OK Folks:

* Whenever you visit Guyana do you stay with friends or family or do you stay a hotel ?

* I prefer staying at a hotel.

* Anyway, You are all aware that a Marriott Hotel is being built in Georgetown, Guyana.

* Check out the video below---it was posted by Gerry Gouviea, the owner of Roraima airways in Guyana---the video was shot from a drone---it give a unique view of the Marriott construction---and if you look at all 4 minutes---the aerial views are lovely.

KITTY MARKET---this video is for my fellow Rama Krishna Primary school alumni KSAZMA---he has sweet memories of Kitty market from back in the 70s----it's a shame Kitty market is so dilapidated today.

This is horrible. Those greenheart post must be really strong. This building looks like it will collapse any moment. What a shame. We used to buy new school books from Williams and Jeetendra used to supply us with our necessary viewing of Playboy and Penthouse along with more conventional reading materials. Indeed lots of fond memories in that market. The Bicycle Store outside provided us with all our necessary bicycle parts although the proprietor was looking to retire on our monies.  

"The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page." Anonymous

* Very true!

* Also there is no place like where your roots were first planted---you can travel the world---but when you travel back to your place of birth---it's a special feeling.

It would be nice taking my kids to see all my old hang out spots but I am not prepared to expose them to the crimes there. Maybe someday when it is safer to visit.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

It would be nice taking my kids to see all my old hang out spots but I am not prepared to expose them to the crimes there. Maybe someday when it is safer to visit.

ksazma:

* Unless you plan on taking your kids to visit your "old hang out spots" when it's dark and lonely, your visit will be safe.

* The probability of being a crime victim for tourists or visitors in Guyana is very, very low.

* Personally, it's always a joy visiting the old country, and when that Marriott is complete, I'll fly in for a weekend.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

Kasz, I took my girls to GY in 2007 for 10 days

and the son went with his dad for 3 wks...world cup cricket i think

I felt safer in GY than when i left in 1980 or any of my many visits b4 that.  As a matter i was there in 2006 and felt safe which is how i came ot take the kids...

also in 2010, i went for 4 days and did so much...felt safe.  slept with windows open

Chami, I haven't been since 1998 so I don't know what to expect and how I would need to behave to stay safe. I have seen enough news to concern me about my safety although I would like to take the kids at least once. A few years ago, I got a calendar with a good size Guyana map showing more than the usual names of places. When I showed my son all the places where his grandfather worked, he was impressed. I never had the opportunity to visit all those places myself and while I would like to, I am always concern about safety. Hopefully I get a chance to take them.

Hang in there dear. You are in our prayers (although some folks worry about me praying for them).  

Originally Posted by ksazma:

ksazma:

* Unless you plan on taking your kids to visit your "old hang out spots" when it's dark and lonely, your visit will be safe.

* The probability of being a crime victim for tourists or visitors in Guyana is very, very low.

* Personally, it's always a joy visiting the old country, and when that Marriott is complete, I'll fly in for a weekend.

Bai, no self respecting father would take his kids to some of my old hang out spots although they don't rise to the level of Gaumont. That is Nehru's forte.

Thanks for prayers Ksaz...

I am weary of prayers...i fasted prayed non stop for weeks and....

Faith, strength and my love for our children holding me strong

Our kids can truly be our refuge. Saw a sticker today of a bone with the sign "Who rescued who". Shows that our strength can come from elsewhere.

MON REPOS MARKET----when I was lil kid---my Mom used to send me to the market to buy fish---I remember buying 2 big catfish for a dollar

* I still like visiting markets.

Rev, Guyana is still a beautiful place. Just got back from Guyana after spending over a month. The only thing that bothers me is the pollution(plastic and styrofoam containers allover..land and water). This maybe the cause of the spread of the Chikengunya(not sure about the spelling) disease.

i will go to Guyana sometime within the nxt yr...hope the Marriot will be ready for me!

My Mom recently told me she wants to visit Guyana one more time---my brother-in-law, who is American also wants to visit for the first time---so when that Marriott is finished---we'll be taking a trip to sweet, sweet Guyana.

Rev, Guyana is still a beautiful place. Just got back from Guyana after spending over a month. The only thing that bothers me is the pollution

Skeldon bhai:

* People like you and the Rev who have lots of love and kindness and beauty in their hearts will always see beauty wherever they go.

* Whenever I travel to Guyana I always see the beauty in the place of my birth. Sure there are some ugliness. But I always look for the beauty and that's what I see.

RE: THE POLLUTION

* GNI's own Mr. antabanta is a SANITATION ENGINEER. That good man ought to be offering his services and expertise to Guyana---help them clean things up.

