US Ambassador to Guyana, Perry Holloway says the consulate section of the embassy here processed 72,000 non-immigrant visas last year and 7,000 immigrant visas.

He was speaking last night at a reception at the Marriott Hotel to mark the 241st anniversary of the US’s independence.

According to a Ministry of the Presidency statement, the Ambassador said that  “The improving economic situation over the last few years has led to our refusal rate coming down significantly, from a high of well over 50 percent five years ago, to one much lower today and luckily for us only a small percent of Guyanese, who go to the US actually abuse their visas and stay illegally”.

The statement said that he also assured that any fears that the United States might be disengaging with Guyana were misplaced.

“Bilateral relations could not be better…a lot is going on and there is a lot more to come,” the Ambassador said.

Officers of the United States Marine Corps’ Colour Guard, during the ‘Colour Presentation’

Thanks to the strong economy under the ppp Guyanese no longer see it fit to hide away illegally in the US. But those days are coming to a close as the Granger administration and pnc knuckleheads are rolling back the clock to the dark days of pnc.

"According to a Ministry of the Presidency statement, the Ambassador said that  “The improving economic situation over the last few years has led to our refusal rate coming down significantly, from a high of well over 50 percent five years ago, to one much lower today and luckily for us only a small percent of Guyanese, who go to the US actually abuse their visas and stay illegally”.

Analysis of the statement above,doesn't say anything about dark days in the horizon.

By the way not all of the 23 yrs under the PPP,the economy was strong.

Al YUh hear Mahendra new song " Let we get away from GADAHA Guyana, we gat Gadaha, Namakaram, Crabdaag and DUMMIES, when I come back Gadaha, Namakaram, Dummies must be gone, ah going away ah going away meh nah come bact till Gadaha and Namakaram gone away"

the Ambassador said that  “The improving economic situation over the last few years has led to our refusal rate coming down significantly, from a high of well over 50 percent five years ago, .

Who was in power 5 years ago?

Thanks to the strong economy under the ppp .

5 years ago the PPP was in power. 2012 was when 50% of the visa applications were denied. At that point the PPP had been in power for 20 years.  And at that time not only were Guyanese scrambling to get to the USA by any means, but they used similar tactics to flee to the Caribbean islands.

So apparently the "strong economy under the PPP" only benefitted the oligarchs.

Thanks to the strong economy under the ppp .

5 years ago the PPP was in power. 2012 was when 50% of the visa applications were denied. At that point the PPP had been in power for 20 years.  And at that time not only were Guyanese scrambling to get to the USA by any means, but they used similar tactics to flee to the Caribbean islands.

So apparently the "strong economy under the PPP" only benefitted the oligarchs.

The US is always careful to analyze data from 2 years back in order to properly predict trends. 5 years back really means data from 2010 was analyzed to determine visa approvals in 2012. 2016 visa approvals were determined from 2014 data.  Now that jackass Granger running the country into the ground, look for 2018 to show a reduction if Guyanese start fleeing to the US to hide away and work for pittance as Granger's hard guava season in Guyana starts affecting behavior. 

Drugb posted:.

. 2016 visa approvals were determined from 2014 data.  .. 

Druggie I know you came in back track via the Mexican border.  If some one wants to visit the USA they go to the Consulate.  They are IMMEDIATELY accepted or denied. Usually the decision is made within one day, and never more than a few days. 

Delays are for immigrant visas as the interview usually comes long after the initial application is submitted.  His reference was to NON immigrant visas.

So when the Ambassador makes reference to 5 years ago he references 2012. When he makes reference to non immigrant visa acceptance rates he is using 2016 data.

The PPP was in power in 2012 and was not in 2016.   And in fact if refusal rates were increasing in 2017 then he wouldn't have even brought up the topic and in fact might even have suggested to Guyanese that a trip to Trinidad might be a better idea.

