Corrupt cops given ultimatum…“Turn in your badges by Monday”- Brumell

July 8, 2012 | By | Filed Under News -- Source

Commissioner of Police (ag) Leroy Brumell has given his ranks up to tomorrow (Monday) to turn in their badges if they cannot control the urge to continue their corrupt practices.

Speaking at the conclusion of the force’s 173rd anniversary route march through the city yesterday, the acting top cop said that he was irked by a recent item in the press which called for the fight against corruption to start with the Guyana Police Force, which was described as the most corrupt organization in the country.

Police Officers salute Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee outside the Ministry’s Brickdam office yesterday.

In declaring what he described as an amnesty, Brumell who was presiding at his first anniversary celebration as the nation’s top lawman, acknowledged that there is need for much work to be done to repair the damaged image of the force in terms of its integrity.

“By Monday, if you cannot stop besmirching the image of this force, bring in your resignation. We want this stigma removed,” Brumell told a gathering of close to 1000 ranks and civilians at the Tactical Services Unit (TSU) Drill Square.

Yesterday’s parade was one of the largest seen in years, with 28 units and three bands, made up of 33 Officers, 32 Inspectors and 883 other ranks.

Police Scout groups from Linden, Agricola and Mahaicony, in addition to members of the Community and Neighbourhood Policing groups, were all part of the parade.

So impressive were the turnout and display that judges of the parade were hard pressed to separate the various units vying for the top prize.

In the end it was the slick-looking Tactical Services Unit and the Felix Austin Police College (Georgetown) who captured the top male and female prizes respectively. The TSU also carted off the best overall unit trophy.

“When I saw the turnout today, I must say that I am proud to be a part of this as the Acting Commissioner of Police” Brumell said.

He commended his Divisional Commanders for the work they have been doing to reduce crime and traffic lawlessness. However, he stated that every crime and every accident is one too many.

Brumell said that he welcomes criticisms of the force, which according to him, will always be directed at the Guyana Police Force, especially if attitudes within the organization do not change.

He referred to the way some ranks speak to members of the public, even in the presence of their supervisors.

“We have upgraded buildings and our attitudes must be upgraded to match those buildings,” Brumell declared.

The Force’s anniversary celebrations will continue with a Night of Boxing on Friday, July 13, at the TSU Drill Square, Police Headquarters.

Commissioner of Police (ag) Leroy Brumell takes the salute during the Force’s 173rd anniversary route march through the city.

The much anticipated Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, July 20, also at the Drill Square, where police ranks, members of Community Policing Groups and Neighbourhood Policing Groups, will receive Awards/Incentives for outstanding work performance. The force will remember its ranks who were killed in the line of duty at a special wreath-laying Ceremony at the Force’s Monument for Fallen Heroes on Sunday, July 22.

The anniversary events will continue with a Handgun Shooting Competition on Thursday, July 26, at the TSU mini-range, while there will be a Scouts Day at the Police Sports Club Ground, Eve Leary, on Sunday, July 29.

The Force’s Annual Athletics Championships, which will be held between July 24 and 27 at the Police Sports Club Ground, Eve Leary, are also part of the anniversary celebrations.

In addition, the Force will be holding several other events which fall under the ambit of its Anniversary celebrations, but which will be conducted in subsequent months.

These include a number of Gymkhanas in the Policing Divisions, the Force Drill Competition, the Force First Aid Competition, Debating Competition and Essay Competition.

This is so stupid. It is like the just say no campaign. It is patronizing. Start where the corruption is located; the administration. If you take care of the little things the big things fall into place.

Commissioner of Police (ag) Leroy Brumell has given his ranks up to tomorrow (Monday) to turn in their badges if they cannot control the urge to continue their corrupt practices.

Haven't heard anything this STUPID and CHILDISH in a long time.

This, coming from a Senior Civil Servant (COP, no less), makes me embarrassed to be Guyanese.

Really?/ Why?? Your lack of BASIC understanding is obvious. The commish is certainly sounding the ALARM that he is serious about Corruption and certainly stepts will be taken with regards to Corruption. Must think before you open yuh Illiterate Mouth!!!

You just feel compelled to bray for no reason sometimes, eh Nehru?

If tha tis what your Pea brain allow you to understand, then so be it.

Bray dankey bray

Corruption in the GPF has been going on for too long now. No ammount of warnings will curb this trait. It's like policy if you ask me.
No badges will be turned in and bribery and coruption will continue without any let up.

It is plain to see that you're out of touch with current events in Guyana. It's also plain to see that you may not have had any dealings with the GPF either. Had that been the case, you would be singing a different tune.
As an acting commish, Brummell had to say something to appease his bosses and the populace, and that was it.  He is fully aware the ranks won't take him seriously.

You need to take a trip to guyana and see how things are done there. Then and only then you could talk.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Corruption in the GPF has been going on for too long now. No ammount of warnings will curb this trait. It's like policy if you ask me.
No badges will be turned in and bribery and coruption will continue without any let up.

