Tourism has central role to play in Guyana’s future – President

Tourism has central role to play in Guyana’s future –President
President Donald Ramotar and Tourism Minister (ag) Irfaan Ali with awardees (Adrian Narine photo)

Recipient of the President’s Award for Investment in Tourism Chunilall Baboolall owner of RY Enterprises Inc receives award from President Ramotar

PRESIDENT Donald Ramotar alluded that tourism has a central role to play in the future of Guyana.

He made this comment at the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce and the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA) 8th annual tourism awards ceremony on Friday at the Guyana International Conference Centre, Liliendaal.

Under the theme ‘Tourism Entrepreneurs and Ambassadors Mobilised’ the Tourism Ministry and the GTA recognised all tourism stakeholders at one of the signature events within its month-long list of activities.

“This is where we recognise and reward our partners in the development of tourism in several categories,” GTA’s Senior Communications Officer, Ms. Chevon Lim noted as she opened the ceremony.

Recipient of the President’s Award for Investment in Tourism Cassia Alphonso, owner of 704 Sports Bar and Night Club receives award from President Ramotar

Eighteen awards were presented at the ceremony. Three companies copped the prestigious President’s Award for Investment in Tourism, namely the 704 Sports Bar and Night Club under the umbrella of Alfonso’s Group, BK Air an arm of BK International and RY Enterprises Inc.

President of the Tourism and Hospitality Association of Guyana (THAG), Shaun McGrath congratulated the awardees while also noting that all players in the sector are winners “because we have come a long way in the last few years. Visitors’ arrivals have increased year after year, this just proves that destination Guyana has made its way on the market.”

He explained the reasons for the Guyana Tourism Ambassadors programme and noted too that THAG is in full support as this venture which will promote destination Guyana overseas as well as locally. He stressed and at the same time encouraged all Guyanese “that you too need to be full time ambassadors of Guyana.”

McGrath emphasised that there are many reasons why Guyana’s product is receiving so much interest and we need to continue promoting the positives of our country. “We all have a role in promoting the positives of Guyana and indeed these are many,” he said.

The Guyana Tourism Ambassadors were all announced at the ceremony, and they are David ‘Dave’ Martins, Clive Hubert Lloyd, Andrew King, Hugh Ross, Nicolette Fernandes, Joseph ‘Reds’ Perreira and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Recipient of the President’s Award for Investment in Tourism Briony Tiwarie owner of BK Air receives award from President Ramotar

Acting Minister of Tourism Industry & Commerce, Irfaan Ali, also congratulated the awardees and urged all to be committed to Guyana and change the negative mind set we have. He expressed that tourism provides the best opportunities to bring the country together.

Ali alluded that Guyana will be twinning its tourism product with Barbados. He noted that this is the way forward and these are the decisions we need to take if we want to move forward. He explained that “you will be offered the sun, sand and sea as well as a complete eco-tourism package,” by doing this it will make all aspects of travel, accommodation and food less expensive.

Ali explained that tourism has proven itself as a contributor to the economy and will become a major contributor to the economy. He emphasised that tourism is the future of Guyana and “tourism will succeed and will dominate.”

A section of the audience in attendance

Richard Sealy, Chairman of the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO), expressed congratulations to all and urged all stakeholders to promote their country as this is where the future is heading. Tourism, he explained, is the future and twinning with Barbados will benefit both countries.

During his feature address, President Ramotar congratulated the Tourism Minister and his staff for promoting tourism in Guyana and for working with the persons that are directly involved. He noted that “this is a partnership with the Government and the private sector, and this partnership has been doing well.”

He noted that the joint package with Barbados is a great economic and business collaboration and as he explained that integration within CARICOM will be accelerated when we have such partnership. He added that such collaboration will bring the Caribbean countries together with one goal and would eventually lead to further collaboration with other Regions.

The Head of State asserted: “We have a glorious future and I am absolutely sure with the whole process of us diversifying our economy. Tourism has a central role in this regard.”