The reality is that the news has reached Guyana that life in NYC isn't packed with gold nuggets resting on the streets. That for new immigrants it is in fact increasingly hard due to the high rents and the reality that the jobs that most of them will get will be low paid.  Their relatives also have their own issues and are increasingly less interested in providing support for an indefinite period.

In addition high fares all but guarantee that its those best positioned to live in Guyana who will make the trip.  This especially as I am sure that the applicants for non immigrant visas will have to show evidence that they can support their stay in the USA.  I bet most who bring letters of support from their US based relatives, but who have no assets in Guyana, or decent income, get turned down.

Druggie I know you came in back track via the Mexican border.  If some one wants to visit the USA they go to the Consulate.  They are IMMEDIATELY accepted or denied. Usually the decision is made within one day, and never more than a few days. 

Delays are for immigrant visas as the interview usually comes long after the initial application is submitted.  His reference was to NON immigrant visas.

So when the Ambassador makes reference to 5 years ago he references 2012. When he makes reference to non immigrant visa acceptance rates he is using 2016 data.

The PPP was in power in 2012 and was not in 2016.   And in fact if refusal rates were increasing in 2017 then he wouldn't have even brought up the topic and in fact might even have suggested to Guyanese that a trip to Trinidad might be a better idea.

The reality is that the news has reached Guyana that life in NYC isn't packed with gold nuggets resting on the streets. That for new immigrants it is in fact increasingly hard due to the high rents and the reality that the jobs that most of them will get will be low paid.  Their relatives also have their own issues and are increasingly less interested in providing support for an indefinite period.

In addition high fares all but guarantee that its those best positioned to live in Guyana who will make the trip.  This especially as I am sure that the applicants for non immigrant visas will have to show evidence that they can support their stay in the USA.  I bet most who bring letters of support from their US based relatives, but who have no assets in Guyana, or decent income, get turned down.

Visa approvals are also based on trends, the man clearly stated that Guyanese have not been abusing the visas by hiding away in America illegally. That data is at least 2 years trailing. You would not understand the process of statistical data, its collection and analysis, it is not instantaneous. If you look at most studies, they are mostly 2 years lagging due to the long process of data collection, analysis and final summation.  An August school student like yourself are not privy to this knowledge, you only know what you can google, you probably didn't even go to university but yet you come here pretending to be an educated person. At least others like django, lilmohan and cain freely admit their own shortfalls in education, but you are a farce. 

Visa approvals are also based on trends, the man clearly stated that Guyanese have not been abusing the visas by hiding away in America illegally. 

Two years has passed and the coalition has been in power and yet the Ambassador isn't announcing any change in non immigrant visa policy, so even your argument falls flat.

The fact remains is that he made reference to 5 years ago being worse than the current period. The PPP was in power 5 years ago.

BTW by now the Immigration authorities can tell you how many people in 2016 entered the USA on visitor's visas and failed to return. This isn't some in depth sampling.  They are typically given entry for less than a month and December 2016 has long since gone.

And as I stated the real reasons why Guyanese are less likely to remain illegally in the USA has nothing to do with Guyana. Its because Guyanese are now considerably less naïve about what life in the USA is about than they used to be.

Given that visitors' visas aren't typically issued to poor people its not likely that some one with a decent job in Guyana is going to risk a life of washing dishes and sleeping on sofas in the USA.  They are now fully aware that this is a risk given that they have seen many deportees arrive, not all with criminal backgrounds. Guyanese living in North America are also more honest about their lives than they used to be. 2008 changed all of that.

So to be honest I don't think that either APNU nor the PPP can take any credit for that.   You also forget that the PPP was in power for 23 years and so if the reference was to 5 years ago being a period where many Guyanese attempted to remain illegally its still the PPP which is being indicted.

I showed you data which showed how Guyanese migration to Barbados SOARED after 2000 even as immigration to that island from St Lucia and St Vincent dropped. This meaning that Guyanese had replaced those islanders as the source of cheap labor.  This was during the PPP era.  

