US supplied no evidence against Greene -Jagdeo

By Zoisa Fraser | 27 Comments | Local | Saturday, September 3, 2011

President Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that his decision to appoint Henry Greene as Police Commissioner was made after the US refused to provide information on a five-year probe, which it said tied Greene to drug trafficking.

Classified diplomatic cables sent to Washington by former US Embassy Charge d’Affaires Michael Thomas, show that the US in 2006 had warned of the potential embarrassment for the administration if its Police Commis-sioner (Greene) was indicted in a foreign court. The US, UK, Canada and EU mission chiefs here later urged the government against going ahead with his appointment.

According to the cables, released via the WikiLeaks website, both President Jagdeo and Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr Roger Luncheon promised to reconsider, but later back-pedalled. Thomas, who said that Luncheon kept Jagdeo in the dark about US concerns about Greene’s links to criminal activities, suggested that both men misled the foreign mission chiefs.

Jagdeo, responding to questions from Stabroek News on the Henry Greene matter as well as claims in the cables that the Guyana Government was compromised by now convicted drug trafficker Roger Khan, said he was hesitant to answer because the cable were all about impressions.

He told a news conference at office of the President that the Roger Khan issue was an impression and there is no evidence to suggest what was being said was true. He noted that while he didn’t want to respond to the cables, he would comment on the Greene appointment. Jagdeo reminded of the bugging of the office of Police Commis-sioner Winston Felix who served before Greene took over. He said that he is confident that it was indeed Felix who was talking to a number of people in spite of his denial. “Any sane Guyanese would know that it was him,” Jagdeo said.

Recalling one of the conversations, he told reporters that Basil Williams from the People’s National Congress was saying “boy you help us out on the Agricola thing,” while adding that Williams still needs to explain what he meant. He pointed out that the ‘Agricola thing’ had to have been the massacre that occurred there in which a number of people were killed.

He said that as Felix was preparing for departure from his office (retirement), a US official – not the ambassador – met with Khan at the Ocean View Hotel. He stressed that mention of the meeting, which occurred in early 2006, came out in evidence during Khan’s court case. Jagdeo stressed that government was unaware of the meeting between Khan and officials from the US Embassy. The government, he emphasised, had never met with Khan.

It was subsequent to this meeting, that Jagdeo was approached with information that the US had been watching Greene for five years and that he should not be appointed Top Cop.

According to Jagdeo, he questioned the embassy official, believed to be Thomas, as to why they were only now coming forward with the information. “Did you not see fit all of these years to come and tell me that my crime chief was involved in drug trafficking or whatever…” he recalled telling him.

Jagdeo said that the US official was repeatedly asked why they had not mentioned anything before especially to the then head of the Guyana Police Force. “We could have gotten rid of him if you had this information,” he said, adding that he told the official that if he produced evidence (documents) on the investigation and the linkages he might consider the matter.

According to the president, on July 18, 2006, the US official along with some other ambassadors came to him. He said he asked for the information and was told that “they are not authorised to give me any further information. I was very angry and I might have used some words that I am not going to say here today but I said to him that I am the president and that he telling me not to appoint a citizen of this country because you have had some investigation for five years that you doing.”

He said he again mentioned that during the five years of the investigation nothing was said. “You are coming to tell me and you are telling me that I must take this action based on your word that you are unprepared to give me further information. I basically told him to leave my office”, Jagdeo recalled.

One of the cables released by WikiLeaks and authored by then Charge d’Affaires Thomas stated that Jagdeo had told him at the July 18, 2006 meeting that if the US revoked Greene’s visa, it would give the government a basis for reviewing the decision to appoint Greene. The visa was revoked two days later but the government did not budge from this position.

Jagdeo expressed the view to reporters that the US official was trying to influence his choice of Commissioner of Police “maybe because he (Greene) is not favourable to your interest and other commissioners may have been favourable to your interests. Often it is about who gives the most information to these foreign powers. They want to influence who becomes commissioner here. We can’t do that in their country but they wanted me to take a leap of faith in their words and not appoint a citizen of this country. Nothing came from them and I proceeded to appoint the gentlemen and I have thorough faith in him.”
Release everything Jagdeo yesterday said he had called for everything on Guyana to be released. “I said so knowing that there may very well be things that some of these ambassadors wrote that are negative about the government but what I was more interested in is how the US government makes policies.”

