Paul Nehru Tennassee

December 26, 2016 Source

A think-tank, set up to mobilize and involve ordinary Guyanese and organised civil society in crafting policies, has so far found mixed reactions to performance of government.

The Roraima Institute’s (TRI), co-founded by former Guyanese politician, Paul Tennassee, plans to involve government, opposition and the grassroots in developing policy analyses and policy briefs.

“We believe there is wisdom in the grassroots on how to solve many of the problems and we believe  a lot of the bottlenecks and a lot of the real issues  that affect our peoples is within the communities that they live and unless they could be educated, reoriented, empowered and be facilitated to act to resolve these issues, we cannot do it,” said Tennassee, a former leader of the now defunct Democratic Labour Movement (DLM) political party which had been part  of the Patriotic Coalition of Democracy (PCD) in Guyana’s struggle for free and fair elections.

TRI plans to conduct informal informational interviews and polls to determine trends on major issues such as the economy, crime, utility services , cultural and social issues to develop policy briefs and hold annual conferences on The State of Guyana in the Grassroots. TRI hopes to involve and hire Guyanese at home and in the Diaspora to help execute its mandate

TRI, with funding from overseas-based Guyanese Floyd Haynes, intends to adapt existing solutions from other countries and produce original findings to influence policy makers. “If Guyana develops a best practice that can be exported globally,” he said of a plan to share and transfer knowledge and expertise. Tennassee said International Financial Institutions merely rely on research from Developed Countries to apply to Guyana, resulting in a gap.

The think-tank  plans to involve associates from across the political divide in brainstorming issues facing Guyanese and developing policy analyses and policy briefs that will be used to lobby policymakers.

“The think-tank will have to maintain very good relationships between the government and opposition while at the same time maintain our distance. We intend to lobby both government and the political opposition to have consensus on fundamental major life changing policy issues. It’s going to be tough but I believe that both government and the opposition are patriots, I believe they are nationalists, I believe they are democrats and I believe they are all antiracists,” said Tennassee. His DLM had worked closely with the Working People’s Alliance and the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) back in the 1990s in the fight for socio-economic and political changes including free and fair elections.

In a recent informal capture of the views of Guyanese in mainly Afro and Indo-Guyanese communities in Berbice and West Demerara, Tennassee said several persons appeared disappointed in the  David Granger-led coalition while others, though dissatisfied, were still willing to give the APNU+AFC coalition another chance whenever general and regional elections are called.

Tennassee said the informational interviews, which were conducted in November, also revealed that  people were concerned about the crime situation, potential increase in water and electricity bills, perceived corruption, incompetence and bad governance.  Those informal talks with ordinary Guyanese, he said, have revealed that much had been expected from President David Granger to tackle crime because of his military background. “These things take time but they are impatient about that (crime),” he said.

TRI officials- Tennassee and Melanie Smith- found  “there is a great cry” across the coast to address the huge gap between incomes and expenditures, resulting in many persons “hustling” several jobs to earn sufficient money. “Guyanese in the grassroots are alive and kicking, they are hustling. They are trying to best.  They want to make it but somehow those who govern have to be reach out to them and be in constant communication with them,” said Tennassee.

Despite calls for farmers to diversify and produce more, the TRI official said farmers were crying out for government to find markets in the Caribbean.  The markets of Guyana cannot provide a living for the farmers of Guyana. It should be declared a State of Emergency to find markets for these products

“We need markets and we need markets urgently. A policy recommendation for diversification without real assistance for markets is hallucination and what is going on in the grassroots today is hallucination,” he added.

In Georgetown, he said a group of diverse youths were eager to transition from young professional to young professional entrepreneurs.

Politically, he said the tone was that the PPP appeared vibrant after its defeat at the May, 2015 general elections and appeared poised to become the next government in the future under Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo.

The idea to establish the TRI think-tank was born at a conference held at the University of District Columbia on “Aspirations for Real Change: 2016 and Beyond”. There, 70 academic and professional representatives discussed governance, accountability and transparency; national identity; moving  beyond race, and the role of the Diaspora.

