Home > TOP STORY > Pre-election poll finds… Opposition alliance favours Ramotar/Harper ticket …APNU supporters upset over concessions to smaller AFC – 83% distrusted secret talks
President Donald Ramotar

Pre-election poll finds… Opposition alliance favours Ramotar/Harper ticket …APNU supporters upset over concessions to smaller AFC – 83% distrusted secret talks

AN opinion poll conducted by the North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA) in February has found that a majority of the nation opposes the formation of an alliance between the two main Opposition parties, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC).

The findings of the poll released over the weekend revealed that voters feel the alliance instead of defeating the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) will help its re-election with incumbent President Donald Ramotar and recently announced Elisabeth Harper, as prime minister.
The findings of the poll were obtained through interviews with 620 voters to yield a demographically representative sample of 42 per cent Indians, 31 per cent Africans, 17 per cent Mixed, nine per cent Amerindians, and One per cent of other races in the population.
The poll was conducted through face-to-face interviews and was coordinated by New York-based pollster, Dr. Vishnu Bisram.
Its results have been analysed at a 95 per cent significance level with a statistical sampling error of plus or minus four percentage points.
According to its findings, supporters of the AFC and the PPP find that a People’s National Congress (PNC)-led ticket evokes memories of the insidious plan to topple the PPP in 1964, with the PNC-United Force (UF) alliance, the ejection of the UF from the ruling coalition, and the dictatorial abuses that followed.
“Supporters and sympathisers of the AFC are seething in discontent with the party for entering into a union with the APNU (PNC), leading to an exodus in support for the party,” according to the findings of the polls.
It was found too that supporters of the PNC “are also angry with their leadership for giving up too much to the AFC to form the alliance that may not win the election.”
Dr Bisram’s 2015 early election poll unearthed that members and supporters of the AFC are also turned off by what they perceive as “the leadership cutting deals for positions for themselves and not consulting with them on entering into an alliance with the PNC.”
It was found that an overall majority of voters expressed the view that the AFC erred in forming an alliance with APNU (PNC) and “say it will pay a heavy price even if the alliance wins, because many feel that the PNC cannot be trusted with power given its past.”

Ambassador Elisabeth Harper

Elisabeth Harper

The poll revealed too that the nation is still largely divided along racial lines on the alliance issue as well as on other issues.
“Almost every Indian is opposed to the alliance, while a large majority of Africans and people of Mixed races endorse it. A majority of Amerindians are also opposed to the alliance…It is generally felt that had the AFC remained independent from the PNC, it would have built on its current support.”
According to Dr Bisram’s findings, the AFC supporters said if former PPP stalwart Moses Nagamootoo were the presidential candidate of the newly formed alliance, they would have considered voting for it. The findings unearthed too that some among other ethnic groups that had planned to vote for the AFC have also had a change of heart for the party because of the alliance.
“Many Indians support former Speaker Ralph Ramkarran as a consensus presidential candidate saying if he were the candidate of the alliance, they would vote for it.”
Asked whether APNU and the AFC should jointly contest the elections as one party, 55 per cent said ‘no’, 38 per cent responded affirmatively, while seven per cent were not sure.
“Almost every Indian said no with a large majority of Africans and Mixed-race peoples saying ‘yes’; most Amerindians also opposed it,” according to the findings of the poll.
It was observed too that many PNC supporters also registered opposition to the alliance, saying that their party would have had a good chance of capturing power in a plurality if the AFC had contested separately and split the PPP support base.
Asked if they support the secret nature of the negotiations between the APNU and AFC to form an alliance, 83 per cent said no, feeling they have something to hide, while only eight per cent supported the secret talks between the two parties with nine per cent offering no opinion.
Asked who should be the presidential candidate of the alliance, Indians overwhelmingly backed Nagamootoo, while Africans overwhelmingly supported Opposition Leader Brigadier (rtd) David Granger. According to the findings of the poll, some respondents felt Carl Greenidge should be the presidential candidate, describing him as the most qualified and experienced and internationally exposed among the potential contenders.
On the question of who should be the presidential candidate for APNU in the absence of an alliance, supporters are divided down the middle between Granger and Carl Greenidge.
For the AFC, in the absence of an alliance, Nagamootoo leads Nigel Hughes in presidential preference among supporters.
Almost every Indian and Amerindian supporter of the AFC backs Nagamootoo, while Africans and Mixed peoples lean towards Hughes.
The poll also quizzed voters on how they plan to vote, and the findings will be released in a subsequent report.

