September 30,2016

Former president Bharrat Jagdeo on Wednesday defended a decision by late former president Janet Jagan in 1999 to grant ExxonMobil 600 petroleum blocks, far exceeding the 60 blocks prescribed by the law.

“This country should be grateful to Janet Jagan… It was because of Janet giving that block out …that today this government can boast about an oil and gas industry,” Jagdeo told a press conference, while adding that if there was a similar situation while he was in office, he probably would have done the same thing.

Jagdeo was at the time responding to a recent criticism of Jagan’s decision by analyst Christopher Ram in his weekly Stabroek News column, ‘Every Man, Woman and Child in Guyana Must Become Oil-Minded’ for September 22.

Janet Jagan

“Janet Jagan granted the company a Prospecting Licence over approximately six hundred blocks when the law sets a limit of sixty blocks, except where special reasons exist for a larger number,” Ram wrote, while noting that it would not be easy to justify the excess that had been granted.

According to Jagdeo, prior to the ExxonMobil discovery in 2015, though lots of money had been invested in oil exploration, nothing had been found. As a result, he said when Jagan granted the blocks to the company, there were not many “takers.”

“The mere fact that there were so many blocks to give out and there is so much remaining proves our point that there were not takers at that time,” Jagdeo said, before adding that Guyana was a high risk country to put money into for oil exploration.

“I don’t know what was in Janet’s mind because as the agreement said there may have been extenuating [circumstances]… the president or the minister can give larger blocks depending on the special circumstances,” he added.

“We don’t have anything to hide about it. Janet Jagan did something that I am sure in her judgement was the right thing to do especially in light of geopolitical considerations and what she did led to the discovery of oil in Guyana,” he insisted.

Bharrat Jagdeo

Jagdeo told reporters that in 2008, he did sign an extension agreement. He said that Ram wanted to know why the relinquishment obligation did not happen when Jagdeo signed the extension.

Ram had explained that the law requires that any extension be accompanied by a reduction of 50% of the remaining blocks still covered by a Prospecting Licence, so that 300 blocks should have been given up at the first extension.

Jagdeo told reporters that the original agreement said that a licensee gets the block for four and a half years, after which 50 percent has to be given up. This is followed by a renewal for three years after there is another 50% reduction. “So… if you haven’t done nothing, you go down to a fraction of the original agreement,” he said.

Jagdeo in explaining why the then government did not ensure the relinquishment in keeping with the law, added that on September 29, 2000, ExxonMobil invoked force majeure because of Suriname’s illegal acts against the CGX oil rigs that were offshore.

Force majeure is a clause that frees a person from fulfilling contractual obligations due to an unforeseeable act or circumstances.

According to Jagdeo, once a company declares force majeure, everything is frozen. He said in September, 2007, the UN pronounced on the Guyana-Suriname dispute, resulting in the border being demarcated. A year later, the force majeure clause was lifted so. He insisted that from the period 1998 to 2008, nothing could be done.

According to him, he was taking time to explain the matter so as to show that there was no “underhand deals” in relation to relinquishment under the previous administration.

Look at these AFC/PNC clowns.

These AFC/PNC idiot Squatters in office have done Nothing in terms of economic development. Thanks to PPP Guyana now has oil.

What have these AFC/PNC clowns done to show for economic development ? Zero. They can just sport, wine down and fete.

SMH at these AFC/PNC clowns.

These AFC/PNC idiot Squatters in have done Nothing in terms of economic development. Thanks to PPP Guyana now has oil.

What have these AFC/PNC clowns done to show for economic development ? Zero. They can just sport, wine down and fete.

Bhai,

black gold was always in Guyana,PPP didn't put um there.

These AFC/PNC idiot Squatters in have done Nothing in terms of economic development. Thanks to PPP Guyana now has oil.

Bhai,

Listen slow Boy, Give credit where credit is due.

Bhai,

Bhai, the slow person is you,

read your post before hitting the enter button,this is the WWW.

Jagdeo is talking nonsense. No one should break the law. Janet broke the law and then he broke the law. Like the PNC was asleep.

Jagdeo has lost the right to criticize Grainja if he make his own selection of the Election's Commissioner.

Jagdeo is talking nonsense. No one should break the law. Janet broke the law and then he broke the law. Like the PNC was asleep.

Jagdeo has lost the right to criticize Grainja if he make his own selection of the Election's Commissioner.

That's Guyana,politicians break the law,then try to cover it up by painting a rosy picture.