Tennassee said the time has come for the grassroots and civil society to shift from race-based political discourse and instead apply, adapt and reorient ideas to the Guyanese society. “We want to continue the dialogue that we had into Guyana and find out whether the issues that we were dealing with were issues on the minds of Guyanese at home to see how we could be a bridge in the conversation, in the aspiration for real change in Guyana between the Diaspora and here,” he said.

TRI is registered in Washington DC and would be registered in Guyana, he said.

• Jinnah Rahman

Paul Tennasse – used to be a member of Christian Democratic International, whose Head office is based in the City of Utrecht, Holland.
    The DLM, which consisted of a few people, was founded in Canada, where I first met him in 1980. He lured me into believing that he had very strong lies with the Venezuelan Christian Democratic Party (COPIE), which became defunct after Hugo chavez came to power in Venezuela, bringing and end to the raving claim to Guyana’s territory, Essequibo. The COPIE actively supported the invasion of Guyana and occupied Onkoko island. What is Tennasse’s current position on the revised claim? Guyanese must remember – that the claim was put back on the table after the PPP left office. The Maduro regime did not raise the issue – even though it was under the Donald Ramotar administration that signed a deal with Exxon Mobile to drill for oil in Guyana. The question to the PPP – what they played in provoking Venezuela to re-visit this issue?
    Paul Tennassee is a useful Guyanese, who operates as a “one-man” band, but appears to be democrat. It would his “Think Tank” – with a few flunkies – similiar to the ROAR outfit, headed by Ultra-rightist, Rav Dev. It is Paul’s new entry into Guyana’s politics.

Iman doan got no race problem when it come to any kinda woman, colour, religion, size, whether their panty does fall off after 6 or other time, along as it is fall off sometime, I does luv em.

Is the men dem ah gotta problem wit  

Iman doan got no race problem when it come to any kinda woman, colour, religion, size, whether their panty does fall off after 6 or other time, along as it is fall off sometime, I does luv em.

mee too...but whey did banna  come from all of a sudden to tell them people in Guyana whaa wrand with dem...according to this information he is not living in Guyana.

Which residents?  Guyana needs LEADERSHIP whether it comes from inside or outside.  Of course it is the politicians in Guyana that push the propaganda that "we don't need foreigners"... Only their money.

They will accuse Tennassee of trying to tek dem wuk. The Diaspora is the greatest economic value Guyana has. They will find this out by 2023 when the aile revenues are just sufficient to cover the displaced sectors like sugar and rice, let alone create new economic value. The President of the country must have the vision to find novel ways to get the Diaspora involved in Guyana without stoking the fears of the locals that someone is tekkin dem jobs.

TK posted:

They will accuse Tennassee of trying to tek dem wuk. The Diaspora is the greatest economic value Guyana has. They will find this out by 2023 when the aile revenues are just sufficient to cover the displaced sectors like sugar and rice, let alone create new economic value. The President of the country must have the vision to find novel ways to get the Diaspora involved in Guyana without stoking the fears of the locals that someone is tekkin dem jobs.

I have the feeling that Guyanese politicians think they are the smartest people on Earth.  I don't think they believe in expert opinion unless it is coming from a White man.

VVP posted:

Which residents?  Guyana needs LEADERSHIP whether it comes from inside or outside.  Of course it is the politicians in Guyana that push the propaganda that "we don't need foreigners"... Only their money.

People who consist of the Diaspora can only provide theoretical solutions to Guyana's problems.  The people who live there can provide better practical solutions.  There is a culture in Guyana that the Diaspora think they know everything.  And that is partially true.  Guyana's problems are unique to Guyana alone.  Plus the magical question is: "Are Diaspora people willing to pay the price of accepting lower wages and enduring a difficult lifestyle?"

VVP posted:

BTW, who are the members of this Think Tank.