Guyanese Quack Doctors cant find De Pole

Look Nuff Scratching going on.

Jagdeo scratching his balls in public---the India day parade in NYC ...

Above Picture....

Dr Raj, Dr Donald, Dr Kali, Dr Lake, Dr Baharat

Look Carefully at the back you will see De Polster Dr Vishnu Bisram with his Famous Cap

Who aint scratching Back...Scratching Front....De Pole Missing

Dr Bharat, Dr Lake, Dr Donald, Dr Raj & Dr Vishnu Bisram 

Dr Vishnue Bisram with Cap....still Scratching....Pole Missing.

Who Can Trust Bisram

or his Poll?

Watch De Quack Dakta ....with his Cap

This was one of his Pole

... support among voters, NACTA finds - Stabroek News - Georgetown, Guyana

In this Pole he was Paid by PNC

Note....PPP got Nothing

EEE like teking..... Nuff Pole

Watch who Backside he Poling here....

bisramdon

I am increasing my majority prediction for the PPP to 55 Percent.

You can do so as you wish, but you will be as wrong as you were when last time you screamed 60%.

Bisram is a known PPP racist, so his polls are clearly intended to be a campaign tool for the PPP, and not a true analysis of Guyana.

I will not predict who will win, but who ever does will win with 50.1% of the vote.  The winner will be the one who gets it its voters, and is successful at attracting the 65k alienated people who refuse to vote.

AFC deadbeats are now sinking the PNC ship.

images-1

Did it ever dawn on you that PNC supporters told the known PPP racist what they know he wants to hear?

PNC supporters are ecstatic over the coalition as they know that they will never win on their own.  100-100=0.   100-40=60.  PNC supporters prefer to get 60 than 0.  The fact that Granger will be president assures them that their interests will be protected.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

If this is all the PPP can say they are bound to lose.

1.  It is a subliminal race message and so alienates the 50-55% of the voters who aren't Indian.

2.  It insults many Indians, who increasingly object to being treated as property by the PPP, even as it continues to abuse the non elite majority of them.

Sugar Workers Gone.....

Rice Farmers Gone...

Download: [SVG] [PNG] 

Only Kwame & Lamumba

left with PPP

Big Trouble Brewing

Jalil are you sure that sugar workers and rice farmers are gone?  Or confused about whether to vote PPP, who they feel put them in that mess, or the PNC, who they fear might kill them.

Much better if the AFC was actually campaigning in those regions instead of being lulled by what a few leaders might be saying.  Its the votes of THOUSANDS which matter.  Not the votes of a few score leaders.

I see Granger campaigning.  Where is Nagamootoo? Granger cannot do anything other then show these people that he isn't a monster. 

Sugar Workers Gone.....

Rice Farmers Gone...

Only Kwame & Lamumba

left with PPP

Big Trouble Brewing

Jalil are you sure that sugar workers and rice farmers are gone?  Or confused about whether to vote PPP, who they feel put them in that mess, or the PNC, who they fear might kill them.

Much better if the AFC was actually campaigning in those regions instead of being lulled by what a few leaders might be saying.  Its the votes of THOUSANDS which matter.  Not the votes of a few score leaders.

I see Granger campaigning.  Where is Nagamootoo? Granger cannot do anything other then show these people that he isn't a monster. 

what make you think the PNC WILL KILL INDIANS,people have to stop living in the pass

I know that you are some what simple and cannot see the difference between saying that the "PNC will kill Indians", and saying that some "FEAR that the PNC will kill Indians".

There is real fear of the PNC in many rural Indian households, even those who have become angry with the PPP.

It makes absolutely no sense to deny this, or to suggest that these fears don't have to be shown as irrational by the APNU AFC coalition.  Nagamootoo of course being the only one to make that case.

So has Nagamootoo been active in the rice belt seeking to meet large numbers of rice farmers?

Understand something.  Anger that the PPP is seen as neglecting the rice farmers is an entirely different topic from fear by many rural Indians as to what a PNC dominated government might mean for them.  To assume that those who are angry with the PPP will vote PNC (because this is who will be the presidential candidate) is an exercise in folly.