Bhai,

That's right Django!!! PNC dig hole and put hile deh nah? Tell abie bhai. Tell Yuji how many of your PNC supporters, freedom fighters, pardoned criminals, etc. gave their lives to pour oil into that big hole in the ocean. The oil belong to the PNC only.

These AFC/PNC idiot Squatters in office have done Nothing in terms of economic development. Thanks to PPP Guyana now has oil.

Is this your confession that the PPP is wholely and solely responsible for the deal with Exxon?

Jagdeo has the ability to explain matters with much clarity and confidence. 

Ohh my my, such a smart and honest man you are good sir ksazma.  Sir are a true patriotic Guyanese sir, you are not silly.  Hon Dr B. Jagdeo is the best person in Guyana politics no doubt sir.  We women bring love, honesty and understanding and are working to get him back as president in 2020.  Sir ksazma, he is the only hope for all Guyanese.  Hon Dr B. Jagdeo and my niece will bring much needed happiness to Guyanese.  We need to protect him from overseas female vultures like the last time.  Good sir, we cannot allow our leader another such heart break.  Please Ksazma sir, please respect us for our brains.

Princess Di posted:

.  We need to protect him from overseas female vultures like the last time.  Good sir, we cannot allow our leader another such heart break.  Please Ksazma sir, please respect us for our brains.

Our dear Princess,

You are new to GNI, look at the Archives going back to the last election and see what Mitwah and the entire AFC gang were saying about the Honourable Bharat, you might cry when you read what they posted about him.

Bharat will take down the entire pack of PNC clowns any day of the week. He is a strong leader and will satisfy your niece if they get married.

Walk carefully at GNI and pick your friends very carefully.

Bharat is like a Demi God for those who love the PPP. Lots of envy exist at GNI for Bharat. Observe and learn who are pro and who are anti Bharat.

Your niece has set her eyes very high and I hope that she can get close to Bharat. There is no stopping him becoming President if he decides to run. The question is: Will he run for President again ?

BTW, you look pretty for your age. Amral is single, drop him a line every now and then. He is the boss around here and a rockstar, similar to Bharat, he is not political though.

Honourable and respectable Yuji. 

Notice how one clown who is envious showed up.

Princess, the honourable Bharat kicked Mitwah out of his office once. The shoe print still exists on Mitwah's rear and face. It looks good on him.

I have a few very close inside friends in the PPP. I am not part of any political establishment. I am a man of gold.

Princess Di posted:

.  We need to protect him from overseas female vultures like the last time.  Good sir, we cannot allow our leader another such heart break.  Please Ksazma sir, please respect us for our brains.

Our dear Princess,

You are new to GNI, look at the Archives going back to the last election and see what Mitwah and the entire AFC gang were saying about the Honourable Bharat, you might cry when you read what they posted about him.

Bharat will take down the entire pack of PNC clowns any day of the week. He is a strong leader and will satisfy your niece if they get married.

Bharat is like a Demi God for those who love the PPP. Lots of envy exist at GNI for Bharat. Observe and learn who are pro and who are anti Bharat.

Your niece has set her eyes very high and I hope that she can get close to Bharat. There is no stopping him becoming President if he decides to run. The question is: Will he run for President again ?

BTW, you look pretty for your age. Amral is single, drop him a line every now and then. He is the boss around here and a rockstar, similar to Bharat, he is not political though.

Oh my, thank you very much good sir Yuji22 for these kind words.  I wanted to reply this peaceful Sunday morning before I start my busy week.  Yes, good sir, I saw many envious and hateful posts on this site against the fine soul Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  There is so much hate on this site but I try to promote love and understanding especially for Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  I read good sir Django postings, he seem lacking in woman love and taking his anger out on our fine leader Dr Hon B. Jagdeo.  Good sir Mitwah seems a fine man but having some type of mental breakdown and I do pity him.  Good sir Yuji22, I believe all these haters have some problem and I will try to teach them love and understanding.  Good sir Yuji22, please sir you don't fight fire with fire.  Sir I am flattered by your proposal of good sir Amral but he is another hateful poster against Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  He is like sir Django and needs a woman's love.  Sir I do have a fine gentleman in my life for the past 6 years.  He is only the second man in my life and hopefully the last.  I'm a stable woman bound by a stable relationship.  My niece is same as me, she will marry Hon Dr B. Jagdeo will bear a heir and bring much to him and Guyana.  She is in Guyana and knows him very well.  She is no fake foreigner like madame secretary.