The better question would be: "Where would the funding come from for this project?"   I am very suspicious of NGOs of this type who end up being more tankers than thinkers.

VVP posted:

People who consist of the Diaspora can only provide theoretical solutions to Guyana's problems.  The people who live there can provide better practical solutions.  There is a culture in Guyana that the Diaspora think they know everything.  And that is partially true.  Guyana's problems are unique to Guyana alone.  Plus the magical question is: "Are Diaspora people willing to pay the price of accepting lower wages and enduring a difficult lifestyle?"

Looks like people who become part of any Guyana government are compensated better then they were before they become part of the Guyana government regardless of if they live in Guyana or away from it. Unfortunately no one is in it for the public service aspect.

VVP posted:

Suh is Paul Tennassee doing theory or practice?

mee too...but whey did banna  come from all of a sudden to tell them people in Guyana whaa wrand with dem...according to this information he is not living in Guyana.

Tennassee is embedded like a barnacle to every progressive movement among Guyanese  in the diaspora so if you have not seen him it is because you are disconnected to the streams of conversations that permeates the diaspora. In my opinion, the diaspora is more than a word referencing the spread of citizens  abroad but more so the reality of the perpetuation of the idea of a continuum of the society and culture in communities abroad. Mr Tennassee has been a life long advocate for strengthening these bonds. One may not agree with him at times but his work and interest in things guyanese has been ceaseless. Above I saw you said he is unaware that we have a race problem. You are the one who is deficient of information of his interest and concern in this area.

TK posted:
VVP posted:

Suh is Paul Tennassee doing theory or practice?

He is doing what we do....pontificate given there is no  continuity in the the academic community abroad. He however, is involved widely because I see him everywhere and he writes extensively.

If this Think Tank is affiliated with the current coalition govt, your answer is spot on.  Think Tanks are never independent. 

He is not friend of the present regime or the previous one. Unlike you he understands both are flawed but they are what we have to work with if one is to get anyplace. I believe his party was not communist bent like the  PPP or the PNC in its active period.

VVP posted:

This is what they teach at Accabre College LOL.

The solution to Guyana's problems is highly dependent on good governance.  There are no special laws in economics or engineering or health etc that apply to Guyana.  In fact it would take a honest person that could understand (by listening to experts) and bring together all the "laws" of governance to save Guyana.  Drugs and money laundering will not cut it.

Paul Nehru Tennassee

December 26, 2016 Source

A think-tank, set up to mobilize and involve ordinary Guyanese and organised civil society in crafting policies, has so far found mixed reactions to performance of government.

The Roraima Institute’s (TRI), co-founded by former Guyanese politician, Paul Tennassee, plans to involve government, opposition and the grassroots in developing policy analyses and policy briefs.

“We believe there is wisdom in the grassroots on how to solve many of the problems and we believe  a lot of the bottlenecks and a lot of the real issues  that affect our peoples is within the communities that they live and unless they could be educated, reoriented, empowered and be facilitated to act to resolve these issues, we cannot do it,” said Tennassee, a former leader of the now defunct Democratic Labour Movement (DLM) political party which had been part  of the Patriotic Coalition of Democracy (PCD) in Guyana’s struggle for free and fair elections.

TRI plans to conduct informal informational interviews and polls to determine trends on major issues such as the economy, crime, utility services , cultural and social issues to develop policy briefs and hold annual conferences on The State of Guyana in the Grassroots. TRI hopes to involve and hire Guyanese at home and in the Diaspora to help execute its mandate

TRI, with funding from overseas-based Guyanese Floyd Haynes, intends to adapt existing solutions from other countries and produce original findings to influence policy makers. “If Guyana develops a best practice that can be exported globally,” he said of a plan to share and transfer knowledge and expertise. Tennassee said International Financial Institutions merely rely on research from Developed Countries to apply to Guyana, resulting in a gap.

The think-tank  plans to involve associates from across the political divide in brainstorming issues facing Guyanese and developing policy analyses and policy briefs that will be used to lobby policymakers.

