Trio denied bail for CJIA

Three men who were busted with 558 grams of cocaine on March 17, 2017 at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) were on Thursday arraigned at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts on a joint charge for the offence.

The accused are Louie Dublin, an officer attached to the Guyana Police Force, and Delvon Bunbury, Manager of Ivor Bunbury Furniture, along with his assistant, Gavin Harris.

Police officer Louie Dublin, Delvon Bunbury, and Gavin Harris

The prosecution told the court that a sting operation was set up and successfully executed leading to Dublin’s arrest.

The accused rank reportedly provided a statement under caution, relating that persons (who he positively identified as Bunbury and Harris) gave him the bag containing the cocaine, adding that he was sorry for his involvement.

Magistrate Daly rejected Dublin’s lawyer Adrian Thompson’s argument of special circumstances in attempting to secure bail for his client, stating that he (Thompson) could not uphold an argument of “no knowledge”, since his client had apologised for possession in a caution statement.

The two other accused were represented by Attorney Leslie Benjamin and both entering into a not guilty plea. In addition, the court heard that Benjamin was 27 years old and hailed from Plaisance Village, East Coast Demerara, while Harris, 25, shared Bunbury’s address at the furniture store.

The trio were denied bail, and Dublin was expected to return to court on April 8, while Bunbury and Harris were scheduled to reappear on April 10, 2017 when the matter will proceed to trial.

The accused are Louie Dublin, an officer attached to the Guyana Police Force, and Delvon Bunbury, Manager of Ivor Bunbury Furniture, along with his assistant, Gavin Harris.

Looks like dem bais got foot chains. They must be going to a party heh? Another botched fund raiser.

Drug runnings as usual. The gov't. can't control it as much as we would like. 

PNC/AFC campaigned on stamping out drug running and dealers. Where is Rumjattan?

Read my post above yours..then go find something showing where during the previous government's time what the Goat did to stop the same.

All the filth heads who believe is only this 1 police raise Al Yuh hand. I can only see Cain and Django hands.

Keep on with the stupid posts and I will have WalMart recall your so called diploma.

Read my post above yours..then go find something showing where during the previous government's time what the Goat did to stop the same.

You fail to understand that your PNC police is involved in all the drug trade? The PNC boys did not want to stop their PNC fund raising during the PPP time. They knew they would instruct their boys to "ketch wan wan ah dem" so they can show they are doing something. Much more of drug running behind PNC boys not being reported.