It seems like bribery is a given and expected! You can have brand new tyres and when they stop you and say things like: "dem tyres look smooth"... the driver knows whats coming and without argument he will pass them a 5US dollars else he would have to take the car in for inspection and waste a whole day and still pay the 5 dollars in the end.

This nonsense is what passes for "Major Anti-Corruption Drive" in Guyana.

I look forward to a follow-up report from the Commish on the number of corrupt policemen cashiered in his 'fearsome crackdown.'

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

It seems like bribery is a given and expected! You can have brand new tyres and when they stop you and say things like: "dem tyres look smooth"... the driver knows whats coming and without argument he will pass them a 5US dollars else he would have to take the car in for inspection and waste a whole day and still pay the 5 dollars in the end.

Mitts, i agree with you. The traffic cops are like parasites on the road preying on motorists who obey the traffic laws by making up false stories against them. One evening they stopped us telling us that we were overloaded. Only 4 people in car including the driver. On another occasion, one COP pulled us over saying" Aay Banno you gat a lil raise fuh we -you know if you ain gat we can mek up something to charge you wid". They serve and protect themselves.

Brummell didn't say what he will do if they corrupt COPs don't turn in their Badge. What a joker. Obviously he is cofessing that the COPs are corrupted. He and his Minister should be fired. But again, who am I to say - the PPP only listens to their corrupt Minister the likes of Rohee.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Mitts, i agree with you. The traffic cops are like parasites on the road preying on motorists who obey the traffic laws by making up false stories against them. One evening they stopped us telling us that we were overloaded. Only 4 people in car including the driver. On another occasion, one COP pulled us over saying" Aay Banno you gat a lil raise fuh we -you know if you ain gat we can mek up something to charge you wid". They serve and protect themselves.

Brummell didn't say what he will do if they corrupt COPs don't turn in their Badge. What a joker. Obviously he is cofessing that the COPs are corrupted. He and his Minister should be fired. But again, who am I to say - the PPP only listens to their corrupt Minister the likes of Rohee.

Guys, get real, it's called "supplemental income".  By turning a blind eye to petty bribes, the Govt is not pressured to pay higher wages.

At 03:30 hrs yesterday morning…

Cop found in bedroom with teenager

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Monday, 09 July 2012 22:37
A POLICE constable is currently under close arrest after he was found in the bedroom of a teenaged girl by her parents in the wee hours of yesterday morning.According to Police Public Relations and Press Officer, Mr. Ivelaw Whittaker, the incident occurred about 03:30 hrs yesterday, during checks made by the parents on a 13-year-old girl at their home at Ogle, East Coast Demerara.
Whittaker, in a statement, said “a man was found in her bedroom and has been identified as a Police Constable”.
The rank is under close arrest as the investigations continue

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
A POLICE constable is currently under close arrest after he was found in the bedroom of a teenaged girl by her parents in the wee hours of yesterday morning.According to Police Public Relations and Press Officer, Mr. Ivelaw Whittaker, the incident occurred about 03:30 hrs yesterday, during checks made by the parents on a 13-year-old girl at their home at Ogle, East Coast Demerara.
Whittaker, in a statement, said “a man was found in her bedroom and has been identified as a Police Constable”.

. . . I believe de constable did turn in he badge before he do he ting

The report did not say that. Leroy/Rohee what will you do with this Pedophile? Did he turn in his badge yet? OR are you waiting for other corrupt COPs to complete the investigation. Who the hell in the Police Force hire these F****rs? Did they do any background checks before hiring? Greene fu****g people going to him for help. Now this one fu***ing a minor he his hired to protect. 

Originally Posted by alena06:

Is this some type of a verbal warning, then written warning to the corrupted ones then fire them.

No one is going to admit they are corrupt and turn in their badges.

Nehru woulda been first in the line cause he si wan honest bai

The report did not say that. Leroy/Rohee what will you do with this Pedophile? Did he turn in his badge yet? OR are you waiting for other corrupt COPs to complete the investigation. Who the hell in the Police Force hire these F****rs? Did they do any background checks before hiring? Greene fu****g people going to him for help. Now this one fu***ing a minor he his hired to protect. 

bai, my comment was a joke . . .

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   

. . . I believe de constable did turn in he badge before he do he ting

Dem beastman deh pon some serious heights. Even dem lil chilren ain' safe nowadayz.

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   

How did he get into that bedroom without waking up people.  I guess that "lil" girl ain't that lil as they think.

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   

How did he get into that bedroom without waking up people.  I guess that "lil" girl ain't that lil as they think.

Baseman, A report in Kaieteur news today stated that he met the kid on facebook. The rank in question stated that it was the girl who opened the door.

PDFPrintE-mail
Written by   

How many more Pedophiles in the GPF? Rohee/Leroy tell the public. 