“The think-tank will have to maintain very good relationships between the government and opposition while at the same time maintain our distance. We intend to lobby both government and the political opposition to have consensus on fundamental major life changing policy issues. It’s going to be tough but I believe that both government and the opposition are patriots, I believe they are nationalists, I believe they are democrats and I believe they are all antiracists,” said Tennassee. His DLM had worked closely with the Working People’s Alliance and the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) back in the 1990s in the fight for socio-economic and political changes including free and fair elections.

In a recent informal capture of the views of Guyanese in mainly Afro and Indo-Guyanese communities in Berbice and West Demerara, Tennassee said several persons appeared disappointed in the  David Granger-led coalition while others, though dissatisfied, were still willing to give the APNU+AFC coalition another chance whenever general and regional elections are called.

Tennassee said the informational interviews, which were conducted in November, also revealed that  people were concerned about the crime situation, potential increase in water and electricity bills, perceived corruption, incompetence and bad governance.  Those informal talks with ordinary Guyanese, he said, have revealed that much had been expected from President David Granger to tackle crime because of his military background. “These things take time but they are impatient about that (crime),” he said.

TRI officials- Tennassee and Melanie Smith- found  “there is a great cry” across the coast to address the huge gap between incomes and expenditures, resulting in many persons “hustling” several jobs to earn sufficient money. “Guyanese in the grassroots are alive and kicking, they are hustling. They are trying to best.  They want to make it but somehow those who govern have to be reach out to them and be in constant communication with them,” said Tennassee.

Despite calls for farmers to diversify and produce more, the TRI official said farmers were crying out for government to find markets in the Caribbean.  The markets of Guyana cannot provide a living for the farmers of Guyana. It should be declared a State of Emergency to find markets for these products

“We need markets and we need markets urgently. A policy recommendation for diversification without real assistance for markets is hallucination and what is going on in the grassroots today is hallucination,” he added.

In Georgetown, he said a group of diverse youths were eager to transition from young professional to young professional entrepreneurs.

Politically, he said the tone was that the PPP appeared vibrant after its defeat at the May, 2015 general elections and appeared poised to become the next government in the future under Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo.

The idea to establish the TRI think-tank was born at a conference held at the University of District Columbia on “Aspirations for Real Change: 2016 and Beyond”. There, 70 academic and professional representatives discussed governance, accountability and transparency; national identity; moving  beyond race, and the role of the Diaspora.

Tennassee said the time has come for the grassroots and civil society to shift from race-based political discourse and instead apply, adapt and reorient ideas to the Guyanese society. “We want to continue the dialogue that we had into Guyana and find out whether the issues that we were dealing with were issues on the minds of Guyanese at home to see how we could be a bridge in the conversation, in the aspiration for real change in Guyana between the Diaspora and here,” he said.

TRI is registered in Washington DC and would be registered in Guyana, he said.

• Jinnah Rahman

Paul Tennasse – used to be a member of Christian Democratic International, whose Head office is based in the City of Utrecht, Holland.
    The DLM, which consisted of a few people, was founded in Canada, where I first met him in 1980. He lured me into believing that he had very strong lies with the Venezuelan Christian Democratic Party (COPIE), which became defunct after Hugo chavez came to power in Venezuela, bringing and end to the raving claim to Guyana’s territory, Essequibo. The COPIE actively supported the invasion of Guyana and occupied Onkoko island. What is Tennasse’s current position on the revised claim? Guyanese must remember – that the claim was put back on the table after the PPP left office. The Maduro regime did not raise the issue – even though it was under the Donald Ramotar administration that signed a deal with Exxon Mobile to drill for oil in Guyana. The question to the PPP – what they played in provoking Venezuela to re-visit this issue?
    Paul Tennassee is a useful Guyanese, who operates as a “one-man” band, but appears to be democrat. It would his “Think Tank” – with a few flunkies – similiar to the ROAR outfit, headed by Ultra-rightist, Rav Dev. It is Paul’s new entry into Guyana’s politics.

