Source  Guyana, Thursday, July 20, 2017

In a few weeks, a batch of Guyanese entrepreneurs will be selected to participate in the 2017 Young Leaders for the Americas initiative (YLAI) Fellowship Programmeme.

Ambassador of the United States to Guyana, Perry Holloway.

This was revealed by Ambassador of the United States to Guyana, Perry Holloway recently, who explained, that this is all in an effort to boost Guyana’s education sector.

The YLAI Fellows Programmeme brings together t0wenty-four young leaders from Latin America and the Caribbean, including four from Guyana, in the United States for an exchange programme which involves internships and skills-building workshops.

The initiative was launched under the former U.S.  President Obama administration to build linkages between young leaders across the hemisphere, and expand opportunities for emerging entrepreneurs and civil society leaders.

Four young Guyanese entrepreneurs; Dason Anthony, Judason Bess, Abbigale Loncke and Shaunda Yarde participated in a successful pilot of the YLAI fellowship programme in Spring (March, April, May) 2016.

Yarde founded Coconut Grove in 2013.  She uses fresh local ingredients to make a culturally rooted product, Golden Crunch Coconut Biscuits. “Yarde reiterated that YLAI was the perfect boot camp for her business and the ultimate reboot for her soul”, Ambassador Holloway said.

Loncke established a Community Health Care, an agency that delivers home care needs for the elderly, sick, disabled, and children in the comfort of their homes. She also provides training for women who are in need of employment to take up roles as care-givers. She received a ‘special shout-out from the U.S President’, Ambassador Holloway noted, “for her outstanding work as a young entrepreneur.”

In the five-week programme, the participants (fellows) learn and shar their experiences in start-ups, small businesses, non-governmental organizations, and similar entities in cities throughout the United States and in partnership with community groups and American universities.

The 2016 YLAI Professional Fellows selection team received nearly 4,000 applications for this Presidential programme. The 250 selected business and social entrepreneurs represent 35 countries throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.

Ambassador Holloway highlighted that the Embassy continues to empower young people via “Our Youth Ambassadors programme as they become emerging leaders, making positive contributions in their communities. We continue to see the positive returns of the Youth Ambassadors Programme, when young adults return to Guyana with a strong commitment and passion in fulfilling their responsibilities towards the development of their country.”

Another educational project is the reactivation of some 20-year dormant Fulbright U.S Scholarship Programme. This Programme sends U.S. scholars and professionals abroad to lecture or conduct research in a wide variety of academic and professional fields.

Ambassador Holloway, last week, said that the programme has been officially reactivated, and reiterated the US’s commitment to help build capacity for Guyana’s education sector. “An American professor came to work at the UG for one semester and was so popular among her students that UG requested as extension.”

The Fulbright Programme was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by late Senator J. William Fulbright. It is sponsored by the United States Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

There was also, an exchange between Texas Tech and the University of Guyana sponsored by ExxonMobil. “It provided opportunities for students of both universities to exchange ideas and to create projects around extracting petroleum in the most environmentally friendly manner possible,” the Ambassador explained.

The US Embassy also assisted Ruel Johnson in becoming the first Guyanese author to participate in the internationally renowned for ‘Fall Residency for Writers’ at the University of Iowa. Another Guyanese writer has already been selected to participate in the 2017 programme.

Five young Guyanese journalists were also sent to the United States for intensive three-week programme this year, on issues ranging from democracy and elections to investigative journalism in biodiversity and the rainforest.

The US and Canada should be doing more in the Education field. They are primarily the beneficiary of Guyana's brain drain; not ignoring the fact that our remittances do bolster the economy back home.

There is a serious disconnect here. The last batch were all AfroG. But this is a departure from reality as Blacks are but a fraction of the entrepreneurs in Guyana.

Looks like there is a concerted effort by the pnc crooks in office to expunge IndoGs from Guyana civilization.

Four young Guyanese entrepreneurs; Dason Anthony, Judason Bess, Abbigale Loncke and Shaunda Yarde participated in a successful pilot of the YLAI fellowship programme in Spring (March, April, May) 2016.

There is a serious disconnect here. The last batch were all AfroG. But this is a departure from reality as Blacks are but a fraction of the entrepreneurs in Guyana.

Looks like there is a concerted effort by the pnc crooks in office to expunge IndoGs from Guyana civilization.

Balancing the opportunities after being shut out for 23 yrs.

Why did I know that druggie will start screaming.