Source - http://guyanachronicle.com/tou...as-future-president/

“We have a glorious future and I am absolutely sure with the whole process of us diversifying our economy. Tourism has a central role in this regard.”

Back in the days when you misbehave in school, teacher would let you write a sentence 100 times on the black board. I wish I could write the above sentence 200 times right now.  

For the last 10 years the PPP has been babbling about tourism, and have decided to count border crossers into Corriverton and Lethem as tourists because the numbers of true tourists have declined.

Most of the "promotion" for eco tourism to Guyana is out of the UK, and yet not even 10k visitors arrive for there. And I am sure that most of these are UK resident Guyanese and people traveling on business.

Guyana is EXPENSIVE when compared to Suriname with a much less developed tourist product.

Nehru, Kwame & Manni

say Guyana Nice...

Bourda Market area

after some of the flooding have dissipated.

Bourda Market area after some of the flooding have dissipated.

Nasty and stink

Just like the current regime.

Jalil, do you need some attention?........

Sorry....I forget to mention you....

How da Happen Cobra?

Nehru, Kwame & Manni + Cobra

say Guyana Nice...

Bourda Market area

Nasty and stink

Guyana has to offer tourists a different kind of attraction because we don't have blue water and white sand beaches. Oh, rass...we're all Guyanese and we know that very well. Why people wish to see Guyana fail on every front?

D_G, when you believe in something and work hard to achieve it, it will definitely blossom. Tourism is not political. It's the attraction that your country can offer foreigners to share and enjoy. We have black water and muddy water that you wouldn't find anywhere in the world. Guyana is not selling G/T. People need to get out of the city to see the beauty of Guyana.

Guyana has to offer tourists a different kind of attraction because we don't have blue water and white sand beaches. Oh, rass...we're all Guyanese and we know that very well. Why people wish to see Guyana fail on every front?

We need people who will spend money on cooked Guyanese meals and Guyanese products not just coming to Guyana to catch fish and then eating the fish that they catch.  We need to look for ways to bring some of those cruise ships. 

Wally
Last edited by Wally
Originally Posted by Wally:

Well you are correct.  Eco tourism is our strenght as a country.  Its good to see tourism being a major focus now.  It has to be a major player if we are to develop as a country.

Wally, Guyana may not be the best country, but is not the worst either. let put politics aside and support its effort on every front. We, from the diaspora are trying to make end meet and yearns to go back to our country. Guyana is still our country and it doesn't matter who runs it, I always support any improvement that our country can benefit in the future. This is non-political for me.

The PPP ought to get rid of that big mouth President.

They need new blood with different ideas.

This business of Tourism is all talk and nothing more but a lot of crap.

I've been hearing this future foe the past 50 years.. 

What will they think of next?

Rama, they have big mouth like HM_R. 

Rama who will they put if they get rid of Donald?

Yuh Family looking good.....

De Lady Pandit......

PPP MP, Dr, Vindhya Persaud

Look she got mo Balls than

de rest of them in Freedom House

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....nd-offensive-ppp-mp/

Jalil, that is the best you posted all day. Thanks! 

Cobra yuh agree with the Lady.....

PPP Member of Parliament, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, has noted her dissatisfaction with the comments made by Minister of Legal Affairs and Attorney General, Anil Nandlall, during a recorded conversation with a senior Kaieteur News reporter.

Nandlall was heard saying that there are plans afoot to kill “innocent people” working at Kaieteur News in reaction to the many exposing stories the paper has been carrying.

He was also heard admitting that he used taxpayers’ money for personal reasons. The Attorney General, in the recording referred to a female Kaieteur News reporter as a “lil thing” and advocated that his uncle, Kamal Mangal got an opportunity to “f**K de girl.”

In an invited comment, Dr. Persaud, has made staunch interventions on the decline of public morality in the past. She said that she found Nandlall’s remarks to be extremely uncouth.

She also sits at the head of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha.

Bhai, get a weekend job. I understand HM_R  better than you and warrior. Go figure.