‘Turn in your badges by Monday’ and other nonsensicalities in a farcical Guyana

July 11, 2012 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
The Commissioner of one of the most corrupt entities in Guyana, the Guyana Police Force, provided my daily humour on July 8, 2012. In this country of asininities, the Commissioner’s statement is one of the most foolish ever uttered on the issue of corruption.
A call for ranks to voluntarily resign because of corruption has to be right up there with the kind of inanities the PPP has provided us with as the entire country calls for strong measures to tackle corruption.
The Commissioner’s statement shows how infantile the GPF and PPP’s approach is to targeting corruption and how these two oceans of corruption must think the people in this country are a bunch of blithering idiots.
Does the GPF and the PPP think that making empty statements with nothing to back them up will fool the people of this country? The corrupt police force is not implementing any strong anti-corruption measures to combat corruption. It is implanting self-policing for the corrupt police force. More foolishness has not made the news in a long time.
Since when will those thieves, crooks and rogues in uniforms preying upon the nation walk away from the gravy train? They have to be investigated, prosecuted and kicked out of the forces with their badges snatched from their hands before they go to jail.
I did not hear anything from the Commissioner on upcoming hard, tough and unforgiving measures to combat corruption.
The police force became this corrupt monstrosity under the PNC. It grew even bigger under the PPP because criminality led by drug trafficking and gold smuggling achieved stratospheric proportions under the PPP rule and most powerfully during the Jagdeo reign.
The rise in the GPF corruption goes hand in hand with the potent rise of PPP corruption. The PPP cannot fix the GPF because it has no moral legitimacy and it is consumed with fear. Fear within the PPP has paralyzed its response to corruption within the army and police force.
This is why the armed forces which were seriously corrupt by 1992 have remained largely untouched and unchecked by the PPP. When the PPP had majorities for the past 19 years, it had the moral, legal and democratic justification to crack down on the GPF. Now in the throes of minority government, the fear is even greater and continues to trap the mice mimicking men in the PPP from acting against the police force.
Unless there is radical reform of the police force, there will be no serious change or challenge to corruption at the highest level where the nation loses the most. A corrupt force and the refusal to tackle corruption aids the corrupt PPP as it fears a clean, transparent and honest police force will crack down on the biggest thieves within the PPP fold.
So, the GPF will not be cleansed until the head of the animal, the PPP and its upper echelon, is cleansed. Thank you Mr. Commissioner for the comedic relief.
M. Maxwell

The police will not tun in their badges and the COP knows that.

The COP just wants to be appointed to that position pemanently.

Who would want to appoint a joker like Leroy? I say give the position to 

Steve Meerai - he will deal with the corruption.

The police will not tun in their badges and the COP knows that.

The COP just wants to be appointed to that position pemanently.

Who would want to appoint a joker like Leroy? I say give the position to 

Steve Meerai - he will deal with the corruption.

HOW . . .?!  By shaking down more drug dealers? [maybe he'll up the price to $US75K . . . I need to re-check the tape]

Y'all memories conveniently short

Cops take $360,000 to release man with drugs, sub-machine gun

July 14, 2012 | By | Filed Under News
Email

- three TSU ranks under close arrest, two others in hiding

Less than a week after Acting Police Commissioner Leroy Brumell warned corrupt ranks to turn in their badges, five TSU ranks are under investigation for allegedly collecting $360,000 to release a man whom they had nabbed with drugs and a loaded submachine gun. Kaieteur News understands that the incident occurred on Thursday in Kitty and that three of the ranks, including a cadet officer, are under close arrest at the Brickdam Police Station. Investigators have seized a Beretta sub-machine gun and 63 matching rounds. They are also trying to locate two other ranks who were implicated in the transaction. One of the ranks is a constable who is believed to be the mastermind. According to reports, on Thursday, a gold dealer asked an acquaintance to pick up $360,000 for him at a Kitty location. After collecting the money, the goldsmith’s acquaintance reportedly went on an illegal transaction. While doing this, he was allegedly nabbed by five TSU ranks. However, instead of taking the man into custody, the policemen took the loaded Beretta and the $360,000. They then released the man. Kaieteur News was told that the cops ‘drove around’ attempting to sell the firearm. After failing to find a buyer, they informed their superiors that they had found the firearm in an empty house in Charlestown. Meanwhile, the gold dealer’s friend returned to the businessman and alleged that he had been robbed. However, the suspicious gold dealer made the acquaintance accompany him to the Brickdam Police Station to report the ‘robbery’. It was then that the acquaintance admitted that he had been forced to hand over the money to the policemen. The cadet officer and two other ranks were placed under close arrest yesterday but up to late yesterday, investigators were unable to locate the other two. The incident comes in the wake of a recent vow by Acting Police Commissioner Brumell to weed out corrupt ranks from the Force. Brumell who was presiding at his first anniversary celebration as the nation’s top lawman, had acknowledged that there is need for much work to be done to repair the damaged image of the force in terms of its integrity. He had given corrupt ranks up to last Monday to turn in their badges if they could not stop “besmirching the image of this force.”

As I said, These ranks aren't taking Brummel seriously. So what's next, Mr. acting Commissioner?

Nigel Hughes

$16M boat scam:Senior police involved should face criminal charges

- Hughes, Gino Persaud

The high level policemen implicated in the $16M boat scam should be subject to criminal sanctions and not just be allowed to repay the stolen sum, member of the AFC Nigel Hughes says while concluding that the Ministry of Home Affairs has made a mockery of all efforts to stamp out corruption.