Here are my thoughts:

How will they be able to deal with the drug lords effectively?  

How will they deal with the Security situation in Guyana?

What will they do to bring in Revenues in Guyana?  (Don't tell me sugar, because it is dead).

How will they UNITE a country that has never been this divided in History?

How will they create jobs for the young unemployed?

Economic empowerment of poor people through less taxes and social reforms.

Stop the drug trade.

Job creation at all levels with greater focus on jobs for poor people.

Reduce the crime rate by providing necessary equipment to the police force and  holding top brass accountable.

Improve health care at all levels.

Improve education for the poor.

Empower Amerindians.

Improve the energy sector.

Address racial and economic insecurity.

Fire the square pegs in round hole from public office.

Recover money lost to corruption where possible.

Institute Constitutional reform with special attention to curbing the powers of the President.

Control corruption and institute procedures for a more transparent government.

Institute procedures for transparent awarding of contracts.

Create a more efficient public sectors by holding public employees to higher standards.

Stop deforestation.

Address how the diaspora can help in development of Guyana.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Stop the drug trade.

Reduce the crime rate by providing necessary equipment to the police force and  holding top brass accountable.

Empower Amerindians.

Institute Constitutional reform with special attention to curbing the powers of the President.

Create a more efficient public sectors by holding public employees to higher standards.

Stop deforestation.

Rass bai, the good lady ask for "5", not the whole 9 yards!

On your last point, well the diaspora already did their thing, they handed Guyana the PNC.

Stop the drug trade.

Empower Amerindians.

Stop deforestation.

Rass bai, the good lady ask for "5", not the whole 9 yards!

Things so bad 5 can't wuk

Security

Economy

Education

Employment

Healthcare

and for good measure...a sixth

Clean the place up!

I was just about to offer my 5, buy Riffy's offerings are the same.

Alyuh bais don't care bout corruption nah or yuh hide dat under Economy.

Which of the 5 would you displace?

Here is what the Rev would advise President Granger to do:

1. Establish Zero Tolerance for Bribery and Corruption---if that means half the bureaucracy will eventually be fired---and half the police force will be gone---so be it---that's a plus for Guyana and Guyanese.

2. Establish A Guyana Energy Policy---Guyana will never rise to a higher plateau economically unless the country has a cheaper source of energy---the new Guyana energy will focus on opportunities in hydro and wind and foreign investors will be invited to participate.

3. Establish at least 2 Economic Development Zones in Guyana---foreign direct investments will be encouraged---and tax holidays and other benefits given.

4. Establish a New Guyana Infrastructure Policy----invite the Brazuilians, the Chinese, the Norwegians and other countries with money to invest in deep water harbor---roads and railways to Brazil---bridge to Suriname, etc, ets----also continue with the airport expansion----after eliminating the PPP thiefing and corruption in the project started by the PPP.

5. Reform the Guyana Constitution working closely with the PPP---egos need to be thrown out---and serious work need to be done here.

* There you have it---if the Rev were President---that's what he would do---but Rev ain't interested in a shitty job like being President---so the above is what I would advise Granger to do.

Originally Posted by TI:

They are depending on future oil revenues. Believe me, nothing will change in Guyana, just new people on top. When the euphoria wears off, back to same o!

* You know your fellow Guyanese too well, especially the politicians.

* That country can blast off if the leaders had vision.

* Too many self-serving, opportunistic charlatans in power---starting with the PPP---and now the PNC/AFC.

Security

Economy

Education

Employment

Healthcare

Clean the place up!

Economy and Employment should go hand in hand so I would add Controlling Corruption as no. 2 and nak out Employment, but there is not top 5.  Too much problems.

Here is what the Rev would advise President Granger to do:

4. Establish a New Guyana Infrastructure Policy----invite the Brazuilians, the Chinese, the Norwegians and other countries with money to invest in deep water harbor---roads and railways to Brazil---bridge to Suriname, etc, ets----also continue with the airport expansion----after eliminating the PPP thiefing and corruption in the project started by the PPP.

This cannot be done in the short term.  Too much resources involved for too little benefit.