Jinnah you don't have any moral authority to lecture any one on any matter of national importance. If I could recall you fled to Venezuela after setting up WPA activists from Zeeburg/ DeWillem to face the charge of treason. 

So if he has been around for a long time, and has been involved in Guyana's policy making, then why do we still have these problems?  These guys run around the block several times and come up empty-handed.  Does he publish his policy making and recommended solutions?

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

The solution to Guyana's problems is highly dependent on good governance.  There are no special laws in economics or engineering or health etc that apply to Guyana.  In fact it would take a honest person that could understand (by listening to experts) and bring together all the "laws" of governance to save Guyana.  Drugs and money laundering will not cut it.

They teach drugs and money laundering at Accabre College?   And by the way,  I never attended that institution.

VVP posted:

Of course it is the politicians in Guyana that push the propaganda that "we don't need foreigners"... Only their money.

Not only politicians but also common citizens. Letters in the local newspapers indicate their attitude to us "foreigners".

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

They teach drugs and money laundering at Accabre College?   And by the way,  I never attended that institution.

On a visit to Guyana one of the Accabre grad fully aware that I am overseas based asked me "weh yuh been" and waddled away.  LOL.  Get it Bibi?

VVP posted:

Of course it is the politicians in Guyana that push the propaganda that "we don't need foreigners"... Only their money.

Not only politicians but also common citizens. Letters in the local newspapers indicate their attitude to us "foreigners".

Not sure about the common citizen part.  Most of those people are politically connected or have political interest if you look into it.  The suffering poor could not care less who govern them once their standard of living is improved.

So if he has been around for a long time, and has been involved in Guyana's policy making, then why do we still have these problems?  These guys run around the block several times and come up empty-handed.  Does he publish his policy making and recommended solutions?

Because the place is populated by ideologically indoctrinated and party affiliated savants like you. They may have been long on the battle field against the PPP and PNC party mudborn but their opinions are kinds to which we will ultimately bend if we want to pull us out of the swamp.

TK posted:

. The President of the country must have the vision to find novel ways to get the Diaspora involved in Guyana without stoking the fears of the locals that someone is tekkin dem jobs.

The Diaspora can and should be involved and bring ideas, which should be considered.

The Diaspora cannot lead because they don't live in Guyana. Many of their perspectives are fashioned by the Guyana that they left. It will be the residents of Guyana who will have to lead.

Get some of these so called "Diaspora Leaders" and you hear endless rehashing of the 60s and 70s.  I have been to many forums where these gentlemen speak, and after much sound and fury rarely do I hear anything useful.

They at home have to get their acts together but we, the so called diaspora, are no better. Many of us are tools of the same political establishment that they claim to despise.

VVP posted:

And many FILTH HEADS gave their money to PNC to enslave the Guyanese People.

VVP posted:

Not sure about the common citizen part.  ..

Especially them. Listen to many complain about how their relatives back home have used and abused them. In a few instances even KILLING them.

And that is not uniquely Guyanese as there is always tension between those who migrated and those who never left. Human nature.

Agreed, not uniquely Guyanese.  I think the "cut and run" mantra is politically fostered propaganda to get the sufferers to feel good about themselves because they "stayed and fight."

Open the gates to good living and see how much would remain in those banana republics.

TK posted:

. The President of the country must have the vision to find novel ways to get the Diaspora involved in Guyana without stoking the fears of the locals that someone is tekkin dem jobs.

The Diaspora can and should be involved and bring ideas, which should be considered.

The Diaspora cannot lead because they don't live in Guyana. Many of their perspectives are fashioned by the Guyana that they left. It will be the residents of Guyana who will have to lead.

Get some of these so called "Diaspora Leaders" and you hear endless rehashing of the 60s and 70s.  I have been to many forums where these gentlemen speak, and after much sound and fury rarely do I hear anything useful.

They at home have to get their acts together but we, the so called diaspora, are no better. Many of us are tools of the same political establishment that they claim to despise.