Princess Di posted:

Our dear Princess,

Oh my, thank you very much good sir Yuji22 for these kind words.  I wanted to reply this peaceful Sunday morning before I start my busy week.  Yes, good sir, I saw many envious and hateful posts on this site against the fine soul Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  There is so much hate on this site but I try to promote love and understanding especially for Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  I read good sir Django postings, he seem lacking in woman love and taking his anger out on our fine leader Dr Hon B. Jagdeo.  Good sir Mitwah seems a fine man but having some type of mental breakdown and I do pity him.  Good sir Yuji22, I believe all these haters have some problem and I will try to teach them love and understanding.  Good sir Yuji22, please sir you don't fight fire with fire.  Sir I am flattered by your proposal of good sir Amral but he is another hateful poster against Hon Dr B. Jagdeo.  He is like sir Django and needs a woman's love.  Sir I do have a fine gentleman in my life for the past 6 years.  He is only the second man in my life and hopefully the last.  I'm a stable woman bound by a stable relationship.  My niece is same as me, she will marry Hon Dr B. Jagdeo will bear a heir and bring much to him and Guyana.  She is in Guyana and knows him very well.  She is no fake foreigner like madame secretary.

You kidding,

Django overwhelmed with woman love.

Any way your hero BJ maybe a good person in private life,

in political life he is a "Rat" and will never rule Guyana again,he is cornered by Prezi.Granger an " Western Educated and Military man" who don"t need any honorary Dr....in front his name to prove his worth.

In political life BJ is a fake and con.

Princess Di posted:

Our dear Princess,

You kidding,

Django overwhelmed with woman love.

Any way your hero BJ maybe a good person in private life,

in political life he is a "Rat" and will never rule Guyana again,he is cornered by Prezi.Granger an " Western Educated and Military man" who don"t need any honorary Dr....in front his name to prove his worth.

Django bai, looks like the good Princess has some closet new on you. What are you suffering from? No woman present in your life? 

I think Bharrat Jagdeo is doing a splendid job as Opposition Leader. And he has his team on their toes too. Week after week they are hitting the coalition on issue after issue. These are hard hits that force the ministers off their schedules and routines to respond.

It's clear to me that Jagdeo is leaving no stone unturned to ensure a PPP victory in 2020. Provided the election is free and fair, he will succeed. Gilbakka will respect the electorate's verdict.

I think Bharrat Jagdeo is doing a splendid job as Opposition Leader. And he has his team on their toes too. Week after week they are hitting the coalition on issue after issue. These are hard hits that force the ministers off their schedules and routines to respond.

It's clear to me that Jagdeo is leaving no stone unturned to ensure a PPP victory in 2020. Provided the election is free and fair, he will succeed. Gilbakka will respect the electorate's verdict.

This is a fair and honest assessment.  Thanks for your honesty.

Princess Di posted:

Our dear Princess,

Our dear Princess, you hit the nail on the head with your observations:

"Good sir Mitwah seems a fine man but having some type of mental breakdown and I do pity him.  Good sir Yuji22, I believe all these haters have some problem and I will try to teach"

"I read good sir Django postings, he seem lacking in woman love and taking his anger out on our fine leader Dr Hon B. Jagdeo."

Mitwah seems be be experiencing some type of mental breakdown with his personal issues which cannot be discussed at GNI. I hope that he can resolve his internal demons and get back on track.

Regarding Django, he once posted that he took a cow with calf but it may appear that the he took a butting cow.

Excellent observations our dear Princess. Glad to hear that you are in a wonderful relationship, Amral lost out on a pretty woman at GNI.

Guyana's two time democratically elected, most popular and loved leader:

Unknown

A future third term is awaiting our Hero, dear Bharat.

images 

Granger, Guyana's most unpopular leader at home and abroad, a hapless President. A man who missed the opportunity for uniting and building Guyana.

Images (2)
  • Unknown
  • images

Bhai,

So if the PPP was so proactive why is it that oil production is only projected to start in 2020.  Oil prices were higher so companies should have had more incentive to explore in the past.

Tell the truth Chavez chased away oil exploration vessels and it took a change of government and a more aggressive attitude towards Venezuela for a major company to invest major time and money to explore.

In addition Jagdeo is going on as if Janet Jagan owned the resources and that Guyanese ought to be grateful that she made them available.  It is THIS attitude why Guyanese prefer to languish in places like the BVI and St Maarten instead of returning home.

Y.life,

Princess Di is just an illiterate version of Bibi.  Now wonder Guyanese fled to volcanic peaks and coral reefs during the Jagdeo era. Even though some encountered hostility when they arrived, with some PPP supporters living in Barbados being forced to give up a seat to locals who wanted them to leave the island.