Security

Economy

Education

Employment

Healthcare

Clean the place up!

Economy and Employment should go hand in hand so I would add Controlling Corruption as no. 2 and nak out Employment, but there is not top 5.  Too much problems.

Sausage getting caught up in yuh shorts bai, the good lady (Alena06) ask for 5, not a long-winded rigmarole.

This cannot be done in the short term.  Too much resources involved for too little benefit.

* I don't want to hear "cannot be done". That's the mentality of a TALKER.

* We just saw China's interest to invest 50 billion in Brazilian infrastructure.

http://www.businessinsider.com...ion-in-brazil-2015-5

* Granger needs to set ambitions goals---invite foreign investors---there are numerous achievable goals in all sectors of Guyana.

* DOES GRANGER HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SET AMBITIOUS GOALS AND ACHIEVE THEM ?

* Or is he like you VVP---a bloke who likely uses his brain to determine why something wouldn't work---rather than using it to find a way to make things work.

* Actually I may have been a tad harsh on you above VVP---hope you're not riled up too much.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Here are my thoughts:

What will they do to bring in Revenues in Guyana?  (Don't tell me sugar, because it is dead).

You actually highlighted the reasons for the PPP's performance at the polls.

Did they need to?

Outsourced to some organization

Ah, sugar. Who was Guysuco's chairman again? And what is he reporting about its finances?

Jagdeo at Babu John anyone?

Ever been to South Ruimveldt or Guyhoc Gardens?

Here are my thoughts:

You actually highlighted the reasons for the PPP's performance at the polls.

Did they need to?

Outsourced to some organization

Ah, sugar. Who was Guysuco's chairman again? And what is he reporting about its finances?

Jagdeo at Babu John anyone?

Ever been to South Ruimveldt or Guyhoc Gardens?

Ah arrives the last of the castrated.

* Or is he like you VVP---a bloke who likely uses his brain to determine why something wouldn't work---rather than using it to find a way to make things work.

* Actually I may have been a tad harsh on you above VVP---hope you're not riled up too much.

Banna, I know what I saying.  What else can I say without sounding pompous.

OF COURSE:

* President will need DOERS not TALKERS to propel Guyana forward.

* Granger and the PNC/AFC politicians talked a good talk during the campaign---and 50.3% of the Guyana electorate elected them.

* NOW LETS SEE IF THEY ARE DOERS AND CAN PUT INTO ACTION THE THINGS THEY TALKED ABOUT.

Rev, I agree with you that "Talk is Cheap." We bought every word you said.  

Regardless of all suggestions here, APNU+AFC has already set its priorities for the first 100 days in office. The list consists of 21 items. The list will not be dealt with consecutively from #1 onwards, so at this stage I don't know the top 5.

1. Reduction in the Berbice Bridge toll.
2. Significant salary increases for government workers, including nurses, teachers in primary, secondary and tertiary education; security personnel; and civil servants on the traditional payroll.
3. Immediately implement a phased reduction of VAT and the removal of VAT from food and other essential items.
4. Significant increase in Old Age pensions.
5. Reduction of the Presidents Pension and other benefits will be recommended and referred to a Special Select Committee of the National Assembly for determination.
6. Establishment of passport and birth certificate licensing offices in Berbice, Essequibo and Linden.
7. Return of television station to Lindeners.
8. Waiving of duties on fuel, tools and small scale mining equipment bought by identifiable holders of small concessions.
9. Set the date for the early holding of Local Government Elections.
10. Establishment of the Public Procurement Commission.
11. Establishment of a National Cane Workers and Cane Farmers Conference.
12. Establishment of a National Rice Farmers and Rice Millers Conference.
13. Establishment of an Investigative Commission on Corruption.
14. Establishment of Task Forces: on Crime & Security and on Road Safety.
15. A National Conference of Women will be held and a bi-partisan Women’s Working Group established as part of the Healing the Nation & National Unity thrust of the APNU+AFC. The Gender Policy will be collectively drafted by women from across Guyana as an output from the Conference.
16. A Code of Conduct will be established for Parliamentarians, Ministers and others holding high positions in government public office to abide by, including mechanisms for demitting office if in violation of the Code of
Conduct.
17. The National Youth Council will be convened and its mandate, terms of reference and programme of action produced for endorsement at a National Youth Conference.
18. An Indigenous Peoples Rights & Resources Conference will be held and the National Toshaos Council re-assessed and depoliticised.
19. Liberalization of the Telecommunications and ICT sectors;
20. Adoption of a long-term sustainable economic development plan to realize the vast potential of this country;
21. Implementation of an amended Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act.