Druggie you have established the fact that blacks are hopeless business people. You scream that Indians are all wealthy business people and that all the poverty in Guyana is among blacks and Amerindians.

So you ought to be glad that blacks are receiving assistance. Based on your rants Indians don't need any help in developing their businesses.

Why did I know that druggie will start screaming.

Druggie you have established the fact that blacks are hopeless business people. You scream that Indians are all wealthy business people and that all the poverty in Guyana is among blacks and Amerindians.

So you ought to be glad that blacks are receiving assistance. Based on your rants Indians don't need any help in developing their businesses.

There should be balance, tokenism is never a solution and causes more harm than good. In fact there is no evidence that the Afros came back to contribute positively to Guyana. 

HAHAHA Dat is like wan Drunk saying, who me, I am not drunk.  Or as ny neighbe would say " Nah tek yuh shit and dab am pun me"

Are you related to the Namakaram Crabdaag?? If no, you need to investigate.

There should be balance, 

Afros contributing to Guyana. Well Karen did and in a few months developed a team which came 10th in the world.  She has had a variety of robotics training in deprived areas, so it isn't just the bright kids from the middle class who benefit.

And as we speak QC is having a math camp in Guyana based on what I read in the papers. Any bets as to the ethnicity of those from overseas who are involved?

And you cannot have your cake and eat it too.  If every Indian is a successful business person and very few blacks are then the balance will be to expose more blacks to business so as to achieve ethnic balance in business ownership.

Druggie I am using YOUR logic.  

Nice to see the US providing assistance to Guyana's education sector.  But what are they going to do about the inner city neighborhoods where schools are failing every day in their own backyard?

That's too much to ask for. Guyana needs rehabilitation centers in each country or town to give school drop outs a second chance to be back into society. Only criminals getting second chances.

There should be balance, 

Afros contributing to Guyana. Well Karen did and in a few months developed a team which came 10th in the world.  She has had a variety of robotics training in deprived areas, so it isn't just the bright kids from the middle class who benefit.

And as we speak QC is having a math camp in Guyana based on what I read in the papers. Any bets as to the ethnicity of those from overseas who are involved?

And you cannot have your cake and eat it too.  If every Indian is a successful business person and very few blacks are then the balance will be to expose more blacks to business so as to achieve ethnic balance in business ownership.

Druggie I am using YOUR logic.  

Fair enough however I don't want to hear you complaining that blacks are marginalized by indians. The fact that you admit that AfroG need a leg up is a step in the right direction. 

Well we know common sense ain't common with you. Get Trump to fix it naah. I can arrange with Druggy to give you some private sessions in Foolean logics. 

I think that you all voted for Trump so direct that question to him.

Fair enough however I don't want to hear you complaining that blacks are marginalized by indians. The fact that you admit that AfroG need a leg up is a step in the right direction. 

I didn't admit a thing about Afros. I stated that I am using YOUR logic.    Your screams are that all blacks are losers and all Indians are wealthy.

My understanding is that while a small % of the Indo population is successful in business most aren't any better off than the blacks.  But every time I tell you this you get into a hysterical meltdown. Scream that I am making up bogus statistics and wail that Indians are  superior to blacks.  You then collapse into a rant that applies more to inner city African Americans than it does to blacks in Guyana.

The Indocrats are probably behaving themselves now as they fear what will happen if they discriminate against blacks the way they did under the PPP.  The last thing that they wish is for the gov't to tell them to stop persecuting blacks.   This when pressurized by various Afro advocacy groups. The Indocrats want to pretend that they're not "racial".

If the PPP wins though I expect vengeance and rampant marginalization of blacks but I hope that they don't squeal when the other folks react against this. Jagdeo seems to think that this is 1970 when Indians were 51% of the population.

That's too much to ask for. Guyana needs rehabilitation centers in each country or town to give school drop outs a second chance to be back into society. Only criminals getting second chances.

They don't need rehabilitation centers.  In fact prison is supposed to provide rehabilitation for all except for the hardened criminals.

What Guyana and the rest of the Caribbean needs is an educational system that prepares high school graduates for the real world.  Not only literacy, numeracy and computer skills (where Guyana ranks LAST in CARICOM, with the exception of Haiti) but also allowing kids to develop real life skills.

For this Karen Abrams ought to be commended.  Not only is she exposing the kids to new skills but more importantly she is allowing them to develop real life problem solving and project management skills.

