the anti-Indian racism being experienced in Guyana.  It was a form of protest!

RiffRaff posted:

Did you sell out you mattee coolie when you were in the KSI?

RiffRaff posted:

Did you sell out you mattee coolie when you were in the KSI?

One of Burnham creation headed by an Indian.