Wha happen yuh cant talk no more....when yuh hear wha de Pandit Lady talk about You, Nehru, Anil De Chat-3 and Kwame De Chat-5....yuh stop talk now.

Why yuh doan tell dem boy how yuh got a big poke? Like yuh aint gat mo serpent piss distribution fuh do today?

Kwame give yuh a day off today?

Why yuh doan tell dem boy how yuh got a big poke? Like yuh aint gat mo serpent piss distribution fuh do today?

Bro, this is nothing about me or you. We're not getting anywhere with this.

So what you are saying is yuh big posey mouth ain't gat nuthin new for us today?

Guyana is not selling G/T. People need to get out of the city to see the beauty of Guyana.

The first article that I read about Guyana in the NYT Travel Section was about G/town and its unique architecture which we don't respect, and are destroying.

In any case any tourists to Guyana will have to spend time in G/town, so if the city is a mess they will not come.

The fact remains that very few eco tourists visit Guyana, some say about 10k.  And this is after over 10 years of the PPP babbling about tourism.  These are a bunch or ignorant, arrogant, and corrupt peasants who know nothing about this.

Ranting that 8 jetways will lead to airlines from Asia and Africa to land in Guyana, which will then become a hub for South America because "we are the only English speaking country in South America".

And they need to stop having Irfaan Ally be the spokesperson for Guyana's tourism image on ads seen on CAL and elsewhere.  He is stupid, and primitive, and is inarticulate and an embarrassment. Why a hotelier, tour operator or some one who knows what thy are talking about.

.  We need to look for ways to bring some of those cruise ships. 

1.  Cruise ship passengers spend little when compared to stay over visitors.

2.  Because of the size of Guyana they will not get to see much beyond G/town.  Do you want them to see garbage.

3.  Most of the cruise lines focus on routes within easy reach of Florida.  Even islands like Grenada have to fight hard to attract these vessels.

4. G/town harbor cannot accommodate those huge vessels.

5.  The best we will be is a niche destination attracting the "yachts" which travel down to the Amazon.

Guyana has interesting potential, but until the PPP is dumped nothing will happen.  These people grew up reading Karl Marx, and have since learned to steal and hang out with drug traffickers.  Sophisticated sectors are beyond their grasp.

Guyana is still our country

If Guyana is "our" country then why does the PPP behave as if over 50% of us don't matter.  It should not matter which political party we support, or if we even support any.

But in the PPPs Guyana only their corrupt cronies are allowed in.

2.  Because of the size of Guyana they will not get to see much beyond G/town.  Do you want them to see garbage.

3.  Most of the cruise lines focus on routes within easy reach of Florida.  Even islands like Grenada have to fight hard to attract these vessels.

5.  The best we will be is a niche destination attracting the "yachts" which travel down to the Amazon.

Guyana has interesting potential, but until the PPP is dumped nothing will happen.  These people grew up reading Karl Marx, and have since learned to steal and hang out with drug traffickers.  Sophisticated sectors are beyond their grasp.

A good point about the yachts. I like the Baganara Island Resort development.

Wally

I have to give it to my Friend J.....He is an Expert in Travel & Tourism.... and the Govt needs to tap into this type of Knowledge......But he will be seen as a Decent man by Lamumba & Kwame and just wanting to upset their runnings.

take it easy ramu how will ali get to thief if you stop tourism 

I have to give it to my Friend J.....He is an Expert in Travel & Tourism.... and the Govt needs to tap into this type of Knowledge......But he will be seen as a Decent man by Lamumba & Kwame and just wanting to upset their runnings.

The PPP only likes black thugs like Lumumba and company.  When the PPP goes then I will offer my expertise and connections.  Until then it will be a waste of time, and an embarrassment when people say the kind of uncouth people who are ministers in the PPP.

Nehru, Kwame & Manni

say Guyana Nice...

Bourda Market area

Nasty and stink

I think Rumtar got to be really DUNCE to make such a statement.