Diamond family robbed on the way home from airport

A Diamond family was robbed of over US$4000 at their home immediately after their return from the United States on Saturday morning.

The Ramnarine family, of 11 Street Back-half, Diamond New Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara had just returned from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, when two armed bandits pounced upon them as they were entering their yard. The incident occurred around 03:00h.

The bandits, one armed with a gun and the other with a knife, viciously attacked the taxi driver while threatening the family to hand over their valuables.

Eventually, after a series of threats and attacks, the bandits made their escape in a getaway motor vehicle, which was parked one corner away from the house.

They carted off with the US$4000, two smartphones, two tablet devices, medication and important documents including Identification Cards, passports, birth certificates, and travelling documents, among others.

The man of the house, Mr Ramnarine, explained to the Guyana Times that he, his wife and his 13-year-old daughter were passengers in the taxi on their way back from the airport. He stated that when the taxi pulled up by their gate, his sons came outside to assist in taking in the luggage into the house. At that time, he followed his daughter to the doorsteps and when he returned to the taxi, the bandits had already beaten the taxi driver and one was holding his wife at knifepoint, demanding money.

“My son them came and opened the gate, so I came till here by the door and then I gone back and there is the man them. They had the driver on the ground with a gun to his head and they had my wife with a knife to her neck. They were telling the driver that they will ‘kill he’ if we don’t give them anything,” he related.

According the Mr Ramnarine, before fleeing the scene, the bandits put the driver’s car into reverse and slammed it into a steel structured letterbox, causing damages to the vehicle.

“They then jumped into a vehicle that they had parked a corner away and they speed away,” he stated. Thereafter, the family summoned the Police.

“We went to the station and the Police them went and drive around the scheme, they went till to 2nd Bridge and they were looking for the car but we didn’t see it,” Mr Ramnarine said, lauding the Police for their prompt response.

Opportunity
The taxi driver, “Steve”, who is a family-friend, told this newspaper that he does not believe they were trailed from the airport.

“This car wasn’t following us. It was there when I turn in the street. I see the car was driving around, it was speeding. When I park the car by the gate here, I see back the car through another street and then it stopped and the two man rush out. Everything happened so fast,” Steve explained.

He said that he believes the perpetrators were not planning the attack but rather, saw an ideal opportunity to attack and rob.
In June last, there was a spike in the number of incidents where Guyanese are being attacked, robbed or murdered upon their return to Guyana.

Reports indicate that in most of these incidents, the victims are tailed from the airport. In other instances, victims have alleged that airport security or taxi drivers may have colluded with criminals to plan the attack and robbery.

There have been concerns from sections of society regarding these attacks and the impact it has on the country’s image and its tourism potential. Crime Chief Wendall Blanhum had vowed to review the crime fighting strategies and make the necessary adjustments with the aim of reducing the crime rate in Guyana.

Meanwhile, the family is asking that anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of the documents, make contact with the nearest Police Station or contact the family on 625-6215.

HAPPENING SINCE ROHEE TIME.

Men dressed as cops abduct teacher, husband on way to airport

AUGUST 4, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

– victims dumped at Soesdyke, robbed of millions  

A planned vacation by private school teacher Latchmin Gopaul and her husband began with a nightmare experience last Saturday, when two men in police uniforms abducted them while they were on their way to the Cheddi Jagan Airport.
Mrs. Gopaul, her husband, Lekraj Gopaul, and a taxi driver were held at gunpoint near Land of Canaan, East Bank Demerara, in broad daylight, by the two uniformed men, who claimed they were police ranks investigating an accident.
The victims were then driven to a desolate spot at Yarrowkabra, off the Soesdyke/Linden Highway, where they were bound and relieved of millions in local and foreign currency, jewellery and other valuables.
Kaieteur News understands that Mr. Gopaul, 59, was relieved of US $14,000, 400 pounds Sterling, a watch valued at $180,000, a gold chain valued at $180,000, a $71,000 watch, a camera worth US 1,200, a ring valued at $70,000 and his spectacles.
His wife, Latchmin Gopaul, who runs the Academy of Excellence Private School at Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara, was relieved of US $4,000, 500 pounds Sterling, $400 Can., a $500,000 gold band and a diamond-encrusted ring worth $300,000.
The bandits also relieved the driver, Parmanand Teekaram, of Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara, of $60,000 and a cell phone before reportedly escaping in a blue car.
Teekaram told Kaieteur News that he was heading to the airport at around 11.00 hrs on Saturday with the Gopauls, who reside at Hague, West Coast Demerara, when two men in police uniforms stopped him in the vicinity of Land of Canaan.
He said that one of the men was dressed in blue police attire and was carrying a handgun, while his companion was dressed like a ‘black clothes’ rank and had a ‘long gun’. According to Teekaram, the ‘policemen’ informed him that they were investigating a hit-and-run accident at Garden of Eden and asked to look at his driver’s licence and other documents.
According to Teekaram, the two ‘policemen’ then entered his car and the one in the ‘black clothes’ took the wheel. They then informed the occupants that they were taking them to the Timehri Police Station.
But the ‘cops’ then turned up the Soesdyke/Linden highway, while telling the trio that they were heading for Madewini Police Outpost instead.
Kaieteur News understands that during the journey, the ‘policemen’ asked Mr. Gopaul about ‘the cocaine’, and he responded that he and his wife ran a private school and knew nothing about ‘cocaine.’
The ‘policemen’ then took the Gopauls and Teekaram to a secluded spot near the abandoned glass factory at Yarrowkabra. There the ‘ranks’ tied up their three captives and relieved them of their valuables. However, Kaieteur News understands that the Gopauls were allowed to keep their travel documents. Teekaram said that he saw a blue car in the area and it is believed that the robbers fled in that vehicle.
The victims were eventually rescued by the occupants of a passing vehicle. According to reports, the Gopauls flew out of the country immediately after their ordeal.
Kaieteur News was unable to ascertain whether police have made any arrests.
There has been an apparent upsurge in persons being robbed while heading to the Cheddi Jagan Airport or returning from overseas.
Just last Wednesday, Pastor Sewnauth Poonalall of the Good Hope Missionary Baptist Church was gun-butted and robbed shortly after returning from the airport with some overseas guests.

