British security expert Lt Col (rtd) Russell Combe is currently doing a needs assessment which will guide government on the priority areas and best institutional arrangements to ensure Guyana’s security sector is strengthened.

This is according to Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan who said that Combe has already visited a few regions and conducted interviews.

According to Ramjattan the needs assessment is expected to ascertain what might be the best approach to reforming the Guyana Police Force as well as other aspects of the ministry’s work.

He said that once complete, Combe will advise the ministry as to what might be the best priorities to set and the best institutional arrangements to put in place for a better security sector in Guyana.

Ramjattan said that Combe’s visits included the prisons and police stations in a number of regions where he asked questions.

“It is a very comprehensive survey of all the organizations, I understand that he is doing and he will advise afterwards but we need that kind of independent assessor and that is what is forthcoming from the security advisor …and I am hoping that we are going to have some really great recommendations, some very frank and full recommendations as to what ought to be done with a security sector that is by the way getting better,” he said.

Combe arrived in Guyana in January and is expected to be here for 12 months.

Late last year, the Ministry of the Presidency had announced that a security advisor from the UK was expected in Guyana to assist the country with security reforms.

The ministry’s statement had said that the expert would be working closely with the administration on the implementation of the Security Sector Reform Action Plan (SSRAP).

A previous US$4.7 million SSRAP project collapsed in 2009 following differences between the then PPP/C government and London. In June last year, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the UK’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office James Duddridge had told reporters that he would have presented a document on security reform to government for its consideration.

He had explained that it entailed “a piece of analysis around the current state of the security sector and what could the potential action plan be taking forward different elements of security sector reform and specifically how the UK government could assist in that action plan.”

Soon after winning the election, President David Granger had revealed that government had approached the British to have the rejected SSRAP back on the cards in the wake of the country’s ongoing battle with crime.

The politicians express optimism in every new venture but the skepticism of the people remains intact since they've become accustomed to seeing nothing gets done as promised. Two years into government and nothing has improved except a cleaner G/town.  

The country is abundant with vision less leaders tooting their their horns they can manage the affairs of the people,unfortunately most are there to enrich themselves.The people need to wake up and cast the leeches out.

What kind of nonsense is this. UK police are still carrying a wooden stick to beat a heavily armed criminal. Every American cop I see has a firearm.

Recent example was that policeman that was stabbed. They don't need an expert form London. They need to make sure the police are properly equipped and trained. More vehicles (working and fueled) for rapid response, more foot patrols, better communication, more outposts and the most important, STAMP OUT CORRUPTION.

The country is abundant with vision less leaders tooting their their horns they can manage the affairs of the people,unfortunately most are there to enrich themselves.The people need to wake up and cast the leeches out.

Django,

Former grads of UG living in NA can donate enough money to build a solar system and a water filtration system for the University.  Imagine 1000 grads donating an average of $500 per person towards this project. We will have $500K. This is enough build a solar system and a small water filtration system. They University can become less dependent on government support which is always a problem.

Django,

Former grads of UG living in NA can donate enough money to build a solar system and a water filtration system for the University.  Imagine 1000 grads donating an average of $500 per person towards this project. We will have $500K. This is enough build a solar system and a small water filtration system. They University can become less dependent on government support which is always a problem.

I have never grace the halls can surely donate and also offer free technical time,get the ball rolling before i expire.

In Britain if a police officer with a wooden stick meets a heavily armed criminal then he or she has to call their police station for help. With an approach like this the Guyanese public would be better off calling Mekdeci Security Service and be rescued by security guards with shot guns.

Rumjattan is the biggest Jackass in Guyana. He is also a drunkard. Please do not expect too much from that drunkard and cockeye conman.

Very silly! This is a better approach than the PPP's refusing help. I wonder why they refused outside help when they knew they had a useless lout (Le Goat)who in the years they were in office, never had a handle on crime? 

Deh still need massa to tell dem wah fuh do. Coolie and blackman nah get am no sense; only white peeple smart. Aw granger, Naga, and Kemmo, wah alyu ah do so fah?

Suh Independence was a sham.

Deh still need massa to tell dem wah fuh do. Coolie and blackman nah get am no sense; only white peeple smart. Aw granger, Naga, and Kemmo, wah alyu ah do so fah?

The PPP had a quarter of a century to find a coolie or blackman, but even their drug sniffing dogs were dumb.

Mr.T posted:

The PPP had a quarter of a century to find a coolie or blackman, but even their drug sniffing dogs were dumb.