Guyanese need to step away from thinking that the educational should focus on allowing the most academically gifted 1% to get 20 passes, while the bottom 70% graduate semi literate.  And even the remainder only possessing the minimum literacy and numeracy and no ability to be a self starter, which is what most employers wish.

They don't need rehabilitation centers.  In factprison is supposed to provide rehabilitation for all except for the hardened criminals.

Yes, Guyana does need rehabilitation centers for school drop outs that are addicted to alcohol and illegal drugs. These are not criminals who belong in jail to get the necessary treatment. These are kids that are stressed and turned to drugs. We need a government who cares about people's social needs and NOT only criminals.

They don't need rehabilitation centers.  In factprison is supposed to provide rehabilitation for all except for the hardened criminals.

Yes, Guyana does need rehabilitation centers for school drop outs that are addicted to alcohol and illegal drugs. These are not criminals who belong in jail to get the necessary treatment. These are kids that are stressed and turned to drugs. We need a government who cares about people's social needs and NOT only criminals.

Build more prisons. Where is warria when you need him?

. These are kids that are stressed and turned to drugs. We need a government who cares about people's social needs and NOT only criminals.

They became stressed because we don't have an educational system that prepares them for life.  They leave school, and cannot find work and some become substance abusers.

Align the educational system with the opportunities that become available and you fix this problem.

Now my thinking is that some one who abuses substances is making their own bad decisions.  The vast majority of the poor don't behave this way.

Should we give priority to those who make bad decisions over those who face the same problems but behave in a more productive way?

A serious disconnect Druggie !!  What if they are Indians, fathered by a black man and uses the father's name.

Now, don't go have a heart attack, because this happens often in Guyana.  Dem coolie gyal like de blackman firmness, lacking by rum drinking Indian men.  

Tola posted:

A serious disconnect Druggie !!  What if they are Indians, fathered by a black man and uses the father's name.

Now, don't go have a heart attack, because this happens often in Guyana.  Dem coolie gyal like de blackman firmness, lacking by rum drinking Indian men.  

Not so Tola. I distinctly remember their faces posted in an article last year. I even brought it to caribJ's attention and he again was full of excuses for his jackass Granger. Even a granger ass licker will concede that Indo's are being marginalized by this govt. 

Tola posted:

.  Dem coolie gyal like de blackman firmness, lacking by rum drinking Indian men.  

Now you made druggie ingest even more Jagdeo slop to get his high to offset the instant depression that you put him in.

caribJ's attention and he again was full of excuses

I merely put it back to you that if all Indians are rich and successful business people and all blacks are poor and if Guyana's poverty is due only to blacks and Amerindians then balancing means exposing blacks to this opportunity.

Druggie you cannot have your cake and eat it too.  You cannot wail that all Indians are highly successful and then demand that they be given access to an opportunity that is meant to give struggling people a chance.

When you learn to admit that the so called Indian wealth is concentrated among less than 5% of the Indian population and that the average Indian is scarcely better off than his black counterpart then I will join you in demanding to know why no Indians were included.

But you cannot scream Indians are all wealthy and that Indo Guyanese are the best business people in the Caribbean and then wail if none were selected.

Now I do happen to think that its unfair to paint all Indians as rich, as in fact most Indians and blacks tend to do, though admittedly for different reasons.  The mere fact that they go to Barbados to cut cane when no one else in the Caribbean wants to do this, suggests that many of them are indeed quite poor.  They also used to do the same in St Kitts, before that island closed down the industry. I understand that 80% of the cane cutters on that island were Guyanese, most being PPP supporters.

I cannot for the life of me see how a little 2 by 4 place like St kitts could ever be richer than Guyana. Only Caribj will believe in fool statistics like that.

Now I do happen to think that its unfair to paint all Indians as rich, as in fact most Indians and blacks tend to do, though admittedly for different reasons.  The mere fact that they go to Barbados to cut cane when no one else in the Caribbean wants to do this, suggests that many of them are indeed quite poor.  They also used to do the same in St Kitts, before that island closed down the industry. I understand that 80% of the cane cutters on that island were Guyanese, most being PPP supporters.

It is good first step for you to admit that Blacks can learn from Indians, who are all not business people but a vast amount are. As one travels up the east coast demerara, one can clearly recognize Indian vs Afro villages but the well kept built up homes in the Indo areas and the run down unkempt homes in the Afro areas.  This in itself negates your claim that Indos are just as poor or even poorer than the average blacks. 