* Actually I read somewhere that the PPP government will be spending 1 billion(guy) on cleaning up and beautifying Guyana.

* Glad you had a great stay in Guyana skeldonman.

CHECK OUT THESE LADIES GOING FOR LAWAA---is that the same as DIG DUTTY ?

* Skip to the 1.35 minute mark and check out the energetic and titillating Reshma in the orange dress----she funny bad.hahaha

* Women surely have tons of fun during lawaa---that's dig dutty, right ?

In my opinion because she know the camera taking her out she just showing off more. Just lawlessness on her part.

* Skip to the 1.35 minute mark and check out the energetic and titillating Reshma in the orange dress----she funny bad.hahaha

Amral
Originally Posted by Amral:

In my opinion because she know the camera taking her out she just showing off more. Just lawlessness on her part.

amral:

* What do you mean the lady lawless ?

* Listen! Yuh too young to be so old fashioned.

* Reshma(lady in orange dress) was having a ball. She was having fun.

* Lawaa and dig dutty are ladies only events---and the ladies usually let go---no inhibitions---and a little wickedness.

* Anyway, The Rev had a good laugh watching the lady have fun.

Kasz, I took my girls to GY in 2007 for 10 days

and the son went with his dad for 3 wks...world cup cricket i think

I felt safer in GY than when i left in 1980 or any of my many visits b4 that.  As a matter i was there in 2006 and felt safe which is how i came ot take the kids...

also in 2010, i went for 4 days and did so much...felt safe.  slept with windows open

For those folks who have not been to Guyana for a long time there is a tour operator in Toronto - see info below:

Syed Rayman (May 2014)
Roraima Travel Services Ltd
8 - 50 Tiffield Rd
Scarborough, Ontario
M1V 5B7
TICO # 4075560
Tel: 1-416-412-0103

E-mail: roraimatravel@yahoo.com

12 day tour, from Toronto, Cdn $2,995/person double occupancy. Includes all flights, hotels, meals, local transportation (boats, buses).

Next tour Oct 2014.

That girl got all the bollywood dance moves

Wally

OK Folks:

* Whenever you visit Guyana do you stay with friends or family or do you stay a hotel ?

* I prefer staying at a hotel.

I visited Guyana last year and had a blast.

I stayed at a hotel in Georgetown but with relatives when visiting Berbice. Had I gone to a hotel, they would've been very offended and I can't do that to them. Nothing beats Berbician hospitality. They are the best!

Originally Posted by Riya:

I visited Guyana last year and had a blast.

I stayed at a hotel in Georgetown but with relatives when visiting Berbice. Had I gone to a hotel, they would've been very offended and I can't do that to them. Nothing beats Berbician hospitality. They are the best!

* I'm sure the Berbice relatives are full of warmth and hospitality.

* But here is what they would have likely said behind your back if you had chosen to stay at a hotel:

---mami, yuh hear riya ah stay at some hotel ?

- da gyal rass eyepass abedeze.

- she live in 'merica now suh she think she white and she mussy think abe house nah good enough fuh she.

- abedeze nah like hoity toity people. riya can carry she rass back to "merica. Hope wan malibunta sting she rass at dat fancy hotel she rass ah stay at.

ha ha ha ha

* In addition to warmth and hospitality---Berbicians are also funny.

The exciting and fun filled "GUYANA FESTIVAL" will be held at the Providence National Stadium from August 8-10

* "Guyana Festival is an event where Guyanese promote their rich culture, talent and mouth water foods."

* The festival will have 6 cultural villages and a Coney Island---lots of fun rides.

* Thousands of Guyanese at home and abroad are gearing up to attend the Guyana Festival.

* IT'S ALWAYS GREAT TO READ POSITIVE NEWS ABOUT GUYANA.

Click on link for article:

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...yana-festival-nears/

fLIGHTS ARE ABOUT $1440 from TO to GY...grrrrrr

Not only is it expensive travelling to Guyana, but it is also tedious and tiresome. It is rare to find a direct flight to Georgetown. And stop-overs tend to be long and exhausting. The cheapest flight between New York and Georgetown is $1023 on Copa airlines---but it arrives the next day.

http://www.expedia.com/

fLIGHTS ARE ABOUT $1440 from TO to GY...grrrrrr

Not only is it expensive travelling to Guyana, but it is also tedious and tiresome. It is rare to find a direct flight to Georgetown. And stop-overs tend to be long and exhausting. The cheapest flight between New York and Georgetown is $1023 on Copa airlines---but it arrives the next day.

http://www.expedia.com/

how you plan to fill them hotels