He said that it must be of great interest to people that an ambassador “could come and sit with you at a meeting, he could then go back and file a report to Washington. A report that you never saw so he could put whatever he wants in that report. Just embellish the report maybe to make himself look good so because this will improve their career path.” He noted that one had no way of knowing whether the information contained in the report is factual or not.

“What is more important is that the government of that country will make its policies based on the report which could be very inaccurate. Apart from that half of these things are about impressions, how they feel, how I looked when (Minister) Sash Sawh died…,” he said

He said the WikiLeaks reports tell a lot about how these countries make policies in relation to small countries “not based on objective assessments of situations but based on the impression of their representatives here.”

“Had it not been for WikiLeaks we would never have known about this. What I am also interested in because they seem not to release those sections, about all the people who go over to these places, some of them because they want to be friendly with these states, some because they want visas to carry information and half of the information may be misleading and self serving,” he said.

Jagdeo also told reporters that the government has made its position clear, while pointing out that Guyana is often mentioned in the worst categories of trafficking in persons. In this case he said the basis for their conclusion was a report from a US NGO that said they took “984 kids out of extreme forms of child labour.” He said it was later determined that they invented a figure so that they could get paid.

“I would not pay too much attention to the content of it (the cables) because it is an ambassador’s impression of what’s taking place but I am glad it has come out in the public domain,” he said.

Let them keep their evidence in their closet and expect President Jagdeo to fire Mr.Green because they said he is involved in drugs. Remember they said that Iraq had Weapons of Mass Destruction.
This is my point exactly. These are the very creatures who lied about Iraq so that they could commence their genocide, yet telling the President they can't share the evidence. Kick out the trash I would say. The President should have told them in no uncertain terms to carry dem Sk&^t. Perhaps he did.

Bullen was a house slave working for white trash Bush, so nothing coming from them can be deemed as credible.

You guys should see how Powell rebuked the other white trash, Cheney of Haliburton notoriety.
Isn't it what the Taliban said to the US about OBL's involvement in 9/11? The US will never provide such into to Govts they don't fully trust, it gives away sources and intelligence gathering methods. The PPP is not trusted by the US.
Originally posted by Streetsmart:
This is my point exactly. These are the very creatures who lied about Iraq so that they could commence their genocide, yet telling the President they can't share the evidence. Kick out the trash I would say. The President should have told them in no uncertain terms to carry dem Sk&^t. Perhaps he did.

Bullen was a house slave working for white trash Bush, so nothing coming from them can be deemed as credible.

You guys should see how Powell rebuked the other white trash, Cheney of Haliburton notoriety.

Streethuster...why would the US give evidence against Greene when the govt lacked credibility? Furthermore, any properly functioning govt would be wary to promote such a person. THE FACT IS THE USELESS PPP MADE GUYANA A MORE DANGEROUS PLACE. No amount of lipstick from you streetmorons from Liz's crew can make that pig look better.
Originally posted by baseman:
Isn't it what the Taliban said to the US about OBL's involvement in 9/11? The US will never provide such into to Govts they don't fully trust, it gives away sources and intelligence gathering methods. The PPP is not trusted by the US.

So ya mean fa tell me that after 5 years of investigation Green they couldn't even list at least two specific instances of his contact with drug dealers?
Yet he shouldn't be made COP based on their position
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:

Streethuster...why would the US give evidence against Greene when the govt lacked credibility? Furthermore, any properly functioning govt would be wary to promote such a person. THE FACT IS THE USELESS PPP MADE GUYANA A MORE DANGEROUS PLACE. No amount of lipstick from you streetmorons from Liz's crew can make that pig look better.

Some piece of white underling trash cannot make an allegation about the COP to The President of Guyana or that matter any country and refuse to provide the evidence. They are not running this country, The PPP/C is.

Who killed Sash Sawh? And did the PPP asked the US for help?
Originally posted by Mitwah:

Ask Bullen

You are suffering from a serious case of inferiority complex. Another analogy would be small penis syndrome.

