Baby, toddler locked in car with keys in ignition …parents refuse to break into vehicle as NCN’s Michael Gordon breaks back window and rescues the childrenPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Leroy Smith   
Monday, 03 December 2012 22:57

THE parents of two children are likely to appear in court soon charged with parental neglect after their two children, aged 15 months and two years four months, were left unattended and locked in a motor car Sunday afternoon.

alt

The two children who were trapped are seen in this photo with their grandfather

The father of the children, who is known as Chris, a television personality who hosts a regular programme on Channel 67 said that the locking of the children in the car was not deliberate.
The incident occurred on Robb Street between Alexander and Bourda Streets in Georgetown. Reports reaching the Guyana Chronicle stated that the children were left for almost 15 minutes in the vehicle.
Persons in the busy shopping area got wind of the development after the mother of the children stood outside of the car commenting that her children were locked in the car and she was refusing to break the window to free the children. Their father had gone to make a purchase at the Church’s Fast Food Restaurant at Bourda.
alt

The Vehicle PNN 5642 in which the children were trapped is seen here at the Alberttown Police Station

When the Guyana Chronicle arrived on the scene the father of the children explained that they had just come all the way from Parika and decided to stop at the location to make a purchase. He said that throughout the journey from Parika they were driving with the air conditioning of the vehicle up; so when he stopped at Bourda he decided to turn it off because it was extremely cold.
He said that he turned the engine of the vehicle off and left the keys in the ignition. He also stated that when he exited the vehicle he left his fiancÉe there with the two children.
According to the confused father, it was after his fiancÉe decided to exit the vehicle while he was at the restaurant, that the doors locked automatically, with the children trapped inside and the key in the ignition.
alt

Father of the children and television personality Chris waits for extra keys to arrive while his children remain trapped in the car

The man said that when persons attempted to break the window of the car to free the children, both he and his fiancÉe objected.
The man said the vehicle was rented and the owner lived at Cummings Lodge, and he had telephoned him and asked that he bring the duplicate key.
However this publication was able to determine that the father of the children lied as it was confirmed that the key was coming not from Cummings Lodge, but from farther up the coast.

The Guyana Chronicle was able to confirm that the car is registered and belongs to Aniroon Dass of Lot 81 Block 12 Non Pariel, East Coast of Demerara. According to him the owner of the car assured him that he was going to come to the location with a spare key to open the car.
It took the initiative of the Chief Executive officer of the National Communications Network, Michael Gordon, to break the back window of the car and free the children. Gordon was said to have been in the area at the time and observed the unfortunate situation.
Had the NCN CEO not broken the glass at the time he did, it is not clear if the children would have been able to survive until the spare key arrived from Non Pariel.
The development saw shoppers and vendors in the area summoning the police who arrived on the scene a few minutes after the children were freed.
The police immediately took the parents into custody, taking them down to the Alberttown Police Station where they were required to give statements.
A police source informed this publication that they will be required to revisit the area where the incident occurred. The police source said that persons will be interviewed in an effort for the police to have enough understanding and evidence of what really occurred on Sunday afternoon.

What a tough decision.....break the glass or save the lives of my children. I can understand the hesitancy since its not my car but....darn

you can just turn a car off here in Florida and the heat can get to you immediately. Good for that man for breaking the glass.

Why was the Kids not instructed how to get the window open? Just a thought. Anyway, it is sad to see him risking the children lives.

rass bai..yuh ah wan real katahar

Originally Posted by raymond:

Why was the Kids not instructed how to get the window open? Just a thought. Anyway, it is sad to see him risking the children lives.

rass bai..yuh ah wan real katahar

So that would make you Katahar Pickney.

Originally Posted by Riya:

What a tough decision.....break the glass or save the lives of my children. I can understand the hesitancy since its not my car but....darn

you can just turn a car off here in Florida and the heat can get to you immediately. Good for that man for breaking the glass.

Hey Riya - good to see you here...Guyana is sooooo hot those kids would have been 'cooked in a short time'...

But sometimes it is just mother's instinct - get my kids out, I woulda smashed that thing in a sec.

Nehru - the eldest was 15 months, so not sure if he can follow instructions, also the windows were up so difficult to hear..

Bottom line - glad they are safe and thanks to the good samaritan :-)

Originally Posted by alena06:

Hey Riya - good to see you here...Guyana is sooooo hot those kids would have been 'cooked in a short time'...

But sometimes it is just mother's instinct - get my kids out, I woulda smashed that thing in a sec.

Nehru - the eldest was 15 months, so not sure if he can follow instructions, also the windows were up so difficult to hear..

My kids were smaller and when they sitting in front will turn the keys and stuff but I understand all are not born the same.

they must be professional race car drivers by now

Originally Posted by alena06:

Hey Alena, how are you? Kiddies ready for Christmas? 

I hear ya.....wouldn't even be a choice, just break the darn thing indeed. Guyana and FL heat can be brutal!

Hey Alena, how are you? Kiddies ready for Christmas? 

I am great Riya...kiddies are decorating the tree this year..well they put on the decorations first b4 the lights, so started all over again...lol.

lmao, you realized the children are both under 3 year old.

Originally Posted by criminal#1:

lmao, you realized the children are both under 3 year old.

Three years old drove cars in Texas and other States Bhai. They were left alone in cars and were able to turn the ignition.  Me Pickney dem were turning ignition on since dem bin ah 3. Well, I understand not all are born equal.

I will take a peakOriginally Posted by Amral:

true true Guyanese bai, remember to watch for RC tomorrow night.

I will take a Peak if the old lady allow me. She  saying I talkin bout RC too much.