Regardless of all suggestions here, APNU+AFC has already set its priorities for the first 100 days in office. The list consists of 21 items. The list will not be dealt with consecutively from #1 onwards, so at this stage I don't know the top 5.

2. Significant salary increases for government workers, including nurses, teachers in primary, secondary and tertiary education; security personnel; and civil servants on the traditional payroll.
3. Immediately implement a phased reduction of VAT and the removal of VAT from food and other essential items.
5. Reduction of the Presidents Pension and other benefits will be recommended and referred to a Special Select Committee of the National Assembly for determination.
6. Establishment of passport and birth certificate licensing offices in Berbice, Essequibo and Linden.
8. Waiving of duties on fuel, tools and small scale mining equipment bought by identifiable holders of small concessions.
15. A National Conference of Women will be held and a bi-partisan Women’s Working Group established as part of the Healing the Nation & National Unity thrust of the APNU+AFC. The Gender Policy will be collectively drafted by women from across Guyana as an output from the Conference.
16. A Code of Conduct will be established for Parliamentarians, Ministers and others holding high positions in government public office to abide by, including mechanisms for demitting office if in violation of the Code of
Conduct.
17. The National Youth Council will be convened and its mandate, terms of reference and programme of action produced for endorsement at a National Youth Conference.
18. An Indigenous Peoples Rights & Resources Conference will be held and the National Toshaos Council re-assessed and depoliticised.
20. Adoption of a long-term sustainable economic development plan to realize the vast potential of this country;
21. Implementation of an amended Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act.

Uncle GILLY:

Only 5 SIR.  

Here are my thoughts:

Querymonius Alena, where will they find 16Billion to give your Compadre Raj Singh to bail out Guysuco?

Alena06,  that would make up 06.

Conduct.

Uncle GILLY:

Only 5 SIR.  

Did you read what I wrote at the top? I don't know which 5 the government will implement first. Take #21; the US Administration wants that bill passed ASAP.

I am not going to venture 5 priorities on my own; that's merely an academic exercise. I supported APNU+AFC and its Manifesto and I'm holding the government to account for its own 21-point priorities.

What will be the cost of implementation?.  Where is TK hiding.  These guys don't believe in collecting revenues.. 

What is the cost of not implementing?  Rama, I really don't know where you coming from sometimes.  Could you instead offer your 5 top priority ideas as the lady request rather than pelting stones.

Revenues will be collected, starting with retrieving stolen assets and unreported income from the "tax-evaders".  Granger should offer a deal and amnesty for tax evaders who want to come clean.  Those who do not, will not only be charged any assessed taxes owed, but penalties and interest or even suspension/loss of business license if convicted in a court of law.  Follow the Greek model.

Do you think the PPP was doing a good enough job?

Here are my thoughts:

These are serious indictments of the PPP/C failures during their 23 years in office. 

What will be the cost of implementation?.  Where is TK hiding.  These guys don't believe in collecting revenues.. 

What is the cost of not implementing?  Rama, I really don't know where you coming from sometimes.  Could you instead offer your 5 top priority ideas as the lady request rather than pelting stones.

Revenues will be collected, starting with retrieving stolen assets and unreported income from the "tax-evaders".  Granger should offer a deal and amnesty for tax evaders who want to come clean.  Those who do not, will not only be charged any assessed taxes owed, but penalties and interest or even suspension/loss of business license if convicted in a court of law.  Follow the Greek model.

Do you think the PPP was doing a good enough job?

That is possibly a good way of starting,...but will be interesting to see what they do to ensure a constant flow of revenues.