Ask Bullen

You are full of shit. Is that what you had for brekky so you come here now to spew it.
I agree with Jagdeo here. No foreign representative should discuss domestic matters without the proper representative present. One can't invite a local to their facility to gather information and refuse to share it with the government. No different from how in court proceedings, one side cannot conceal information from the other side. Disclosure laws will prevent them from using that information in court. Likewise to request that Jagdeo don't appoint someone he feel is qualified should be backed up by reasons. Now it would be different if that information was gathered outside of the local jurisdiction where the local government would have no jurisdiction. When American citizens provide such information to foreign representatives, they would be charged with treason. We can't demand something from others that we forbid of our own.
Another analogy would be small penis syndrome.

Wha kinda funny business is da ............stewwwww.

Imagine a man obsessed with the size of another man's penis headbanging
agdeo expressed the view to reporters that the US official was trying to influence his choice of Commissioner of Police “maybe because he (Greene) is not favourable to your interest and other commissioners may have been favourable to your interests. Often it is about who gives the most information to these foreign powers. They want to influence who becomes commissioner here. We can’t do that in their country but they wanted me to take a leap of faith in their words and not appoint a citizen of this country. Nothing came from them and I proceeded to appoint the gentlemen and I have thorough faith in him.”
Release everything Jagdeo yesterday said he had called for everything on Guyana to be released. “I said so knowing that there may very well be things that some of these ambassadors wrote that are negative about the government but what I was more interested in is how the US government makes policies.”

I am starting to have a renewed respect for this fella Jagdeo...Guyana first.

I guess the embassy was hoping for another Felix.
Originally posted by DND:
What I find fascinating is the AFC's infatuation with the USA. It is almost as if they think that Guyana should revert to being a colony. Massa days coming back under AFC.

Has the country learned anything from "massa days"?
Don't you think that we should have all learned something from our past and not repeat it?
All races are equally guilty of this.

In my opinion, History should be kept exactly where it is, in the past, we learn nothing, we are a-holes to not. We extract pieces here and there,willy nilly just as we do with the Holy books in order to prove our position has merit.
What I find fascinating is the AFC's infatuation with the USA. It is almost as if they think that Guyana should revert to being a colony. Massa days coming back under AFC.

PPP panicking now that skeletons are coming out of the closets.

Why you think that? If so, the what is the PPP's infactuation with the USSR, Cuda, Chavez, China, Iran, Syria, Gadhafi and anything anti-Western? Is Rusal the new face of social capitalism?

How quickly we forget Cheddi Jagan's 'infatuation' with the USA, when he wanted to get rid of a dictator in 1992.

The secret cables are indicating that the US is not the best friend of the Jagdeo's administration. Full credit should be given to Jagdeo's mouth.
Originally posted by Tola:

How quickly we forget Cheddi Jagan's 'infatuation' with the USA, when he wanted to get rid of a dictator in 1992.

The secret cables are indicating that the US is not the best friend of the Jagdeo's administration. Full credit should be given to Jagdeo's mouth.

How quickly we forget who saddled us with the PNC for 28 years. And it was the work of Patriotic Guyanese that brought back democracy. But I guess those with an inferiority complex would prefer to give credit to the Americans.

Banna, if the USG and Jimmy Carter did not intervene, PPP would have still been in opposition. Hoyte would have reformed and pulled the business community with him and the rest would be history. So all you say is hog wash, and you know it.
Explosive US cable on WikiLeaks reveals…Jagdeo pushed US to revoke Greene’s visa

September 3, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News

An explosive US Embassy cable released by whistle-blower website, WikiLeaks, has essentially linked Commissioner of Police, Henry Greene, to the drug trade and said he broke into tears when he learnt his visa had been revoked, back in 2006.

The cable sent to the Department of Justice in July 2006 by Michael Thomas, Charge d’Affaires of the Georgetown US Embassy, also said that the insistence of the Guyana government to appoint Greene despite being warned revealed a stubborn streak in President Bharrat Jagdeo.

The subject of the classified cable was “GOG (Government of Guyana) pick crooked police chief despite revoked visa”

Thomas, in the cable, also opined that the appointment of Greene would bring critical international assistance to the Guyana Police Force (GPF) to a halt.

