May 14, 2017 Source

No repayment schedule in place

While the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) is debating the plight of rice farmers in the National Assembly and continues to hammer the government for not doing “what’s best” for farmers, the party is yet to speak about the fact that its actions, while in office, is somewhat responsible for the pickle farmers are in.

Minister of Public Infrastructure,
David Patterson

PPP utilized much of the money from the PetroCaribe fund which was to be used to pay rice farmers. Some of the money was plugged into projects and a huge chunk of the money was transferred to the Guyana Power and Light (GPL).
PetroCaribe was an agreement struck between the governments of Guyana and Venezuela, where Guyana would receive concessionary prices for oil in exchange for rice. Monies received from the exchange deal would subsequently be transferred to the PetroCaribe fund, under the purview of the Ministry of Finance.Some of the money was meant to be allocated to the payment of rice farmers and millers for rice produced to sustain the exchange.Some time back, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo indicated that GPL received US$115M while the Ministry of Housing got US$10M. US$16M was pumped into the Hope Canal project. What Nagamootoo did not state, however, was that this money was transferred without any formal agreement. The lack of the agreement represents serious implications and means that a repayment plan, for what was supposed to be a loan, does not exist.
Sources told Kaieteur that the situation is bad. “The PPP really abused the fund. They transferred that money to GPL, supposedly as a loan but never put any loan agreement or contract in place. If they had used the money correctly, they would have been able to pay farmers more.”
Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, with responsibility for energy indicated that he never saw the contract.
“There was no contract to govern the money that was transferred. I cannot recall ever seeing that contract but I know GPL is paying back the government money which was loaned to it from the Consolidated Fund.
“It is paying back $1B a year. But money for the petro, that has never come up. There is no repayment schedule for that.”
Asked if he thinks there was any intention to pay back, he said, “Not from what I have noticed and I have been there two years now.”
The PPP/C government never made the transfer public.  Also, it has said that the $3.6B Hope Canal Project came from the treasury when it was taken from the PetroCaribe fund.
When the APNU+AFC came into office, it spoke about the mishandling of the fund. Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, had even gone as far as to say that the fund went bankrupt. He said, “There is no money.”
However, this was proven to be a bit misleading. Auditor General, Deodat Sharma said in his report that the new government transferred the money in the account tot the consolidated fund. The AG said that over $1.9B was transferred.
However, much more was expected to be in the account. So it is possible that Harmon’s statement was relative based on what was expected to be in the account.This is what the Auditor General had to say, “Compensation Agreements were entered into between the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and the Co-operative Republic of Guyana that provided for the cancellation of the oil debt in compensation for white rice and paddy under the Guyana/Venezuela Rice Trade agreements.

I am surprised that you posted this article. This $115 mil was used to subsidize the Linden niggroes who leeched off of the taxpayers getting electricity subsidies for about 2.5(US) cents per kwh. I am also surprised that you did not make a HIGHLIGHTED comment that the PPP stole the funds.

You are correct and the coCainE man is wrong. The 115 was used to subsidize electricity to Linden. 

You Piss Pot Porters talk sheer piss and you don't have a clue about what's going on in Guyana. Linden does not get electricity from GPL.

Oww bhai,

give Skelly a chance he doesn't know much about the homeland.

They should ask what happen to the steam Electricity Plant in Linden.

Skelly is a demented dunce s&&&t. Flapping his gums without brain engaged.

Pro-PPP posters are arguing on thin ice here. The transfer of rice revenues to GPL and Ministry of Housing cannot be justified. However, I can understand money transfer to the Hope Canal Project which farmers benefit from.

FC posted:

Words of wisdom from the deputy PNC slop can carrier.

The transfer of rice revenues to GPL 

How else were they going to pay for the electrical subsidy to Linden?  Looks like you have short memory, the rest of Guyana pay full price while PNc stronghold Linden milked the rest of the country for free electricity. 

This F****** C*** dude cannot see past his dry coconut in his plate.

These FOOLS need to listen to Jagdeo simple and clear explanation and how he EXPOSE KN(AKA TOILET Paper) LIES and STUPIDITY. I know it is asking too much of FILTH HEADS but why not try!!!!!!!!

This F****** C*** dude cannot see past his dry coconut in his plate.

I'll let that pass. Until you pass me house. Dry coconut and plate gon crash pon yuh rassy head.

FC posted:

the only time he ever leave his village is when he had to leave for the state 

Oi Skelly dem boys said something about you flapping gums without brain engaged. Is wuh goin on banna, you just like Nehru an Druggie now? Flapping without engaging brain.

bai skelton man is my friend its not his fault he do not have a brain when he was young he use to swim in a sideline shit trench and it affect his brain 

Aha. He should have warned Druggie about that before druggie did the same and now we all gotta pay for it by reading their shitty rants. 

I got yall going in epileptic convulsions every time I put lash pun yall rass.  

Aha. He should have warned Druggie about that before druggie did the same and now we all gotta pay for it by reading their shitty rants. 

This is GNI, they would not understand, you mean dem 'ketch fits'.

alena06 posted:

This is GNI, they would not understand, you mean dem 'ketch fits'.

Correct, however I believe the putagee man in Canada exposed to such words despite his drug problem.

warrior posted:
FC posted:

the only time he ever leave his village is when he had to leave for the state 

That's being a smart man. I avoided being robbed by you and your choke and rob family. I wasn't a victim that helped you to raise funds to buy a few cows so you can start building up your flock by stealing calves.

Oww bhai,

give Skelly a chance he doesn't know much about the homeland.

They should ask what happen to the steam Electricity Plant in Linden.

This not about how and where Linden gets its electricity. It's about the $115 mil and Linden electricity subsidies. Some of the money was rerouted to support the arsonists' leeches or else they would continue torching government buildings. Just imagine they burnt down a school that THEIR OWN CHILDREN ATTENDED.