Ram, Trotman had the temerity to seek judicial imprimatur for their vexatious excursion into a flight of fancy - which curial scrutiny rejected, albeit belatedlyPDFPrintE-mail
Written by JUSTICE CHARLES R. RAMSON, SC, OR  
Monday, 14 January 2013 20:59

I HAVE sedulously sought refuge in my self-imposed retirement to retain my sanity, away from the cut and thrust of my quondam public engagements, both parliamentary and judicial. Notwithstanding this, it has not escaped my notice that several commentators, pandering to public approbation or notoriety, have critically referred to my work in public office, especially but not exclusively, as it related to the ‘Lotto

Funds’. You will have to forgive me for citing them by name for the occasions have been too disparate and sometimes egregious. Christopher Ram and Desmond Trotman even had the temerity to seek judicial imprimatur for their vexatious excursion into a flight of fancy which curial scrutiny rejected, albeit belatedly. Ram ought to pay some serious attention to the legal process if he wants to elevate himself beyond certification. Trotman’s raison d’etre was best articulated, ironically, by himself in his testimony before the Linden Commission of Inquiry. Only Neanderthals consider anarchy a virtue! Two professionals had impressed me as having a modicum of self-respect,  Anand Goolsarran and Carl Greenidge. In the latter’s letter to the Stabroek News of the 12th January , 2013, both ex-public officials, have recently joined in the cacophony of misinformation. Let me make it pristinely clear for archival purposes that my professional opinion has never been given, gratuitously or for remuneration, unsolicited. Cabinet Memoranda will confirm that His Excellency, Bharrat Jagdeo solicited by way of presidential instructions that I present to the Cabinet a legal opinion on the Funds generated from the CBN Lottery and the Ministry of Housing. It is now history that my “solicited” opinion, albeit unfavourable to the parliamentary opposition elements, whose public demands that these monies ought to have been sent directly to the Consolidated Fund at the time, has been given the blessing of a High Court Judge. I will be bold to state that it was during my last tenure as Hon. Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs that the Affidavits-in-Answer were filed and submissions made, using the same opinion as the premise for rejecting their spurious action filed against the state. It may come as a surprise that it was Goolsarran’s “unsolicited” view expressed in his report prior to the expiry of his tenure as Auditor-General in 2005 that was the source of the ensuing controversy. The current Auditor- General persisted in this erroneous approach until he was made aware of my opinion which ministers relied upon at the PAC Meetings at which he was present. I never issued an opinion to him because his office is constitutionally independent. I may be mistaken but my information is that this reluctant, if not involuntary, returnee, after his stint at the UN has conceded his ineligibility to pronounce on substantial legal issues by categorising himself as a “quasi-attorney”, whatever that means. Thinking outside of the box is an especial quality possessed by some of the more successful people, both in private and public office. Greenidge should know better, having been exposed to an education in England and European public service. Maybe, his cerebral faculties have unfortunately reached its saturation point. What a disappointment for the PNC/R. I have never claimed economics as my forte but, for sure, the jury is no longer out on my legal expertise! Read my book: In Pursuit of Justice – a Collectanea.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 January 2013 21:00

Nehru, whatever happened to the Political Forum it gone?

By the way, do you know the meaning of any of this, I doan understan it, tell me nuh?

"Ram, Trotman had the temerity to seek judicial imprimatur for their vexatious excursion into a flight of fancy - which curial scrutiny rejected, albeit belatedly "

As a matter of fact, have you read any of what you posted, we know you doan read but you does still throw in yo two cents.

By the way, do you know the meaning of any of this, I doan understan it, tell me nuh?

"Ram, Trotman had the temerity to seek judicial imprimatur for their vexatious excursion into a flight of fancy - which curial scrutiny rejected, albeit belatedly "

As a matter of fact, have you read any of what you posted, we know you doan read but you does still throw in yo two cents.

Whoa! Too many big words here Who is our resident definer of hard vocabulary?

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Stormy

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Stormy

Dude, I use words 12 graders should know. Further, the above is legalese hence its arcane nature. Also, that judge's writing is sterile and dry. It has no internal cadence, no rhythmic harmony that would encourage a casual reader towards understanding.  We are not remotely in the same mind-scape. If you do not understand me it means your workable vocabulary is seriously deficient and not because I use words from professional specialty.

There are about 3 to 6 hundred thousand words available to the ordinary user of the English language. Most people use less than 3 thousand and it is the main reason they are insipid or uninteresting. 

Language is the keystone of intelligence. Without being able to aptly describe our sense of reality, one would be incapable of conveying what they know of the world as they understand it to be. They are therefore the morons among us and are  of little use to the rest of us.