“This issue reveals a real stubborn streak in Jagdeo — he is doggedly sticking with Greene, knowing that he is corrupt and incompetent – that doing so strains Guyana’s security situation and its foreign relations, and imperils GPF operational efficiency.”

Days before government appointed the Commissioner, Thomas met with President Jagdeo to convey Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)-provided language regarding Henry Greene’s alleged ties to narco-traffickers.

Three other major embassies were also heavily concerned and representatives of their missions accompanied the US Charge d’Affaires to a meeting with Jagdeo, Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon and Foreign Minister, Rudy Insanally.

These included the UK, Canada and the European Union Chiefs of Mission.

During that crucial meeting, it was clear to the foreign officials that the Guyana government had already committed to naming Greene as the Top Cop and was not readily inclined to back down.

UNHAPPY JAGDEO Frown Frown

The Charge d’Affaires, according to the cable “repeated for Jagdeo’s benefit what Ambassador Bullen had told Luncheon July 12 (2006)– that Greene’s name has appeared repeatedly in reports from various USG (United States Government) agencies — and that as Ambassador had promised, we had sought authorization from U.S. law enforcement agencies to pass on some of that information.”
President Jagdeo, according to the cable, reacted badly.

“He complained in strong terms that the USG “never” shares intelligence information and had not said anything before about having concerns with Greene. He went so far as to tell Luncheon to stop all GoG intelligence sharing with the Embassy.”

Jagdeo reportedly admitted that it would be difficult to refuse to appoint Greene since the announcement had already been made. It was made clear that if the U.S. were to take some action, like revoking Greene’s visa, it could provide the GoG the needed cover to reconsider the decision.

Two days after that meeting, the US Consul revoked Greene’s previously-issued B-1/B-2 visa based on the DEA information.

GREENE’S TEARS

“Greene broke into tears when informed of this, fearing the embarrassment the revocation will cause, and denied involvement with drug trafficking. He expressed surprise that the revocation was not due to his “troubling the girls”.

The cable noted that the allegations of rape have dogged Greene throughout his career.

“Insiders tell us that the victims include at least five policewomen. Greene uses his rank to intimidate victims into not speaking out, but his behavior is widely known within the police force.”

Despite the visa revocation, the Guyana government insisted that the US had withheld compromising information about Greene’s alleged “drug ties’ and made it clear that Guyana would move ahead with plans to elevate Greene to Acting Commissioner.

The US tried in last-ditch attempts to convince government that appointing Greene was not advisable.

The Charge d’Affaires on July 22nd, 2006, met with Luncheon who “appeared uncomfortable and defensive talking about Greene. He accused the U.S. of essentially wanting a veto over Guyana’s police and army chiefs. He lamented that the Office of the President does not have hard evidence of Greene’s wrongdoings, reiterating that the GoG (Government of Guyana) cannot act on the basis of rumor. The idea that the USG has better information on GoG officials than he does clearly gets under Luncheon’s skin. He tried to dismiss Greene’s tarnished reputation, saying that all senior GoG officials have skeletons in the closet.”

DIPLOMATIC PRESSURE

The US Embassy in its analysis of Greene’s new position felt that will have consequences on foreign assistance involving the GPF.

“UK High Commissioner Fraser Wheeler spoke with Jagdeo three times between July 21 and 24, 2006, to convey Her Majesty’s Government’s concerns about Greene’s elevation.

Wheeler told Jagdeo that he had an offer to provide the GPF with pre-election security training, but cannot go ahead if Greene is top cop. Jagdeo replied that he is under intense political pressure to stick with Greene.”

“The source of this pressure is unclear. In fact, Post (the Embassy) has yet to hear anyone defend Greene as a qualified, deserving candidate for the Commissioner job. The Canadian High Commissioner also told Charge that his government will cease all cooperation with the police if the Greene appointment goes through.”

The US Embassy in the cable was harsh in its description of the Cabinet of government ministers.
“At times, Jagdeo comes across as a practical, level-headed leader — meaning well but hampered by a cabinet full of old party cronies. At other times, however, Jagdeo seems enamored by the image of Guyana as victim — a poor, little country pushed around by the rich powers. In such instances, he lashes out at diplomatic pressure and makes decisions like this one that are, frankly, bad for Guyana.”

