Torrential rains flood Georgetown and environs – more showers expected over next 72 hours

Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Ms Annette Ferguson, and Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Ms Simona Broomes, assessing the damages of yesterday’s deluge in one of the affected neighbourhoods [Photo courtesy of GINA)
Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Ms Annette Ferguson, and Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Ms Simona Broomes, assessing the damages of yesterday’s deluge in one of the affected neighbourhoods (Photo courtesy of GINA)

HEAVY and prolonged rainfall caused severe and extensive flooding in Georgetown and its environs yesterday, affecting streets, homes and business places, while persons are being urged to expect more rain over the next 72 hours.Persons in Georgetown were forced to bear the effects of flash flooding, as they were seen bailing water from their houses and businesses. Some were also struggling to stack sand bags to block as much water as possible from entering their homes.

When the Chronicle caught up with an official from the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA) yesterday, it was disclosed that only some pumps were in operation, as power outages prevented others from functioning.

This, however, the official disclosed was quickly corrected as they worked assiduously to ensure that all were functioning.

Apart from that, the Chronicle observed that garbage still remains a key contributor to floods as drains were clogged, prohibiting the ready flow of water.

Public transportation was scarce yesterday, as some taxi services were under water and unable to work, and minibuses were hardly seen.

Part of the four-lane road leading to the East Coast of Demerara, from the junction at Sheriff Street, scarcely had traffic due to the flooded roadway.
Persons were made to use one side of the four-lane road to travel both to and from the East Coast and Georgetown for quite some time.

MORE RAIN
Meanwhile, citizens are advised that heavy rainfall and thunderstorms are expected to persist over the next 72 hours.

The Ministry of Agriculture and other governmental agencies, in a release, announced that they are urging citizens to do all they can to safeguard themselves, their family, property and crops and livestock from being damaged.

“Citizens are urged to protect their children from floodwaters, and to boil all drinking water. If they have to be in the water, they are advised to wear protective boots and to wash their feet with a mixture of bleach and water.”

The Hydrometeorological Department predicts that today, cloudy to overcast skies are expected over all regions, while moderate to heavy showers and thunderstorms can also be expected over Regions 1 (Barima-Waini) to 7 (Cuyuni-Mazaruni), 10 (Upper Demerara- Upper Berbice) and some parts of Region 8 (Potaro-Siparuni).

Northern Guyana, including Georgetown and East Coast Demerara, can expect between 20mm to 60 mm of rainfall. All other locations can expect frequent light rain. Tuesday through Thursday, rainfall is expected to reach 20 to 50mm.

By Navendra Seoraj

This sucks! This should not happen. As much as I hate Burnham, this didn't happen in those days. The drains were always clean...maybe they started to get clogged towards the end of his rein. Bring back the Village Councils!!! This cannot be overemphasized.

THe PNC magic of turning everything they touch to FILTH!!!!!!!!!

Give them hell, nehrubhai.   Stick it to those AFC morons who blamed Jagdeo for an act of God.  It works Both ways.  It's Moses fault. 

Which one of the two, Granger or Moses is Midas? I thought they promised everything they touch will be gold. Drown GT.

Give them hell, nehrubhai.   Stick it to those AFC morons who blamed Jagdeo for an act of God.  It works Both ways.  It's Moses fault. 

Morons indeed and certified Morons to be correct. Also, ASS WIPE KN change their tone and coverage. It shows CLEARLY they were not concerned about Fairness. In the PPP days , Front  Page would have the FLOOD in Technicolor and a very NEGATIVE Headline. Those BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!

Which one of the two, Granger or Moses is Midas? I thought they promised everything they touch will be gold. Drown GT.

I think if you take a magnifying glass and push it up their ASSes, you will see gold..

I'm so happy that you three are rubbing each other, go for it you dam idiots.

Go get some fresh air bro. What makes you think we are idiots and we don't consider you a jackass?

HAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAHAA  A JACKASS INDEED THE WEED HEAD IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aye dankey not only did they block up existing canals and fail to maintain old kokers, but I can think of six canals filled in over the past 25 years.

Originally Posted by TK:

Aye dankey not only did they block up existing canals and fail to maintain old kokers, but I can think of six canals filled in over the past 25 years.

Another JACKASS shows up.

Yuh PPP party nah fix pumps for over a year in Georgetown. But don't worry, dem gon fix by tomorrow.

Yuh see how yuh PPP Cabal wutliss Nehru? Yuh tink dem was trying fuh flood out dem Region 4 black people bai? wha you tink?

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/pu...rastructure-ministry

you is a idiot no thinking have to go into it 

Guyana unda Wata!!  Guyana gone fuh Channa.  Les that 20 Days and the incompetent PNC destroying Guyana!!!

you and skeltonman get buckets and start bailing make yourself useful 

Guyana unda Wata!!  Guyana gone fuh Channa.  Les that 20 Days and the incompetent PNC destroying Guyana!!!

you and skeltonman get buckets and start bailing make yourself useful 

Nehru gat wan enamel cup fuh bail wid, but it got wan hole in am now.Ah Granga fault!!!

Well! well! well! The ball is now in the PNC's court.  Floods were previously blamed on the PPP lack of vision, when it was really the PNC's non cooperation that led to kokers and trenches being block. Let us see how the new Government can cope with their clean up campaign. 

Rum Boogie,

You read the article and see dem koker gon fix by tomorrow, right? Put down the haff bottle and read.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Rum Boogie,

You read the article and see dem koker gon fix by tomorrow, right? Put down the haff bottle and read.

You are an  a.s.s.h.o.l.e..

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Rum Boogie,

But ah iz a sober wan. You arse hole suh drunk it kyant even shyte straight.

Rum Boogie,

But ah iz a sober wan. You arse hole suh drunk it kyant even shyte straight.

You are the drunk. 

Yuh totally ruin DG thread. Ah hope he tek off he diapers and throw am pon yuh drunk r.ass

You are the drunk. 

Yuh totally ruin DG thread. Ah hope he tek off he diapers and throw am pon yuh drunk r.ass

You are drunk! always drunk.  You father was the same..

You are the drunk. 

Yuh leff yuhself WIDDDDDDEEEEE open deh pandit. But ah nah gon tek de shot. Go knock anodda haff.

You are the drunk. 

Yuh leff yuhself WIDDDDDDEEEEE open deh pandit. But ah nah gon tek de shot. Go knock anodda haff.

You still are a drunk..  

You are the drunk. 

Like dadee like son!

You are the drunk. 

Like dadee like son!

You and Rama should have your own reality show.

REUNION OF DRUNKIES.