Two years has passed and the coalition has been in power and yet the Ambassador isn't announcing any change in non immigrant visa policy, so even your argument falls flat.

The fact remains is that he made reference to 5 years ago being worse than the current period. The PPP was in power 5 years ago.

BTW by now the Immigration authorities can tell you how many people in 2016 entered the USA on visitor's visas and failed to return. This isn't some in depth sampling.  They are typically given entry for less than a month and December 2016 has long since gone.

And as I stated the real reasons why Guyanese are less likely to remain illegally in the USA has nothing to do with Guyana. Its because Guyanese are now considerably less naïve about what life in the USA is about than they used to be.

Given that visitors' visas aren't typically issued to poor people its not likely that some one with a decent job in Guyana is going to risk a life of washing dishes and sleeping on sofas in the USA.  They are now fully aware that this is a risk given that they have seen many deportees arrive, not all with criminal backgrounds. Guyanese living in North America are also more honest about their lives than they used to be. 2008 changed all of that.

So to be honest I don't think that either APNU nor the PPP can take any credit for that.   You also forget that the PPP was in power for 23 years and so if the reference was to 5 years ago being a period where many Guyanese attempted to remain illegally its still the PPP which is being indicted.

I showed you data which showed how Guyanese migration to Barbados SOARED after 2000 even as immigration to that island from St Lucia and St Vincent dropped. This meaning that Guyanese had replaced those islanders as the source of cheap labor.  This was during the PPP era.  

He is looking at data 2 years old. When the next study come out in 2018 we may see a different percentage of visa approvals.  We are talking about US not Barbados so stop detracting.  

Druggie the man mentioned nothing about a study or state that his information was 2 years old.

Now I know that had the PPP lost power 5 years ago you would be screaming that it takes 5 years for the "study" to be performed.

By July 2017 the US gov't would have known for quite a while how many people entered in 2016 and what % of them didn't depart.  And a country like Guyana would be especially scrutinized given that it isn't a wealthy nation.

If there was any indication that last year more Guyanese were jumping ship by now more careful scrutiny of non immigrant visa applications would have been in place. His topic would instead of been about Exxon, and how Trump actually knows where Guyanese is, given that Tillerson is part of his cabinet.

In fact Barbados is quite relevant as the USA tightened up its non immigrant visa policy for Guyana around 2000 so your PPP supporters began to flee to Barbados instead of Richmond Hill.  That is why there was this huge surge of them flocking to that island. Prior to that it was mainly teachers, nurses, and people being admitted because they had Bajan grandparents.

Druggie the man mentioned nothing about a study or state that his information was 2 years old.

Now I know that had the PPP lost power 5 years ago you would be screaming that it takes 5 years for the "study" to be performed.

By July 2017 the US gov't would have known for quite a while how many people entered in 2016 and what % of them didn't depart.  And a country like Guyana would be especially scrutinized given that it isn't a wealthy nation.

If there was any indication that last year more Guyanese were jumping ship by now more careful scrutiny of non immigrant visa applications would have been in place. His topic would instead of been about Exxon, and how Trump actually knows where Guyanese is, given that Tillerson is part of his cabinet.

As I mentioned, if you were an educated person there would be no argument as to the lag of statistics. There is always a lag which is accepted in academic circles. How long do you think it takes any organization to gather data and analyze it? It takes at least 5 years to conclude that Guyanese are no longer hiding away in the US in vast numbers. Certainly the data gathering overlaps across administrations, more on the PPP side than jackass Granger PNC. 

In fact Barbados is quite relevant as the USA tightened up its non immigrant visa policy for Guyana around 2000 so your PPP supporters began to flee to Barbados instead of Richmond Hill.  That is why there was this huge surge of them flocking to that island. Prior to that it was mainly teachers, nurses, and people being admitted because they had Bajan grandparents.

Little do you know that Barbados is no longer the mecca of Guyanese search for work. In the past maybe, now they have many more choices. I even met Guyanese working on cruise ships for Carnival and Norwegian. 