This is backwards thinking.  This is the internet age.  Many in the Diaspora have more in-depth knowledge of what going on in Guyana than those living there. People in the diaspora are exposed to the real world  and depending on their jobs, are exposed to real world thinking.

Look at your leader Granger.  During the first 100 days of his presidency he was busy fighting windmills all over the world rather than hunkering down with his team to chart a new direction for Guyana.  Of course he showed leadership skills by giving himself and cohorts a big raise within 21 days of taking office to "prevent themselves from thiefing".  

It is clear that Granger does not understand the dynamics of governing.  I could picture him in a high level meeting with officials and having a blank stare because he doesn't understand $hit that is being discussed.  

The dynamics of the 2 major parties alone do not allow for the best to rise to the top.

TK posted:

I would say the Diaspora could do a lot more than just propose ideas. It is up to President and Cabinet to see these opportunities. I could list numerous tasks that people in Diaspora could do and this includes investing. When Granger denigrated the Diaspora a few weeks ago when his buddy opened the gas station and mini mart, he missed the capabilities of the Guyanese community abroad. We are not rich people with lots of surplus finance capital, although many live quite comfortable middle-class lives. We are embodied with substantial human capital and finance capital as a pool, but not necessarily as individuals.

TK posted:
TK posted:

I would say the Diaspora could do a lot more than just propose ideas. It is up to President and Cabinet to see these opportunities. I could list numerous tasks that people in Diaspora could do and this includes investing. When Granger denigrated the Diaspora a few weeks ago when his buddy opened the gas station and mini mart, he missed the capabilities of the Guyanese community abroad. We are not rich people with lots of surplus finance capital, although many live quite comfortable middle-class lives. We are embodied with substantial human capital and finance capital as a pool, but not necessarily as individuals.

I think Granger has lost his chance.  There is lack of confidence in his government and as such, I doubt small scale investors would be willing to invest in Guyana.

The electric sector is a perfect example of where shares/bonds could be sold to the public to finance needed capital infrastructure, but I would not invest in the current climate.

No one in their right mind would invest in Guyana right now. This government is hapless. It would be like draining money down the drain. The current businesses are struggling. All you accomplish from infusing more 'capital' is bail out current failures. Then you still have to deal with the high level of crime.

In a country like Guyana, govt has to set the investor confidence. In the case of a new govt it had to do so in the first week or two. They when into govt viewing businesses as some kind of enemy. If they can address waning confidence - perhaps it is too late - you could find investments.

TK posted:

In a country like Guyana, govt has to set the investor confidence. In the case of a new govt it had to do so in the first week or two. They when into govt viewing businesses as some kind of enemy. If they can address waning confidence - perhaps it is too late - you could find investments.

Guyana has lots of untapped potential. Unfortunately the government as far back as the '70s have been a stumbling block for Guyana. The biggest problem has always been crime. If that can be curtailed, confidence will grow and even the government may come to the conclusion that they can thrive under a thriving country. Looks like they are just waiting around for the oil revenue. Right now, that is not enough to put food on Venezuelans' tables.

The Crucks  of the matter is there has been a dearth of leadership in the history of Guyana and continues to be the case.  Unless we get that change and a willingness to engage people from the diaspora with the requisite skills to make the paradigm shift we will having this conversation for a long time to come.

TK posted:

Guyana has lots of untapped potential. Unfortunately the government as far back as the '70s have been a stumbling block for Guyana. The biggest problem has always been crime. If that can be curtailed, confidence will grow and even the government may come to the conclusion that they can thrive under a thriving country. Looks like they are just waiting around for the oil revenue. Right now, that is not enough to put food on Venezuelans' tables.

Well, given de information I have they will get enough money to replace the displaced sectors. New information may arise that would change my view expecting a coming Nirvana.

If one has money but no good idea on how to use it, it will just be money, nothing more.

Dis ah wan good Economics lesson for TK.  Kasz, hope he understands.

Last edited by Nehru