WHEN YOU GIVE DONKEYS TO RUN A COUNTRY, YOU MUST EXPECT THE WORST. IT IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE. GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA FUH REAL. BRAINLESS, CLUELESS BUNCH OF DONKEYS GIVEN A TASK THEY ARE NOT CAPABLE OF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

This kind of robbery was introduced by the PPP. Is how these bandits know where people going to when they leave the airport? The leak must be at immigration check in.

Mr. T, the driver said he didn't think that they were followed from the airport, unless he's lying or not sure. However, aggressive action is needed to curb these criminal activities. This is not what people expect when they return home from abroad. It must be very traumatic especially for young children.

WHEN YOU GIVE DONKEYS TO RUN A COUNTRY, YOU MUST EXPECT THE WORST. IT IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE. GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA FUH REAL. BRAINLESS, CLUELESS BUNCH OF DONKEYS GIVEN A TASK THEY ARE NOT CAPABLE OF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The donkeys were the PPP which spent millions on a crime lab that cannot get its sea legs because the contractor screwed up the electrical wiring. It was also absent DNA processing facilities in its design.

DNA and fingerprint plus artist Reconstruction can help here and there would be an almost 90 percent chance these crooks would be caught if that was available.

I would agree with you ( but for the stupid screaming and ignorant accusations about clueless as if you or the previous administration demonstrated they care) that the administration is being ponderously slow. We need patrols everywhere and we do need surveillance cameras on the highway. In the US practically every car that pass a specific point in Cities like DC or in secure facilities around airport  has their license plates read and checked automatically and the driver video taped. We will need to take drastic steps to shut down the culture of criminality that is almost ubiquitous in the country

What would u suggest Nehru? Bear in mind that there is no quick fix here. Tell us your thoughts.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

What would u suggest Nehru? Bear in mind that there is no quick fix here. Tell us your thoughts.

Set up systems so that you can determine if the leaks are from Immigration Officers, Police or others. At the same time have unmarked Police Vehicles on Patrol when Flights touch down.  Anyone with a Pea brain can figure these things out EXCEPT the PNC and their TWO HOUSE SLAVES.

That's all well and good, but remember  most of these crimes occur when people  pull up in front of their homes, and that's the tricky part.
I wonder how much of an impact Ramjattan"s gun amnesty would have.

That's all well and good, but remember  most of these crimes occur when people  pull up in front of their homes, and that's the tricky part.

NONE!!!   tEN PEOPLE may TURN UP WITH BROKEN gUNS.  tHE MAN IS A BLOODY fool AND A hOUSE sLAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gun amnesty simply reduce the number of guns on the market for criminals. These are the random gun someone has who is not criminally bent but who kept it for protection or other reasons and is not sure of it and want it out of the house. Amnesty should not be sold as a means to reduce crime. Its effect is minimal

Crimes involving firearms need to be put on a different enforcement tier. The possession of an unlicensed firearm needs a mandatory minimum and so does conviction for crimes involving fire arms. Having a gun needs to be a privileged. It's license should not be a one time thing but it should be a yearly fee. If someone does not pay their yearly fee or if they claim the gun is lost a fine should be assessed.

None of those programs will work once we have a corrupted judiciary that is politically and racially biased. Wake up to reality. Judges, magistrates, and prosecutors are our biggest problem in our attempt to make the society a better one.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

None of those programs will work once we have a corrupted judiciary that is politically and racially biased. Wake up to reality. Judges, magistrates, and prosecutors are our biggest problem in our attempt to make the society a better one.

Then advocate for a sound judicial system. Make you voice heard that the current system with a backlog of 8 years is not only unjust for the victims of crime but for the ones bound over for trial. Demand the Bar reform itself and establish rules of engagement where conflict of interests we know to be injurious to justice is never allowed. Demand that lawyers honor their obligations to clients or be disbarred. Insist the police be completely revamped. Seelal needs to be booted from office and replaced since he is demonstrably a failure having been a part of this system. Boot the DPP, she is as clean as a boot.

Now you speaking the language I want to hear. I want more people to raise their voices against these people in judiciary and embarrass them when they throw out legitimate cases of murder. Someone should prepare a list of crimes over the last twenty years and state info. on arrests, prosecution (convictions and acquittals), sentences, per cent of crime solved, and other crime data. The public should be given more info. on what's happening in the courts just what we are hearing about the ministers and parliament.

Incidents like this also happened during the PPP's era.  Most of the People shows off when they arrived at the airport.  I know many people who willingly tipped the officers 100 bucks to save 80. Idiots.