Linden mortuary needs ice and generator to store dead

NOVEMBER 28, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
It is with most disgust and grief I write this letter highlighting the poor state of the funeral parlour in Linden, Wismar and the way bereaved ones have to endure and send off their loved one’s remain. Recently, I attended my grand-father’s funeral in Linden and was most sickened during my bereavement of the state families corpse is being handled and preserved for a funeral.
The body of my relative was stored at the mortuary of the Linden Wismar hospital.  There is a fee charged. One would believe their corpse is stored properly for the keeping of the body for the ritual- funeral service then burial. Unlike to that belief, I sadly highlight that there is no proper storage at the Linden Wismar Hospital mortuary.  My relative’s body the day of the funeral was in a decomposed state. The normalcy of the funeral proceeding had to be minded in opening the coffin.  There was a rigid stench. Certain body parts had to be extremely covered from the public’s sight because it was that much decomposed.
It was told to the deceased’s wife that she should have provided ice to store the body. How ridiculous that can be of a mortuary. How much ice can one carry to store a body; is it the same ice we store in our home freezers suitable for that use?
This surely is not the first of such a case in Linden, it was told that it has become a norm for Lindeners because that mortuary (Wismar’s) is the only operational one apart from a newly refurbished one in McKenzie which is not functioning as yet because they need generators. This concern warrants immediate attention from the Ministry-government and the Environmental Protection Agency, Industry, Infrastructure and Energy body.  It is uncaring to treat the human remain with so mindless care; it is unhealthy to have to inhale such a stench (air pollution) and a total disgrace for the mortuary to be functioning with poor or no proper facility for human remain.I hope with this letter the relevant authorities address this concern as soon as possible.
Ms. Esther Reid – deceased’s wife and
Ms. R.Shipley- grand-daughter of deceased 

Sad state of affairs indeed but why had the mortician not at least use formaldehyde or something to prohibit decomposition. In any event, this is indeed a sad state of affairs.

And ugli, during the PPP regime poor people were simply dumped. Corpses could be found at the back of the gardens or in the abandoned cold storage facility in the burial ground just strewn about as mulch. This is not a PPP or PNC matter it is just a casual disregard for propriety endemic in the society.

Sad state of affairs indeed but why had the mortician not at least use formaldehyde or something to prohibit decomposition. In any event, this is indeed a sad state of affairs.

And ugli, during the PPP regime poor people were simply dumped. Corpses could be found at the back of the gardens or in the abandoned cold storage facility in the burial ground just strewn about as mulch. This is not a PPP or PNC matter it is just a casual disregard for propriety endemic in the society.

This is so true.

Can't afford ice. Whey den guh get munny fram fuh by famaldahide? Dam phul, nat gat no sense.

This is not the blame of the funeral industry but rather the govt controlled Wismar hospital. The blame sits squarely at the feet of the afc/apnu as they continue to mismanage the country while voting themselves 50% raise. What you people don't seem to grasp is that the 50% raise that the apnu/afc ordered themselves takes away resources from all other areas that have a need for dire improvement.

The body of my relative was stored at the mortuary of the Linden Wismar hospital.

Originally Posted by Drugb:

This is not the blame of the funeral industry but rather the govt controlled Wismar hospital. The blame sits squarely at the feet of the afc/apnu as they continue to mismanage the country while voting themselves 50% raise. What you people don't seem to grasp is that the 50% raise that the apnu/afc ordered themselves takes away resources from all other areas that have a need for dire improvement.

The body of my relative was stored at the mortuary of the Linden Wismar hospital.

This is your field and you are the expert. Why not volunteer your services?

i am quite sure this will be remedied by the current gov't forthwith

this same disgusting shit has been the norm at Port Kaituma throughout the Jagdeo era while that tiefin skont boasted about all the money they spent on hospitals and ting

the buggard has nerve to wash he mouth on APNU-AFC when the PPP had how-many-years? to handle

It is afc/apnu time,  they must be held accountable for their incompetence. Imagine filling their pockets with 50% raise which could have gone to financing a proper mortuary in the stronghold of their supporters. 

Have you saved up enough for your funeral?

u have nothing to worry about u is going where u belong in the garbage bins

The crows and even the worms would refuse to eat him.

Notice how the afc/apnu stalwarts refuse to address the incompetency of their govt but rather stoop to attacking those who raise concerns of incompetency of the afc/apnu.    It is unconscionable for these pariahs in office to give themselves big raises while their supporters have to view family decomposed bodies. This is animal farm all over again. 

Why don't you shut your cyat up. What makes you think the man belongs in a garbage bin cottage cheese brain?

Notice how the afc/apnu stalwarts refuse to address the incompetency of their govt but rather stoop to attacking those who raise concerns of incompetency of the afc/apnu.    It is unconscionable for these pariahs in office to give themselves big raises while their supporters have to view family decomposed bodies. This is animal farm all over again. 

Go ahead! Seems like you want to die stupid.

You will probably die a hypocrite as you had no qualms criticizing the PPP when they were in office for the same issues. Now double standard has clouded your judgement. 

Need some ice for your head? You are brain dead.

That big raise mean the probably too busy with them sweet-homan to do much work!

Dude, you are again taking a partisan slant rather than commenting for love of country. I did not hear you screaming when what what was documented below was in the news.

But storm, Two wrongs do not make a right.

]What the PPP did according to that video is terrible. But what the PNC is doing in Wismar is equally wrong.

I think we can all agree that the afc/apnu, based on their rhetoric pre elections, were supposed to be different and agents of change who would be caring about the people.  This is the basis of the criticism, not tit for tat, because PPP did we should give afc/apnu a free pass.