Deepika Jalakam held her daughter Reya with her parents Rukmini, left, and Sadanand Jalakam, right, at her home. Ms. Jalakam fears that she will be forced to give up her job because of changes in visa programs by the Trump adminstration. Credit Jim Wilson/The New York Times

LIVERMORE, Calif. — For seven years, Deepika Jalakam sat at home. Bored, unfulfilled and dependent on her husband for every dime, she struggled with the notion that her professional life was doomed in the land of opportunity.

So when the employment card arrived in the mail in 2015, Ms. Jalakam did what she often does when good fortune comes her way: She placed it before the gods in the Hindu shrine mounted in her kitchen cabinet, blessed it with a dab of red “kum kum” powder and recited a prayer of gratitude.

Within weeks, Ms. Jalakam, who has a degree in biotechnology, landed a job as an analyst at an insurance company. The next year, she and her husband, Vinay Kumar, a software engineer, bought a house. In 2017, the finances of the Indian immigrant couple were secure enough that they decided to have a second child.

All that planning, though, is in jeopardy. Ms. Jalakam and thousands of other spouses of skilled workers have been told that their special work permits — authorization that can mean the difference between struggling and thriving in their adopted homeland — are likely to be revoked.

read more

Look how Indos are progressive people:

"So when the employment card arrived in the mail in 2015, Ms. Jalakam did what she often does when good fortune comes her way: She placed it before the gods in the Hindu shrine mounted in her kitchen cabinet, blessed it with a dab of red “kum kum” powder and recited a prayer of gratitude.

Within weeks, Ms. Jalakam, who has a degree in biotechnology, landed a job as an analyst at an insurance company. The next year, she and her husband, Vinay Kumar, a software engineer, bought a house. In 2017, the finances of the Indian immigrant couple were secure enough that they decided to have a second child."

This article was written by an idiot.  Indian women are among the highest paid women in the US.  Look at Indra Nooyi at Pepsi, Seema Verma at CMS, and Sonia Chawla at Kohls.   The best female doctors in the US are Indian women.

What kind of visa these women have?

I agree, as usual, empty bluster and irrelevant to the subject at hand.  This issue has to do with the much abused H1B and the accompanying spouse and their employment status.

Trump want to revise the H1B which is being used to undercut US IT worker wages with skill readily available in the USA.  I know many US Indians who admit this to be the case and agree with Trump's position.

The accompanying spouses are granted non-employment visas.  If the H1B status changes, the laws need to address the spouses and their employment status during transition.  This is not a Trump issue but a visa/immigration issue which needs streamlining!

The H1B visa issue affects men more than women.  The successful Indian women don't worry too much.  As soon as they hit that six figure salary the white US men marry them and they eventually become US citizens.

You are way out in the left field with your comparisons.  Go and read Baseman's comments and educate yourself. 

Once again, ignaramous irrelevance.  

True, H1B visas may affect more men than women however, the point is irrelevant as this deals with the accompanying spouse, which, by default, means women.

As for who single H1b marries after being here, once again, irrelevant! 

You mean as in PNC dumb and dumber?!

We know that's what you are. Why are you exclaiming your question? You were an English teacher and you do know that one of its use is: 1. an abrupt, emphatic, or excited cry or utterance; interjection; ejaculation. 

Ramblings of a Lunatic!!

Finally some sparkle of relevance:

Dumb - Relevant as in your first response

Dumber - Relevant as in your 2nd response

PNC - Irrelevant, this is to do with H1B, mostly Indian, not Guyanese of PNC persuasion!

Something is wrong with you . This a well written article that illustrate the frustration of people who are brilliant and still cannot work due to the many constrait's by the Federal Government  and Congress.

We know that's what you are. Why are you exclaiming your question? You were an English teacher and you do know that one of its use is: 1. an abrupt, emphatic, or excited cry or utterance; interjection; ejaculation

Fond memories!

Something is wrong with you . This a well written article that illustrate the frustration of people who are brilliant and still cannot work due to the many constrait's by the Federal Government  and Congress.

True however, putting aside the irrelevance of Bibi's comment, if someone has an educated spouse, don't accept an H1B where he/she is unable to work.  Don't accept the conditions then make a scene after you arrive!

Trump should reduce H1B's so the issue diminishes!

The only reason Trump is going to rescind this is because it was implemented by the Obama Administration. Trump behaves like Obama is stuck in his throat.

Nonsense, H1B was set up for a specific reason before Obama.  It has become a source of labor to undercut American wages.  I agree with his proposal, no H1B if the salary in below $100k.  I would think $120k.

The only reason Trump is going to rescind this is because it was implemented by the Obama Administration. Trump behaves like Obama is stuck in his throat.

Nonsense, H1B was set up for a specific reason before Obama.  It has become a source of labor to undercut American wages.  I agree with his proposal, no H1B if the salary in below $100k.  I would think $120k.

I am not arguing that anything is wrong with rescinding it. My argument is why I think he is doing it. Since he became President, he has been obsessed with Obama. Even today, he couldn't help invoking Obama in his nonsense. 

True however, putting aside the irrelevance of Bibi's comment, if someone has an educated spouse, don't accept an H1B where he/she is unable to work.  Don't accept the conditions then make a scene after you arrive!

What if someone has an uneducated spouse?

You mean like someone who would fit more into an H2B visa? Trump doesn’t seem to mind those as he always apply for H2B visas for foreign workers even though he can find the same help here.