Nagamootoo needs to;

1.  Explain to people what the coalition is about, to counteract the race card panic that the PPP is now engaged in to plant doubt even among those who hate them. See letters in todays KN if you doubt.

2.  Explain to people his role within the coalition gov't, should they win, and how this will protect them, should their fears of the old PNC become real.

3. Explain to the people that the current PNC is the continuation of Hoyte, who wasn't able to fully implement his policies as he lost power in 1992.  it is NOT the party of the Burnhamite interests who controlled it until 1990.

4.  Ask the people in which party do they think that the Burnham goon squad now exist.  Answer PPP.

But to say "PPP baad", cite a few speeches by sophisticated and affluent people, and think that this is enough is nonsense.  While we speak the PPP race card is in full bloom, and once people adopt a position it will be hard to shift them.

This is so pathetic, ow Councie, you dont have shame man?

After Nags stepped away from the corruption, the PPP had nothing good to say about the man,called the man all sorts of horrible names, suddenly he is their fren. HAHAHAAAAAAA!!!!

Sugar Workers Gone.....

Rice Farmers Gone...

Only Kwame & Lamumba

left with PPP

Big Trouble Brewing

I see Granger campaigning. That's Good 

Where is Nagamootoo?

How come U do not know?

Granger cannot do anything other then show these people that he isn't a monster. 

Seems you are out the Loop....

But I will keep you updated as we go along...

Keep Hope Alive....

CaribJ

remind me tomorrow

to give you the link

to know wha ah go on.

CaribJ...

CaribJ there is a lot

you do not know or Understand...

'Bishop Terrence Esseboom pledges full support of the Full Gospel Church of God for coalition victory'

Full Support from Church:

The New Testament Church of God in Norton Street, Georgetown, today voiced full support for APNU+AFC coalition in the upcoming May 11 election.

'Bro. Nagamootoo was accompanied to Church by Pastor Neilson McKenzie, an executive of the Alliance for Change.'
Resident priest Bishop Terrence Esseboom, told the congregation that they have a duty to work for change, and for a country which is not corrupt or where her citizens are unfairly treated.

'Bro Moses waxed biblical today at Norton Street Church.
Special Guest, Moses Nagamootoo, addressed the gathering and referring to the Biblical Moses, he assured that the new co...alition government will have zero tolerance for corruption and will enforce the law of the Ten Commandments, "thou shall not steal".

'Greeting the mother & sister of AFC Executive, Trevor Williams'
Bishop Esseboom recalled working with Mr. Nagamootoo whilst the latter was Minister of Information and, as a journalist, he hailed his Minister's commitment to professional standards and ethics. He noted that brother Moses has to be recognized for his work for peace and unity in Guyana over a period of five decades.

'Bishop Esseboom & Coalition PM candidate Moses Nagamootoo.'
The Congregation gave the former Minister, now Prime Ministerial candidate of the APNU+AFC "unity team", a rousing standing ovation.
Members of the Church promised to fan out house-to-house in South Georgetown to get out the vote for a big coalition win.

Moses V. Nagamootoo's photo.

CaribJ....

Guyanese aint Interested

in Da Race Politics anymore...

Da was Burnham Days

PPP trying...

But they will fail

remind me tomorrow

to give you the link

to know wha ah go on.

Jalil show me Nagamootoo knee deep in mud with rice farmers then we can talk.  Resplendent in gorgeous attire in front of a microphone in G/town.  They might as well be in NYC.

Demonstrating that the AFC can attract a man and his few friends.

What is this all about.  I doubt that this is some small village in the interior where such paltry numbers would be considered acceptable.

remind me tomorrow

to give you the link

to know wha ah go on.

Jalil show me Nagamootoo knee deep in mud with rice farmers then we can talk.  Resplendent in gorgeous attire in front of a microphone in G/town.  They might as well be in NYC.

3 years ago the PPP and the PNC collectively got 90% of the votes.

So can you tell me why in a mere 3 years their voting patterns have changed.

Yes I will agree that many Guyanese are indeed no longer interested in voting race.  The problem however is that those who used to vote up to 2001, and have since stopped voting, number over 60k, which significantly exceeds the AFC's 2011 vote.  And then we have the many who aren't even registered.

So yes many Guyanese are indeed not voting race.  They are NOT voting PERIOD!

Jalil you drunken rambling is suitable only for some bar on Liberty Ave.  Not among people who wish to see the defeat of the PPP.