Nancy Walton Laurie

AP Nancy Walton Laurie wants $90,000 for a damaged tree.

Wal-Mart heiress Nancy Walton Laurie is suing a developer for allegedly damaging a "cherished" eucalyptus tree at her home in Los Angeles.

Walton Laurie, who is worth nearly $5 billion, is seeking $90,000 from developer Mohamed Hadid's company for apparently traumatizing the tree,    Curbed LA reports  via the  Beverly Hills Courier.

The company built a 200-foot-long retaining wall on a neighboring property that "cut the roots to the family's cherished eucalyptus tree, causing it severe damage and putting it at risk of falling over," Walton Laurie claims in a summary judgement.

She wants Hadid's company to remove the wall, in addition to paying damages.

Bruce Rudman, an attorney for Hadid, says the tree is perfectly healthy and that the retaining wall is in the exact same spot as a wall that it replaced, according to the Beverly Hills Courier.

"We have an arborist who says the tree is thriving, and at one point in time was suffering from the drought," Rudman said.

Walton Laurie is the daughter of Bud Walton, who cofounded Wal-Mart with his brother, Sam Walton. 

Originally Posted by Chameli:

I cried when my hubby cut down all the rose bushes in the back of the house (which came with the yard..so he can pave it and create his retreat with swings and hot tub etc) His thing was, they were NOT mine so he bought new ones for me to plant in the front yard. Every tree in our yard was planted by the 2 of us since all old ones were cut down...

makes me think of the song by bobby goldsborro...don't remember the name

Touching song. "Honey"

When time came around for planting in my neck of the woods, I desperately found excuses.  

I like things tailored. My other half like to be nature conscious, she just plant all over the place.

Always big prablem. You know dem plant get big and dem looking nice wey dem planted.

I offer compliments now, but just like a woman. She remembers to the T how I get on when she was doing it.

Nice lady-she sharpen my patience.

Last edited by seignet

very nice seignet sir...you gave compliments in time the flower garden is mine now...i chose every plant and placed them where i wanted...he got rid of every plant (except for the huge cedar trees) and said, let's make the yard ours.......................................................................................

yes, i think the song is Honey...he even got me a dog  for whom i am so thankful...he is an amazing guard dog and just by his size, folks don't even come close, esp the Jehovahs (no disrespect meant)

Poor JW people. I have friends in that faith-back then they were friends. They stay away now.

Ksaz...sound like a story hubby used to tell about his dad and the Jehovahs

-----------

my aunty is a convert for more than 50 yrs and she does not even go to her own kids birthdays

I know Chami. I just admire their patience. Jehovas only celebrate anniversary. Two weeks ago when I had a birthday, this Jehovah woman at the office didn't feel left out of the celebration because I told her I was also celebrating my anniversary.

Kasz, i know of my own 'relatives' who are muslim who do not celebrate birthdays...more than 20+ yrs now

i always remember calling to wish a 'niece' happy 18th birthday (prob 25 yrs ago) and asked her mom what are the plans for the big day and i was answered with this, "Muslims don't celebrate birthdays".  I was surprised because i thought the Prophet's birth is celebrated or observed

I don't see anything wrong with Muslims celebrating birthdays. Heck, celebrating birthdays isn't the only celebration we do so why make an exception. Some Muslims are very confused.

That was the first and last time someone ever told me those words

my good friend (retired coworker from Pakistaan) whose hubby is an Imaam, always has a birthday celebration...

Good for you Ksaz for including your coworker...

lots of Jehovahs in the community I serve...mostly Jamaicans

Gyal, I am an all rounder.

my good friend (retired coworker from Pakistaan) whose hubby is an Imaam, always has a birthday celebration...

For the true believers in Christ, his birth date is not to be celebrated. It is his resurrection which should be remembered. The Catholic Church in the sixth century created the myth from a pagan custom. Just something of interest sharing.  

I know what you mean bai. For as Paul wrote; "And if Christ be not risen, then is our preaching vain, and your faith is also vain."