Nah, the drug sniffing dogs were busy smelling your ass. The PPP stuck a lot of drugs in there.

Suh Independence was a sham.

What independence? Independence to empty the treasury and to give themselves 50% raises? Look, I can go on to add a ton more. Spare us the pain.

Mr.T posted:

Bai I won't even ask how come so many female members of your family weighed a lot more after coming back from Guyana.

You can ask. Have no female family members who went to Guyana.

Mr.T posted:

Bai I won't even ask how come so many female members of your family weighed a lot more after coming back from Guyana.

You scared they gonna get catch if they fly direct?

Mr.T posted:

You scared they gonna get catch if they fly direct?

Go play with your adult erotic gadgets.

Cain and many others said that the PPP was silly not to accept help from the British to reform the security sector.  The present government has accepted help from Britain.  Let's see what the situation looks like three years from now.

So tell us why did the PPP not at least give it a try? Were they scared of something..like maybe they feared the detriment to their stunts/business..what?

Very silly! This is a better approach than the PPP's refusing help. I wonder why they refused outside help when they knew they had a useless lout (Le Goat)who in the years they were in office, never had a handle on crime? 

Now you gullible lot understand why the PPP kicked them out. What help can these jackasses give if they can't even solve crime in their own country. It doesn't take a genus to know that a wooden baton is no match against a pnc criminally supplied ak 47. 

So tell us why did the PPP not at least give it a try? Were they scared of something..like maybe they feared the detriment to their stunts/business..what?

Cain, I thought that Luncheon gave an explanation. If you have some info to contradict his explanation, then please post it so we can determine its validity. You certainly have a right to draw conclusions, but it is good practice to base those on facts, evidence, etc.

Many have suspicion that there were other motives, but no one so far has come up with evidence to support those suspicions. Thus remain suspicions. As far as I know, Luncheon is not or was not under suspicion for drug trafficking or has said that Jagdeo gave him to scuttle the negotiations. 

Z
Zed posted:

Cain, I thought that Luncheon gave an explanation. If you have some info to contradict his explanation, then please post it so we can determine its validity. You certainly have a right to draw conclusions, but it is good practice to base those on facts, evidence, etc.

Many have suspicion that there were other motives, but no one so far has come up with evidence to support those suspicions. Thus remain suspicions. As far as I know, Luncheon is not or was not under suspicion for drug trafficking or has said that Jagdeo gave him to scuttle the negotiations. 

So what changed Zed now that the coalition is seeking their help?

Zed posted:

Here Zed I will make it easy for you.

Guyana, it was reported to be a country with high crime.

Guyana at the time was reported as being the hub for cocaine distribution.

Guyana, it was reported, was offered assistance,not only by England but the US and Canada to help in fighting crime. You with me so far?

Guyana rejected this assistance using excuses.

The present government felt it necessary to accept this assistance.

No more proof is necessary. 

Thanks to Django for those links.

British aid came with strings attached.  I believe part of the deal was that the US must be allowed to carry out military exercises at the Venezuelan border using live fire.  The Venezuelans bitterly opposed it as well as the Brazilians.  Guyana received a sound warning from its neighbors and caved in. 

Lame excuse. The English and Guyana govt could not agree on how to properly manage the funds. 

It's like a dad handing a $100 bill to his teenager to pay of a loan but the teen preferred to purchase a new video game and a pack of cigarrettes. Dad has no other alternative but take back the cash.

VVP posted:
Zed posted:

So what changed Zed now that the coalition is seeking their help?

First, I thank Django for supplying the links which expanded my understanding of the issue. Vvp, there has been a change in government and it seems that the present government does not share the same concern that luncheon had or that the the part perceived as impacting negatively on sovereignty has been removed. I have not seen a copy of the present agreement. Some here have argued that the ABC countries have conspired to remove the ppp/civic from government. Not sure how accurate that is.

Z

Hey Cain, when is an explanation an excuse? Please elaborate. We know that the British offer was refused and Luncheon offered an explanation. Please tell us what excuse or explanation was used to refuse US and Canadian aid.

Z

Zed you have to excuse me for this explanation.

I am presently posting from my phone and have trouble finding and attaching etc...by weekend I will be off the grid for a short while..doing a stint in the wild country.. but if you were to look up Mar 1 2016 Guyana Democracy Human Rights and Governance...start from Executive Summary Pg 9 ..(88 pgs on this) no need to go very far u should find some info. Don't pull a Bibiski and say you are losing interest.

That my man is an explanation also an excuse.

Luncheon's was the same.