With regards to St Kitts, the few IndioGs that go there end up owning businesses with locals working for them. In fact read this and weep:

Guyanese is St Kitts and Nevis’ youngest DPP

Another Guyana-born jurist has continued the rich tradition of his countrymen of holding down top legal posts in the Caribbean.
Arudranauth Gossai, a Guyanese Hugh Wooding Law School Graduate has been appointed Acting Director of Public Prosecutions for St. Kitts and Nevis.
At age 36, Mr. Gossai, former Crown Counsel in the St Kitts and Nevis Attorney General’s Chambers   is believed to be the country’s youngest DPP.
According to reports he has been appointed to act in the post for three months and made his first appearance at Court in his new position on Thursday.

Arudranauth Gossai

Gossai worked in St. Kitts and Nevis’ Attorney General’s Chambers from 2005 to 2012 and during his stint as Crown Counsel, he also served as a member of the legal team representing the government on several high profile ‘political’ cases.
He moved into private practice in 2012 working as an Associate Attorney with Gonsalves Parry.
Mr. Gossai has served as Counsel to the National AIDS Secretariat, and in various capacities with the Saint Christopher and Nevis Bar Association. He is currently a member of the Association’s Disciplinary Committee.
Arud, as he is popularly called, holds a Bachelors of Social Sciences Degree in Business Management from the University of Guyana (1999); and a Bachelors of Law from the University of Guyana (2002).
Gossai was admitted to the local bar in 2004 and to the St Kitts bar two years later.
The post of DPP had been vacant since September 21, following a legal settlement between the former DPP and the Attorney General.
The former Director of Public Prosecutions, Travers Sinanan, had filed suit against the Attorney General Vincent Byron Jr., challenging the government’s decision not to renew his contract.
According to a source, the new DPP of St Kitts is a close relative of local Attorney-at-Law Bernard Da Silva.

Tola posted:

.  Dem coolie gyal like de blackman firmness, lacking by rum drinking Indian men.  

Now you made druggie ingest even more Jagdeo slop to get his high to offset the instant depression that you put him in.

Blackman stiffness is Tola's business, I suspect he knows this from personal experience. In fact you must be the exception as you were rejected by an Indian woman, after wearing making the effort to wear dhoti and singing bajans. 

I cannot for the life of me see how a little 2 by 4 place like St kitts could ever be richer than Guyana. Only Caribj will believe in fool statistics like that.

That is my question but yet Guyanese flock there.

Just goes to show how desperately bad the PPP was.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ls-in-st-kittsnevis/

http://www.sknvibes.com/News/NewsDetails.cfm/5357

http://www.caribbean360.com/bu...y-receives-last-cane

Note that in the last paragraph the majority of the cane cutters were from Guyana.

So while you PPP frauds scream praises to Jagdeo understand that under PPP rule thousands of Guyanese fled to little islands like St Kitts.

It isn't that life in those islands is so good.  Its just how BAD life in Guyana is.

Guyanese ought to hang ourselves in shame.  We have druggie here spending days trying to discredit Karen Abrams because she is a black woman. 

No wonder we fell behind these islands and so many Guyanese fled to those places, and yes, had to complain about facing discrimination.

During the PPP era I said often that Guyanese were flocking to volcanic peaks and coral reefs because they couldn't earn a living in Guyana. Off not only to Trinidad, Venezuela, Suriname, and Barbados, but also to Grenada, St Vincent, St Lucia, Antigua, St Kitts-Nevis, St Maarten, Anguilla, and the BVI.

Guyanese even so desperate that they flocked to Montserrat, and island which is an environmental disaster because of an ongoing volcanic eruption. But for Guyanese and Jamaicans almost no one would be left there.

Guyana comes LAST in CXC, yes these little islands like St Kitts, St Lucia and Dominica outperforming Guyana, when two generations ago it was Guyanese headmasters who used to educate them.

But why the shock. Guyanese did well at a competition involving 155 countries. Druggie was upset because the woman who exposed them to robotics as a black woman. He couldn't be proud of her as a Guyanese.

This is the attitude which forced thousands of Guyanese to flee to volcanic peaks and coral reefs between 2000 and 2008, when the global economic slump led to mass deportation of many Guyanese from those places as job markets dried up. 

Because its this attitude which has landed us with the PPP and PNC monstrosities.  The PNC putting Guyana at the bottom of the pack and the PPP keeping us there.