As I mentioned, if you were an educated person there would be no argument as to the lag of statistics. There is always a lag which is accepted in academic circles. How long do you think it takes any organization to gather data and analyze it? It takes at least 5 years to conclude that Guyanese are no longer hiding away in the US in vast numbers. Certainly the data gathering overlaps across administrations, more on the PPP side than jackass Granger PNC. 

I am an educated person who works with statistics and who also knows how they are compiled.  There will be the raw data which Homeland Security has and then there is the publicly available data which has to be compiled.

Druggie Homeland Security knows with a lag of a few months what % of non immigrant visas that were issued were provided to people who entered the USA.  They also know whether they left.  That form that you see those visitors fill in when they arrive and the airline must provide to the immigration authorities when they leave. That is their source data.

Some one whose responsibilities include immigration issues will be told what % of non immigrant visa entrants for the prior year from a specific country didn't leave the USA.  Whether that information is available to you is another issue.

Druggie every first Friday of the month numbers of people who were hired from the previous month is made available. That is a considerably more complex task than finding out how many people arrived from Guyana as visitors and how many of them left after their stay in the USA.

Left to you one would think that in 2017 we would still be getting GDP or employment information from 2015!

And they don't have to "gather information" about the entry and exit of people who were issued non immigrant visas.  The only group which compilation will be more difficult will be students as they are given permission to stay for a longer period, and if they do drop out of college to work Homeland Security will not get that data.  But the rest they already have as the airlines have to provide that information ASAP.

And in case you don't know these E-passports allow authorities to track movements.  This is why the USA forced backward countries like Guyana to get on that system or else!  The I-94 form is integrated into that, so they will see that Mohan Babulall, and Sharon Ferguson entered from Guyana on a visitor's visa, but that there is no record of their departure.

It takes at least 5 years to conclude that Guyanese are no longer hiding away in the US in vast numbers. 

You are truly a simple man. The beauty of the E-passport is that the US authorities know when a person has overstayed their permission to visit the USA within a short period. Whether they chose to hunt down that person is another issue.

This is the difference between people who enter legally on non immigrant visas, but who then over stay from those who sneak over the border. The authorities have no information on the latter so only know about their particular issue if there is some encounter with the authorities, or if their social security number "bounces".

I am an educated person who works with statistics and who also knows how they are compiled.  There will be the raw data which Homeland Security has and then there is the publicly available data which has to be compiled.

Druggie Homeland Security knows with a lag of a few months what % of non immigrant visas that were issued were provided to people who entered the USA.  They also know whether they left.  That form that you see those visitors fill in when they arrive and the airline must provide to the immigration authorities when they leave. That is their source data.

Some one whose responsibilities include immigration issues will be told what % of non immigrant visa entrants for the prior year from a specific country didn't leave the USA.  Whether that information is available to you is another issue.

Druggie every first Friday of the month numbers of people who were hired from the previous month is made available. That is a considerably more complex task than finding out how many people arrived from Guyana as visitors and how many of them left after their stay in the USA.

Left to you one would think that in 2017 we would still be getting GDP or employment information from 2015!

And they don't have to "gather information" about the entry and exit of people who were issued non immigrant visas.  The only group which compilation will be more difficult will be students as they are given permission to stay for a longer period, and if they do drop out of college to work Homeland Security will not get that data.  But the rest they already have as the airlines have to provide that information ASAP.

And in case you don't know these E-passports allow authorities to track movements.  This is why the USA forced backward countries like Guyana to get on that system or else!  The I-94 form is integrated into that, so they will see that Mohan Babulall, and Sharon Ferguson entered from Guyana on a visitor's visa, but that there is no record of their departure.

If indeed you work with statistics, then you would know that the length of time over which data is analyzed to determine whether people are hiding away is at least 5 to 10 years. It would be improper methodology to draw conclusion on a 2 year period, May 2015 to December 2016.