Source[/QUOTE]
Explosive US cable on WikiLeaks reveals…Jagdeo pushed US to revoke Greene’s visa

Thomas, in the cable, also opined that the appointment of Greene would bring critical international assistance to the Guyana Police Force (GPF) to a halt.

“This issue reveals a real stubborn streak in Jagdeo — he is doggedly sticking with Greene, knowing that he is corrupt and incompetent – that doing so strains Guyana’s security situation and its foreign relations, and imperils GPF operational efficiency.”

UNHAPPY JAGDEO Frown Frown

The Charge d’Affaires, according to the cable “repeated for Jagdeo’s benefit what Ambassador Bullen had told Luncheon July 12 (2006)– that Greene’s name has appeared repeatedly in reports from various USG (United States Government) agencies — and that as Ambassador had promised, we had sought authorization from U.S. law enforcement agencies to pass on some of that information.”
President Jagdeo, according to the cable, reacted badly.

“He complained in strong terms that the USG “never” shares intelligence information and had not said anything before about having concerns with Greene. He went so far as to tell Luncheon to stop all GoG intelligence sharing with the Embassy.”

Jagdeo reportedly admitted that it would be difficult to refuse to appoint Greene since the announcement had already been made. It was made clear that if the U.S. were to take some action, like revoking Greene’s visa, it could provide the GoG the needed cover to reconsider the decision.

Two days after that meeting, the US Consul revoked Greene’s previously-issued B-1/B-2 visa based on the DEA information.

GREENE’S TEARS

“Greene broke into tears when informed of this, fearing the embarrassment the revocation will cause, and denied involvement with drug trafficking. He expressed surprise that the revocation was not due to his “troubling the girls”.

The cable noted that the allegations of rape have dogged Greene throughout his career.

“Insiders tell us that the victims include at least five policewomen. Greene uses his rank to intimidate victims into not speaking out, but his behavior is widely known within the police force.”

Despite the visa revocation, the Guyana government insisted that the US had withheld compromising information about Greene’s alleged “drug ties’ and made it clear that Guyana would move ahead with plans to elevate Greene to Acting Commissioner.

The US tried in last-ditch attempts to convince government that appointing Greene was not advisable.

The Charge d’Affaires on July 22nd, 2006, met with Luncheon who “appeared uncomfortable and defensive talking about Greene. He accused the U.S. of essentially wanting a veto over Guyana’s police and army chiefs. He lamented that the Office of the President does not have hard evidence of Greene’s wrongdoings, reiterating that the GoG (Government of Guyana) cannot act on the basis of rumor. The idea that the USG has better information on GoG officials than he does clearly gets under Luncheon’s skin. He tried to dismiss Greene’s tarnished reputation, saying that all senior GoG officials have skeletons in the closet.”

DND, did Jagdeo ever followed up on these allegations of rape which was openly talked about by the people?
Originally posted by cain:

We extract pieces here and there,willy nilly just as we do with the Holy books in order to prove our position has merit..

My good man...that is politics..very few honarable men...

but the politicians choose their path so they must be prepared to defend their positions...may the best salesman win Smile

We could have been carrying placards until hell freezes over, we still would not have gotten free elections in Guyana. The USA was always concerned about the PPP. And nearly 60 years, their stripes have not change even with a new brood of politicians. That is because Jagan sougt ignoramuses to side with him.

The GUARD movement made the difference and they were good Guyanese ppl.
Originally posted by baseman:

Banna, if the USG and Jimmy Carter did not intervene, PPP would have still been in opposition. Hoyte would have reformed and pulled the business community with him and the rest would be history. So all you say is hog wash, and you know it.

Quite true,
Canada's Broadbent also worked towards holding fair elections with foreign observer, resulting in the PPP 1992 win.

DND, how did 'patriotic Guyanese' brought back democracy to Guyana WITHOUT foreign assistance, when the GDF was instructed to carry all the ballot boxes and shoot anyone who resisted ?
Bullen was a house slave working for white trash Bush, .

Just because you are a house slave working for your Indo slave master doesnt mean that every black man is.
Mitwah...vote on issues...vote P.P.P/C....let your conscience be your guide...support the peoples party...the peopls progressive party civic...A victory for the P.P.P/C is a victory for all Guyanese