H2B is a non immigrant visa for one time only employment.  I am talking the uneducated spouses who could barely write a proper English sentence even though their first language is English.

What if someone has an uneducated spouse?

Go figure nuh!

H2B is a non immigrant visa for one time only employment.  I am talking the uneducated spouses who could barely write a proper English sentence even though their first language is English.

My guess is Trump wouldn’t make any distinction as he seems to be involved only to change something that Obama did. He is obsessed with Obama.

Who told you this? Your racist compulsions? Ask Lenora who work in the of America's research heartland, NIH with 27 institutes, hundreds of research centers  who constitute their best doctors and researchers? Whether you care to admit it by sheer numbers and titular heads this is the dominion of white people...women and men. There are more Chinese researchers there than indians by a long shot also.

Indians dominate software engineering in Silicon Valley but on the east coast here it is eastern europeans. H1B brought in grunts to replace americans at slave labor. It was the touchstone for indian intellect to enter this nation. With Trump stomping on it that is blocked off and only rich indians would come since universities like Bangalore can no longer make an industry of sending its graduates here.

BTW check the salary scale of the women you mentioned above. They are in high visibility positions but sorry to say, most basket ballers make more than them. Even droopy pants Nick Cannon made more than all three combined last year. Surely it takes brains as well as luck to make money. One cannot then go on to dr dre who works with apple or Oprah who heads an industry with net worth in the billions. When you count winners and losers by race to address intellect and industry you always come up shore.

My guess is Trump wouldn’t make any distinction as he seems to be involved only to change something that Obama did. He is obsessed with Obama.

Trump is following the plan of European right wing parties. It is about ethnic pride and stopping the barbarian hordes who rape white women and water  down the culture and in general corrode white European entelechy. These idiots who feel they are the elites of their kind for supporting him against their personal interest and the good of the planet are the worse of idiots ever. Trump does not see social justice as a human global project. He does not give a rats ass about what he has openly termed shit hold countries. It is clear that he does not think of the world as a holistic symbiotic  organism interdependent and coextendial. He thinks of it as prey and predators and he is concerned with predation.

You came to this country and try to abide with it laws.

When you invest and become a genuine American and will fight for this country then you are more relevant.

Right now you are sponging your way and is parasitically to America's agenda

Vish M

Who told you this? Your racist compulsions? Ask Lenora who work in the of America's research heartland, NIH with 27 institutes, hundreds of research centers  who constitute their best doctors and researchers? Whether you care to admit it by sheer numbers and titular heads this is the dominion of white people...women and men. There are more Chinese researchers there than indians by a long shot also.

Indians dominate software engineering in Silicon Valley but on the east coast here it is eastern europeans. H1B brought in grunts to replace americans at slave labor. It was the touchstone for indian intellect to enter this nation. With Trump stomping on it that is blocked off and only rich indians would come since universities like Bangalore can no longer make an industry of sending its graduates here.

BTW check the salary scale of the women you mentioned above. They are in high visibility positions but sorry to say, most basket ballers make more than them. Even droopy pants Nick Cannon made more than all three combined last year. Surely it takes brains as well as luck to make money. One cannot then go on to dr dre who works with apple or Oprah who heads an industry with net worth in the billions. When you count winners and losers by race to address intellect and industry you always come up shore.

Thanks D2, I wanted to reply to the implied racism but had no time and lost interest.   I agree with you! 

What a stupid comment parsing out Indian female doctors. 

When Rush and his followers talk about America losing its culture, it is not as pure and simple as it sounds. There is a lot of supremacist connotations floating there. Rush is Trump’s Chief Advisor.

Ask Lenora what??  How many Indian women work at NIH?  I am talking about those Indian women who are the top doctors at Mount Sinai, NY Presbyterian and other top hospitals.  We have a little one coming up in the PPP family who will be attending Yale in September.  She will be studying Biochemistry with intentions of studying further in the medical field.  Guess what kind of visa she is coming from Guyana to study with. 

Why Mount Sinai when NIH Is a hundred times bigger and hires the best? Howard University and Meharry have more more black doctors do you think it would be wise to conclude from that that they are the best?

Who cares who among the PPP is going where? This is about a point of fact not fiction or useless bragging on brilliance by ethnicity. Indeed there are many successful indians here and that is manifestly for a reason and it has little to do with brilliance since we can normalize that against India itself to affirm its logical flaw

Bai, this thread gone all over the map when it was a topic on employment status of spouses of H1B visa holders. 

Vote for the next democrat and be assured it will turn out right.

....Guess what kind of visa she is coming from Guyana to study with. 

H1B?

Why Mount Sinai when NIH Is a hundred times bigger and hires the best? Howard University and Meharry have more more black doctors do you think it would be wise to conclude from that that they are the best?

Who cares who among the PPP is going where? This is about a point of fact not fiction or useless bragging on brilliance by ethnicity. Indeed there are many successful indians here and that is manifestly for a reason and it has little to do with brilliance since we can normalize that against India itself to affirm its logical flaw

Pandit when you done with the jarrey paraphernalia, I know someone who want to borrow am!!!

Look how Indos are progressive people:

Yeah... especially those drunk ones sleeping on the sidewalk and those chasing each other with cutlasses in Richmond Hill. What an asinine comment. All people are progressive in the right environment.

Pandit when you done with the jarrey paraphernalia, I know someone who want to borrow am!!!

OML! D2 is a pandit. hahahahahahaha!