Our Guyanese women of African heritage are not subject to the kind of oppression that our Indo Guyanese women experience.

I am sure our male colleagues here can examine their relationship with their wives/female partners, daughters, nieces, sister-in-laws,etc. and ask the question: "How will I view it if my wife were to enter the political arena? Will I support her?"

Admirably, our women of African heritage takes Freedom more readily than our women of Indian heritage.
C
Originally posted by Catherine:
Our Guyanese women of African heritage are not subject to the kind of oppression that our Indo Guyanese women experience.

I am sure our male colleagues here can examine their relationship with their wives/female partners, daughters, nieces, sister-in-laws,etc. and ask the question: "How will I view it if my wife were to enter the political arena? Will I support her?"

Admirably, our women of African heritage takes Freedom more readily than our women of Indian heritage.

Could that certainty be as a result of you being tethered to a male chauvinistic pig, my sister? Psssssst! MCP are a rapidly declining breed you know Wink

I do not know where you are writing from but Indian Girls do not take any crap either. Maybe the lack of protections from abuse silences many of our Guyanese sisters but I doubt any man here on the forum in NA would dare abuse his wife. Since most of our wives are professionals we also do not have to contemplate but accept without any hesitation a responsibility to support and nourish their aspirations whatever they may be.

Do the charitable thing and remove any inducement for Indian men to do as you suggest by taking a break from this forum. That would reduce the "kind of oppression that our Indo Guyanese women experience" from one (this posting) to zero.

PS.... I'm not sure if "Catherine" is a handle for a man who posted here before.
Originally posted by Kari:

Do the charitable thing and remove any inducement for Indian men to do as you suggest by taking a break from this forum. That would reduce the "kind of oppression that our Indo Guyanese women experience" from one (this posting) to zero.

PS.... I'm not sure if "Catherine" is a handle for a man who posted here before.

Does the cap fit? Big Grin
C
Originally posted by D2:

I do not know where you are writing from but Indian Girls do not take any crap either. Maybe the lack of protections from abuse silences many of our Guyanese sisters but I doubt any man here on the forum in NA would dare abuse his wife. Since most of our wives are professionals we also do not have to contemplate but accept without any hesitation a responsibility to support and nourish their aspirations whatever they may be.

Well said.
C
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by Cobra:
It seems like the Afro-Guyanese are making better grade when running for public office. No discourtesy to the Indos who ran and failed in the past. However, I would like to know why this is happening?

Guyanese is Guyanese!!!
THe race ting is embedded in your heart,eh?

This is gender and race. Looks like Yuh avoiding the gender aspect. Frown
C

Catherine, you are handle for a male poster. A woman would have expressed the above differently.
"Catherine" being a handle to confuse gender aside, folks here ought to know that Indo-Guyanese males like Afro-Guyanese males have been allies of feminists. Growing up I've been an advocate for the treatment of women as equals in that very patriarchal of societies - the UK. Anyhow I've always treated all with respect, none more so than the disadvantaged i society, whom I make it a point to let them know they ain't different from anyone.
Originally posted by D2:

D2 reality check ! you would be surprised to know that many indian women who are professionals are still abused in NA. With the exception of religious functions how often do you see Indian males with their wives by their sides at non religious functions and occassions? I always thought is strange !
"Catherine" being a handle to confuse gender aside, folks here ought to know that Indo-Guyanese males like Afro-Guyanese males have been allies of feminists. .

kari you know full well that if you go to an Indo Guyanese event the leadership is all male where as at AfroCaribbean events many/most of the leadership are female.

You can debate about the reasons for this but the facts are evident.

This is not to say that there arent Indo males who favor Indo female leadership but its just less present.
Originally posted by caribj:
"Catherine" being a handle to confuse gender aside, folks here ought to know that Indo-Guyanese males like Afro-Guyanese males have been allies of feminists. .

kari you know full well that if you go to an Indo Guyanese event the leadership is all male where as at AfroCaribbean events many/most of the leadership are female.

You can debate about the reasons for this but the facts are evident.

This is not to say that there arent Indo males who favor Indo female leadership but its just less present.

Black women have no choice but to step up to the plate. Facts are that so many black males are in jail and another 60% OF them has children mother, leaving our sisters with no choice.

Yesterday I ate at an Egytian restauraunt in midtown and me and my American friend observed that 98% of the patrons were male, its their culture.

In America it's a different ball game, women are moving ahead not just black women.
So Carib J shut your keer!!
Originally posted by Chief:
Black women have no choice but to step up to the plate. Facts are that so many black males are in jail and another 60% OF them has children mother, leaving our sisters with no choice.
!!

That will mean that they have no time to be leaders in the community as they will have to work 2 jobs to feed their kids.

Try another one Chief. IndoGuyanese guys just dont want any organization to be led by females.

Look at Guyana. How many women have strong roles within the PPP? Compare that with the PNC and AFC.

In fact some IndoGuyanese females say they look at non Indo men because they have less male chauvinism about them.